DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps is/are: “receiving a driving code matrix…”.
Independent claims recites “…the touch control method comprising; receiving a driving code matrix…” however it is unclear how or who supplies the received drive code matrix to touch the control. The claim only recites receiving drive code matrix without establishing the source of driving code matrix. Therefore claims 2-7 and 10-15 are also rejected due to its dependency to the above claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al (PG Pub NO 2022/0043537).
As in claim 1, Lee et al discloses a touch control method applied to a touch panel (Par 0001) comprising a plurality of driving electrodes and a plurality of sensing electrodes intersect to form a plurality of touch nodes [(Fig 1) discloses plurality of driving electrodes (TX) and a plurality of sensing electrodes (RX) intersect], the touch control method comprising:
receiving a driving code matrix of 2ⁿ-1 order comprising a plurality of codes corresponding to the plurality of touch nodes, n is a positive integer greater than 1; (Fig 1, 16 and Par 0042) discloses [0042] The encoder 211 may encode signals (e.g., transmission voltages) and generate the transmission signals TXs. In an example embodiment, the encoder 211 may encode the signals based on a matrix H. Further, because the matrix H used for the encoding process needs to be restored through a decoding process, the presence of an inverse matrix may be required. [0044] The receiving circuit 230 may receive the receiving signals RXs through the plurality of output lines RL_1 to RL_N. The receiving circuit 230 may include a decoder 231. Thus the transmission signals based on a matrix H (i.e. driving code matrix order) are codes corresponding to the plurality of touch nodes
sending a plurality of driving signals to the plurality of driving electrodes simultaneously according to the driving code matrix; (Fig 1-2 and Par 0041-0043 and 0047-0052) discloses [0041] The transmitting circuit 210 may respectively provide the transmission signals TXs to the plurality of input lines TL_1 to TL_M wired in the touch panel 100. [0042] The encoder 211 may encode signals (e.g., transmission voltages) and generate the transmission signals TXs. In an example embodiment, the encoder 211 may encode the signals based on a matrix H.
and receiving a sensing code matrix generated by the plurality of sensing electrodes based on the plurality of driving signals, wherein the sensing code matrix is configured to obtain a touch position. (Fig 1, 3 and Par 0044) discloses [0044] The receiving circuit 230 may receive the receiving signals RXs through the plurality of output lines RL_1 to RL_N. The receiving circuit 230 may include a decoder 231. [0045] In an example embodiment, the decoder 231 may decode the receiving signals RXs based on an inverse matrix of the matrix H and extract mutual capacitances based on the decoding results.
As in claim 2, Lee et al discloses the touch control method according to claim 1, wherein each column of the driving code matrix comprises a plurality of codes 1 and a plurality of codes -1, each of the plurality of codes 1 represents sending a positive driving signal to a corresponding touch driving electrode, and each of the plurality of codes -1 represents sending a negative driving signal to a corresponding touch driving electrode. (Fig 3, 5 and par 0066) discloses column of the driving code matrix comprises a plurality of codes 1 (positive driving signal) and a plurality of codes -1 (negative driving signal) to a corresponding touch driving electrode (see fig 10 also).
As in claim 3, Lee et al discloses the touch control method according to claim 2, wherein the sending a plurality of driving signals to the plurality of driving electrodes simultaneously comprises: sending a plurality of positive driving signals to partial of the plurality of driving electrodes simultaneously and sending a plurality of negative driving signals to the remaining driving electrodes simultaneously. (Fig 1, 3 and Par 0067) discloses the receiving circuit RX or 230 may receive a receiving signal. [0069] For example, elements [y1, y2, y3, y4] of the receiving signal RXs may be proportional to a matrix product of the Hadamard matrix H.sub.4 and the first to fourth mutual capacitances
As in claim 4, Lee et al discloses the touch control method according to claim 2, wherein each column of codes in the driving code matrix has a same arithmetic sum. (Fig 5, 10) discloses the arithmetic sums of codes in each column of the driving code matrix are same arithmetic sum.
As in claim 8, Lee et al discloses a touch control circuit (Fig 1 item 200 and Fig 18) comprising a memory storing (600) a computer program and a processor connected to the memory, a touch control method being performed when the computer program being executed by the processor [(Fig 18 and Par 0156) discloses A control logic 500 may execute commands stored in the memory and control all operations of the touch sensor and a display], the touch control method comprising:
receiving a driving code matrix of 2ⁿ-1 order comprising a plurality of codes corresponding to the plurality of touch nodes, n is a positive integer greater than 1; (Fig 1, 16 and Par 0042) discloses [0042] The encoder 211 may encode signals (e.g., transmission voltages) and generate the transmission signals TXs. In an example embodiment, the encoder 211 may encode the signals based on a matrix H. Further, because the matrix H used for the encoding process needs to be restored through a decoding process, the presence of an inverse matrix may be required. [0044] The receiving circuit 230 may receive the receiving signals RXs through the plurality of output lines RL_1 to RL_N. The receiving circuit 230 may include a decoder 231.
sending a plurality of driving signals to the plurality of driving electrodes simultaneously according to the driving code matrix; (Fig 1-2 and Par 0041-0043 and 0047-0052) discloses [0041] The transmitting circuit 210 may respectively provide the transmission signals TXs to the plurality of input lines TL_1 to TL_M wired in the touch panel 100. [0042] The encoder 211 may encode signals (e.g., transmission voltages) and generate the transmission signals TXs. In an example embodiment, the encoder 211 may encode the signals based on a matrix H.
and receiving a sensing code matrix generated by the plurality of sensing electrodes based on the plurality of driving signals, wherein the sensing code matrix is configured to obtain a touch position. (Fig 1, 3 and Par 0044) discloses [0044] The receiving circuit 230 may receive the receiving signals RXs through the plurality of output lines RL_1 to RL_N. The receiving circuit 230 may include a decoder 231. [0045] In an example embodiment, the decoder 231 may decode the receiving signals RXs based on an inverse matrix of the matrix H and extract mutual capacitances based on the decoding results.
As in claim 9, Lee et al discloses a touch panel (Fig 1) comprising: a plurality of driving electrodes; a plurality of sensing electrodes intersecting the plurality of driving electrodes to form a plurality of touch nodes [(Fig 1) discloses plurality of driving electrodes (TX) and a plurality of sensing electrodes (RX) intersect]; and a touch control circuit comprising a memory storing a computer program and a processor connected to the memory, a touch control method being performed when the computer program being executed by the processor[(Fig 1, 18 and Par 0156) discloses a control logic 500 may execute commands stored in the memory and control all operations of the touch sensor and a display], the touch control method comprising:
receiving a driving code matrix of 2ⁿ-1 order comprising a plurality of codes corresponding to the plurality of touch nodes, n is a positive integer greater than 1; (Fig 1, 16 and Par 0042) discloses [0042] The encoder 211 may encode signals (e.g., transmission voltages) and generate the transmission signals TXs. In an example embodiment, the encoder 211 may encode the signals based on a matrix H. Further, because the matrix H used for the encoding process needs to be restored through a decoding process, the presence of an inverse matrix may be required. [0044] The receiving circuit 230 may receive the receiving signals RXs through the plurality of output lines RL_1 to RL_N. The receiving circuit 230 may include a decoder 231.
sending a plurality of driving signals to the plurality of driving electrodes simultaneously according to the driving code matrix; (Fig 1-2 and Par 0041-0043 and 0047-0052) discloses [0041] The transmitting circuit 210 may respectively provide the transmission signals TXs to the plurality of input lines TL_1 to TL_M wired in the touch panel 100. [0042] The encoder 211 may encode signals (e.g., transmission voltages) and generate the transmission signals TXs. In an example embodiment, the encoder 211 may encode the signals based on a matrix H.
and receiving a sensing code matrix generated by the plurality of sensing electrodes based on the plurality of driving signals, wherein the sensing code matrix is configured to obtain a touch position. (Fig 1, 3 and Par 0044) discloses [0044] The receiving circuit 230 may receive the receiving signals RXs through the plurality of output lines RL_1 to RL_N. The receiving circuit 230 may include a decoder 231. [0045] In an example embodiment, the decoder 231 may decode the receiving signals RXs based on an inverse matrix of the matrix H and extract mutual capacitances based on the decoding results.
As in claim 10, Lee et al discloses the touch panel according to claim 9, wherein each column of the driving code matrix comprises a plurality of codes 1 and codes -1, each of the plurality of codes 1 represents sending a positive driving signal to a corresponding touch driving electrode, and each of the plurality of codes - 1 represents sending a negative driving signal to a corresponding touch driving electrode. (Fig 3, 5 and par 0066) discloses column of the driving code matrix comprises a plurality of codes 1 (positive driving signal) and a plurality of codes -1 (negative driving signal) to a corresponding touch driving electrode (see fig 10 also).
As in claim 11, Lee et al discloses the touch panel according to claim 10, wherein the sending a plurality of driving signals to the plurality of driving electrodes simultaneously comprises: sending a plurality of positive driving signals to partial of the plurality of driving electrodes simultaneously and sending a plurality of negative driving signals to the remaining driving electrodes simultaneously. (Fig 1, 3 and Par 0067) discloses the receiving circuit RX or 230 may receive a receiving signal. [0069] For example, elements [y1, y2, y3, y4] of the receiving signal RXs may be proportional to a matrix product of the Hadamard matrix H.sub.4 and the first to fourth mutual capacitances
As in claim 12, Lee et al discloses the touch panel according to claim 10, wherein each column of codes in the driving code matrix has a same arithmetic sum. (Fig 5, 10) discloses the arithmetic sums of codes in each column of the driving code matrix are same arithmetic sum.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (PG Pub NO 2022/0043537) in view of Hamaguchi et al (PG Pub NO 2014/0104236).
As in claim 5, Lee et al discloses the touch control method according to claim 4, wherein each column of codes in the driving code matrix has the arithmetic sum (Fig 5, 10) discloses an even number matrix wherein the arithmetic sums of codes in each column of the driving code matrix are same arithmetic sum. But fails to disclose each column of codes in the driving code matrix has the arithmetic sum of 1. However Hamaguchi et al (Fig 10 and Par 0091-0092) discloses an M-sequence code MC1 according to which the touch panel system 1 is driven. The M-sequence code MC1 is a matrix of 31 rows.times.31 columns. An element "1" in the M-sequence code MC1 means that +V volt is applied to the drive lines. The element "-1" in the M-sequence code MC1 means that -V volt is applied to the drive lines. Thus the each column of codes in the driving code matrix has the arithmetic sum of 1 as shown in fig 10. Therefore it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Lee et al with the teaching of Hamaguchi et al touch panel controller wherein the driving code matrix of each column includes 16 codes 1 and 15 codes −1, so that the arithmetic sum of the codes in each column would be 1 which would help in improving signal-to-noise ratio of the touch panel .
As in claim 13, Lee et al discloses the touch panel according to claim 12, wherein each column of codes in the driving code matrix has the arithmetic sum (Fig 5, 10) discloses an even number matrix wherein the arithmetic sums of codes in each column of the driving code matrix are same arithmetic sum. But fails to disclose each column of codes in the driving code matrix has the arithmetic sum of 1. However Hamaguchi et al (Fig 10 and Par 0091-0092) discloses an M-sequence code MC1 according to which the touch panel system 1 is driven. The M-sequence code MC1 is a matrix of 31 rows.times.31 columns. An element "1" in the M-sequence code MC1 means that +V volt is applied to the drive lines. The element "-1" in the M-sequence code MC1 means that -V volt is applied to the drive lines. Thus the each column of codes in the driving code matrix has the arithmetic sum of 1 as shown in fig 10. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Lee et al with the teaching of Hamaguchi et al touch panel controller wherein the driving code matrix of each column includes 16 codes 1 and 15 codes −1, so that the arithmetic sum of the codes in each column would be 1 which would help in improving signal-to-noise ratio of the touch panel .
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (PG Pub NO 2022/0043537) in view of Mohamed et al (PG Pub NO 2020/0379623).
As in claim 6, Lee et al discloses the touch control method according to claim 1, after the receiving a sensing code matrix generated by the plurality of sensing electrodes based on the plurality of driving signals, the touch control method further comprises: multiplying the sensing code matrix by a preset demodulation matrix to obtain a capacitance matrix; and recognizing the touch position according to the capacitance matrix. Lee et al (Par 0044- 0045) discloses receiving circuit 230 may receive the receiving signals RXs through the plurality of output lines RL_1 to RL_N. The receiving circuit 230 may include a decoder 231.The decoder 231 may decode the receiving signals RXs based on an inverse matrix of the matrix H and extract mutual capacitances based on the decoding results. The touch controller 200 may calculate a touch position or touch sensitivity of the conductive object on the touch panel 100 based on variations in a plurality of mutual capacitances. But fails to explicitly discloses the use of demodulation matrix to obtain a capacitance matrix. However Mohamed et al (Par 0054) discloses The receiving circuit 124, particularly, the processing circuit 228 may generate touch data by applying a demodulation matrix to sensing data generated depending on response signals. Such processing in the driving circuit 122 is also referred to as a data encoding and the processing in the receiving circuit 124 is also referred to as a data decoding. [0062] discloses generating demodulated data by applying an inverse matrix of the modulation matrix M as a demodulation matrix to the sensing data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Lee et al with the teaching of Mohamed et al wherein the device can generate touch data by applying a demodulation matrix that is similar to data decoding by removing offsets from sensing data and separate influences of the driving signals.
As in claim 14, Lee et al discloses the touch panel according to claim 9, after the receiving a sensing code matrix generated by the plurality of sensing electrodes based on the plurality of driving signals, the touch control method further comprises: multiplying the sensing code matrix by a preset demodulation matrix to obtain a capacitance matrix; and recognizing the touch position according to the capacitance matrix. Lee et al (Par 0044- 0045) discloses receiving circuit 230 may receive the receiving signals RXs through the plurality of output lines RL_1 to RL_N. The receiving circuit 230 may include a decoder 231.The decoder 231 may decode the receiving signals RXs based on an inverse matrix of the matrix H and extract mutual capacitances based on the decoding results. The touch controller 200 may calculate a touch position or touch sensitivity of the conductive object on the touch panel 100 based on variations in a plurality of mutual capacitances. But fails to explicitly discloses the use of demodulation matrix to obtain a capacitance matrix. However Mohamed et al (Par 0054) discloses The receiving circuit 124, particularly, the processing circuit 228 may generate touch data by applying a demodulation matrix to sensing data generated depending on response signals. Such processing in the driving circuit 122 is also referred to as a data encoding and the processing in the receiving circuit 124 is also referred to as a data decoding. [0062] discloses generating demodulated data by applying an inverse matrix of the modulation matrix M as a demodulation matrix to the sensing data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Lee et al with the teaching of Mohamed et al wherein the device can generate touch data by applying a demodulation matrix that is similar to data decoding by removing offsets from sensing data and separate influences of the driving signals.
Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (PG Pub NO 2022/0043537) in view of Mohamed et al (PG Pub NO 2020/0379623) and in further view of Hamaguchi et al (PG Pub NO 2014/0104236)
As in claim 7, Lee et al in view of Mohamed et al discloses the touch control method according to claim 6, but fails to disclose the preset demodulation matrix is obtained by changing all codes -1 of the sensing code matrix into 0. However Hamaguchi et al (Fig 10-11 and Par 0092) discloses changing all codes -1 of the sensing code matrix into 0. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Lee et al in view of Mohamed et al with the teaching of Hamaguchi et al to implement known method to yield same predictable outcome of decode matrix .
As in claim 15, Lee et al in view of Mohamed et al discloses the touch control method according to claim 14, but fails to disclose the preset demodulation matrix is obtained by changing all codes -1 of the sensing code matrix into 0. However Hamaguchi et al (Fig 10-11 and Par 0092) discloses changing all codes -1 of the sensing code matrix into 0. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Lee et al in view of Mohamed et al with the teaching of Hamaguchi et al to implement known method to yield same predictable outcome of decode matrix .
Conclusion
/BENYAM KETEMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626