DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species of male pattern baldness in the reply filed on 12/1/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 8-13 are withdrawn for pertaining to unelected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loose et al. (US 2020/0121681), alone or alternatively in view of Sinha et al. (WO 2023/055740).
Loose teaches methods of treating hair loss with minoxidil compositions in controlled or slow-release tablet form featuring hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC) binder and enteric coating. See entire disclosure, especially abstract,[0004]-[0005],[0312]-[0313] and claims. Regarding the limitation on the amount of minoxidil one of ordinary skill in the art would optimize the amount of minoxidil in an amount effective to mitigate and/or treat hair loss for which it is needed without adverse side effects, commensurate with a reasonable risk/benefit ratio. Regarding the functional limitations or properties recited throughout the claims on release from stirred buffer solution, AUC0-inf compared to immediate release, blood level of minoxidil in the blood over a period of time, the dosage results in no tachycardia, hypotension, premature ventricular contractions or tachyarrhythmias, it follows that since the minoxidil formulation of Loose is within the scope of the claims and contains the excipients said to provide the desired release profile (HPMC, enteric coating) it will feature these same properties. Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. See In re Ludtke, supra. Whether the rejection is based on 'inherency' under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on 'prima facie obviousness' under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 59 CCPA 1036, 173 USPQ 685 (1972). Regarding claims 2-3, Loose teaches once or twice daily administration. See [0225]
Additionally, the amount of minoxidil would be obvious when the teachings of Sinha are considered. Sinha teaches oral administration of minoxidil tablets for treating male pattern hair loss in amounts of 0.625-10 mg, an amount that overlaps the claimed range. See entire disclosure, especially abstract, [0020],[0021],[0023] and claims 1,10-11 and 23. A prima facie case of obviousness typically exists when the range of a claimed composition lies inside the range disclosed in the prior art, such as in the instant rejection. Therefor, based on the described overlap above, the instant claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.05. Since Loose already teaches use of minoxidil tablets for treating hair loss one of ordinary skill would have a very high expectation of success in using the amounts taught within Sinha for treating male pattern baldness. Obviousness stems from the notion that the combination of art known elements that, when combined, do no more than serve their art-recognized functions is obvious. Thus the claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Claim(s) 1-7 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2009531461 in view of Sinha et al. (WO 2023/055740).
JP teaches oral administration of hair loss treating compositions, including male pattern baldness, the composition includes hair restorative agents in combination with minoxidil in controlled release tablets produced by dispersing the actives in HPMC and enterically coating the dosage. See entire disclosure of translation provided, especially abstract, page 8 3rd full ¶, page 9 2nd full ¶, ¶ bridging page 12-13 and claims 1,9. Regarding the limitations on the amount of minoxidil and once or twice daily administration recited in claims 2-3, one of ordinary skill in the art would optimize the amount of minoxidil and the times administered daily in an amount effective to mitigate and/or treat hair loss for which it is needed without adverse side effects, commensurate with a reasonable risk/benefit ratio. Regarding the functional limitations or properties recited throughout the claims on release from stirred buffer solution, AUC0-inf compared to immediate release, blood level of minoxidil in the blood over a period of time, the dosage results in no tachycardia, hypotension, premature ventricular contractions or tachyarrhythmias, it follows that since the minoxidil formulation of JP is within the scope of the claims and contains the excipients said to provide the desired release profile (HPMC, enteric coating) it will feature these same properties. Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. See In re Ludtke, supra. Whether the rejection is based on 'inherency' under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on 'prima facie obviousness' under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 59 CCPA 1036, 173 USPQ 685 (1972).
Additionally, the amount of minoxidil would be obvious when the teachings of Sinha are considered. Sinha teaches oral administration of minoxidil tablets for treating male pattern hair loss in amounts of 0.625-10 mg, an amount that overlaps the claimed range. See entire disclosure, especially abstract, [0020],[0021],[0023] and claims 1,10-11 and 23. A prima facie case of obviousness typically exists when the range of a claimed composition lies inside the range disclosed in the prior art, such as in the instant rejection. Therefor, based on the described overlap above, the instant claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.05. Since Jp already teaches use of minoxidil tablets for treating hair loss one of ordinary skill would have a very high expectation of success in using the amounts taught within Sinha for treating male pattern baldness. Obviousness stems from the notion that the combination of art known elements that, when combined, do no more than serve their art-recognized functions is obvious. Thus the claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 15-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,491,184. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each claim minoxidil oral administration to treat hair loss, the primary difference is the patented method uses a different amount of active. However, adjusting the amount of active in this formulation in an amount effective to mitigate and/or treat hair loss would be obvious to one of ordinary skill.
Conclusion
/JAMES W ROGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618