DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Applicant's preliminary amendments, filed June 20, 2025 are respectfully acknowledged and have been fully considered.
Claims 1-3, 7-12, 14-16, and 18 are amended. Claims 19 and 20 are newly added.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: typographical error. “An first” -> “A first” in line 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Further depending claims not mentioned inherit the deficiencies of their respective base claims and are rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-11, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sharma et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20230308505 A1, hereinafter “Sharma”).
Regarding Claim 1 (Currently Amended), Sharma teaches a system (par 0191 Fig 14 system 1400), comprising:
an input device (par 0191 Fig 14 keyboard of device 1404 which may be [par 0068] and is shown as a laptop computing device 1404), a first electronic device (par 0191 Fig 14 first electronic device 1406 which may be [par 0068] and is shown as a mobile computing device 1406), and a second electronic device (par 0191 Fig 14 second electronic device 1404 which may be [par 0068] and is shown as a laptop computing device 1404) coupled to each other (par 0191 Fig 14 computing devices 1404, 1406 are coupled through communication via a network 1408), wherein
a focus of the input device is on the first electronic device (par 0150 Fig 8B teaches a scenario in which user 1002 switches their gaze from device 1006 to device 1004; i.e. a focus of the user [and thus also the input device] is originally on first device 1006);
the first electronic device is configured to:
when an area at which a user gazes belongs to an area in which the second electronic device is located (par 0150 Fig 8B when user 1002 switches their gaze from device 1006 to device 1004 i.e. a focus of the user [and thus also the input device] originally on first device 1006 is switched to second device 1004, i.e. tasks on the second computing device 1006 may be de-prioritized, and tasks on the first computing device 1004 may be prioritized),
and a first input box is displayed on the second electronic device (paras 0191, 0193 Fig 14 teaches a scenario in which user 1002 further switches gaze/focus onto a first input box 1412 which is displayed on the second device 1004/1404),
send first indication information to the second electronic device (par 0199 Fig 14 gaze input data is received [may be sent by the first device 1006] by second device 1004 providing first indication [focus] information to the second device 1006; par 0200 first device 1006 may track at which device (e.g., computing devices 1404, 1406) the user is looking, and even further, may determine at what the user is looking, on the devices (e.g., an element being displayed on one or more of the computing devices, such as a cell, file, button, text-box, String variable, etc.)); and
the second electronic device is configured to:
in response to the first indication information (par 0205 Fig 14 in response to the first indication [focus] information received at second device 1006, second device 1006 determines an element/input box based on the gaze input data), display the focus of the input device in the first input box (par 0206 Fig 14 second device 1006 selects, focuses on, and/or changes state of the element/input box, shown in Fig 14 as highlighting the area of the input box display), or
output first prompt information, wherein the first prompt information indicates that the user is capable of switching the focus of the input device to the first input box.
Regarding Claim 2 (Currently Amended), Sharma teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the first electronic device is further configured to
determine that the area at which the user gazes belongs to the area in which the second electronic device is located (par 0150 Fig 8B determining user 1002 has switched their gaze from first device 1006 to second device 1004 i.e. determining that the area at which the user gazes belongs to the area in which the second device 1004 is located), including:
obtaining an image of the user (par 0153 Fig 11 first device 1006/1406 may obtain image data of the user);
determining a line of sight of the user based on the image of the user (par 0156 Fig 11 first device 1006/1406 may obtain gaze direction data/where the user is looking relative to a display screen, based on the image of the user); and
when an intersection point is between the line of sight of the user and an extension surface, along a first direction, of the first electronic device, and the second electronic device is located in the first direction of the first electronic device (par 0159 Fig 11 may track at which device (e.g., devices 1004, 1006) the user is looking, and even further, may determine at what the user is looking, on the device), determining that the area at which the user gazes belongs to the area in which the second electronic device is located (par 0150 Fig 8B determining user 1002 has switched their gaze from first device 1006 to second device 1004 i.e. determining that the area at which the user gazes belongs to the area in which the second device 1004 is located).
Regarding Claim 3 (Currently Amended), Sharma teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein
the first electronic device is further configured to determine that the first input box is displayed on the second electronic device (par 0202 Fig 15 first device determines whether there is an element/input box displayed and associated with the gaze input data at the gazed device), including:
receiving first confirmation information from the second electronic device, wherein the first confirmation information indicates that the first input box is displayed on the second electronic device (par 0202 Figs 14,15 determination 1508 may comprise evaluating the received gaze input data to generate a set of user signals, which may be processed in view of an environmental context (e.g., applications, currently being run on a device, or tasks currently being executed, and specific elements being displayed therewith); the evaluation may identify an element as a result of an association between the gaze input data and the environmental context); and
determining, based on the first confirmation information, that the first input box is displayed in the second electronic device (par 0202 Fig 15 determine whether there is an element/input box displayed and associated with the gaze input data at the gazed device as a result of an association between the gaze input data and the environmental context).
Regarding Claim 6 (Original), Sharma teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the second electronic device is further configured to:
after the focus of the input device is switched to the first input box, display first input information in the first input box, wherein the first input information is information input by the user through the input device (par 0193 Fig 14 by looking at the cell 1412, the user 1402 is able to [switch the input device focus to the first input box 1412] and select the cell/input box 1412 on the spreadsheet application 1410, such that first input information may be typed by the user and displayed).
Regarding Claim 7 (Currently Amended), Sharma teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the second electronic device is further configured to:
after the focus of the input device is switched to the first input box, display second prompt information indicating that the user is capable of inputting information on the second electronic device through the input device (par 0193 Fig 14 by looking at the cell 1412, the user 1402 is able to [switch the input device focus to the first input box 1412] and display second prompt information comprising showing the cell/input box 1412 on the spreadsheet application 1410 as selected, indicating that first input information may be typed by the user and displayed).
Regarding Claim 9 (Currently Amended), Sharma teaches a cross-device focus switching method (par 0151 Fig 11 method), comprising:
determining that a first condition is met ((par 0150 Fig 8B first condition comprising 1) when user 1002 switches their gaze from second device 1004 to first device 1006 i.e. a focus of the user [and thus also the input device] originally on second device 1004 is switched to first device 1006, i.e. tasks on the second device 1004 may be de-prioritized, and tasks on the first device 1006 may be prioritized, and 2) par 0150 Fig 8B no input box is displayed on the second device 1004); and
displaying a focus of an input device on a first electronic device (par 0150 Fig 8B first condition comprising 1) when user 1002 switches their gaze from second device 1004 to first device 1006 i.e. a focus of the user [and thus also the input device] originally on second device 1004 is switched to first device 1006, i.e. tasks on the second device 1004 may be de-prioritized, and tasks on the first device 1006 may be prioritized [focus of the input is now displayed]) that is coupled to the input device and a second electronic device (par 0191 Fig 14 computing devices 1404, 1406 and input devices are coupled through communication via a network 1408),
or
outputting third prompt information, prompting the user that the focus of the input device is capable of being switched to the first electronic device,
wherein the focus of the input device is on the second electronic device (par 0150 Fig 8B teaches a scenario in which user 1002 switches their gaze from second device 1004 to first device 1006; i.e. a focus of the user [and thus also the input device] is originally on second device 1004), and
wherein the first condition comprises:
no input box is displayed on the second electronic device par 0150 Fig 8B no input box is displayed on the second device 1004);
or
an area at which the user gazes belongs to an area in which the first electronic device is located, and an input box is displayed on the second electronic device.
Regarding Claim 10 (Currently Amended), Sharma teaches the method according to claim 9, further comprising determining that the area at which the user gazes belongs to the area in which the first electronic device is located (par 0150 Fig 8B determining user 1002 has switched their gaze from first device 1006 to second device 1004 i.e. determining that the area at which the user gazes belongs to the area in which the second device 1004 is located), including:
obtaining an image of the user(par 0153 Fig 11 first device 1006/1406 may obtain image data of the user), and determining a line of sight of the user (par 0156 Fig 11 first device 1006/1406 may obtain gaze direction data/where the user is looking relative to a display screen, based on the image of the user); and
when an intersection point is between the line of sight of the user and the first electronic device (par 0159 Fig 11 may track at which device (e.g., devices 1004, 1006) the user is looking, and even further, may determine at what the user is looking, on the device), determining that the area at which the user gazes belongs to the area in which the first electronic device is located (par 0150 Fig 8B determining user 1002 has switched their gaze from first device 1006 to second device 1004 i.e. determining that the area at which the user gazes belongs to the area in which the second device 1004 is located).
Regarding Claim 11 (Currently Amended), Sharma teaches the method according to claim 9, further comprising
determining whether the input box is displayed on the second electronic device (par 0202 Fig 15 determine whether there is an element/input box displayed and associated with the gaze input data at the gazed device), including:
receiving second indication information from the second electronic device, wherein the second indication information indicates whether the input box is displayed on the second electronic device (par 0202 Figs 14,15 determination 1508 may comprise evaluating the received gaze input data to generate a set of user signals, which may be processed in view of an environmental context (e.g., applications, currently being run on a device, or tasks currently being executed, and specific elements being displayed therewith); the evaluation may identify an element as a result of an association between the gaze input data and the environmental context); and
determining, based on the second indication information, whether the input box is displayed on the second electronic device (par 0202 Fig 15 determine whether there is an element/input box displayed and associated with the gaze input data at the gazed device as a result of an association between the gaze input data and the environmental context).
Regarding Claim 16 (Currently Amended), Sharma teaches the method according to claim 9, further comprising:
after the focus of the input device is switched to the first electronic device, displaying fourth prompt information, indicating that the user is capable of inputting information on the first electronic device through the input device (par 0193 Fig 14 by looking at the cell 1412, the user 1402 is able to [switch the input device focus to the first input box 1412] and select the cell/input box 1412 on the spreadsheet application 1410, such that first input information may be typed by the user and displayed).
Regarding Claim 18 (Currently Amended), Sharma teaches an first electronic device (par 0191 Fig 14 first electronic device 1404 which may be [par 0068] and is shown as a laptop computing device 1404), comprising:
a processor (par 0061,Abstact first device processor), and
a memory coupled to the processor (par 006,Abstact first device memory) and storing instructions, which executed by the processor, cause the first electronic device to (Abstract first sentence):
when a focus of an input device is on a second electronic device (par 0150 Fig 8B teaches a scenario in which user 1002 switches their gaze from second device 1004 to first device 1006; i.e. a focus of the user [and thus also the input device] is originally on second device 1004), determine that a first condition is met (par 0150 Fig 8B first condition comprising 1) when user 1002 switches their gaze from second device 1004 to first device 1006 i.e. a focus of the user [and thus also the input device] originally on second device 1004 is switched to first device 1006, i.e. tasks on the second device 1004 may be de-prioritized, and tasks on the first device 1006 may be prioritized, and 2) par 0150 Fig 8B no input box is displayed on the second device 1004), and display, on the first electronic device, the focus of the input device (par 0150 Fig 8B first condition comprising 1) when user 1002 switches their gaze from second device 1004 to first device 1006 i.e. a focus of the user [and thus also the input device] originally on second device 1004 is switched to first device 1006, i.e. tasks on the second device 1004 may be de-prioritized, and tasks on the first device 1006 may be prioritized [focus of the input is now displayed])
or
output third prompt information, wherein the third prompt information prompts the user that the focus of the input device is capable of being switched to the first electronic device, wherein
the first condition comprises:
no input box is displayed on the second electronic device (par 0150 Fig 8B no input box is displayed on the second device 1004);
or
an area at which the user gazes belongs to an area in which the first electronic device is located, and an input box is displayed on the second electronic device.
Regarding Claim 19 (New), Sharma teaches the device according to claim 18, wherein the instructions further cause the first electronic device to:
determine that the area at which the user gazes belongs to the area in which the first electronic device is located (par 0150 Fig 8B determining user 1002 has switched their gaze from first device 1006 to second device 1004 i.e. determining that the area at which the user gazes belongs to the area in which the second device 1004 is located):
obtain an image of the user (par 0153 Fig 11 first device 1006/1406 may obtain image data of the user), and determining a line of sight of the user (par 0156 Fig 11 first device 1006/1406 may obtain gaze direction data/where the user is looking relative to a display screen, based on the image of the user); and
when an intersection point is between the line of sight of the user and the first electronic device (par 0159 Fig 11 may track at which device (e.g., devices 1004, 1006) the user is looking, and even further, may determine at what the user is looking, on the device), determine that the area at which the user gazes belongs to the area in which the first electronic device is located (par 0150 Fig 8B determining user 1002 has switched their gaze from first device 1006 to second device 1004 i.e. determining that the area at which the user gazes belongs to the area in which the second device 1004 is located).
Regarding Claim 20 (New), Sharma teaches the device according to claim 18, wherein the instructions further cause the first electronic device to
determine whether the input box is displayed on the second electronic device (par 0202 Fig 15 determine whether there is an element/input box displayed and associated with the gaze input data at the gazed device), including:
receiving second indication information from the second electronic device, wherein the second indication information indicates whether the input box is displayed on the second electronic device (par 0202 Figs 14,15 determination 1508 may comprise evaluating the received gaze input data to generate a set of user signals, which may be processed in view of an environmental context (e.g., applications, currently being run on a device, or tasks currently being executed, and specific elements being displayed therewith); the evaluation may identify an element as a result of an association between the gaze input data and the environmental context); and
determining, based on the second indication information, whether the input box is displayed on the second electronic device (par 0202 Fig 15 determine whether there is an element/input box displayed and associated with the gaze input data at the gazed device as a result of an association between the gaze input data and the environmental context).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 12-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma et al. (U.S. Patent Application 20230308505 A1, hereinafter “Sharma”) in view of Liu et al. (China Patent Application CN 114173204 A, hereinafter “Liu”)
Regarding Claim 4 (Original), Sharma teaches the system according to claim 1. However, Sharma appears not to expressly teach wherein
the first prompt information is displayed at a first target location, and
a distance between the first target location and the first input box is less than or equal to a first threshold.
Liu teaches wherein
the first prompt information is displayed at a first target location (par n0164 Fig 3(b) first prompt information comprising message notification box 302 is displayed at a first target location shown as a corner of the TV screen), and
a distance between the first target location and the first input box is less than or equal to a first threshold (par n0165 Fig 3(b) the input box at which a cursor may be automatically positioned is within the message notification box 302 and thus a distance between the first target location and the first input box is essentially zero and is thus less than or equal to a first maximum distance away).
Sharma and Liu are analogous art as they each pertain to systems with shared input. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Sharma with the inclusion of the prompt information location of Liu. The motivation would have been in order to draw the users attention quickly to the area in which a reply to the message may be input.
Regarding Claim 12 (Currently Amended), Sharma teaches the method according to claim 9. However, Sharma appears not to expressly teach further comprising displaying a third input box on the first electronic device, wherein the focus of the input device is displayed in the third input box, or the third prompt information prompts the user that the focus of the input device is capable of being switched to the third input box.
Liu teaches
displaying a third input box on the first electronic device (par n0164 Fig 3(b) first prompt information comprising message notification box 302 is displayed at a first target location shown as a corner of the TV screen), wherein the focus of the input device is displayed in the third input box (par n0165 Fig 3(b) the input box at which a cursor is automatically positioned within the message notification box 302 [input focus is displayed on the input box]), or
the third prompt information prompts the user that the focus of the input device is capable of being switched to the third input box .
Sharma and Liu are analogous art as they each pertain to systems with shared input. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Sharma with the inclusion of the input focus display at the input box of Liu. The motivation would have been in order to draw the users attention quickly to the area in which a reply to the message may be input.
Regarding Claim 13 (Original), Sharma as modified teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the third prompt information is displayed at a third target location (par n0164 Fig 3(b) first prompt information comprising message notification box 302 is displayed at a first target location shown as a corner of the TV screen), and a distance between the third target location and the third input box is less than or equal to a third threshold (par n0165 Fig 3(b) the input box at which a cursor may be automatically positioned is within the message notification box 302 and thus a distance between the first target location and the first input box is essentially zero and is thus less than or equal to a first maximum distance away).
Sharma and Liu are analogous art as they each pertain to systems with shared input. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Sharma with the inclusion of the prompt information location of Liu. The motivation would have been in order to draw the users attention quickly to the area in which a reply to the message may be input.
Regarding Claim 15 (Currently Amended), Sharma as modified teaches the method according to claim 12, further comprising:
after the focus of the input device is switched to the first electronic device, displaying second input information in the third input box, wherein the second input information is information input by the user through the input device (Sharma par 0193 Fig 14 by looking at the cell 1412, the user 1402 is able to [switch the input device focus to the first input box 1412] and select the cell/input box 1412 on the spreadsheet application 1410, such that first input information may be typed by the user and displayed).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8, 14, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 5:
While closest prior art Sharma (20230308505 A1) teaches portions of the limitations of Claim 5, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the particular limitations of Claim 5, namely "wherein
when a second input box is further displayed on the second electronic device, the first prompt information is displayed at a second target location, and
a distance between the second target location and the second input box is less than or equal to a second threshold;
the first electronic device is further configured to send first switching information to the second electronic device; and
the second electronic device is further configured to:
after receiving the first switching information, adjust a display location of the first prompt information from the second target location to a first target location, wherein
a distance between the first target location and the first input box is less than or equal to a first threshold" in combination with all other limitations of the claim and of claims on which the claim depends.
Claim 8:
While closest prior art Sharma (20230308505 A1) teaches portions of the limitations of Claim 8, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the particular limitations of Claim 8, namely "a display location of second prompt information and the display location of the first prompt information are the same, and
display effect of the second prompt information and display effect of the first prompt information are different" in combination with all other limitations of the claim and of claims on which the claim depends.
Claim 14:
While closest prior art Sharma (20230308505 A1) teaches portions of the limitations of Claim 14, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the particular limitations of Claim 14, namely "displaying a fourth input box on the first electronic device, wherein the third prompt information is displayed at a fourth target location, a distance between the fourth target location and the fourth input box is less than or equal to a fourth threshold; receiving second switching information from the input device; and after the second switching information is received, adjusting a display location of the third prompt information from the fourth target location to a third target location, wherein a distance between the third target location and the third input box is less than or equal to a third threshold" in combination with all other limitations of the claim and of claims on which the claim depends.
Claim 17:
While closest prior art Sharma (20230308505 A1) teaches portions of the limitations of Claim 17, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the particular limitations of Claim 17, namely "wherein a display location of the fourth prompt information and the display location of the third prompt information are the same, and display effect of the fourth prompt information and display effect of the third prompt information are different" in combination with all other limitations of the claim and of claims on which the claim depends.
Conclusion
/MARK EDWARDS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624