DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,355,266. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are anticipated thereby see table below:
Application claims
Patented claims
Remarks
1
1
All limitations included; a decorative item anticipated as a wreath;
2
2
Identical
3
3
Identical
4
4
Identical
5
5
All limitations included
6
6
Identical
7
5
All limitations included
8
8
Identical
9
9
Identical
10
10
All limitations included
11
11
Identical
12
12
Identical
13
13
Identical
14
10
All limitations included
15
15
All limitations included; a decorative device anticipated as a tree toper
16
16
Identical
17
15
All limitations included
18
18
Identical
19
19
Identical
20
20
All limitations included
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Neuman et al. [U.S. 7,973,486 B2].
Regarding claims 1, 15, 17 and 20, Neuman et al. discloses a wirelessly powered decorative system [a Christmas tree 10, see figure 1] comprising: a decorative item [EMF-switched decorative displays or housing 26]; a wirelessly powered decorative device [EMF-switched decorative display 14 or Circuit 30, see figures 1 or 3] in communication with the decorative item [26], the wirelessly powered decorative device [14 or 30] comprising a receiver [antenna 28] and a load [electrical display component 32]; a wireless power transmitter [light string 12 provides an in-place transmitting antenna, column 6 lines 53-56] configured to transmit power to the receiver [28] of the wirelessly powered decorative device [30]; and a microcontroller [46, figure 5], wherein the load [32] can be powered by power received by the receiver of the wirelessly powered decorative device from the wireless power transmitter [column 3 lines 50-55, column 4 lines 4-13].
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Neuman et al. discloses the load is an LED device and the LED device can be illuminated by power received by the receiver of the wirelessly powered decorative device from the wireless power transmitter (column 3 lines 50-55).
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Neuman et al. discloses the microcontroller is configured to receive and process wireless data (microcontroller 46 executes its stored program, column 4 lines 56-65).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiering et al. [U.S. 5,034,658].
Regarding claim 20, Hiering et al. discloses an artificial tree [figures 1a-1b] comprising: an ornament [figures 3-4]; a wirelessly powered decorative device [figure 1b] in communication with the ornament, the wirelessly powered decorative device comprising a receiver [an air-core coil 3] and a load [LED 1]; a wireless power transmitter [a high-frequency transmitter 7] configured to transmit power to the receiver of the wirelessly powered decorative device; and wherein the load can be powered by power received by the receiver of the wirelessly powered decorative device from the wireless power transmitter (figure 1a-1b, 2 and 3 ; title, abstract, column 1 lines 7-10; column 2 lines 7-13 and lines 40-48).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neuman et al. [U.S. 7,973,486 B2] in view of Hiering et al. [U.S. 5,034,658] and Ault et al. [U.S. 5,118,196].
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Neuman et al. discloses the wireless power transmitter and the receiver (figures 1 and 5). However, Neuman et al. does not clearly show the one or more transmitting and receiving coils.
Hiering et al. teaches a wirelessly power system having receiving coils [3] (figure 1b).
Ault et al. teaches a wirelessly power system having transmitting coils [37] (figures 1-2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine the transmitter and receiver of Neuman et al. with the transmitting coils as taught by Ault et al. and the receiving coils as taught by Hiering et al. for purpose of providing an advantageous way of transmitting and receiving power or data as wanted.
Claim(s) 5-8 and 10, 11, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neuman et al. [U.S. 7,973,486 B2] in view of OBriant-Teague [U.S. 2015/0016111 A1].
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Neuman et al. discloses a wirelessly powered decorative system item [see figure 1] comprising: a top [14a]; a wirelessly powered decorative device [14 or 30] in communication with the top [14a, figure 3], the wirelessly powered decorative device comprising a receiver [28] and a load [32]; a wireless power transmitter [light string 12 provides an in-place transmitting antenna, column 6 lines 53-56] configured to transmit power to the receiver [28] of the wirelessly powered decorative device [14 or 30]; and wherein the load [32] can be powered by power received by the receiver of the wirelessly powered decorative device from the wireless power transmitter [column 3 lines 50-55, column 4 lines 4-13].
However, Neuman et al. does not clearly disclose the garland strand.
OBriant-Teague teaches a decorative system having illumination portion 102 being a garland (paragraph [0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine the decorative item of Neuman et al. with the garland as taught by OBriant-Teague for purpose of providing an advantageous way of illumination decoration.
Regarding claim 6, Neuman et al. discloses the load is an LED device and the LED device can be illuminated by power received by the receiver of the wirelessly powered decorative device from the wireless power transmitter (column 3 lines 50-55).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Neuman et al. discloses the wirelessly powered decorative device further comprises a microcontroller [46] (figure 5).
Regarding claim 8, Neuman et al. discloses the wirelessly powered decorative device receives a power signal and a data signal from the wireless power transmitter (microcontroller 46 executes its stored program, column 4 lines 56-65).
Regarding claim 11, Neuman et al. discloses the decorative object is artificial tree (figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Neuman et al. discloses the decorative object is not connected to by a wire to a power source (figure 1).
Claim(s) 9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neuman et al. [U.S. 7,973,486 B2] and OBriant-Teague [U.S. 2015/0016111 A1] in view of Hiering et al. [U.S. 5,034,658] and Ault et al. [U.S. 5,118,196].
Regarding claims 9 and 12, Neuman et al. and OBriant-Teague disclose the wireless power transmitter and the receiver (see figures 1 and 5 of Neuman et al.).
However, Neuman et al. does not clearly show the one or more transmitting and receiving coils.
Hiering et al. teaches a wirelessly power system having receiving coils [3] (figure 1b).
Ault et al. teaches a wirelessly power system having transmitting coils [37] (figures 1-2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine the transmitter and receiver of Neuman et al. with the transmitting coils as taught by Ault et al. and the receiving coils as taught by Hiering et al. for purpose of providing an advantageous way of transmitting and receiving power or data as wanted.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen U.S. 6,652,927 B1 discloses a tree topper as a star 46 (figure 1).
Sanford U.S. 5,558,422 discloses a light string can be incorporated into decorative garland, a wreath, or a Christmas tree structure (figures 1 and 3).
BAO Q. TRUONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/BAO Q TRUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875