DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 41-47 and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 1930194, Dillon.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 3-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dillon discloses a coupling for joining first and second pipe elements end to end, said coupling comprising: a first segment (17) comprising first and second attachment members (19) positioned at opposite ends of said first segment; a second segment (18) comprising first and second attachment members (19) positioned at opposite ends of said second segment, wherein said first segment and said second segment are attachable end to end to surround a central space and a longitudinal axis; and a plurality of adjustable fasteners (35), wherein each adjustable fastener of said plurality of adjustable fasteners has a diameter and extends along a first axis, wherein each adjustable fastener is tightenable to draw said first segment and said second segment toward one another to a fully installed configuration joining said first and second pipe elements, wherein at least one adjustable fastener of said plurality of adjustable fasteners is extendable through respective first attachment members of said first segment and said second segment and at least one adjustable fastener of said plurality of adjustable fasteners is extendable through respective second attachment members of said first segment and said second segment for attaching said first and second segments to one another, wherein in said fully installed configuration (see Figure 3 below): a circumference of a circle is defined by a centroid of said first segment and a centroid of a second segment, wherein each centroid of said first segment and said second segment is an area centroid of a cross- sectional area of said respective segment taken along a cutting plane extending along and through said longitudinal axis, through said first segment between said first attachment member and said second attachment member of said first segment, and through said second segment between said first attachment member and said second attachment member of said second segment at a location that provides a minimum area of said cross-sectional area of said first and second segments, and wherein at least a portion of each first axis is spaced from a point on said circumference of said circle by a distance less than or equal to said diameter of said each adjustable fastener of said plurality of adjustable fasteners.
[AltContent: textbox (Plane)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Longitudinal axis)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Circle)][AltContent: textbox (1st axis)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Distance)][AltContent: textbox (Diameter)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ]
In regards to claim 42, in Figures 3-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dillon discloses in said fully installed configuration, said first attachment member on said first segment is in engagement with said first attachment member on said second segment, and said second attachment member on said first segment is in engagement with said second attachment member on said second segment.
In regards to claim 43, in Figures 3-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dillon discloses each first axis comprises a portion that is spaced from said longitudinal axis by a distance that is less than or equal to a sum of a radius of said circle and said diameter of said each adjustable fastener of said plurality of adjustable fasteners.
In regards to claim 44, in Figures 3-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dillon discloses each respective attachment member of said first attachment members of said first and second segments and said second attachment members of said first and second segments comprises at least one lug.
In regards to claim 45, in Figures 3-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dillon discloses each lug of said at least one lug of said respective first attachment members comprises a hole configured to receive said at least one adjustable fastener of said plurality of adjustable fasteners extendable through said respective first attachment members and each lug of said at least one lug of said respective second attachment members comprises a hole configured to receive said at least one adjustable fastener of said plurality of adjustable fasteners extendable through said respective second attachment members.
In regards to claim 46, in Figures 3-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dillon discloses in said fully installed configuration, a portion of each first axis is spaced from said circumference of said circle by a distance less than or equal to a diameter of said respective hole.
In regards to claim 47, in Figures 3-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dillon discloses in said fully installed configuration, each first axis comprises a point that is spaced from said longitudinal axis by a distance that is less than or equal to a sum of a radius of said circle and a diameter of said respective hole.
In regards to claim 49, in Figures 3-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Dillon discloses in said fully installed configuration, said cutting plane is at an angle from 5 to 80 degrees from a first plane, wherein said first plane extends through and includes said longitudinal axis and is parallel to each said first axis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 48, 50 and 51 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679