Status of Claims
Claims 1–10 are pending and are examined on the merits. Claims 4, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b); claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1); claims 1–3 and 6–9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. Claims 4 and 5 contain allowable subject matter as set forth below. This action is non-final.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Claim 7 recites “a control circuit board,” and claim 8 recites “a control circuit that is integrated with the coil circuit board.” Neither feature is shown in the drawings: Fig. 1 depicts the control circuit 4 only as a labeled box connected to the stator assembly 2, and the specification states that the control circuit board (¶[0046]) and the control circuit integrally formed on the coil circuit board 22 (¶[0047]) are not shown in the drawings. Therefore, these features must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
(a) Paragraph [0029] recites “the first side surface 2112 of the magnetic core body 212” and “erected on the magnetic core body211.” The magnetic core body is element 211 (¶[0028]; Figs. 3–4); element 212 is the magnetic conductive column. A space is also missing in “body211.”
(b) Paragraph [0033] recites “the printed circuits 211 are respectively wound around the magnetic conductive columns 212.” The printed circuits are element 221 (¶[0033], [0035]; Fig. 3).
(c) Paragraph [0036] recites “the printed circuits 221on the coil circuit board 22,” which should read “the printed circuits 221 on the coil circuit board 22.”
(d) Paragraph [0034] recites “the fixing through holes 222 correspond to positions of the magnetic conductive columns 212 are arranged in a circular shape around the through hole 2111,” which is grammatically incomplete (e.g., “the fixing through holes 222, which correspond to positions of the magnetic conductive columns 212, are arranged …”).
(e) Paragraphs [0042] and [0043] recite “a diameter of the ring conductive patterns 2211 of each layer of the coil circuit board 22 gradually increase” and “the diameter … gradually increase”; the verb should agree with its singular subject (“increases”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “each of the coil circuit boards has the printed circuit, and the printed circuit of each of the coil circuit boards is arranged around the fixing through hole.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the printed circuit”: claim 1 introduces “a plurality of printed circuits,” and it is unclear whether each coil circuit board carries a respective one of the plurality of printed circuits of claim 1 or a further printed circuit. Claim 5 depends from claim 4 and inherits this deficiency.
Claim 7 recites “a control circuit board, wherein a control circuit is disposed on the circuit board.” It is unclear whether “the circuit board” refers to the control circuit board introduced in claim 7 or to the at least one coil circuit board of claim 1, from which claim 7 depends.
Claim 5 recites “each of the coil circuit boards has a multilayer circuit board,” “a plurality of ring conductive patterns on each layer of the circuit boards,” and “each of the ring conductive patterns of adjacent circuit boards is electrically coupled to each other through a via hole.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the circuit boards” and “adjacent circuit boards” in claim 5: claims 1 and 4 introduce only the coil circuit boards, and the plural “circuit boards” forming the layers of a multi-layer board are introduced only in claim 3, from which claim 5 does not depend. It is therefore unclear whether “adjacent circuit boards” refers to adjacent layers of the multilayer circuit board of one coil circuit board or to neighboring coil circuit boards on adjacent magnetic conductive columns. It is also unclear whether each coil circuit board “has” a multilayer circuit board as a separate component or is itself a multilayer circuit board.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2019/0334393 A1, hereinafter “Kim ’393”).
Regarding claim 10, Kim ’393 teaches: A stator assembly of a motor structure(stack-type stator 10 of the axial gap type BLDC motor 100 together with the base plate 1 and the divided cores 17, constituting a core type stator; ¶[0052], [0074]; Figs. 1–2), comprising: a stator core having a magnetic core body(base plate 1 of electrogalvanized iron steel sheet serving as the back yoke of the stator; ¶[0052], [0062]; Fig. 3) and a plurality of magnetic conductive columns that are disposed on the magnetic core body(six divided cores 17, each having a shoe portion 17a and a tooth portion 17b, fixed to the base plate 1 by press fitting, bonding or riveting; ¶[0067], [0071], [0074]; Figs. 2, 4), wherein a through hole is formed in a center of the magnetic core body(through hole 4 at the center of the inner side portion 1b of the base plate 1; ¶[0064]; Fig. 3), and the magnetic conductive columns are arranged around the through hole(core fixing through holes 5a, which receive the divided cores 17, formed between the through holes 3a and the central through hole 4; ¶[0065]; Fig. 3) and are erected on the magnetic core body(tooth portion 17b engaged in the core fixing through hole 5a and extending upward through the stator so that the shoe portion 17a protrudes above the coil patterns; ¶[0012], [0068]; Fig. 2); and at least one coil circuit board having a plurality of printed circuits corresponding to a quantity of the magnetic conductive columns(stack-type stator 10 of first to fourth PCBs 11–14 carrying six spiral copper-foil coil patterns per layer for the six divided cores 17; ¶[0055], [0066], [0096], [0099]; Fig. 8), the printed circuits being respectively wound around the magnetic conductive columns(each coil pattern forms a spiral wound pattern along the through hole 5 into which the tooth portion 17b of a divided core 17 is coupled; ¶[0068], [0105]; Figs. 2, 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ’393 (US 2019/0334393 A1) in view of Hattori (US 2019/0013708 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim ’393 teaches: A motor structure(axial gap type BLDC motor 100; ¶[0052]; Fig. 1), comprising: a stator assembly(stack-type stator 10 together with the base plate 1 and the divided cores 17 constituting a core type stator; ¶[0052], [0074]);
wherein the stator assembly includes: a stator core having a magnetic core body(base plate 1 of electrogalvanized iron steel sheet serving as the back yoke of the stator; ¶[0052], [0062]; Fig. 3)
and a plurality of magnetic conductive columns that are disposed on the magnetic core body(six divided cores 17, each having a shoe portion 17a and a tooth portion 17b, fixed to the base plate 1 by press fitting, bonding or riveting; ¶[0067], [0071], [0074]; Figs. 2, 4),
wherein a through hole is formed in a center of the magnetic core body(through hole 4 at the center of the inner side portion 1b of the base plate 1; ¶[0064]; Fig. 3),
and the magnetic conductive columns are arranged around the through hole(core fixing through holes 5a, which receive the divided cores 17, formed between the through holes 3a and the central through hole 4; ¶[0065]; Fig. 3)
and are erected on the magnetic core body(tooth portion 17b engaged in the core fixing through hole 5a and extending upward through the stator so that the shoe portion 17a protrudes above the coil patterns; ¶[0012], [0068]; Fig. 2);
and at least one coil circuit board having a plurality of printed circuits corresponding to a quantity of the magnetic conductive columns(stack-type stator 10 of first to fourth PCBs 11–14 carrying six spiral copper-foil coil patterns per layer for the six divided cores 17; ¶[0055], [0066], [0096], [0099]; Fig. 8),
the printed circuits being respectively wound around the magnetic conductive columns(each coil pattern forms a spiral wound pattern along the through hole 5 into which the tooth portion 17b of a divided core 17 is coupled; ¶[0068], [0105]; Figs. 2, 8);
and a rotor assembly(rotor 20 having an annular back yoke 22 and magnets 21 facing the stator coils, fixed to a bushing 43; ¶[0053], [0056]);
wherein the rotor assembly is configured to rotate through the stator assembly(bushing 43 carrying the rotor back yoke 22 is rotatably supported by bearings 41, 42 and passes through the through hole 15 formed at the center of the stack-type stator 10, the through hole 15 having a diameter larger than the outer diameter of the bushing 43; ¶[0056]–[0057], [0100]; Fig. 1).
Kim ’393 does not teach a housing, the stator assembly being disposed in the housing and the rotor assembly being disposed in the housing.
Kim ’393 and Hattori are in the same field of axial gap brushless motors having a stator core formed of a back-yoke plate with a central through hole carrying axially projecting columnar cores on which the stator coils are arranged (Kim ’393 ¶[0052], [0062], [0064], [0071]; Hattori ¶[0042]), and both address the mechanical arrangement of the stator and rotor of such a motor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to accommodate the stator and the rotor of Kim ’393 in a motor case as taught by Hattori, in order to enclose and locate the stator and rotor and to support the rotating member of the motor in bearings carried by the case (Hattori ¶[0036], [0089]). Enclosing a known axial gap motor in a known motor case is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement, yielding no more than the predictable result of a housed motor. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416–17 (2007).
Regarding claim 2/1, Kim ’393 in view of Hattori teaches the motor structure of claim 1.
Kim ’393 further teaches wherein the magnetic conductive columns are evenly distributed around the through hole(the coil patterns are arranged at intervals of 60 degrees around the central through hole 15, and the through holes 5 at their centers, and the corresponding core fixing through holes 5a of the base plate which receive the divided cores 17, are correspondingly spaced around the central through hole 4; ¶[0066], [0096], [0103], [0105]; Figs. 3, 8),
and wherein, when a quantity of the at least one coil circuit board is one(the stack-type stator 10 is a single multi-layer substrate in which the first to fourth PCBs 11–14 are stacked and integrated; ¶[0099], [0114]; the layers of one integrated multi-layer board are read as one coil circuit board, consistent with applicant’s own single multi-layer coil circuit board 22 of layers 22a–22c, instant ¶[0033], [0039]–[0040]),
a plurality of fixing through holes corresponding to the quantity of the magnetic conductive columns are formed in the coil circuit board(through holes 5 formed in the coil patterns of the stack-type stator 10 in correspondence with the core fixing through holes 5a; ¶[0066]; Fig. 8),
the fixing through holes are respectively provided for the magnetic conductive columns to pass through(tooth portion 17b of each divided core 17 passes through a through hole 5; ¶[0068]),
and the printed circuits on the coil circuit board are respectively arranged around the fixing through holes(the rectangular through holes 5 are formed at the centers of the coil patterns and each coil pattern surrounds its through hole 5; ¶[0105], [0107]; Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3/2, Kim ’393 in view of Hattori teaches the motor structure of claim 2.
Kim ’393 further teaches wherein the coil circuit board is a multi-layer circuit board, the multi-layer circuit board includes a plurality of circuit boards(first to fourth PCBs 11–14 of insulating material stacked and integrated in four layers, coil patterns being formed on the first to third PCBs 11–13 in the first embodiment and on all four PCBs 11–14 in the second embodiment; ¶[0090], [0099], [0114], [0116], [0137]–[0138]; Figs. 9A–9D, 11A–11D);
wherein each of the printed circuits includes a plurality of ring conductive patterns, the ring conductive patterns are spaced apart from each other, diameters of the ring conductive patterns on each layer of the circuit boards gradually increase in a direction away from the fixing through hole(each coil pattern is a spiral wound pattern forming a plurality of turns around the through hole 5, each successive turn being a loop of greater extent than the turn inside it, the adjacent turns being spaced apart at an interval of 0.13 mm; ¶[0105], [0119]; Fig. 8),
and each of the ring conductive patterns of adjacent circuit boards is electrically coupled to each other through a via hole(the coil patterns on the stacked PCBs are interconnected through plated conductive through holes formed at the start portions and end portions of the coil patterns, so that the coil patterns at the same position on adjacent layers are connected in parallel or in series; ¶[0097], [0099], [0144]; Figs. 9A–9D, 11A–11D).
Regarding claim 6/1, Kim ’393 in view of Hattori teaches the motor structure of claim 1.
Kim ’393 teaches that the rotor assembly includes bearings (bearings 41, 42 fitted in the inner circumferential grooves of the bushing 43 that carries the rotor back yoke 22; ¶[0057]–[0058]) but is silent wherein the rotor assembly includes a rotating shaft disposed on the rotor bearing (the rotor 20 of Kim ’393 turns on the bushing 43 and its bearings 41, 42 about a stationary support shaft 40 that is fixed to the base plate 1; ¶[0057]).
However, Hattori teaches wherein the rotor assembly includes a rotor bearing and a rotating shaft that is disposed on the rotor bearing, the rotating shaft is arranged on an axis of the rotor bearing(rotor 10 is fixed to the columnar rotating shaft 2, which is rotatably supported on its axis by the bearings 56 provided to the yoke housing 54 and the end frame 55; Hattori ¶[0036]–[0037], [0089]; Fig. 13). The bearing on which the rotor’s shaft is disposed is a “rotor bearing” of the rotor assembly in the sense of the claim; applicant’s rotor bearing 31 is likewise the bearing on which the rotating shaft 32 is disposed (instant ¶[0045]; Fig. 1).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to mount the rotor of Kim ’393 on a rotating shaft supported by bearings carried by the motor case, as taught by Hattori, in order to support the rotor for rotation relative to the case that encloses it (Hattori ¶[0036], [0089]); doing so substitutes one known rotor support arrangement (a rotating shaft in fixed bearings) for another (a rotating bushing on a fixed shaft) with predictable results.
Regarding claim 8/1, Kim ’393 in view of Hattori teaches the motor structure of claim 1.
Kim ’393 further teaches wherein the motor structure further includes a control circuit that is integrated with the coil circuit board(motor drive circuit 50, with motor drive chip 50a, integrally formed on one side of the first PCB 11 of the stack-type stator 10; ¶[0073], [0101]; Fig. 8),
the control circuit is electrically coupled to the stator assembly and the rotor assembly and is operable to control the stator assembly and the rotor assembly(drive circuit 50 connected to the coil patterns through the wiring patterns J41–J46 and controlling the three-phase drive currents by pulse width modulation, the energized coil patterns generating the tangential forces that rotate the rotor 20, and the drive circuit 50 switching its output terminals in response to the rotor position detected by a Hall sensor; ¶[0098], [0101], [0113], [0117], [0120]–[0121], [0127])
so that the rotor assembly is rotated in the through hole of the stator assembly(the bushing 43 carrying the rotor back yoke 22 rotates on the bearings 41, 42 about the support shaft 40, which is seated through the shaft bushing 45 in the central through hole 4 of the base plate 1, the bushing 43 turning within the coaxial central through hole 15 of the stack-type stator 10 directly above the through hole 4; ¶[0056]–[0057], [0064], [0100]; Fig. 1). The control circuit of Kim ’393 is coupled to the rotor assembly in the same manner as applicant’s: through the stator coils it energizes and the rotor position it senses (instant ¶[0046]; Fig. 1, showing the control circuit 4 connected only to the stator assembly 2). The through hole 4 of the base plate 1 and the through hole 15 of the stack-type stator 10 are coaxial and together form the central through hole of the stator assembly of Kim ’393 (Fig. 1), within which the rotor assembly rotates.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ’393 (US 2019/0334393 A1) in view of Hattori (US 2019/0013708 A1) and further in view of Horng (US 2011/0057536 A1).
Regarding claim 7/1, Kim ’393 in view of Hattori teaches the motor structure of claim 1.
For purposes of applying the prior art, “the circuit board” of claim 7 is interpreted as the control circuit board introduced in that claim.
Kim ’393 further teaches a control circuit that is electrically coupled to the stator assembly and the rotor assembly and operable to control the stator assembly and the rotor assembly so that the rotor assembly is rotated in the through hole of the stator assembly(motor drive circuit 50 controlling the three-phase drive currents applied to the coil patterns and switching its output terminals in response to the rotor position detected by a Hall sensor, the energized coil patterns rotating the rotor 20 whose bushing 43 turns, about the support shaft 40 seated in the central through hole 4 of the base plate 1, within the coaxial central through hole 15 of the stack-type stator 10; ¶[0056]–[0057], [0064], [0100]–[0101], [0113], [0120]–[0121], [0127]; Fig. 1). The coaxial through holes 4 and 15 together form the central through hole of the stator assembly of Kim ’393, and the control circuit is coupled to the rotor assembly through the stator coils it energizes and the rotor position it senses, as is applicant’s (instant ¶[0046]; Fig. 1).
Kim ’393 does not expressly teach wherein the motor structure further comprises a control circuit board, wherein a control circuit is disposed on the circuit board: the drive circuit 50 of Kim ’393 is formed on the first PCB 11 of the stack-type stator itself (¶[0101]), although Kim ’393 contemplates placing the motor drive circuit on a lowermost PCB which is further stacked in order to reduce the size of the multi-layer PCB (¶[0164]).
However, in the analogous art of motor stators formed of stacked printed coil layers facing a rotor magnet, Horng teaches a control circuit board, wherein a control circuit is disposed on the circuit board(substrate 1, which is a printed circuit board, having a drive circuit 15 mounted on at least one of its first and second faces 11, 12; Horng ¶[0022], [0028]; Fig. 4), the control circuit is electrically coupled to the stator assembly and the rotor assembly, and the control circuit is operable to control the stator assembly and the rotor assembly(drive circuit 15 electrically connected to the coils 211 of the coil unit 2, the coil unit interacting with the permanent magnet 322 of the rotor 32 to drive the rotor to rotate; Horng ¶[0028], [0031]; Fig. 6).
Horng is reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by the instant application of arranging the drive circuitry of a motor whose stator coils are printed conductor patterns (instant ¶[0046]–[0047]; Horng ¶[0022], [0028], [0030]). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to provide the motor of Kim ’393 with a separate printed circuit board carrying the drive circuit and electrically connected to the coil patterns, in order to use that board both as the drive circuit board and as a support to which the coil unit is coupled, thereby enhancing the utility of the stator structure (Horng ¶[0021]–[0022], [0028]), and to reduce the size of the multi-layer coil board by removing the drive circuit from it, as Kim ’393 itself suggests (Kim ’393 ¶[0164]). Mounting a motor drive circuit on a separate circuit board connected to printed stator coils is a known arrangement whose use in Kim ’393 would have yielded predictable results. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ’393 (US 2019/0334393 A1) in view of Hattori (US 2019/0013708 A1), and further in view of Gao (CN 111293798 A, with machine translation, hereinafter “Gao”).
Regarding claim 9/1, Kim ’393 in view of Hattori teaches the motor structure of claim 1.
Kim ’393 is silent wherein the magnetic core body and the magnetic conductive columns are integrally formed as a single one-piece structure (the divided cores 17 of Kim ’393 are separate laminated or compression-molded pieces fixed into the core fixing through holes 5a of the base plate 1 by press fitting, bonding or riveting; ¶[0069], [0071], [0108]).
However, Hattori teaches wherein the magnetic core body and the magnetic conductive columns are configured to be integrally formed as a single one-piece structure(stator core 21 consisting of the annular plate-shaped base portion 23 and the twelve columnar teeth 24 protruding axially from it, the stator core being manufacturable as a soft magnetic powder core, one of the alternatives listed in Hattori ¶[0042] and [0082], which Hattori describes as press molding of magnetic powder (¶[0100], describing the stator core 61 that differs from the stator core 21 only in the shape of its base portion, ¶[0090]); Fig. 5B shows the base portion 23 and the teeth 24 of the stator core 21 as a single continuous section. The finding that the core body and columns are one piece rests on that press-molded powder-core alternative together with the continuous section of Fig. 5B). Hattori recognizes that press-fitting separate teeth into an engaging portion of a core body may crack or chip the core body or the teeth (Hattori ¶[0007]), and the divided cores 17 of Kim ’393 are press-fitted, bonded or riveted into the base plate 1 (Kim ’393 ¶[0071]). Hattori offers its own remedy for that problem in a different embodiment (¶[0012]–[0013]); the reliance here is on Hattori’s recognition of the problem, not on that remedy.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to form the yoke portion of the base plate (the portion carrying the cores) and the cores of Kim ’393 as a single press-molded stator core of the kind shown by Hattori’s stator core 21 (Hattori ¶[0042]; Fig. 5B), because a core body and columns molded as one piece have no press-fit joint that could crack or chip the core body or the columns (Hattori ¶[0007]) and dispense with the separate step of fixing each divided core to the base plate (Kim ’393 ¶[0071]).
Kim ’393 and Hattori are silent wherein a material of the stator core is ferrite (Kim ’393: electrogalvanized iron steel base plate and laminated electromagnetic steel or compression-molded metal powder cores, ¶[0062], [0069], [0108]; Hattori: electromagnetic steel laminations or soft magnetic powder core, ¶[0042]).
However, in the analogous art of axial-field motors having printed-circuit-board stator coils with magnetic cores placed within the coils, Gao teaches wherein a material of the stator core is ferrite core(the magnetic core 19 set in the magnetic material placement hole 17 within each center plate coil 18 of the PCB stator is made of soft magnetic composite material or soft magnetic ferrite; Gao ¶[0018], [0038], [0040]; Figs. 4, 8). Gao is in the same field as Kim ’393, a PCB-stator axial-field motor in which a magnetic core is received in a hole at the center of each printed coil (Gao ¶[0009], [0011], [0038]; Kim ’393 ¶[0105]), and addresses the same problem of improving the magnetic circuit between the printed stator coils and the rotor magnets by providing the stator with a magnetic core (Gao ¶[0022]; Kim ’393 ¶[0071]–[0072]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the unitary stator core of Kim ’393 as modified by Hattori of soft magnetic ferrite, because Gao identifies soft magnetic ferrite as a material suitable for the magnetic core placed within the printed coils of a PCB stator for that purpose (Gao ¶[0018], [0022], [0040]); the selection of a known material on the basis of its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP 2144.07).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art of record, Kim ’393 (US 2019/0334393 A1), Hattori (US 2019/0013708 A1), Horng (US 2011/0057536 A1), Gao (CN 111293798 A), Liu (CN 114337172 A) and Semidey (US 2025/0047148 A1), teaches printed stator coils carried on one integrated multi-layer printed circuit board (Kim ’393 ¶[0099], [0114]; Liu ¶[0040], [0058]), on annular printed circuit boards each spanning all of the magnetic cores (Gao ¶[0037]–[0038]), or on a single coreless coil unit (Horng ¶[0022]), or else wire-wound coils on the teeth (Hattori ¶[0046], [0049]). Claim 4 is read as positively requiring a plurality of separate coil circuit boards corresponding in number to the magnetic conductive columns, each board having its own fixing through hole sleeved around its own column (instant ¶[0051]; Fig. 9); the stacked, integrated layers of one multi-layer board of the prior art are not such separate coil circuit boards. The prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest, in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 1, “when a quantity of the at least one coil circuit board corresponding to the quantity of the magnetic conductive columns is multiple, each of the coil circuit boards has a fixing through hole, the fixing through hole of the coil circuit boards is respectively sleeved around the magnetic conductive columns, each of the coil circuit boards has the printed circuit, and the printed circuit of each of the coil circuit boards is arranged around the fixing through hole” as recited in claim 4. Claim 5 depends from claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
(a) Liu (CN 114337172 A, with machine translation) teaches an axial flux motor with a printed circuit board stator winding 111 having coils 115, stator cores 113 received in holes 114 of the printed circuit board at least partially surrounded by the coils, a central hole 116 through which the motor shaft 130 passes, and a housing 140 of two housing portions 141, 142 enclosing the stator 110 and the rotor 120 (¶[0037], [0040]–[0042], [0062]–[0063]; Figs. 1–4).
(b) Semidey (US 2025/0047148 A1) teaches a printed circuit board stator with spiral trace windings 106 about voids receiving stator core inserts 108, and a back-iron 404 having drawn protrusions inserted into the voids 406 of the stator (¶[0046]–[0047], [0061]–[0062]; Figs. 1A, 4A–4B).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tulsidas Patel can be reached on 571-272-2098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect. uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/MOHAMMED AHMED QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2834