DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6 and 10, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jalbert et al. (US 20150143750 A1), hereinafter Jalbert.
Regarding claim 1, Jalbert discloses a pet feeding device, comprising: a housing (housing 12; Fig. 1), a hatch door arranged on the housing (door 24; Fig. 1), and a food tray arranged in the housing (dish 26; Fig. 7); wherein a driving mechanism and a hatch door linkage mechanism are configured in the housing (Figs. 3 and 4 show door 24 is linked to motor 32 and gear 34 arrangements), the hatch door linkage mechanism is drivingly connected to an output end of the driving mechanism and connected with the hatch door (Fig. 6A shows teeth 103 of door 24 which link to gear 34), and the driving mechanism is used for driving the hatch door linkage mechanism to lead the hatch door to open and close (¶ 0050, “FIGS. 3 and 4 provide a detailed illustration of the dispensing assembly 28 and the means for controlling access to the compartment containing the food dish 26. The door 24 is shown as being retractable and is preferably a segmented type door that allows it to slide freely within a track 30. This arrangement allows easy opening and closing of the door 24. Such operation is controlled by various motor 32 and gear 34 arrangements as are well known in the art”);
the hatch door linkage mechanism includes a transmission gear set (gear 34) and a transmission rack (teeth 103, door 24), the transmission rack is slidably arranged within the housing (Fig. 3), the transmission gear set is drivingly connected to the output end of the driving mechanism and the transmission rack (Figs. 3 and 4 show gear 34 drivingly connected to gear 36, which interfaces with gear 35 on an output shaft of motor 32, as well as door 24), an end of the transmission rack is slidably connected to the hatch door (Fig. 6A);
the second hatch door is provided with a sliding groove, and the sliding groove is used for limiting a displacement distance of the transmission rack (Figs. 3 and 7 show channel 30 is a sliding groove that limits the displacement of the door panels).
Regarding claim 3, Jalbert discloses the device of claim 1.
Jalbert discloses wherein the transmission gear set includes a first transmission gear set and a second transmission gear set which are drivingly connected to the driving mechanism (Fig. 4 shows two sets of gears 34 on opposite sides of device); the transmission rack includes a first transmission rack and a second transmission rack (Fig. 6A shows two rows of teeth 103 on opposite sides of door 24), and both the first transmission rack and the second transmission rack are slidably connected to the hatch door (Fig. 6A).
Regarding claim 4, Jalbert discloses the device of claim 1.
Jalbert discloses the first transmission gear set has at least one more gear than the second transmission gear set (Fig. 4 shows close set of the two sets of gears 34 has two gears 34 side by side, while the far set has one).
Regarding claim 5, Jalbert discloses the device of claim 4.
Jalbert discloses in the first transmission gear set and the second transmission gear set, the gears directly engaged with the driving mechanism, and the gears directly engaged with the first transmission rack and the second transmission rack share a same transmission ratio (fig. 4 shows both sets of gears 34 have the same ratio).
Regarding claim 6, Jalbert discloses the device of claim 3.
Jalbert discloses wherein sliding connection points of the first transmission rack and the second transmission rack with the hatch door are located on a same horizontal plane Fig. 6A shows connection of teeth 103 and door 24 is on the same horizontal plane).
Regarding claim 10, Jalbert discloses the device of claim 1.
Jalbert discloses the second hatch door is foldable relative to the first hatch door (Figs. 3 and 6A show door panels are foldable relative to one another).
Regarding claim 11, Jalbert discloses the device of claim 10.
Jalbert discloses an articulated shaft between the first hatch door and the housing is parallel to a horizontal plane, and another articulated shaft between the second hatch door is parallel to the horizontal plane (Figs. 3 and 7 show portion of channel 30 is parallel to horizontal plane along with door panels).
Regarding claim 13, Jalbert discloses the device of claim 1.
Jalbert discloses wherein a food control mechanism is also provided in the housing (¶ 0048, lines 17-21, “The second compartment 22 is optionally provided as a food storage region so that rather than operate as a single feeding device, the feeder 10 can be operated on a controlled basis by dispensing food over a number of days without needing to be refilled”.
Regarding claim 14, Jalbert discloses a recognition system for pet feeding device, comprising at least a recognition device and the pet feeding device according to claim 1, wherein the pet feeding device is provided with a distance induction module, and the distance induction module communicates with the driving mechanism; the recognition device is used to be worn on a pet, when the recognition device enters a recognition range of the distance induction module, the distance induction module sends a driving signal to the driving mechanism so as to open or close the hatch door (¶ 0018, lines 7-23, “The feeder further includes one or more sensors on the top and/or front face for the identification of tagged animals, non-tagged animals or children. Preferably, the sensors function using RF technology, ultrasonic, infrared, visible spectrum light or combinations thereof to verify the presence of both approved and/or non-approved animal[s] in any combination in close proximity to the feeder. Approved and non-approved pets may be determined through comparison of the sensed signature to a signature or signatures established at system setup. Close proximity is defined as within 4 feet and preferably within 2 feet so that the feeder is only reacting to animals that are approaching the feeder and not just in the area such that the feeder does not react and open or close to an animal that is just passing by. The preferred embodiment utilizes this range in order to understand and react to approaching pets so that the feeder may either open to present the food to an authorized pet”).
Regarding claim 15, Jalbert discloses the device of claim 14.
Jalbert discloses wherein an induction range of the distance induction module is 0-1m (¶ 0018, lines 7-23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jalbert (US 20150143750 A1) as applied to claim 3, and further in view of Cheng (WO 2021190125 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Jalbert discloses the device of claim 3, however, Jalbert fails to specifically disclose wherein a side of the transmission rack is fixed with a transmission inductor, and the transmission inductor communicates with the driving mechanism; the transmission rack is provided with a first induction structure and a second induction structure for triggering the transmission inductor; when the first induction structure or the second induction structure triggers the transmission inductor, the driving mechanism stops driving the hatch door linkage mechanism to rotate or drives the hatch door linkage mechanism to reverse.
Cheng is in the field of rack and pinion door opening devices and teaches wherein a side of the transmission rack is fixed with a transmission inductor, and the transmission inductor communicates with the driving mechanism; the transmission rack is provided with a first induction structure and a second induction structure for triggering the transmission inductor; when the first induction structure or the second induction structure triggers the transmission inductor, the driving mechanism stops driving the hatch door linkage mechanism to rotate or drives the hatch door linkage mechanism to reverse (Fig. 1; ¶ 0045, “Protrusions are respectively provided on the outer side of the first rack push rod 5 and the outer side of the second rack push rod 6. When the first rack push rod 5 and the second rack push rod 6 are respectively extended from the first housing 1 and the door body is opened, the protrusions push the spring piece 92 on the micro switch 9. The spring piece 92 presses the switch button 91, and the micro switch 9 sends a signal to the control board. The control board controls the worm 31 on the output end of the drive assembly 3 to stop rotating, and the worm wheel 411 stops rotating. The friction force applied by the worm wheel 411 on the shift rod 43 disappears, and the torsional force applied to the shift plate 434 by the torsion spring 44 causes the shift rod 43 to rotate in the opposite direction and reset, and the sub-gear 42 is disengaged from the first gear group 7 or the second gear group 8”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of rack and pinion door opening devices before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jalbert such that a side of the transmission rack is fixed with a transmission inductor, and the transmission inductor communicates with the driving mechanism; the transmission rack is provided with a first induction structure and a second induction structure for triggering the transmission inductor; when the first induction structure or the second induction structure triggers the transmission inductor, the driving mechanism stops driving the hatch door linkage mechanism to rotate or drives the hatch door linkage mechanism to reverse, as taught by the transmission induction system of Cheng. This would allow the device to stop and reverse the driving action upon a signal from the inductor being physically pressed, which would improve overall operation and control of the door. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8, Jalbert in view of Cheng discloses the device of claim 7, and furthermore, the modified reference teaches both the first sensing structure and a second sensing structure are protrusions arranged on the transmission rack, the transmission inductor is a press-type inductor, when the first induction structure and the second induction structure move to a position where the transmission inductor is pressed, the driving mechanism stops driving the hatch door linkage mechanism to rotate or drives the hatch door linkage mechanism to reverse (Cheng; Fig. 1; ¶ 0045).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument on pages 7 and 8 that “Thus, the connection structure between the door and gear disclosed in D1 is clearly different from the connection structure between the hatch door and transmission rack in the present invention, so the distinguishing feature is not disclosed in D1. Regarding the distinguishing feature b), it can be seen from Figs. 3 and 8 of D1 that the guide channel 30 is set on the base portion 14 and is used to limit the displacement of the door panel, that is, the shape of the guide channel 30 is the movement trajectory of the door 24. The gear 34 drives the door 24 to slide in the guide channel 30 to achieve the opening and closing of the door 24. While in present invention, as shown in Fig.6, the second hatch door 22 is provided with a sliding groove 221 to limit a displacement distance of the end of the transmission rack 42, that is, the shape of the sliding groove 221 is the movement trajectory of the end of the transmission rack 42. When the transmission rack 42 moves the second hatch door 22, if the transmission rack 42 moves excessively fast, the second hatch door 22 may detach from the transmission rack 42 under action of inertia. Therefore, on the one hand, the sliding groove 221 can limit the displacement at the end of the drive rack 42, thereby limiting the displacement distance of the second hatch door 22; on the other hand, it can prevent the transmission rack 42 from disengaging from the second hatch door 22, thus to further improve the stability and safety of the hatch door 2 during movement. Obviously, the structure and function of the guide channel 30 of D1 and the sliding groove 221 of the present invention are different, so the distinguishing feature is not disclosed in D1,” the Examiner submits that the above arguments with respect to the sliding groove are incommensurate with the scope of the claims, as claim 1 requires “the second hatch door is provided with a sliding groove, and the sliding groove is used for limiting a displacement distance of the transmission rack.” As demonstrated in the above rejection, channel 30 of Jalbert discloses the claimed structure, as channel 30 is a sliding groove, and limits the displacement distance of the door panels as shown in Figs. 3 and 7, which demonstrate how the displacement of the door panels 24 are limited to the groove path defined by channel 30. Therefore, the claimed sliding groove structure of claim 1 is disclosed by Jalbert.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Carelli et al., US 20130013104 A1, discusses an internet-accessible pet treat dispensing apparatus.
Zuidhof et al., US 20180092331 A1, discusses a system and method for feeding animals.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.T.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642