Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because Figs. 1-3 appear to be informal figures. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. For claim 1, it is unclear what dimension perimeters are defined by the limitation “the linear sliding guides having dimensions corresponding to a thickness of the fixed glass wall to which they are applied”. (Namely, it is unclear whether or not the dimensions are the same or simply similar to each other.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Speros (1,594,076). Speros teaches a table-top museum display case (Fig. 1), comprising a fixed case (1) formed by fixed glass walls surmounted by an upper openable glass door (9), which is slidingly openable with respect to the fixed case (Fig. 2), wherein the fixed glass walls and the openable glass door have, with respect to the display case, respective inner faces and outer faces connected by peripheral edges, and two linear sliding guides (6,13) between the openable glass door and the fixed case, wherein the linear sliding guides are applied i) on one side on an inner face of the openable glass door near opposite peripheral edges of the openable glass door (Fig. 3) and ii) on the other side on peripheral edges of two opposite sides of the fixed glass walls (Fig. 3), the linear sliding guides having dimensions corresponding to a thickness of the fixed glass wall to which they are applied (as best understood, see below).
Speros further teaches that each of the two linear sliding guides comprises a fixed semi-guide (6) fixed to the peripheral edge of one of the fixed glass walls and a movable semi-guide (13) fixed to the inner face of the openable glass door. Wherein the fixed semi-guide and the movable semi-guide inherently comprise respective low sliding friction contact tracks (6). There is a coupling means (hook of 13) for constraining the movable semi-guide to the fixed semi-guide so that the movable semi-guide is free to slide horizontally with respect to the fixed semi-guide but is not free to be raised with respect to the fixed semi-guide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuvshinikov (2002/0078865) in view of Speros (1,594,076). Kuvshinikov teaches a sliding openable top/door (103,104) on a fixed case (101) wherein there are sliding guides (105,106) between the openable door and the fixed case, wherein the linear sliding guides are applied i) on one side on an inner face of the openable glass door near opposite peripheral edges of the openable glass door (Fig. 4) and ii) on the other side on peripheral edges of two opposite sides of the fixed glass walls, the linear sliding guides having dimensions corresponding to a thickness of the fixed wall to which they are applied (see below).
For claim 1, Kuvshinikov fails to teach that the walls and door include glass panels therein. Speros teaches a table-top museum display case (Fig. 1), comprising a fixed case (1) formed by fixed glass walls surmounted by an upper openable glass door (9). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the case and door of Kuvshinikov by using glass panels, such as is taught by Speros, therein, for aesthetic reasons, to be able to view the inside of the case, etc.
For claim 2, Kuvshinikov in view of Speros further teaches that each of the two linear sliding guides comprises a fixed semi-guide (lower slide of 105,106) fixed to the peripheral edge of one of the fixed glass walls and a movable semi-guide (upper slide of 105,106) fixed to the inner face of the openable glass door.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuvshinikov (2002/0078865) in view of Speros (1,594,076) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Hamilton (583,228). As stated above, Kuvshinikov in view of Speros teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 2, including a fixed semi-guide and a movable semi-guide between a case and a sliding door. For claims 3 and 4, Kuvshinikov in view of Speros fails to specifically teach rolling rollers as part of the guide assembly. Hamilton teaches rollers (4) on fixed semi-guides (5) mating with a movable semi-guide (10). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the guide assemblies of Kuvshinikov in view of Speros by using the guide assembly of Hamilton therein, in place of the guide assemblies presently used, to provide smoother/low sliding friction moving of the door between positions.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speros (1,594,076) in view of Hamilton (583,228). As stated above, Speros teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 2, including a fixed semi-guide and a movable semi-guide between a case and a sliding door. For claims 3 and 4, Speros fails to specifically teach rolling rollers as part of the guide assembly. Hamilton teaches rollers (4) on fixed semi-guides (5) mating with a movable semi-guide (10). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the case of Speros by using the guide assembly of Hamilton therein, in place of the guide assemblies presently used, to provide smoother/low sliding friction moving of the door between positions.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuvshinikov (2002/0078865) in view of Speros (1,594,076) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wiester (223,828). As stated above, Kuvshinikov in view of Speros teaches the limitations of claim 1, including a sliding glass door. For claim 9, Kuvshinikov in view of Speros fails to specifically teach an auxiliary stand with the case. Wiester teaches an auxiliary stand (E), the auxiliary stand comprising a base (a; see annotated figure below) surmounted by a support structure (b) for supportingly accommodating the open sliding door (F) when open beyond a preset limit. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the case of Kuvshinikov in view of Speros by adding an auxiliary stand, such as is taught by Wiester, therewith, to provide support for the opened sliding door.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speros (1,594,076) in view of Wiester (223,828). As stated above, Speros teaches the limitations of claim 1, including a sliding glass door on a case. For claim 9, Speros fails to teach an auxiliary stand with the case. Wiester teaches an auxiliary stand (E), the auxiliary stand comprising a base (a) surmounted by a support structure (b) for supportingly accommodating an open sliding door (F) when open beyond a preset limit. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the case of Speros by adding an auxiliary stand, such as is taught by Wiester, therewith, to provide support for the opened sliding door.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wilkens
September 28, 2026
/JANET M WILKENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637