DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 5-6, 11-12, & 14-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 3, 5-6, 11-12, & 14-15, “a respiration phase, amplitude, and frequency” should read –the respiration phase, amplitude, and frequency--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “signal acquisition unit” and “signal processing unit” in claims 1 & 9; “light intensity optical flow detection unit” in claims 2 & 11; “judgment unit” in claims 2-3, 5-6, 11-12, & 14-15; “face RGB signal extraction unit” in claims 3 & 12; chest-and-abdomen depth signal extraction unit” in claims 5 & 14; “body volume detection unit” in claims 5 & 14; neck depth signal extraction unit” in claims 6 & 15; and “notification unit” in claims 8 & 17.
Per [0024] of the instant specification, “signal acquisition unit” has been interpreted to be a camera.
Per [0035] of the instant specification, “notification unit” has been interpreted to be a display capable of displaying respiration phase and amplitude signals and generating warnings or recommendations.
Per Figure 3, “signal processing unit” has been interpreted to be a computer, and all remaining units have been interpreted to be modules of the signal processing unit capable of performing their claimed functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the respiration phase, amplitude, and frequency”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-8 depends from claim 1, and, therefore, inherit the deficiencies of their parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7, 9, 13, & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Prasad (US 2017/0169307).
Regarding claim 1, Prasad teaches an apparatus for detecting respiration, comprising:
a signal acquisition unit (video imaging device 200, [0019]) configured to continuously acquire RGB (red, green, and blue) signals of a subject (color video camera, [0019]); and
a signal processing unit (video processing system 800, [0050]) configured to receive the RGB signals and determine a respiration phase ([0036]), amplitude (Figure 3), and frequency (Figure 3) of the subject.
Regarding claim 4, Prasad teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the signal acquisition unit is further configured to continuously acquire depth signals of the subject.
It is expected that a video camera captures depth information.
Regarding claim 7, Prasad teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the signal acquisition unit is further configured to continuously acquire infrared signals of the subject (infrared video camera, [0019]), and the signal processing unit is configured to receive the infrared signals and use them to assist in identifying a region of the subject (region of the subject, [0021]).
Claim 9 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 1.
Claim 13 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 4.
Claim 16 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 8, 10-12, & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad, as applied to claim 1, above, in view of Suehling (US 2022/0378391).
Regarding claim 2, Prasad teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the signal processing unit comprises:
a light intensity optical flow detection unit (optical flow module 807, [0051]) configured to detect information on optical flow ([0051]) and a change in light intensity of an upper body of the subject (regions 103 & 104, [0021], Figure 1) according to the chest-and-abdomen RGB signal ([0021] & [0051]); and
Because data is obtained via an optical camera, any determination made using the image data would consider changes in light intensity.
a judgment unit (vector counter 808 & ratio determinator 809, [0051]) configured to determine the respiration phase, amplitude, and frequency of the subject according to the information on optical flow and the change in light intensity ([0051]).
However, Prasad fails to disclose a chest-and-abdomen RGB signal extraction unit configured to extract a chest-and-abdomen RGB signal from the RGB signals.
Suehling teaches a chest-and-abdomen RGB signal extraction unit (control unit or processing unit, [0058]) configured to extract a chest-and-abdomen RGB signal ([0062]) from the RGB signals.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Prasad to include a chest-and-abdomen RGB signal extraction unit configured to extract a chest-and-abdomen RGB signal from the RGB signals, as taught by Suehling. Automatically extracting the desired region in the image increases effectiveness of the overall process.
Regarding claim 3, Prasad teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the signal processing unit comprises:
a facial skin detection unit configured to detect an RGB change in facial skin (facial region 105, [0021]) of the subject according to the face RGB signal (“Regions which move during respiration include…facial regions such as nostrils, lips, and cheeks”, [0021]); and
a judgment unit configured to determine the respiration phase, amplitude, and frequency of the subject according to the RGB change in the facial skin of the subject (“Signals associated with respiratory function can also be sensed by the video imaging device in a facial region 105”, [0021]).
However, Prasad fails to disclose a face RGB signal extraction unit configured to extract a face RGB signal from the RGB signals.
Suehling teaches a face RGB signal extraction unit (control unit or processing unit, [0058]) configured to extract a face RGB signal ([0062]) from the RGB signals.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Prasad to include a face RGB signal extraction unit configured to extract a face RGB signal from the RGB signals, as taught by Suehling. Automatically extracting the desired region in the image increases effectiveness of the overall process.
Regarding claim 8, Prasad teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein it further comprises a notification unit (display device 823, [0053]) configured to display respiration phase and amplitude signals ([0053] & Figure 3).
However, Prasad fails to disclose that the notification unit provides corresponding warnings or recommendations.
Suehling teaches that the notification unit provides corresponding warnings (visual or acoustic warning, [0033]) or recommendations (suggestions for action, [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Prasad such that the notification unit provides corresponding warnings or recommendations, as taught by Suehling. This provides the operator or subject with feedback in order to ensure the data captured is of the highest quality.
Regarding claim 10, Prasad teaches the medical imaging device as claimed in claim 9.
However, Prasad fails to disclose that the medical imaging device is a computed tomography (CT) machine, a magnetic resonance (MR) machine, or an X-ray machine.
Suehling teaches that the medical imaging device is a computed tomography (CT) machine (computed tomography (CT) system, [0044]), a magnetic resonance (MR) machine (magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system, [0044]), or an X-ray machine (gantry, [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medical imaging device of Prasad such that the medical imaging device is a computed tomography (CT) machine, a magnetic resonance (MR) machine, or an X-ray machine, as taught by Suehling. This gives additional functionality to the device, as a subject’s breathing can be monitored for the purpose of obtaining the highest-quality imaging data captured by the machine in which it is incorporated.
Claim 11 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 2.
Claim 12 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 3.
Claim 17 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 8.
Claims 5 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad, as applied to claim 4, above, in view of Sa (US 2023/0248268).
Regarding claim 5, Prasad teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 4.
However, Prasad fails to disclose that the signal processing unit comprises: a chest-and-abdomen depth signal extraction unit configured to extract a chest-and-abdomen depth signal from the depth signals; a body volume detection unit configured to detect a change in body volume of an upper body of the subject according to the chest-and-abdomen depth signal; and a judgment unit configured to determine the respiration phase, amplitude, and frequency of the subject according to the change in body volume of the upper body of the subject.
Sa teaches:
a chest-and-abdomen depth signal extraction unit (depth camera, [0006]) configured to extract a chest-and-abdomen depth signal from the depth signals (“The breathing pattern 404 is determined through monitoring the motion of patient’s chest and/or abdomen region 402”, [0056]);
a body volume detection unit (estimate of lung volume, [0049]) configured to detect a change in body volume of an upper body (lung volume change, [0056]) of the subject according to the chest-and-abdomen depth signal ([0056]); and
a judgment unit (image processor, [0047]) configured to determine the respiration phase (breathing phase, [0047]), amplitude (breathing pattern 404, [0047] & [0056], Figure 4), and frequency (breathing pattern 404, [0047] & [0056], Figure 4) of the subject according to the change in body volume of the upper body of the subject ([0056]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Prasad to include: a chest-and-abdomen depth signal extraction unit configured to extract a chest-and-abdomen depth signal from the depth signals; a body volume detection unit configured to detect a change in body volume of an upper body of the subject according to the chest-and-abdomen depth signal; and a judgment unit configured to determine the respiration phase, amplitude, and frequency of the subject according to the change in body volume of the upper body of the subject, as taught by Sa. This provides an alternative method for determining the respiration phase, amplitude, and frequency.
Claim 14 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 5.
Claims 6 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad, as applied to claim 4, above, in view of Tao (US 2018/0140255).
Regarding claim 6, Prasad teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 4.
However, Prasad fails to disclose that the signal processing unit comprises: a neck depth signal extraction unit configured to extract a neck depth signal from the depth signals; a neck motion detection unit configured to detect motion of a neck of the subject according to the neck depth signal; and a judgment unit configured to determine the respiration phase, amplitude, and frequency of the subject according to the motion of the neck of the subject.
Tao teaches:
a neck depth signal extraction unit ([0044]) configured to extract a neck depth signal from the depth signals ([0044]);
a neck motion detection unit ([0044]) configured to detect motion of a neck of the subject according to the neck depth signal ([0044]); and
a judgment unit ([0044]) configured to determine the respiration phase (breathing pattern, [0044], Figure 4), amplitude (amplitude, [0031], Figure 4), and frequency (breathing frequency, [0031], Figure 4) of the subject according to the motion of the neck of the subject ([0044]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Prasad to include: a neck depth signal extraction unit configured to extract a neck depth signal from the depth signals; a neck motion detection unit configured to detect motion of a neck of the subject according to the neck depth signal; and a judgment unit configured to determine the respiration phase, amplitude, and frequency of the subject according to the motion of the neck of the subject, as taught by Tao. This provides an alternative method for determining the respiration phase, amplitude, and frequency.
Claim 15 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 6.
Conclusion
/ADAM D. KOLKIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/KEITH M RAYMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798