Detailed Action
This is the Final Rejection based on application 19/218,890 filed on 05/27/2025, and which claims as amended on 08/04/2026 have been considered in the ensuing action.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made to the instant application’s status as a CIP of applications 18/678,233 filed 05/30/2024 and 18/641,846 filed 04/22/2024. Application 18/678,233 further claims the status of a CON of PCT/US2022/051356 filed 11/30/2022. While application 18/641,846 claims the status of a 371 of PCT/US2022/047441. Where PCT/US2022/047441, claims priority to provisional applications 63/346,800, 63/284,412, and 63/270,408 and as such the earliest date of priority of 10/21/2021 is granted to the instant application.
Response to Amendment
The amendments have not been sufficient to overcome all the original claim objections, and rejections under 35 USC 112(b) present in the Non-Final Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 9 , and 11 recite the limitation “ a plurality of BLE enabled buttons” on line 25, 27, and 21 respectively. There is no definition in the specification as to what BLE is an acronym for, nor do the claims establish the acronym prior to use. The examiner notes that BLE is commonly used to refer to “Bluetooth Low Energy”, however the claims as amended have removed any use of said phrase and now it appears the claim language is meant to be along the lines of –a plurality of wireless short-range communication enabled buttons--.
Dependent claims 2-8,10, and 12-16 are rejected due to their dependency on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zolezzi et al. US 20210077884 A1 in view of Walsh et al. US 20150173993 A1, and in further view of Norris US 20130310230 A1.
Regarding claim 1:
Zolezzi teaches a method For Controlling Resistance Training Machine (“The following subject matter may be embodied in a variety of different forms, such as methods, devices, components, and/or systems.” See paragraph [0019] and figure 1), comprising the steps: a. controlling a resistance training machine to measure and communicate form feedback(“In some embodiments, the controller may control the motor 102 based upon one or more feedback signals associated with the resistance applied to the barbell 130 by the motor.” See paragraph [0175]) and balance feedback during some or all exercises performed on the resistance training machine by a drive system module (“The exercise machine may include one or more driving elements connected to one or more motors controlled by a computer.” See abstract . The examiner notes that the system controlling drive elements connected to the one more motors controlled by the computer during exercise and where it provides feedback based on signals received is being considered as balancing feedback during exercise through a drive system module), wherein the resistance training machine comprises a platform or base (See annotated figure 1) with a plurality of load cells(“In some embodiments, the one or more first sensors may comprise at least one of one or more accelerometers, one or more proximity sensors, one or more optical sensors, one or more image sensors, one or more cameras, one or more motion sensors, one or more ultrasonic sensors, one or more infrared sensors, one or more load sensors, etc. configured to determine the first information.” See paragraph [0030].The examiner notes that load cells are a common form of load sensor, and as such the load sensors disclosed by Zolezzi under the broadest reasonable interpretation are being considered load cells.), a motor (motor 102) and a sensor operably coupled to cables (driving elements 116/117 The examiner notes that as stated previously the controller uses the data sensed by the sensors as the user exercises with the apparatus, the cables, to determine what process to execute, therefore the sensors are operably coupled to the cables), the cables operably coupled to a pulley system (Pulleys 118/119), a controller operatively coupled to the sensor, the plurality of load cells, the motor, and human machine interface (device 114“In some embodiments, the one or more inputs, based upon which the controller is configured to control the one or more motors, comprises the one or more signals.” See paragraph [0158]); b. providing resistance supplied by the motors to perform an isokinetic exercise or an isotonic exercise (“the motor 102 is configured to generate one or more forces and/or apply the one or more forces to the barbell 130 via the driving mechanism. “ See paragraph [0144]); b. providing resistance supplied by the motors to perform an isokinetic exercise or an isotonic exercise (“the motor 102 is configured to generate one or more forces and/or apply the one or more forces to the barbell 130 via the driving mechanism. “ See paragraph [0144]) by receiving position data as a function of time from the motor (“Alternatively and/or additionally, the rate of resistance change may correspond to a change of resistance over position of the one or more exercise bars (e.g., a decrease of 5 pounds per inch that the one or more exercise bars are moved or an increase of 5 pounds per inch that the one or more exercise bars are moved).” See paragraph [0086]. The examiner notes that the rate of resistance change corresponding to resistance over position, is inherently a function of time as rate of change is defined as quantity over time. ), and a main module is configured to receive current, torque, and/or force data as a function of time from the motor, the main module receives force data, weight data, force distribution data and/or weight distribution from the plurality of load cells (“In some embodiments, the controller may control the one or more motors based upon one or more feedback signals associated with the resistance applied to the one or more exercise bars by the motor.” See paragraph [0068]. The examiner notes that the controller receives data from the load sensors as previously shown and that the data can include the change of resistance which is force or weight over position, and distribution of force/weight as the sensors can detect if the force applied to the bar is uneven.); and c. operably coupling the main module (“The bench press machine may comprise a controller configured to control the one or more motors based upon one or more inputs.” See paragraph [0006].) with a plurality of modules including a wireless short-range communication module (“Alternatively and/or additionally, the wireless connection may be established using Bluetooth Low Energy technology and/or Bluetooth mesh networking technology.” See paragraph [0090]. The examiner notes that Bluetooth low energy technology is a wireless communication technology designed for low power and short range data transmission. ), a Training program module (“The first set of exercise settings may be selected via the client exercise interface (such as via selections of one or more selectable inputs of the client exercise interface). The client device may transmit settings information indicative of the first set of exercise settings to the controller, such as via a wireless connection and/or a wired connection.” See paragraph [0090]), the drive system module (Motor 102 and controller together comprise a drive system module), a sensor and switch monitor module (The examiner notes that within the specification of the instant application see paragraph [0046], it is stated that the sensor and switch monitor module reads the hall sensor and switch status and reports to the main module, or that the module reads general-purpose inputs/outputs, and as such the controller monitoring the data collected by the various sensors in order to provide feedback and control the motors is being considered under the broadest reasonable interpretation with no further structural or functional limitations as the sensor and switch monitor module.), an actuator control module (Height adjustment system as outlined in paragraphs [0188-0189]), a Logging Module(“In some embodiments, the communication service may provide a competition interface to enable the user to compete with one or more of the user's contacts and/or other users, such as with respect to various performance indicators (e.g., at least one of calories burned, duration of exercise, quantities of sets and/or repetitions, resistance levels used while exercising, maximum amount of resistance level used during an exercise, etc.).” See paragraph [0099]. The examiner notes that the competition interface which collects the above mentioned parameters for the user and stores them to allow them to “compete” with others, shows that the data is logged and stored during use and is therefore being considered a Logging module, under the broadest reasonable interpretation with no further structural or functional limitations.), and an MQTT (Message Queuing Telemetry Transport) client that is a protocol to send and receive messages (The communication service allows users to send limited messages to either the system or each other depending on the settings desired, see paragraph [0099]. The examiner notes that an MQTT client is a standard form of machine-to-machine messaging communication, therefore the system having the capability for a dedicated messaging service to either the system or others is being considered an MQTT client. ); and d. reading out a plurality of settings by the main module (“In some embodiments, the controller may control the one or more motors such that the resistance applied by the one or more motors to the one or more exercise bars is in accordance with the one or more resistance settings.” See paragraph [0069]. The examiner notes that the controller controlling the system based on one or more resistance settings is being considered under the broadest reasonable interpretation with no further structural or functional limitations as the main module, which is the controller, reading a plurality of settings. ); storing a calibration data on a system startup (“For example, the one or more resistance settings may be indicative of one or more resistance functions. A resistance function of the one or more resistance functions may correspond to an initial resistance, a last resistance and/or a rate of resistance change.” See paragraph [0084] .The examiner notes that the controller having a base line initial resistance and then monitoring for changes and adjusting accordingly constitutes calibration data being collected and stored during startup.); distributing the sensors data to the main module and the wireless short-range communication module by the main module (“The one or more sensors may be configured to transmit one or more signals to the controller” See paragraph [0006]); managing the haptic or button presses received from a plurality of BLE enabled buttons by the main module (“The first set of exercise settings may be selected via the exercise interface (such as via selections of one or more selectable inputs of the exercise interface). For example, the interface device may comprise a touchscreen and/or one or more other components for the user to interact with.” See paragraph [0089]. The examiner notes that buttons are a common interface component for the user to interact with, and due to the lack of direction in the specification as to the difference between a BLE enabled button and a wireless button, and the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) presented above, and the prior statements regarding the main modules control over the system is being considered under the broadest reasonable interpretation with no further structural or functional limitations, as the main module managing the button presses.); managing the information received from the load cell interface communication module by the main module (“The one or more first sensors may be used for measuring and/or determining one or more parameters associated with the first exercise process” See paragraph [0029]); calling the plurality of settings from the main module upon request by the main module (As stated above the inputs/main module allow the user or the exercise system to make adjustments based on the desired settings and therefore it calls the plurality of settings.); operating a plurality of states including an Initialize state (“In some embodiments, when the controller controls the one or more motors based upon the first resistance function, the controller may initially control the one or more motors such that an initial resistance, associated with the first resistance function, is applied to the one or more exercise bars.” See paragraph [0086]), a Calibration state (the fact that Zolezzi operates by collecting calibration data and adjust the exercise machine accordingly implies a calibration state), a Workout state (“A user may perform a first exercise process by interacting with the exercise bar.” See paragraph [0024] , where it is further specified “The term “exercise bar” as used herein, may correspond to an interface between the user and the exercise machine that the user interacts with to perform the first exercise process, such as at least one of a bar, a barbell, a grip, a dumbbell, a shaped bar, a handle, a bar surrounded by a roller pad, a plate to which the user applies force using one or more of the user's body parts, etc.” showing that this method can apply to multiple different exercises.), a Stop state (“The term may correspond to a user-selected term and/or a default term used to signal the controller to stop the one or more motors from applying resistance to the one or more exercise bars and/or to disconnect the one or more motors from one or more components, such as at least one of the controller, a power source with which the one or more motors are powered, one or more driving elements used for applying force to the one or more exercise bars, etc.” See paragraph [0136]), an Idle state (“The one or more motors may stop generating force and/or applying force to the one or more exercise bars responsive to receiving the signal.” See paragraph [0062]), a tracking motor current state (“In some embodiments, the controller is configured to control the motor 102, such as control the one or more forces of the motor 102, based upon one or more inputs.” See paragraph [0144] where the controller monitoring the motor and controlling the forces it produces is being considered as a tracking motor current state), and a hall sensor check state from the sensor or the plurality of load cells (The examiner notes the fact that the controller monitors the sensor data and checks that they are operating correctly and when it detects a dangerous activity can shut off/ reduce the resistance applied by the motor is being considered a hall sensor check state.).
[AltContent: textbox (Base/Platform)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Device/System of Zolezzi including left and right (first and second) cables 117 and 116)]
Zolezzi fails to teach a load cell interface communication module that is a load cell interface which amplifies the signals detected to provide clear digital values, and a pull in slack state.
Walsh, however, teaches, a system of cables, and pulleys, driven by motors and various electrical components to generate forces around joints, and a method to control said system based on data gathered and communicated by the sensors of the system, and further teaches utilizing a load cell interface communication module that is a load cell interface which amplifies the signals detected to provide clear digital values (“Tension in the Bowden cable 142 can be sensed with a 50 kg beam-style load cell 234 (Phidgets, product code 3135) mounted against an idler pulley 232 in the pulley module 224. A full bridge strain gauge on the load cell 234 is connected to a signal amplifier 242 (e.g., Futek CSG110) through an electrical interface (e.g., pogo pin). See paragraph [0232]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zolezzi’s invention to include a load cell interface communication module, as taught by Walsh as the module allows data signals sent by load cells to be cleaned and provide more clear data for controllers to utilize when executing their processes that are dependent on the data provided by the sensors causing more accurate control of the exercise machine, and thereby a better workout for the user.
Zolezzi as modified by Walsh however, still fails to teach a Pull in Slack State.
Norris, however, teaches an exercise apparatus includes a frame, one or more pull cables running through cable guides to provide resistance exercise, and a mechanism for providing variable resistance to the cables, and further teaches a Pull in Slack state (“The ROBOTIC MOTOR 148 begins to wind or unwind the COILING MECHANISM 132 as directed by the electronic impulses. The COILING MECHANISM 132 either retracts the CABLE 136 at a predetermined velocity or allows the CABLE 136 to be extended at a predetermined velocity depending on the exercise chosen by the user using the COMPUTER CONTROLLER 158.” See paragraph [0040]. The examiner notes that a “Pull in Slack state” as defined in paragraph [0032] of the instant applications specification as operating the main module to retract the cable back to dock position at a minimum force or velocity if certain conditions are met, which the cables being re-wound by the coiling mechanism at a predetermined velocity is equivalent to that function. ).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention taught by Zolezzi and Walsh, to program the controller to include a pull in slack state in order to return the cables to a starting position when not in use, as taught by Norris, in order to ensure that the exercise apparatus always starts from a constant initial position so that the calibration of each exercise is begun from a common starting point.
Regarding claim 2:
Zolezzi as modified discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising the plurality of modules communicating with the Logging Module to log all the events from the plurality of modules to a terminal and filed to the terminal, logging and providing training history on request (“In some embodiments, the communication service may provide a competition interface to enable the user to compete with one or more of the user's contacts and/or other users, such as with respect to various performance indicators (e.g., at least one of calories burned, duration of exercise, quantities of sets and/or repetitions, resistance levels used while exercising, maximum amount of resistance level used during an exercise, etc.).” See paragraph [0099]. The examiner notes that the system being able to track and receive this information and provide it upon request when the user signs in or utilizes the communication service implies that the events are logged and provided.); and the MQTT client is operable and communicable with the main module to get information (“For example, the controller may transmit a signal, indicative of the one or more motors deactivating, shutting down and/or turning off, to the one or more motors. The one or more motors may deactivate, shut down and/or turn off responsive to receiving the signal.” See paragraph [0064].)
Regarding claim 3:
Zolezzi as modified discloses the method of Claim 2, further comprising: a. Operating the main module with the wireless short-range communication module (The rejections of claims 1 and 2 show how the modules are activated and operate to perform the method), the MQTT client (The rejections of claims 1 and 2 show how the modules are activated and operate to perform the method), and controlling the wireless short-range communication module, the MQTT client via a wireless interface (“The client device may transmit settings information indicative of the first set of exercise settings to the controller, such as via a wireless connection and/or a wired connection.” See paragraph [0090]); b. Operating the main module with the Training program module and the load cell interface communication module (The rejections of claims 1 and 2 show how the modules are activated and operate to perform the method); c. Operating the main module that communicates with a cloud server (“The second client device may transmit settings information indicative of the first set of exercise settings to the controller, the first client device and/or to one or more servers (e.g., a cloud) associated with the exercise interface such as via a second wireless connection and/or a second wired connection.” See paragraph [0091]); and d. Operating the main module with the drive system module and the sensor and switch monitor module (The rejections of claims 1 and 2 show how the modules are activated and operate to perform the method).
Regarding claim 4:
Zolezzi as modified discloses the method of Claim 3, wherein the initialize state is configured to ramp up to or ramp down from a given velocity, during an initial or ending phase of the isokinetic exercise; or the motor is configured to ramp up to or ramp down from a given force, torque, or current, during an initial or ending phase of the isotonic exercise (“The rate of resistance change may correspond to a change of resistance over time (e.g., a decrease of 5 pounds per second or an increase of 5 pounds per second). Alternatively, and/or additionally, the rate of resistance change may correspond to a change of resistance over position of the one or more exercise bars (e.g., a decrease of 5 pounds per inch that the one or more exercise bars are moved or an increase of 5 pounds per inch that the one or more exercise bars are moved).” See paragraph [0086]. The examiner notes that the inclusion of the phrase “or” in the claim requires that only one of the two options of what the initialize state is configured to execute is necessary for the invention. ); configuring the motor to implement independent S-curve smoothing or configuring the motor to operate at constant accelerations (“Accordingly, the controller may control the motor 102 such that the resistance applied by the motor 102 to the barbell 130 is equivalent to the constant resistance throughout the first exercise process.” See paragraph [0176]), operate within minimum and/or maximum velocities (“Alternatively and/or additionally, the exercise information may comprise at least one of a maximum resistance level used in the exercise process, a mean resistance level used in the exercise process, a median resistance level used in the exercise process, a mode resistance level used in the exercise process, a minimum resistance level used in the exercise process, etc.” See paragraph [0092]), operate within minimum and/or maximum accelerations (“Alternatively and/or additionally, the exercise information may comprise at least one of a maximum resistance level used in the exercise process, a mean resistance level used in the exercise process, a median resistance level used in the exercise process, a mode resistance level used in the exercise process, a minimum resistance level used in the exercise process, etc.” See paragraph [0092]), and kinematic controls to improve a perceived smoothness and overall safety for the user (The examiner notes as stated in the rejection above, these controls correspond to the kinematic movements of the exercise machine/user in order to provide optimal workout and safety conditions based on the sensor readings and motor control signals).
Regarding claim 5:
Zolezzi as modified discloses the method of Claim 4, wherein the Calibration state is calibrating one or more exercises, each having a relative beginning position and a relative end position (“In an example where the first exercise process comprises bench press, a repetition of the plurality of repetitions may comprise a complete performance of both lowering a barbell and lifting a barbell, which is then followed by a next repetition of the plurality of repetitions.” See paragraph [0082]); selecting the relative beginning position by extending or retracting the cables to a first position (“For example, during a first portion of the current phase, the one or more exercise bars may have (and/or move through) one or more first positions (such as one or more first elevations and/or one or more first distances from a reference position).” See paragraph [0080]), without resistance, and allows for the holding the first position for 2-5 seconds by the main module (The examiner notes as stated previously the motor can be deactivated by the controller or by the user manually if desired to reduce or completely take off any applied resistance which allows the user to hold the position for as long as desired); selecting the relative end position by extending or retracting one or both cables to a second position (“Alternatively and/or additionally, during a second portion of the current phase, the one or more exercise bars may have (and/or move through) one or more second positions (such as one or more second elevations and/or one or more second distances from a reference position).” See paragraph [0080]), without resistance, by the main module; and allowing for the holding the second position for 2-5 seconds (The examiner notes as stated previously the motor can be deactivated by the controller or by the user manually if desired to reduce or completely take off any applied resistance which allows the user to hold the position for as long as desired).
Regarding claim 6:
Zolezzi as modified discloses the method of Claim 5, wherein the workout state selects an exercise from among the one or more calibrated exercises (“The first set of exercise settings may be selected via the exercise interface (such as via selections of one or more selectable inputs of the exercise interface).” See paragraph [0089]); the plurality of cables include a left cable and a right cable (See figures and rejection of claim 1 above); allowing a user to select to perform the exercise using the left cable only, the right cable only, or using both the left and right cables (“The first set of exercise settings may be selected via the exercise interface (such as via selections of one or more selectable inputs of the exercise interface).” See paragraph [0089]); selecting a number of repetitions for the exercise (“In some embodiments, a first set of exercise settings associated with the first exercise process, such as at least one of the one or more resistance settings, a quantity of sets of the first exercise process, a quantity of repetitions of each set of the first exercise process, etc. may be received via an exercise interface of an interface device of the exercise machine” See paragraph [0089]); selecting an exercise mode (The examiner notes that paragraph [0092] discusses the various modes of exercise phase the user/controller can select for the desired workout), an isokinetic mode or an isotonic mode if an isokinetic mode is selected, then selecting a constant velocity to be outputted by the resistance training machine (“Alternatively and/or additionally, the exercise information may comprise at least one of a maximum velocity of the one or more velocities, a mean velocity of the one or more velocities, a median velocity of the one or more velocities, a mode velocity of the one or more velocities, a minimum velocity of the one or more velocities, etc.” See paragraph [0092]); if an isotonic mode is selected, then selecting a constant force to be outputted by the resistance training machine (“Alternatively and/or additionally, the exercise information may comprise at least one of a maximum resistance level used in the exercise process, a mean resistance level used in the exercise process, a median resistance level used in the exercise process, a mode resistance level used in the exercise process, a minimum resistance level used in the exercise process, etc.” See paragraph [0092]).
Regarding claim 7:
Zolezzi as modified discloses the method of Claim 6, wherein the Stop state is the main module activates the sensor and switch module to stop the cables and the motors (See rejection of claim 1, which claim 2 depends on, which claim 3 depends on, which claim 4 depends on, which claim 5 depends on, which claim 6 depends on, which claim 7 depends on).
Regarding claim 8:
Zolezzi as modified discloses the method of Claim 7, wherein the Pull in Slack state operates the main module to retract the cables when no longer in use (See rejection of claim 1); operating the motor to retract the cables to the docking position at a minimum force or minimum velocity if/when certain conditions are met (See rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 9:
Zolezzi teaches a computer program product for a Resistance Training Machine (“The following subject matter may be embodied in a variety of different forms, such as methods, devices, components, and/or systems.” See paragraph [0019] and figure 1), the computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by a computer having a processor for causing the processor to perform operations (“The computing device may comprise a control circuit, a processor installed in the control circuit and/or memory installed in the control circuit and coupled to the processor. “ See paragraph [0210]) of: a. controlling the resistance training machine to measure and communicate form feedback (“In some embodiments, the controller may control the motor 102 based upon one or more feedback signals associated with the resistance applied to the barbell 130 by the motor.” See paragraph [0175]) and balance feedback during some or all exercises performed on the resistance training machine (“The exercise machine may include one or more driving elements connected to one or more motors controlled by a computer.” See abstract. The examiner notes that the system controlling drive elements connected to the one ore motors controlled by the computer during exercise and where it provides feedback based on signals received is being considered as balancing feedback during exercise through a drive system module), wherein the resistance training machine comprises a platform or base (See annotated figure 1) with a plurality of load cells(“In some embodiments, the one or more first sensors may comprise at least one of one or more accelerometers, one or more proximity sensors, one or more optical sensors, one or more image sensors, one or more cameras, one or more motion sensors, one or more ultrasonic sensors, one or more infrared sensors, one or more load sensors, etc. configured to determine the first information.” See paragraph [0030]. The examiner notes that load cells are a common form of load sensor, and as such the load sensors disclosed by Zolezzi under the broadest reasonable interpretation are being considered load cells.), a motor (motor 102) and a sensor operably coupled to cables (driving elements 116/117 The examiner notes that as stated previously the controller uses the data sensed by the sensors as the user exercises with the apparatus, the cables, to determine what process to execute, therefore the sensors are operably coupled to the cables), the cables operably coupled to a pulley system (Pulleys 118/119), a controller operatively coupled to the sensor, the plurality of load cells, the motor, and human machine interface (HMI) (device 114 “In some embodiments, the one or more inputs, based upon which the controller is configured to control the one or more motors, comprises the one or more signals.” See paragraph [0158]); b. providing resistance supplied by the motor to perform an isokinetic exercise or an isotonic exercise by receiving position data as a function of time from the motor (“the motor 102 is configured to generate one or more forces and/or apply the one or more forces to the barbell 130 via the driving mechanism. “ See paragraph [0144]) by receiving position data as a function of time from the motor (“Alternatively and/or additionally, the rate of resistance change may correspond to a change of resistance over position of the one or more exercise bars (e.g., a decrease of 5 pounds per inch that the one or more exercise bars are moved or an increase of 5 pounds per inch that the one or more exercise bars are moved).” See paragraph [0086]. The examiner notes that the rate of resistance change corresponding to resistance over position, is inherently a function of time as rate of change is defined as quantity over time.), and a main module receive current, torque, and/or force data as a function of time from the motor, the main module receives force data, weight data, force distribution data and/or weight distribution from the load cells (“In some embodiments, the controller may control the one or more motors based upon one or more feedback signals associated with the resistance applied to the one or more exercise bars by the motor.” See paragraph [0068]. The examiner notes that the controller receives data from the load sensors as previously shown and that the data can include the change of resistance which is force or weight over position, and distribution of force/weight as the sensors can detect if the force applied to the bar is uneven.); and c. operably coupling a main module (“The bench press machine may comprise a controller configured to control the one or more motors based upon one or more inputs.” See paragraph [0006]. The controller is being considered the main module) with a plurality of modules including an UI module (“The exercise interface may comprise a graphical user interface displayed via a display of the interface device.” See paragraph [0089]), a wireless short-range communication module (“Alternatively and/or additionally, the wireless connection may be established using Bluetooth Low Energy technology and/or Bluetooth mesh networking technology.” See paragraph [0090]. The examiner notes that Bluetooth low energy technology is a wireless communication technology designed for low power and short range data transmission. ), a Training program module (“The first set of exercise settings may be selected via the client exercise interface (such as via selections of one or more selectable inputs of the client exercise interface). The client device may transmit settings information indicative of the first set of exercise settings to the controller, such as via a wireless connection and/or a wired connection.” See paragraph [0090]), a drive system module (Motor 102 and controller together comprise a drive system module), a sensor and switch monitor module (The controller has been stated to monitor the status of the sensors and switches for the motor during exercise), a statistics module (“For example, a capability and/or a performance of the user may be determined based upon at least one of resistance levels of historical exercise processes previously performed by the user, quantities of sets of the historical exercise processes, quantities of repetitions of the sets of the historical exercise processes, etc.” See paragraph [0101]” The examiner notes that his implies there is a performance/statistics tracking module as the data points of historical performances can be stored/utilized.), a LED string control module operably coupled to an LED (the controller lighting up/turning on the user interface screen 114 is being considered as an LED string control module, where the touchscreen of device 114 is an LED), an audio control module (“Responsive to determining that the user is performing the exercise process incorrectly, the controller may inform the user of the incorrect performance, such as by outputting an incorrect performance message via the interface device, the speaker and/or the client device.” See paragraph [0121]), a Logging Module (“In some embodiments, the communication service may provide a competition interface to enable the user to compete with one or more of the user's contacts and/or other users, such as with respect to various performance indicators (e.g., at least one of calories burned, duration of exercise, quantities of sets and/or repetitions, resistance levels used while exercising, maximum amount of resistance level used during an exercise, etc.).” See paragraph [0099]. The examiner notes that the competition interface which collects the above mentioned parameters for the user and stores them to allow them to “compete” with others, shows that the data is logged and stored during use and is therefore being considered a Logging module, under the broadest reasonable interpretation with no further structural or functional limitations.), and an MQTT(Message Queuing Telemetry Transport) client that is a protocol to send and receive messages (The communication service allows users to send limited messages to either the system or each other depending on the settings desired, see paragraph [0099]. The examiner notes that an MQTT client is a standard form of machine-to-machine messaging communication, therefore the system having the capability for a dedicated messaging service to either the system or others is being considered an MQTT client.); d. reading out a plurality of settings by the main module (“In some embodiments, the controller may control the one or more motors such that the resistance applied by the one or more motors to the one or more exercise bars is in accordance with the one or more resistance settings.” See paragraph [0069]. The examiner notes that the controller controlling the system based on one or more resistance settings is being considered under the broadest reasonable interpretation with no further structural or functional limitations as the main module, which is the controller, reading a plurality of settings. ); storing a calibration data on a system startup (“For example, the one or more resistance settings may be indicative of one or more resistance functions. A resistance function of the one or more resistance functions may correspond to an initial resistance, a last resistance and/or a rate of resistance change.” See paragraph [0084] .The examiner notes that the controller having a base line initial resistance and then monitoring for changes and adjusting accordingly constitutes calibration data being collected and stored during startup.); distributing the sensors data to the main module and the wireless short-range communication module by the main module (“The one or more sensors may be configured to transmit one or more signals to the controller” See paragraph [0006]); managing the haptic or button presses received from a plurality of BLE enabled buttons by the main module (“The first set of exercise settings may be selected via the exercise interface (such as via selections of one or more selectable inputs of the exercise interface). For example, the interface device may comprise a touchscreen and/or one or more other components for the user to interact with.” See paragraph [0089]. The examiner notes that buttons are a common interface component for the user to interact with, and due to the lack of direction in the specification as to the difference between a BLE enabled button and a wireless button, and the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) presented above, and the prior statements regarding the main modules control over the system is being considered under the broadest reasonable interpretation with no further structural or functional limitations, as the main module managing the button presses.); managing the information received from the load cell interface communication module by the main module (“The one or more first sensors may be used for measuring and/or determining one or more parameters associated with the first exercise process” See paragraph [0029]); calling the plurality of settings from the main module upon request by the main module (As stated above the inputs/main module allow the user or the exercise system to make adjustments based on the desired settings and therefore it calls the plurality of settings.); operating a plurality states including an Initialize state (“In some embodiments, when the controller controls the one or more motors based upon the first resistance function, the controller may initially control the one or more motors such that an initial resistance, associated with the first resistance function, is applied to the one or more exercise bars.” See paragraph [0086]), a Calibration state (the fact that Zolezzi operates by collecting calibration data and adjust the exercise machine accordingly implies a calibration state), a Workout state (“A user may perform a first exercise process by interacting with the exercise bar.” See paragraph [0024] , where it is further specified “The term “exercise bar” as used herein, may correspond to an interface between the user and the exercise machine that the user interacts with to perform the first exercise process, such as at least one of a bar, a barbell, a grip, a dumbbell, a shaped bar, a handle, a bar surrounded by a roller pad, a plate to which the user applies force using one or more of the user's body parts, etc.” showing that this method can apply to multiple different exercises.), a Stop state (“The term may correspond to a user-selected term and/or a default term used to signal the controller to stop the one or more motors from applying resistance to the one or more exercise bars and/or to disconnect the one or more motors from one or more components, such as at least one of the controller, a power source with which the one or more motors are powered, one or more driving elements used for applying force to the one or more exercise bars, etc.” See paragraph [0136]), an Idle state (“The one or more motors may stop generating force and/or applying force to the one or more exercise bars responsive to receiving the signal.” See paragraph [0062]), a tracking motor current state (“In some embodiments, the controller is configured to control the motor 102, such as control the one or more forces of the motor 102, based upon one or more inputs.” See paragraph [0144] where the controller monitoring the motor and controlling the forces it produces is being considered as a tracking motor current state), and a hall sensor check state from the sensor or the plurality of load cells (The examiner notes the fact that the controller monitors the sensor data and checks that they are operating correctly and when it detects a dangerous activity can shut off/ reduce the resistance applied by the motor is being considered a hall sensor check state.).
Zolezzi fails to teach a load cell interface communication module that is a load cell interface which amplifies the signals detected to provide clear digital values, and a pull in slack state.
Walsh, however, teaches, a system of cables, and pulleys, driven by motors and various electrical components to generate forces around joints, and a method to control said system based on data gathered and communicated by the sensors of the system, and further teaches utilizing a load cell interface communication module that is a load cell interface which amplifies the signals detected to provide clear digital values (“Tension in the Bowden cable 142 can be sensed with a 50 kg beam-style load cell 234 (Phidgets, product code 3135) mounted against an idler pulley 232 in the pulley module 224. A full bridge strain gauge on the load cell 234 is connected to a signal amplifier 242 (e.g., Futek CSG110) through an electrical interface (e.g., pogo pin). See paragraph [0232]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zolezzi’s invention to include a load cell interface communication module, as taught by Walsh as the module allows data signals sent by load cells to be cleaned and provide more clear data for controllers to utilize when executing their processes that are dependent on the data provided by the sensors causing more accurate control of the exercise machine, and thereby a better workout for the user.
Zolezzi as modified by Walsh however, still fails to teach a Pull in Slack State.
Norris, however, teaches an exercise apparatus includes a frame, one or more pull cables running through cable guides to provide resistance exercise, and a mechanism for providing variable resistance to the cables, and further teaches a Pull in Slack state (“The ROBOTIC MOTOR 148 begins to wind or unwind the COILING MECHANISM 132 as directed by the electronic impulses. The COILING MECHANISM 132 either retracts the CABLE 136 at a predetermined velocity or allows the CABLE 136 to be extended at a predetermined velocity depending on the exercise chosen by the user using the COMPUTER CONTROLLER 158.” See paragraph [0040]. The examiner notes that a “Pull in Slack state” as defined in paragraph [0032] of the instant applications specification as operating the main module to retract the cable back to dock position at a minimum force or velocity if certain conditions are met, which the cables being re-wound by the coiling mechanism at a predetermined velocity is equivalent to that function. ).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention taught by Zolezzi and Walsh, to program the controller to include a pull in slack state in order to return the cables to a starting position when not in use, as taught by Norris, in order to ensure that the exercise apparatus always starts from a constant initial position so that the calibration of each exercise is begun from a common starting point.
Regarding claim 10:
Zolezzi as modified discloses the computer program product of claim 9, further comprising the plurality of modules communicating with the Logging Module to log all the events from all modules to a terminal and filed in the terminal, logging and providing training history on request (“In some embodiments, the communication service may provide a competition interface to enable the user to compete with one or more of the user's contacts and/or other users, such as with respect to various performance indicators (e.g., at least one of calories burned, duration of exercise, quantities of sets and/or repetitions, resistance levels used while exercising, maximum amount of resistance level used during an exercise, etc.).” See paragraph [0099]. The examiner notes that the system being able to track and receive this information and provide it upon request when the user signs in or utilizes the communication service implies that the events are logged and provided.); and the MQTT client is operable and communicable with the main module to get information (“For example, the controller may transmit a signal, indicative of the one or more motors deactivating, shutting down and/or turning off, to the one or more motors. The one or more motors may deactivate, shut down and/or turn off responsive to receiving the signal.” See paragraph [0064].).
Regarding claim 11:
Zolezzi teaches a computer program product for a Resistance Training Machine (“The following subject matter may be embodied in a variety of different forms, such as methods, devices, components, and/or systems.” See paragraph [0019] and figure 1), the computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by a computer having a processor (“The computing device may comprise a control circuit, a processor installed in the control circuit and/or memory installed in the control circuit and coupled to the processor. “ See paragraph [0210]) for causing the processor to perform operations of: a. Operating a main module (“The bench press machine may comprise a controller configured to control the one or more motors based upon one or more inputs.” See paragraph [0006]. The controller is being considered the main module) with an UI module (“The exercise interface may comprise a graphical user interface displayed via a display of the interface device.” See paragraph [0089]), a wireless short-range communication module (“Alternatively and/or additionally, the wireless connection may be established using Bluetooth Low Energy technology and/or Bluetooth mesh networking technology.” See paragraph [0090]. The examiner notes that Bluetooth low energy technology is a wireless communication technology designed for low power and short range data transmission.), a (Message Queuing Telemetry Transport) MQTT client (The communication service allows users to send limited messages to either the system or each other depending on the settings desired, see paragraph [0099]. The examiner notes that an MQTT client is a standard form of machine-to-machine messaging communication, therefore the system having the capability for a dedicated messaging service to either the system or others is being considered an MQTT client. ), and an audio control module (“Responsive to determining that the user is performing the exercise process incorrectly, the controller may inform the user of the incorrect performance, such as by outputting an incorrect performance message via the interface device, the speaker and/or the client device.” See paragraph [0121]), and controlling the UI module, a wireless short-range communication module, the MQTT client that is a protocol to send and receive messages, and the audio control module via a wireless interface (“The client device may transmit settings information indicative of the first set of exercise settings to the controller, such as via a wireless connection and/or a wired connection.” See paragraph [0090]); b. Operating the main module with a Training program module (“The first set of exercise settings may be selected via the client exercise interface (such as via selections of one or more selectable inputs of the client exercise interface).” See paragraph [0090].); c. Operating the main module a Cloud communication module that communicates with a cloud server (“The second client device may transmit settings information indicative of the first set of exercise settings to the controller, the first client device and/or to one or more servers (e.g., a cloud) associated with the exercise interface such as via a second wireless connection and/or a second wired connection.” See paragraph [0091]); and d. Operating the main module with a drive system module (Motor 102 and controller together comprise a drive system module), a sensor and switch monitor module (The controller has been stated to monitor the status of the sensors and switches for the motor during exercise), a statistics module (“For example, a capability and/or a performance of the user may be determined based upon at least one of resistance levels of historical exercise processes previously performed by the user, quantities of sets of the historical exercise processes, quantities of repetitions of the sets of the historical exercise processes, etc.” See paragraph [0101]” The examiner notes that his implies there is a performance/statistics tracking module as the data points of historical performances can be stored/utilized.), a LED string control module (“For example, a capability and/or a performance of the user may be determined based upon at least one of resistance levels of historical exercise processes previously performed by the user, quantities of sets of the historical exercise processes, quantities of repetitions of the sets of the historical exercise processes, etc.” See paragraph [0101]” ) operably coupled to an LED (The examiner notes that the touchscreen UI of Zolezzi is an LED), e. reading out a plurality of settings by the main module; (“In some embodiments, the controller may control the one or more motors such that the resistance applied by the one or more motors to the one or more exercise bars is in accordance with the one or more resistance settings.” See paragraph [0069] ); storing a calibration data on the system startup (“For example, the one or more resistance settings may be indicative of one or more resistance functions. A resistance function of the one or more resistance functions may correspond to an initial resistance, a last resistance and/or a rate of resistance change.” See paragraph [0084] . The examiner notes that the controller having a base line initial resistance and then monitoring for changes and adjusting accordingly, is being considered as calibration data being collected and stored during startup.); distributing the sensors data to the UI module (“For example, the information may be displayed in the form of a chart (e.g., at least one of a graph, a table, etc. may be generated based upon the information and/or displayed via the interface device and/or the client device).” See paragraph [0097]) and the wireless short-range communication module by the main module (“The one or more sensors may be configured to transmit one or more signals to the controller” See paragraph [0006] ); managing the haptic or button presses received from a plurality of BLE enabled buttons by the main module (“The first set of exercise settings may be selected via the exercise interface (such as via selections of one or more selectable inputs of the exercise interface). For example, the interface device may comprise a touchscreen and/or one or more other components for the user to interact with.” See paragraph [0089]. The examiner notes that buttons are a common interface component for the user to interact with, and due to the lack of direction in the specification as to the difference between a BLE enabled button and a wireless button, and the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) presented above, and the prior statements regarding the main modules control over the system is being considered under the broadest reasonable interpretation with no further structural or functional limitations, as the main module managing the button presses.); managing the information received from the load cell interface communication module by the main module (“The one or more first sensors may be used for measuring and/or determining one or more parameters associated with the first exercise process” See paragraph [0029]); calling the plurality of settings from the Audio control module upon request by the main module (The examiner notes that this limitation appears to be claiming that the audio module is functional and receives control signals from the main module which as stated above, the invention of Zolezzi does.); operating a plurality of states (“In some embodiments, when the controller controls the one or more motors based upon the first resistance function, the controller may initially control the one or more motors such that an initial resistance, associated with the first resistance function, is applied to the one or more exercise bars.” See paragraph [0086] ), a Calibration state (The examiner notes, the fact that Zolezzi operates by collecting calibration data and adjust the exercise machine accordingly implies a calibration state), a Workout state (“A user may perform a first exercise process by interacting with the exercise bar.” See paragraph [0024] , where it is further specified “The term “exercise bar” as used herein, may correspond to an interface between the user and the exercise machine that the user interacts with to perform the first exercise process, such as at least one of a bar, a barbell, a grip, a dumbbell, a shaped bar, a handle, a bar surrounded by a roller pad, a plate to which the user applies force using one or more of the user's body parts, etc.” showing that this method can apply to multiple different exercises.) , a Stop state(“The term may correspond to a user-selected term and/or a default term used to signal the controller to stop the one or more motors from applying resistance to the one or more exercise bars and/or to disconnect the one or more motors from one or more components, such as at least one of the controller, a power source with which the one or more motors are powered, one or more driving elements used for applying force to the one or more exercise bars, etc.” See paragraph [0136] ), an Idle state(“The one or more motors may stop generating force and/or applying force to the one or more exercise bars responsive to receiving the signal.” See paragraph [0062] ), a tracking motor current state (“In some embodiments, the controller is configured to control the motor 102, such as control the one or more forces of the motor 102, based upon one or more inputs.” See paragraph [0144] where the controller monitoring the motor and controlling the forces it produces is being considered as a tracking motor current state), and a hall sensor check state (The examiner notes that the fact that the controller monitors the sensor data and checks that they are operating correctly and when it detects a dangerous activity can shut off/ reduce the resistance applied by the motor is being considered a hall sensor check state.)
Zolezzi fails to teach a load cell interface communication module that is a load cell interface which amplifies the signals detected to provide clear digital values, and a pull in slack state.
Walsh, however, teaches, a system of cables, and pulleys, driven by motors and various electrical components to generate forces around joints, and a method to control said system based on data gathered and communicated by the sensors of the system, and further teaches utilizing a load cell interface communication module that is a load cell interface which amplifies the signals detected to provide clear digital values (“Tension in the Bowden cable 142 can be sensed with a 50 kg beam-style load cell 234 (Phidgets, product code 3135) mounted against an idler pulley 232 in the pulley module 224. A full bridge strain gauge on the load cell 234 is connected to a signal amplifier 242 (e.g., Futek CSG110) through an electrical interface (e.g., pogo pin). See paragraph [0232]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zolezzi’s invention to include a load cell interface communication module, as taught by Walsh as the module allows data signals sent by load cells to be cleaned and provide more clear data for controllers to utilize when executing their processes that are dependent on the data provided by the sensors causing more accurate control of the exercise machine, and thereby a better workout for the user.
Zolezzi as modified by Walsh however, still fails to teach a Pull in Slack State.
Norris, however, teaches an exercise apparatus includes a frame, one or more pull cables running through cable guides to provide resistance exercise, and a mechanism for providing variable resistance to the cables, and further teaches a Pull in Slack state (“The ROBOTIC MOTOR 148 begins to wind or unwind the COILING MECHANISM 132 as directed by the electronic impulses. The COILING MECHANISM 132 either retracts the CABLE 136 at a predetermined velocity or allows the CABLE 136 to be extended at a predetermined velocity depending on the exercise chosen by the user using the COMPUTER CONTROLLER 158.” See paragraph [0040]. The examiner notes that a “Pull in Slack state” as defined in paragraph [0032] of the instant applications specification as operating the main module to retract the cable back to dock position at a minimum force or velocity if certain conditions are met, which the cables being re-wound by the coiling mechanism at a predetermined velocity is equivalent to that function. ).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention taught by Zolezzi and Walsh, to program the controller to include a pull in slack state in order to return the cables to a starting position when not in use, as taught by Norris, in order to ensure that the exercise apparatus always starts from a constant initial position so that the calibration of each exercise is begun from a common starting point.
Regarding claim 12:
Zolezzi as modified discloses the computer program product of claim 11, wherein the initialize state is configured to ramp up to or ramp down from a given velocity, during an initial or ending phase of an isokinetic exercise; or a motor configured to ramp up to or ramp down from a given force, torque, or current, during an initial or ending phase of an isotonic exercise (“The rate of resistance change may correspond to a change of resistance over time (e.g., a decrease of 5 pounds per second or an increase of 5 pounds per second). Alternatively, and/or additionally, the rate of resistance change may correspond to a change of resistance over position of the one or more exercise bars (e.g., a decrease of 5 pounds per inch that the one or more exercise bars are moved or an increase of 5 pounds per inch that the one or more exercise bars are moved).” See paragraph [0086]. The examiner notes that the inclusion of the phrase); configuring the motor to implement independent S-curve smoothing or configuring the motor to operate at constant accelerations, operate within minimum and/or maximum velocities, operate within minimum and/or maximum accelerations (“Accordingly, the controller may control the motor 102 such that the resistance applied by the motor 102 to the barbell 130 is equivalent to the constant resistance throughout the first exercise process.” See paragraph [0176]), operate within minimum and/or maximum velocities, operate within minimum and/or maximum accelerations (“Alternatively and/or additionally, the exercise information may comprise at least one of a maximum resistance level used in the exercise process, a mean resistance level used in the exercise process, a median resistance level used in the exercise process, a mode resistance level used in the exercise process, a minimum resistance level used in the exercise process, etc.” See paragraph [0092]), and kinematic controls to improve a perceived smoothness and overall safety for the user (The examiner notes as stated in the rejection above, these controls correspond to the kinematic movements of the exercise machine/user in order to provide optimal workout and safety conditions based on the sensor readings and motor control signals).
Regarding claim 13:
Zolezzi as modified discloses the computer program product of claim 12, wherein the Calibration state is calibrating one or more exercises, wherein each exercise having a relative beginning position and a relative end position (“In an example where the first exercise process comprises bench press, a repetition of the plurality of repetitions may comprise a complete performance of both lowering a barbell and lifting a barbell, which is then followed by a next repetition of the plurality of repetitions.” See paragraph [0082]); selecting the relative beginning position by extending or retracting the cables to a first position (“For example, during a first portion of the current phase, the one or more exercise bars may have (and/or move through) one or more first positions (such as one or more first elevations and/or one or more first distances from a reference position).” See paragraph [0080]), without resistance, and allows for the holding the first position for 2-5 seconds by the main module (The examiner notes as stated previously the motor can be deactivated by the controller or by the user manually if desired to reduce or completely take off any applied resistance which allows the user to hold the position for as long as desired); selecting the relative end position by extending or retracting one or both cables to a second position (“Alternatively and/or additionally, during a second portion of the current phase, the one or more exercise bars may have (and/or move through) one or more second positions (such as one or more second elevations and/or one or more second distances from a reference position).” See paragraph [0080]), without resistance, by the main module; and allowing for the holding the second position for 2-5 seconds (The examiner notes as stated previously the motor can be deactivated by the controller or by the user manually if desired to reduce or completely take off any applied resistance which allows the user to hold the position for as long as desired).
Regarding claim 14:
Zolezzi as modified discloses the computer program product of claim 13, wherein the workout state selects an exercise from among the one or more calibrated exercises (“The first set of exercise settings may be selected via the exercise interface (such as via selections of one or more selectable inputs of the exercise interface).” See paragraph [0089]); the cables comprising a left cable and a right cable (See figures and rejection of claim 12 above); allowing the user to select to perform the exercise using the left cable only, the right cable only, or using both the left and right cables (Depending on what exercise the user wishes to perform the method can be applied to activate resistances to both cables or select cables, with the instant embodiment showing both cables used to perform calibrated bench press movements); selecting a number of repetitions for the exercise (“In some embodiments, a first set of exercise settings associated with the first exercise process, such as at least one of the one or more resistance settings, a quantity of sets of the first exercise process, a quantity of repetitions of each set of the first exercise process, etc. may be received via an exercise interface of an interface device of the exercise machine” See paragraph [0089]); selecting an exercise mode (The examiner notes that paragraph [0092] discusses the various modes of exercise phase the user/controller can select for the desired workout), an isokinetic mode or an isotonic mode if an isokinetic mode is selected, then selecting a constant velocity to be outputted by the resistance training machine (“Alternatively and/or additionally, the exercise information may comprise at least one of a maximum velocity of the one or more velocities, a mean velocity of the one or more velocities, a median velocity of the one or more velocities, a mode velocity of the one or more velocities, a minimum velocity of the one or more velocities, etc.” See paragraph [0092]); if an isotonic mode is selected, then selecting a constant force to be outputted by the machine (“Alternatively and/or additionally, the exercise information may comprise at least one of a maximum resistance level used in the exercise process, a mean resistance level used in the exercise process, a median resistance level used in the exercise process, a mode resistance level used in the exercise process, a minimum resistance level used in the exercise process, etc.” See paragraph [0092]).
Regarding claim 15:
Zolezzi as modified teaches the computer program product of claim 14, wherein the Stop state is the main module activates the sensor and switch module to stop the cables and the motor (See rejection of claim 11, which claim 12 depends on, which claim 13 depends on, which claim 14 depends on, which claim 15 depends on).
Regarding claim 16:
Zolezzi as modified teaches the computer program product of claim 15, wherein the Pull in Slack state operates the main module to retract the left or right cables when no longer in use (See rejection of claim 11, which claim 12 depends on, which claim 13 depends on, which claim 14 depends on, which claim 15 depends on, which claim 16 depends on); operating the motor to retract the cable to the docking position at a minimum force or minimum velocity if/when certain conditions are met (See rejection of claim 11, which claim 12 depends on, which claim 13 depends on, which claim 14 depends on, which claim 15 depends on, which claim 16 depends on).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Furthermore the examiner notes that while Walsh relates to wearable exoskeleton and orthotic cable systems, the use of Walsh as a secondary reference was to teach the module addition to the exercise device of Zolezzi, where the examiner further notes that independent claim 1 is directed a method for controlling a training machine, independent claim 9 is related to a computer program product including instructions executed by a process for controlling a training machine, and independent claim 11 is another computer program product including instructions executed by a process for controlling a training machine, where it is common in the field of electronic controls to add data collecting modules and communication modules as well as the programming required to utilize them, none of which require exclusively an exercise device as a structure, and the structures that are claimed other than the module introduced by Walsh, are taught by Zolezzi which is specifically an exercise device. All of the references are related to control systems for cable based machines and monitoring the position of the cables, as well as maintaining tension, or aiding a user via the cables and motor(s) of the system. Furthermore, while the structure of Norris may be different than that of Zolezzi, it is still in the same field of endeavor and analogous art, and using it to each a control scheme to pull in the slack is no more than a modification of code for Zolezzi, which as discussed above is common in the art of electronically controlled exercise device. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN A DICUIA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3784
/Megan Anderson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784