Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (US-20200139591) in view of Hepler (U.S. Patent No. 5589206).
Regarding claim 1, Saito teaches:
An injection molding device (Fig. 1) comprising:
a molding die including a fixed die ([0050]; Fig. 1, #1) and a movable die ([0050]; Fig. 1, #2);
a probe ([0051]; Fig. 1, #13) in which a probe flow path through which a plasticized material flows is provided ([0051]), the probe injecting the plasticized material toward a cavity formed by the fixed die and the movable die ([0055]; Fig. 1, #25); and
wherein the fixed die includes:
a first plate in which a first through hole is provided ([0050] – [0053]; Fig. 1, #22); and
a second plate located between the first plate and the movable die, a second through hole communicating with the first through hole being provided in the second plate ([0050] – [0053]; Fig. 1, #24),
the probe is disposed in the first through hole and the second through hole ([0050] – [0055]; Fig. 1).
Saito does not teach:
a partition member,
a first space is formed between an outer peripheral surface of the probe and an inner wall surface of the first through hole,
a second space is formed between the outer peripheral surface of the probe and an inner wall surface of the second through hole.
the partition member is disposed in the first through hole or the second through hole to surround the probe and partitions the first space and the second space.
However, Hepler, in a similar field of endeavor, an injection molding device, teaches:
a partition member, see Fig. 3, right below numeral 66,
a first space is formed between an outer peripheral surface of the probe and an inner wall surface of the first through hole,
a second space is formed between the outer peripheral surface of the probe and an inner wall surface of the second through hole.
Hepler teaches multiple gaps 66 and 68 (Col. 10, line 57 – Col. 11, line 2; Fig. 3, #66 and #68) between an outer peripheral surface of the probe (Col. 10, line 57 – Col. 11, line 2; Fig. 3, #30) and an inner peripheral surface of the through hole in the mold (Fig. 3), therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Saito to include the teachings of Hepler and include a first and second space between the outer peripheral surface of the probe and an inner wall surface of the through hole, with the purpose, as stated by Hepler, being to “form a gap of nonconducting air around substantially the entire length of body 30, insulating it from the possible heat loss to its otherwise intimate surroundings.” (Col. 10, line 66 – Col. 11, line 2).
the partition member is disposed in the first through hole or the second through hole to surround the probe and partitions the first space and the second space. This limitation would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when looking at the combination of Saito and Hepler made above, using a rearrangement of parts, in the absence of a showing of unexpected results or criticality.
In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019,86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)
Shifting the location of an element would not have modified the operation of device. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ7 (CCPA 1975) The particular placement of an element was held to be obvious.
It has generally been recognized that to shift location of parts when the operation of the device is not otherwise changed is within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Gazda, 104 USPQ 400.
Regarding claim 8, Saito teaches:
An injection molding die ([0050]; Fig. 1) comprising:
a fixed die ([0050]; Fig. 1, #1);
a movable die ([0050]; Fig. 1, #2);
a probe ([0051]; Fig. 1, #13), in which a probe flow path through which a plasticized material flows is provided ([0051]), the probe injecting the plasticized material toward a cavity formed by the fixed die and the movable die ([0055]; Fig. 1, #25); and
wherein the fixed die includes:
a first plate in which a first through hole is provided ([0050] – [0053]; Fig. 1, #22); and
a second plate located between the first plate and the movable die, a second through hole communicating with the first through hole being provided in the second plate ([0050] – [0053]; Fig. 1, #24),
the probe is disposed in the first through hole and the second through hole ([0050] – [0055]; Fig. 1).
Saito does not teach:
a partition member,
a first space is formed between an outer peripheral surface of the probe and an inner wall surface of the first through hole,
a second space is formed between the outer peripheral surface of the probe and an inner wall surface of the second through hole.
the partition member is disposed in the first through hole or the second through hole to surround the probe and partitions the first space and the second space.
However, Hepler, in a similar field of endeavor, an injection molding die, teaches:
a partition member, see Fig. 3, right below numeral 66,
a first space is formed between an outer peripheral surface of the probe and an inner wall surface of the first through hole,
a second space is formed between the outer peripheral surface of the probe and an inner wall surface of the second through hole.
Hepler teaches multiple gaps 66 and 68 (Col. 10, line 57 – Col. 11, line 2; Fig. 3, #66 and #68) between an outer peripheral surface of the probe (Col. 10, line 57 – Col. 11, line 2; Fig. 3, #30) and an inner peripheral surface of the through hole in the mold (Fig. 3), therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Saito to include the teachings of Hepler and include a first and second space between the outer peripheral surface of the probe and an inner wall surface of the through hole, with the purpose, as stated by Hepler, being to “form a gap of nonconducting air around substantially the entire length of body 30, insulating it from the possible heat loss to its otherwise intimate surroundings.” (Col. 10, line 66 – Col. 11, line 2).
the partition member is disposed in the first through hole or the second through hole to surround the probe and partitions the first space and the second space. This limitation would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art when looking at the combination of Saito and Hepler made above, using a rearrangement of parts, in the absence of a showing of unexpected results or criticality.
In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019,86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)
Shifting the location of an element would not have modified the operation of device. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ7 (CCPA 1975) The particular placement of an element was held to be obvious.
It has generally been recognized that to shift location of parts when the operation of the device is not otherwise changed is within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Gazda, 104 USPQ 400.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (US-20200139591) in view of Hepler (U.S. Patent No. 5589206), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Babin (US-20100183763).
Regarding claim 7, Saito in view of Hepler teaches the limitations of claim 1, which claim 7 depends on, but does not teach the inclusion of a heat insulating member between the first and second plates. However, Babin, in a similar field of endeavor, an injection molding device, teaches:
wherein the injection molding device includes a heat insulating member ([0024] and [0028]; Fig. 1, #16) between the first plate ([0028]; Fig. 1, #14) and the second plate ([0028]; Fig. 1, #18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the injection molding device of Saito in view of Hepler to incorporate the teachings of Babin and include a heat insulating member between the first and second plates. The purpose, as stated by Babin, being the insulator plate is made from a more thermally insulating material than the surrounding plates ([0024]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3-6 are objected to by virtue of dependency.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: There is no proper teaching or combination in the art of the injection molding system of claim 1 with the further limitation of the partition member including a first and second member, wherein the first member is sandwiched by the second member in a direction along the first and second through holes.
Conclusion
/A.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1741 /JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748