DETAILED ACTION
It would be of great assistance to the Office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
1. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
2. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
3. Filing date.
4. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
5. Title of invention.
6. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 7 and 11 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2022/0337780) in view of Juenger et al. (US 2021/0060442).
As to claim 1, Huang discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium including instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform: while a head-wearable device (smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) and a wrist-wearable device (wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1) are communicatively coupled (the wrist-wearable device 102 is communicatively coupled … to another computing device, such as smart glasses 150 [0131]) and worn by a user (fig. 1E): while a plurality of pending notifications is available (in response to receiving the one or more electronic messages [0303]) at one or more of the head-wearable device (smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) and the wrist-wearable device (wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1) and cause presentation of a representation of the plurality of pending notifications (causing one or both of the head-worn wearable device and the wrist-wearable device to provide a notification to a user of the head-worn wearable device and the wrist-wearable device [0303]) at one or more of the head-wearable device (smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) and the wrist-wearable device (wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1); but fails to disclose that in response to detecting a distillation user input: obtain, from an artificial intelligence model, a summary of the plurality of pending notifications, wherein the summary of the plurality of pending notifications includes an explanation for each pending notifications of the plurality of pending notifications, each explanation associated with a priority score; presenting the summary; wherein the representation providing each explanation in an order based on the priority score.
In the same filed of endeavor, Juenger discloses a method and a system comprising multiple associated devices [0043], wherein some or all of the notification settings can be configured and updated dynamically based on an artificial intelligence model [0042], wherein in response to detecting a distillation user input (user input to request notification summary [0038]): obtain, from an artificial intelligence model, a summary of the plurality of pending notifications (artificial intelligence model used to provide notifications [0042]), wherein the summary of the plurality of pending notifications includes an explanation for each pending notifications of the plurality of pending notifications (presenting list summary of notification as shown in fig. 17 – 20, wherein each notification includes a header summary [0147 – 0149]), each explanation associated with a priority score (notifications assigned priority [0132], [0147]); presenting the summary (figs. 17 – 20); wherein the representation providing each explanation in an order based on the priority score (notification summary supports the organizing of notifications that have not be shown according to priorities and the presenting of a subset of the highest priority notifications to a user along with an option to view the remaining notifications [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang and the teachings of Juenger, such that notification summary was provide in response to user input as disclosed by Juenger, with motivation to allow a better presentation of notifications (Juenger [0004]).
As to claim 2 (dependent on 1) Huang in view of Juenger discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein causing presentation of the representation of the summary of the plurality of pending notifications at one or more the head-wearable device (smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) and of the wrist-wearable device (wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1) includes: cause the head-wearable device (smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) to present an audio representation of the summary of the plurality of pending notifications to the user (auditable indicator, Huang [0089 – 0090]); and cause the wrist-wearable device (wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1) to present a visual representation of the summary of the plurality of pending notifications to the user (visual indicator, Huang [0089 – 0090]).
As to claim 3 (dependent on 2) Huang discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium providing the audio representation of notifications (auditable indicator, Huang [0089 – 0090]), but fails to disclose that the summary of the plurality of pending notifications comprises a subset of the plurality of pending notifications, each pending notification of the subset having a respective priority score greater than respective priority scores of a remainer of the plurality of pending notifications.
In the same filed of endeavor, Juenger discloses a method and a system comprising multiple associated devices [0043], wherein the summary of the plurality of pending notifications comprises a subset of the plurality of pending notifications (subset of notification as shown inf fig. 18 [0098]), each pending notification of the subset having a respective priority score greater than respective priority scores of a remainer of the plurality of pending notifications (notification summary supports the organizing of notifications that have not be shown according to priorities and the presenting of a subset of the highest priority notifications to a user along with an option to view the remaining notifications [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang and the teachings of Juenger, such that notification summary was provide in response to user input as disclosed by Juenger, with motivation to allow a better presentation of notifications (Juenger [0004]).
As to claim 4 (dependent on 2) Huang in view of Juenger discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform: in accordance with a determination that a first trigger condition is satisfied [0118]: cease presenting the audio representation of the summary of the plurality of pending notifications to the user via the head-wearable device (smart glasses 150 of fig. 1), and cause the wrist-wearable device (wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1) to present the visual representation of the summary of the plurality of pending notifications to the user; and in accordance with a determination that the first trigger condition is not satisfied: cease presenting the visual representation of the summary of the plurality of pending notifications to the user via the wrist-wearable device (wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1), and cause the head-wearable device (smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) to present the audio representation of the summary of the plurality of pending notifications to the user (switching between video and audio modes based on video-viewing preconditions [0118]).
As to claim 5 (dependent on 1) Huang in view of Juenger discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein an ordering of the summary is based on a respective priority score associated with each explanation (Juenger, notifications assigned priority [0132], [0147], wherein notification summary supports the organizing of notifications that have not be shown according to priorities and the presenting of a subset of the highest priority notifications to a user along with an option to view the remaining notifications [0098]).
As to claim 6 (dependent on 1) Huang in view of Juenger discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein one or more pending notifications of the plurality of pending notifications are excluded from the summary of the plurality of pending notifications based a respective priority score associated with the one or more pending notifications (Juenger, notification summary supports the organizing of notifications that have not be shown according to priorities and the presenting of a subset of the highest priority notifications to a user along with an option to view the remaining notifications [0098], wherein some notifications are excluded from the summary as shown in fig. 18).
As to claim 7 (dependent on 1) Huang in view of Juenger discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: while the head-wearable device (Huang, smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) and the wrist-wearable device (Huang, wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1) are communicatively coupled (Huang, the wrist-wearable device 102 is communicatively coupled … to another computing device, such as smart glasses 150 [0131]) and worn by a user (Huang, fig. 1E): while a plurality of other pending notifications is available at one or more of the head-wearable device (Huang, smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) and the wrist-wearable device (Huang, wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1) and in response to detecting another distillation user input (Juenger, user input to request notification summary [0038]): obtain, from the artificial intelligence model, another summary of the plurality of other pending notifications (Juenger, various summaries of notification as shown in fig.18), wherein the other summary of the plurality of other pending notifications includes an explanation for each pending notifications of the plurality of other pending notifications (Juenger, fig. 18), each explanation associated with another priority score (Juenger, notifications assigned priority [0132], [0147]); and cause presentation of another representation of the other summary of the plurality of other pending notifications at one or more of the head-wearable device (Huang, smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) and of the wrist-wearable device (Huang, wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1), the other representation providing each explanation in another order based on the other priority score (Juenger, notification summary supports the organizing of notifications that have not be shown according to priorities and the presenting of a subset of the highest priority notifications to a user along with an option to view the remaining notifications [0098]).
As to claim 11 (dependent on 1) Huang in view of Juenger discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the plurality of pending notifications is received at one or more of the head-wearable device (Huang, smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) and the wrist-wearable device (Huang, wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1) over a period of time before the distillation user input is detected (Juenger ,notifications are added to notification list to be presented at a different time [0097]).
As to claim 12 (dependent on 1) Huang in view of Juenger discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the summary is a list of the plurality of pending notifications (Juenger, fig. 17 and 18).
As to claim 13 (dependent on 1) Huang discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the head-wearable device does not include one or more displays (smart glasses 150 without a display [0151] or headphones [0214]).
As to claim 14 (dependent on 1) Huang in view of Juenger discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the artificial intelligence model is updated over time with user data collected for the user (Juenger, artificial intelligence model is trained based on historical data [0042]).
As to claim 15, Huang discloses a method, the method comprising: while a head-wearable device (smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) and a wrist-wearable device (wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1) ) are communicatively coupled (the wrist-wearable device 102 is communicatively coupled … to another computing device, such as smart glasses 150 [0131]) and worn by a user (fig. 1E): while a plurality of pending notifications is available (in response to receiving the one or more electronic messages [0303]) at one or more of the head-wearable device (smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) and the wrist-wearable device (wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1) and causing presentation of a representation of the plurality of pending notifications (causing one or both of the head-worn wearable device and the wrist-wearable device to provide a notification to a user of the head-worn wearable device and the wrist-wearable device [0303]) at one or more of the head-wearable device (smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) and the wrist-wearable device (wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1); but fails to disclose that in response to detecting a distillation user input: obtain, from an artificial intelligence model, a summary of the plurality of pending notifications, wherein the summary of the plurality of pending notifications includes an explanation for each pending notifications of the plurality of pending notifications, each explanation associated with a priority score; presenting the summary; wherein the representation providing each explanation in an order based on the priority score.
In the same filed of endeavor, Juenger discloses a method and a system comprising multiple associated devices [0043], wherein some or all of the notification settings can be configured and updated dynamically based on an artificial intelligence model [0042], wherein in response to detecting a distillation user input (user input to request notification summary [0038]): obtain, from an artificial intelligence model, a summary of the plurality of pending notifications (artificial intelligence model used to provide notifications [0042]), wherein the summary of the plurality of pending notifications includes an explanation for each pending notifications of the plurality of pending notifications (presenting list summary of notification as shown in fig. 17 – 20, wherein each notification includes a header summary [0147 – 0149]), each explanation associated with a priority score (notifications assigned priority [0132], [0147]); presenting the summary (figs. 17 – 20); wherein the representation providing each explanation in an order based on the priority score (notification summary supports the organizing of notifications that have not be shown according to priorities and the presenting of a subset of the highest priority notifications to a user along with an option to view the remaining notifications [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang and the teachings of Juenger, such that notification summary was provide in response to user input as disclosed by Juenger, with motivation to allow a better presentation of notifications (Juenger [0004]).
As to claim 16 (dependent on 15) Huang in view of Juenger discloses the method, wherein causing presentation of the representation of the summary of the plurality of pending notifications at one or more the head-wearable device (smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) and of the wrist-wearable device (wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1) includes: causing the head-wearable device (smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) to present an audio representation of the summary of the plurality of pending notifications to the user (auditable indicator, Huang [0089 – 0090]); and causing the wrist-wearable device (wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1) to present a visual representation of the summary of the plurality of pending notifications to the user (visual indicator, Huang [0089 – 0090]).
As to claim 17 (dependent on 16) Huang discloses the method for providing the audio representation of notifications (auditable indicator, Huang [0089 – 0090]), but fails to disclose that the summary of the plurality of pending notifications comprises a subset of the plurality of pending notifications, each pending notification of the subset having a respective priority score greater than respective priority scores of a remainer of the plurality of pending notifications.
In the same filed of endeavor, Juenger discloses a method and a system comprising multiple associated devices [0043], wherein the summary of the plurality of pending notifications comprises a subset of the plurality of pending notifications (subset of notification as shown inf fig. 18 [0098]), each pending notification of the subset having a respective priority score greater than respective priority scores of a remainer of the plurality of pending notifications (notification summary supports the organizing of notifications that have not be shown according to priorities and the presenting of a subset of the highest priority notifications to a user along with an option to view the remaining notifications [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang and the teachings of Juenger, such that notification summary was provide in response to user input as disclosed by Juenger, with motivation to allow a better presentation of notifications (Juenger [0004]).
As to claim 18, Huang discloses a system including a head-wearable device (smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) and a wrist-wearable device (wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1), the system configured to: while the head-wearable device (smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) and the wrist-wearable device (wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1) are communicatively coupled (the wrist-wearable device 102 is communicatively coupled … to another computing device, such as smart glasses 150 [0131]) and worn by a user (fig. 1E): while a plurality of pending notifications is available (in response to receiving the one or more electronic messages [0303]) at one or more of the head- wearable device and the wrist-wearable device (wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1) and cause presentation of a representation of the plurality of pending notifications at one or more of the head-wearable device (smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) and the wrist-wearable device (wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1); but fails to disclose that in response to detecting a distillation user input: obtain, from an artificial intelligence model, a summary of the plurality of pending notifications, wherein the summary of the plurality of pending notifications includes an explanation for each pending notifications of the plurality of pending notifications, each explanation associated with a priority score; presenting the summary; wherein the representation providing each explanation in an order based on the priority score.
In the same filed of endeavor, Juenger discloses a method and a system comprising multiple associated devices [0043], wherein some or all of the notification settings can be configured and updated dynamically based on an artificial intelligence model [0042], wherein in response to detecting a distillation user input (user input to request notification summary [0038]): obtain, from an artificial intelligence model, a summary of the plurality of pending notifications (artificial intelligence model used to provide notifications [0042]), wherein the summary of the plurality of pending notifications includes an explanation for each pending notifications of the plurality of pending notifications (presenting list summary of notification as shown in fig. 17 – 20, wherein each notification includes a header summary [0147 – 0149]), each explanation associated with a priority score (notifications assigned priority [0132], [0147]); presenting the summary (figs. 17 – 20); wherein the representation providing each explanation in an order based on the priority score (notification summary supports the organizing of notifications that have not be shown according to priorities and the presenting of a subset of the highest priority notifications to a user along with an option to view the remaining notifications [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang and the teachings of Juenger, such that notification summary was provide in response to user input as disclosed by Juenger, with motivation to allow a better presentation of notifications (Juenger [0004]).
As to claim 19 (dependent on 18) Huang in view of Juenger discloses the system, wherein causing presentation of the representation of the summary of the plurality of pending notifications at one or more the head-wearable device (smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) and of the wrist-wearable device (wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1) includes: causing the head-wearable device (smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) to present an audio representation of the summary of the plurality of pending notifications to the user (auditable indicator, Huang [0089 – 0090]); and causing the wrist-wearable device (wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1) to present a visual representation of the summary of the plurality of pending notifications to the user (visual indicator, Huang [0089 – 0090]).
As to claim 20 (dependent on 19) Huang discloses the system for providing the audio representation of notifications (auditable indicator, Huang [0089 – 0090]), but fails to disclose that the summary of the plurality of pending notifications comprises a subset of the plurality of pending notifications, each pending notification of the subset having a respective priority score greater than respective priority scores of a remainer of the plurality of pending notifications.
In the same filed of endeavor, Juenger discloses a method and a system comprising multiple associated devices [0043], wherein the summary of the plurality of pending notifications comprises a subset of the plurality of pending notifications (subset of notification as shown inf fig. 18 [0098]), each pending notification of the subset having a respective priority score greater than respective priority scores of a remainer of the plurality of pending notifications (notification summary supports the organizing of notifications that have not be shown according to priorities and the presenting of a subset of the highest priority notifications to a user along with an option to view the remaining notifications [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang and the teachings of Juenger, such that notification summary was provide in response to user input as disclosed by Juenger, with motivation to allow a better presentation of notifications (Juenger [0004]).
Claim(s) 8 - 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Juenger and Estes et al. (US 2018/0075757).
As to claim 8 (dependent on 1), claim 9 (dependent on 8) and claim 10 (dependent on 8), Huang in view of Juenger discloses the non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: while the head-wearable device (smart glasses 150 of fig. 1) and the wrist-wearable device (wrist-wearable device 102 of fig. 1) are communicatively coupled (the wrist-wearable device 102 is communicatively coupled … to another computing device, such as smart glasses 150 [0131]) and worn by a user (fig. 1E) presenting notifications to the user, but fails to disclose that in response to receiving an input, performed by the user, indicating that the user is requesting one or more of the head-wearable device and the wrist-wearable device to enter a snooze mode, cause one or more of the head-wearable device and the wrist-wearable device to enter the snooze mode; and while one or more of the head-wearable device and the wrist-wearable device are in the snooze mode: provide information about the plurality of pending notifications to one or more of the head-wearable device and the wrist-wearable device; and forgo presenting the plurality of pending notifications to the user; and in response to an indication that one or more of the head-wearable device and the wrist-wearable device should exit the snooze mode, cause one or more of the head-wearable device and the wrist-wearable device (to exit the snooze mode, wherein: causing presentation of the information about the plurality of pending notifications; and
the indication that one or more of the head-wearable device and the wrist-wearable device should exit the snooze mode is one or more of another input, performed by the user, and an indication that a predetermined time has passed since one or more of the head-wearable device and the wrist-wearable device entered the snooze mod.
In the same filed of endeavor, Estes discloses a display device presenting notification to the use (GUMPS notification [0050]), wherein in response to receiving an input, performed by the user (snooze gesture as shown in fig. 3 [0050]), indicating that the user is requesting the display device to enter a snooze mode (snooze notification mode [0050]), cause the display device to enter the snooze mode [0050]; and while the display device is in the snooze mode: provide information about the plurality of pending notifications to the display device (information about notification, when snoozed, is displayed as who in fig. 3); and forgo presenting the plurality of pending notifications to the user (notifications are snoozed as shown in fig. 3); and in response to an indication that the display device should exit the snooze mode, cause the display device to exit the snooze mode (maximize notification as show in fig. 3 [0050]), wherein: causing presentation of the information about the plurality of pending notifications (GUMPS notifications, fig. 3); and the indication that the display device should exit the snooze mode is one or more of another input, performed by the user, and an indication that a predetermined time has passed since the display entered the snooze mod (as shown in fig. 3, the snooze mode has a duration, wherein notification is maximized with a gesture of fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang in view of Juenger and the teachings of Estes, such that an input, performed by the user, indicating that the user is requesting one or more of the head-wearable device and the wrist-wearable device to enter a snooze mode was performed and notifications were snoozed as disclosed by Estes, with motivation to provide timely information to the user (Estes, [0002]).
Conclusion
/DMITRIY BOLOTIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623