Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
3. Claims 1, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minami (JP-S62226798-A).
Consider claims 1, 13 and 20. MINAMI teaches an acoustic device with a first microphone (reference microphone), a second microphone (error microphone), and a noise canceller that generates a pseudo-noise signal to be subtracted from the output signal (Claim 1). MINAMI teaches "An acoustic device comprising: a first microphone provided in the acoustic device; a second microphone provided in headphones; a noise canceller that learns the acoustic characteristics of these microphones from the output signals of the first microphone and the second microphone, and generates a pseudo-noise signal of the noise signal input to the second microphone from the learning result and the noise signal input to the first microphone; and a subtractor that subtracts the pseudo-noise signal from the output signal of the acoustic device and inputs it to the headphones." (Claim 1).
MINAMI teaches an adaptive filter that uses a reference signal (X) and an error signal (E) to learn and generate a pseudo-noise signal (V). MINAMI teaches " This noise canceller 15 has an adaptive filter (AF) 19 and a subtractor 21. The adaptive filter 19 learns from the input noise signal MX and the residual signal E, which is the output signal from the microphone 13, to minimize the power of the residual signal E and generates pseudo-noise Y. Next, the operation of this embodiment will be described. First, let's explain how the noise canceller 15 works. In this noise canceller 15, an adaptive filter operates under the control of the level detector 18 so that when the output signal @V of the amplifier 7 is zero, the residual signal E output from the subtractor 21 becomes zero" (para [0001]).
MINAMI teaches that the pseudo-noise signal (based on the cancellation parameter) is subtracted from the audio signal and played through the headphone. MINAMI teaches "The pseudo-noise Y output from the noise canceller 15 is subtracted from the output signal V of the amplifier 7 by the subtractor 17 to obtain the headphone signal W. That is, W = V - Y...■This headphone signal W is reproduced by headphones 9 and becomes an audio signal, but noise is also heard by the ear (not shown), so the signal heard by the ear 5QS (which is also the input signal E of microphone B). 5EE) is S = W + Y = V - Y + Y (from ■) = V - Y + Y (from ■) = V Therefore, the ear can hear only the pure audio signal from cassette tape 3 which is free of noise" (para [0001]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minami (JP-S62226798-A) in view of Liu (12,745,036).
Consider claim 19. Minami does not teach a plurality of second reference microphones, wherein the first FF filter corresponds to the at least one first reference microphone, and the at least one second FF filter corresponds to at least one second reference microphone in the plurality of second reference microphones.
Liu teaches a plurality of second reference microphones, wherein the first FF filter corresponds to the at least one first reference microphone, and the at least one second FF filter corresponds to at least one second reference microphone in the plurality of second reference microphones (see fig 5; microphone array, col. 8, lines 13-46).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Minami to include a plurality of second reference microphones as taught by Liu because Liu demonstrates that multiple reference microphones, each associated with a corresponding feedforward filter, improve detection of acoustic conditions and enhance noise control performance. The modification would have amounted to the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions, namely improved spatial sampling and more accurate feedforward filtering.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-12, 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
DUC NGUYEN
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691