DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/7/26 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-11, 13-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2012/0169560).
With respect to claim 1,
Figure 7 of Lee discloses an antenna comprising:
a printed circuit board (412) having a first surface and a second surface (see Figure 7); and
an omnidirectional, multiband dipole antenna (400 – Paragraph 61) printed on the first surface of the printed circuit board, the dipole antenna including a first dipole antenna element (408) on the first surface (Paragraph 62) and a second dipole antenna element (404) on the first surface (Paragraph 63), the first and second dipole antenna elements shaped differently for operation in different frequency bands (see Figure 7 and Paragraphs 62-63).
With respect to claim 2,
Lee further teaches a planar choke sleeve printed on the surface of the printed circuit board (Paragraph 63).
With respect to claim 5,
Lee further teaches wherein the first dipole antenna element is a sleeve dipole antenna element including first and second arms extending along opposed sides of the first dipole antenna element, and wherein the second dipole antenna element is a sleeve dipole antenna element including first and second arms extending along opposed sides of the second dipole antenna element (see Figure 7).
With respect to claim 6,
Lee further teaches wherein the first dipole antenna element includes a low band resonator and a high band resonator configured to resonate in different frequency bands (see Figures 7-8 and Paragraph 62).
With respect to claim 7,
Lee further teaches wherein the low band radiator includes a first arm and a second arm, the high band radiator located between the first and second arms are separated from the first and second arms by first and second slots (see Figures 7-8 and Paragraph 62).
With respect to claim 8,
Lee further teaches wherein the high band radiator includes a high band base portion located between the first and second arms of the low band radiator and a high band extension portion extending from the high band base portion, the high band extension portion extending beyond the first and second arms of the low band radiator (see Figure 16).
With respect to claim 9,
Lee further teaches wherein the high band extension portion includes first and second extension arms separated by a gap (see 709 of Figure 16).
With respect to claim 10,
Lee further teaches wherein distal ends of the first and second arms of the low band radiator include fingers bent inward toward each other (see Figure 7).
With respect to claim 11,
Lee further teaches wherein the first and second dipole antenna elements meet at a feed point on the first surface, a feed cable coupled to the first and second dipole antenna elements at the feed point (see Figure 7 and Paragraph 72)
With respect to claim 13,
Lee further teaches wherein the printed circuit board includes a rigid, planar substrate (Paragraph 73).
With respect to claim 14,
Lee further teaches wherein the printed circuit board includes a flexible substrate configured to be arranged in a non-planar orientation (Paragraph 73).
With respect to claim 16,
Lee further teaches wherein the dipole antenna has an efficiency greater than 70% across the 2.4GHz Wifi band, the 5GHz Wifi band, and the 6GHz Wifi band (see Table 1 – Paragraph 76).
With respect to claim 17,
Lee further teaches wherein the dipole antenna has a VSWR less than 2:1 across the 2.4GHz Wifi band, the 5GHz Wifi band, and the 6GHz Wifi band (Paragraph 58).
With respect to claim 18,
Figure 7 of Lee discloses an antenna assembly for a wireless communication device, the antenna assembly comprising:
an antenna feed (422) including a feed conductor and a ground conductor (Paragraph 72); and
an antenna (400) coupled to the antenna feed (422), the antenna including a printed circuit board (412) having a first surface and a second surface and an omnidirectional, multiband dipole antenna (400 – Paragraph 61) printed on the first surface of the printed circuit board, the dipole antenna including a first dipole antenna element (408) on the first surface (Paragraph 62) coupled to the feed conductor of the antenna feed (at 424) and a second dipole antenna element (404) on the first surface coupled to the ground conductor of the antenna feed (at 426), the first and second dipole antenna elements shaped differently for operation in different frequency bands (see Figure 7 and Paragraphs 62-63).
With respect to claim 19,
Lee further teaches wherein the antenna includes a planar choke sleeve printed on the surface of the printed circuit board (Paragraph 63).
With respect to claim 20,
Figure 7 of Lee discloses a wireless communication device comprising:
a radome having walls forming a cavity (Paragraph 130); and
an antenna assembly (400) received in the cavity, the antenna assembly including an antenna (400) coupled to an antenna feed (422), the antenna feed including a feed conductor and a ground conductor (Paragraph 72), the antenna including a printed circuit board (412) having a first surface and a second surface, the antenna including an omnidirectional, multiband dipole antenna (400 – Paragraph 61) printed on the first surface of the printed circuit board, the dipole antenna including a first dipole antenna element (408) on the first surface coupled to the feed conductor of the antenna feed and a second dipole antenna element (404) on the first surface coupled to the ground conductor of the antenna feed, the first and second dipole antenna elements shaped differently for operation in different frequency bands (see Figure 7 and Paragraphs 62-63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee.
With respect to claim 4,
Lee teaches the invention as claimed and further teaches that the antennas are omnidirectional multi-band antennas, but is silent to wherein the dipole antenna is one of a triband antenna or a quadband antenna operable in the 2.4GHz Wifi band, the 5GHz Wifi band, and the 6GHz Wifi band.
Lee further teaches that radiating elements can be configured differently for producing radiation patterns at different frequencies and/or for tuning to different operating bands (Paragraph 83).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the antennas for such frequency bands, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
With respect to claim 12,
Lee teaches the invention as claimed and further teaches wherein the first dipole antenna element includes a first dipole base at the feed point, the first dipole base being chamfered from the feed point, and wherein the second dipole antenna element includes a second dipole base at the feed point (see Figure 7). However, Lee is silent to the second dipole base being chamfered from the feed point.
Lee further teaches that radiating elements can be configured differently with different shapes or dimensions depending on the particular frequency ranges desired (Paragraph 71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the antennas having the desired shape, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JANY RICHARDSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845