DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on April 08, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-9 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(a), 112(b), 102(a)(1), and 103 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on February 05, 2026. However, Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“output transmission element” in claim 1;
“first torque transmission element” in claims 1, 8, and 9; and
“second torque transmission element” in claims 1, 8, and 9.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informality: “several drive motors with gears are arranged” in line 2 should read “the drill drive arrangement comprises several drive motors with gears” (in order to make clear that the several drive motors with gears are part of the drill drive arrangement).
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informality: “up to into” in line 2 should read “to”.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informality: “several first torque transmission elements and several second torque transmission elements are arranged, and” in lines 2-3 should read “the at least one first torque transmission element comprises several first torque transmission elements and the at least one second torque transmission element comprises several second torque transmission elements, and” (because the several first torque transmission elements of claim 9 are the at least one first torque transmission element of claim 1 and the several second torque transmission elements of claim 9 are the at least one second torque transmission element of claim 1).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maschfab Iron Foundry Beien (DE 1268565 B), hereinafter Maschfab.
Regarding claim 1, Maschfab discloses a drill drive arrangement (shown in Figure 1) for driving an earth drilling tool (Page 1 lines 1-4 and Page 4 lines 12-14 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B), the drill drive arrangement (shown in Figure 1) having:
at least one drive motor (2, 2a, 12, 15, 16, 18, and 20 collectively in Figure 1) with a motor housing (2a) and a motor shaft (16), wherein a drive torque generated in the at least one drive motor (2, 2a, 12, 15, 16, 18, and 20 collectively) is transmitted directly to the motor shaft (16) (via part 20 of the at least one drive motor, Page 8 lines 38-40 and Page 9 lines 15-26 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B), and
a transmission (1 in Figure 1) which is downstream of the at least one drive motor (2, 2a, 12, 15, 16, 18, and 20 collectively) and is configured to convert the drive torque (Page 9 lines 7-10 and Page 7 line 39 – Page 8 line 1 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B), wherein the transmission (1) comprises an input transmission element (4 and the gear of the “single-stage or multi-stage” described in Page 7 line 42 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B which is coupled to 4, collectively) which receives the drive torque directly from the motor shaft (16) of the at least one drive motor (2, 2a, 12, 15, 16, 18, and 20 collectively) (Page 7 line 42 – Page 8 line 1 and Page 9 lines 7-10 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B), and an output transmission element (the “output shaft” described in Page 7 line 43) by means of which the drive torque converted by the transmission (1) can be transmitted to the earth drilling tool or to a drill string (Page 7 line 42 – Page 8 line 1 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B),
wherein:
the motor shaft (16) of the at least one drive motor (2, 2a, 12, 15, 16, 18, and 20 collectively) comprises a hollow end part (left end of 16 in Figure 1) forming an inner insertion space (bore 17 in Figure 1) (apparent from Figure 1) on which at least one first torque transmission element (at least one of the splines of bore 17 described in Page 8 lines 22-24 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B) is formed (Page 8 lines 22-24 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B), and
the input transmission element (4 and the gear of the “single-stage or multi-stage” described in Page 7 line 42 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B which is coupled to 4, collectively) of the transmission (1) has a transmission gearwheel (the gear of the “single-stage or multi-stage” described in Page 7 line 42 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B which is coupled to 4) and an insertion shaft (4) on which at least one second torque transmission element (at least one of the splines of 4 described in Page 8 lines 22-24 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B) is formed (Page 8 lines 22-24 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B), the insertion shaft (4) being releasably inserted axially into the inner insertion space (bore 17) of the motor shaft (16) in a matched manner to form a torque proof connection (because 17 engages 4 “in a rotationally fixed but axially displaceable manner” as described in Page 8 lines 20-24 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B and transmits torque).
Regarding claim 3, Maschfab discloses that several drive motors (2 and 3 in Figure 1) with gears (4 or one of the gears of the “single-stage or multi-stage” described in Page 7 line 42 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B being the gear of motor 2, and 23 or 22 being the gear of motor 3) are arranged (apparent from Figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Maschfab discloses that the at least one drive motor (2, 2a, 12, 15, 16, 18, and 20 collectively) is configured as an electric motor (Page 8 lines 9-11 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B).
Regarding claim 5, Maschfab discloses that the insertion space (bore 17) extends from a free end of the motor shaft (16) up to into a region of the motor shaft (16) which lies within the motor housing (2a) (apparent from Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Maschfab discloses that the insertion shaft (4) inserted into the insertion space (bore 17) is located within the motor housing (2a) (apparent from Figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Maschfab discloses that the insertion space (bore 17) is formed as a blind hole in the motor shaft (16) (apparent from Figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Maschfab discloses that the at least one first torque transmission element (the at least one of the splines of bore 17 described in Page 8 lines 22-24 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B) and the at least one second torque transmission element (the at least one of the splines of 4 described in Page 8 lines 22-24 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B) form a torque-transmitting form-fit connection (because 17 engages 4 “in a rotationally fixed but axially displaceable manner” as described in Page 8 lines 20-24 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B and transmits torque).
Regarding claim 9, Maschfab discloses that several first torque transmission elements (the splines of bore 17 described in Page 8 lines 22-24 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B) and several second torque transmission elements (the splines of 4 described in Page 8 lines 22-24 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B) are arranged (Page 8 lines 22-24 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B), and that a spline groove-shaft connection is formed between the insertion shaft (4) and the motor shaft (16) (Page 8 lines 22-24 of Machine Translation of DE 1268565 B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3-9 have been considered but are moot because they do not apply to the new interpretation of Maschfab (in which the at least one drive motor has been re-interpreted to be 2, 2a, 12, 15, 16, 18, and 20 collectively) being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TANZIM IMAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731