DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0042], line 6, “the axial portion 16a” should read - - the radial portion 16a - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 9, “which each project” should read - -, wherein each rib projects - -.
Claim 4, lines 2 – 4, “each one of at least a portion of the plurality of the stiffening ribs of the axial skirt being located in radial continuation of a separate one of the plurality of reinforcing ribs” should read - - at least a portion of the plurality of the stiffening ribs of the axial skirt being located in radial continuation of a respective one of the plurality of reinforcing ribs - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3 and 6 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Bedeau et al. USPGPUB 20160089946.
Claim 1, Bedeau discloses a strut bearing device (strut bearing device 10)(Fig. 1)([0036], l. 1) comprising: a lower support cover (lower cup 30)([0038], ll. 2 – 3); an upper rest cover (upper cup 40)([0038], l. 3); and at least one bearing (rolling bearing 20)([0038], l. 3) arranged between the lower support cover 30 and the upper rest cover 40; wherein the lower support cover 30 includes an annular radial portion (annular outward radial portion 52)([0041], l. 2) configured to support the bearing 20 and an annular axial skirt (tubular axial portion 51)([0041], l. 1) extending axially from the radial portion on an opposite side to the upper rest cover 40, the axial skirt 51 having an annular inner surface provided with a plurality of stiffening ribs 51a (see annotated Fig. 1), wherein each rib projects radially inwardly, the plurality of ribs 51a being spaced apart in a circumferential direction.
Claim 2, Bedeau discloses the lower support cover 30 being of one piece construction.
Claim 3, Bedeau discloses the stiffening ribs 51a of the axial skirt 51 of the lower support cover 30 extending axially along the annular inner surface of the axial skirt 51.
Claim 6, Bedeau discloses the plurality of stiffening ribs of the axial skirt 51 of the lower support cover 30 being evenly spaced in the circumferential direction.
Claim 7, Bedeau discloses the axial skirt 51 of the lower support cover 30 having a free end and includes a collar 51b located at the free end, the collar extending radially toward the interior.
Claim 7, Bedeau discloses the stiffening ribs 51a of the axial skirt of the lower support cover 30extending axially from the collar 51b.
Claim 9, Bedeau discloses the collar 51b having a radial thickness equal to or greater than a thickness of each of the stiffening ribs 51a of the lower support cover 30 (see Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record, including Bedeau et al. USPGPUB 20160089946, taken as a whole neither teaches nor makes obvious the claimed combination of a strut bearing device as set forth in claim(s) 4. Bedeau does not disclose or suggest the presence of the radial portion of the lower support cover including a plurality of reinforcing ribs spaced apart in the circumferential direction, wherein at least a portion of the plurality of the stiffening ribs of the axial skirt are located in radial continuation of a respective one of the plurality of reinforcing ribs, as required by claim 4. Instead, the lower support cover 30 only includes stiffening ribs 51a formed along the axial skirt 51, as shown Fig. 1 of Bedeau. Further, Bedeau contains no teaching, motivation or suggestion that would lead a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the radial portion of the lower support cover to incorporate a plurality of reinforcing ribs spaced apart in the circumferential direction, wherein at least a portion of the plurality of the stiffening ribs of the axial skirt are located in radial continuation of a respective one of the plurality of reinforcing ribs. Therefore, the claimed combination represents a non-obvious advance over the prior art.
The prior art of record, including Bedeau et al. USPGPUB 20160089946, taken as a whole neither teaches nor makes obvious the claimed combination of a strut bearing device as set forth in claim(s) 5. Bedeau does not disclose or suggest the presence of stiffening ribs of the axial skirt of the lower support cover having different radial thicknesses, as required by claim 5. Instead, the radial thicknesses of the stiffening ribs 51a are constant, as shown in Fig. 1. Further, Bedeau contains no teaching, motivation or suggestion that would lead a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the radial portion of the lower support cover to incorporate the plurality of stiffening ribs of the axial skirt of the lower support cover with different radial thicknesses. Therefore, the claimed combination represents a non-obvious advance over the prior art.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/PHILLIP A JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617