DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II (Figs. 3-19 and claims 2-16) in the reply filed on 07/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/24/2026.
The status of the claims for this application is as follows.
Claims 2-16 are currently pending.
Claims 1 and 17-20 are cancelled (cancelled by applicant).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 05/27/2025, 12/10/2025, and 04/01/2026 were considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 05/27/2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 2: the limitation "protruding portion" invokes 112(f) because: (A) the claim limitation uses the generic placeholder " portion”; (B) the generic placeholder "portion" is modified by functional language e.g., “protruding"; and (C) the generic placeholder “portion” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The disclosed associated structure is a male cylindrical member having a plurality of different diameters (represented by applicant’s element 204 in the drawing(s) and in the specification). As such, the recitation "protruding portion" will be interpreted as being a male cylindrical member having a plurality of different diameters and any structural/functional equivalents.
Claims 2: the limitation "actuation portion" invokes 112(f) because: (A) the claim limitation uses the generic placeholder “portion”; (B) the generic placeholder “portion” is modified by functional language e.g., "actuation"; and (C) the generic placeholder “portion” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The disclosed associated structure has two parts, the first; is rectangular in shape with an oval hole through it and there are two tabs extending from and end, and the second; is a tapered structure that extends from the first at an angle (represented by applicant’s element 7 in the drawing(s) and in the specification). As such, the recitation "actuation portion" will be interpreted as having two parts, the first; is rectangular in shape with an oval hole through it and there are two tabs extending from and end, and the second; is a tapered structure that extends from the first at an angle and any structural/functional equivalents.
Claim 2: the limitation "mounting portion" invokes 112(f) because: (A) the claim limitation uses the generic placeholder “portion”; (B) the generic placeholder “portion” is modified by functional language e.g., "mounting"; and (C) the generic placeholder “portion” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The disclosed associated structure has two parts, the first; is a semicircular portion, and the second; comprises two triangular structures positioned opposite each other about the semicircular portion (represented by applicant’s element 3 in the drawing(s) and in the specification). As such, the recitation "mounting portion" will be interpreted as having two parts, the first; is a semicircular portion, and the second; comprises two triangular structures positioned opposite each other about the semicircular portion and any structural/functional equivalents.
Claims 1, 15 and 20: the limitation "first restricting portion" invokes 112(f) because: (A) the claim limitation uses the generic placeholder “portion”; (B) the generic placeholder “portion” is modified by functional language e.g., "first restricting"; and (C) the generic placeholder “portion” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The disclosed associated structure is a cylindrical portion having a wave shape in a cross-sectional view (represented by applicant’s element 80 in the drawing(s) and in the specification). As such, the recitation "first restricting portion" will be interpreted as being a cylindrical portion having a wave shape in a cross-sectional view and any structural/functional equivalents.
Claims 1, 15 and 20: the limitation "second restricting portion" invokes 112(f) because: (A) the claim limitation uses the generic placeholder “portion”; (B) the generic placeholder “portion” is modified by functional language e.g., "second restricting"; and (C) the generic placeholder “portion” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The disclosed associated structure is a pair of inclined surfaces that face generally circumferentially towards one another (represented by applicant’s element 84 in the drawing(s) and in the specification). As such, the recitation "second restricting portion" will be interpreted as being a pair of inclined surfaces that face generally circumferentially towards one another and any structural/functional equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2, 7, 9, 12, 13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a0(1) as being anticipated by Lewis et al. (US 2011/0204622), (hereinafter, Lewis).
At the outset the applicant is reminded that:
1. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
2. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Re Clm 2: Lewis discloses a first joint (see Figs. 1-10 and the Fig. above) having a central axis and extending in an axial direction along the central axis (see above),
the first joint comprising: a first joint body (the body of 1002) to be coupled to a second joint (102) along the central axis (see above);
an axially facing portion (the portion containing 200) that opposes
a protruding portion (the portion containing 177) protruding from an outer peripheral surface of the second joint in the axial direction (see Fig. 1) from a front end side in the axial direction of the first joint body in a state in which the first joint body is coupled to the second joint;
an actuation portion (a portion of 1003) that is connected to the axially facing portion (see above) and is actuated along an axis intersecting direction intersecting the central axis to switch between a facing state and a non-facing state of the axially facing portion and the protruding portion in the axial direction; and
a mounting portion (1001) to be mounted on an outer peripheral surface of the first joint body (see Figs. 1, 7, and 9);
wherein the mounting portion (1001) includes an intersecting direction facing portion (a portion of 1001 penetrated by 1003) that opposes the actuation portion in the axis intersecting direction between the first joint body (1002) and the actuation portion (of 1003) in the facing state of the axially facing portion and the protruding portion.
Re Clm 7: Lewis discloses wherein the mounting portion includes:
a curved portion (the outer sides) curved (at the outer sides) along a circumferential direction with respect to the central axis (see above); and an opening (that 1003 enters); and the curved portion is fitted to the outer peripheral surface of the first joint body (see above).
Re Clm 9: Lewis discloses wherein the curved portion includes: a first surface portion (see above the portion on the right) located at one end portion of the curved portion in the circumferential direction (see above) and extending along the axis intersecting direction (see above); and a second surface portion (see above the portion on the left, not show) located at another end portion of the curved portion in the circumferential direction and extending along the axis line intersecting direction (see above); and the first surface portion and the second surface portion are parallel or substantially parallel to each other (see above).
Re Clm 12: Lewis discloses wherein the mounting portion includes a pair of inclined surfaces (see Fig. 9, the left side and right side) inclined with respect to the central axis; and the pair of inclined surfaces (see Fig. 9, on the left and right side) and Fig. 7, the top left side) extends with respect to the central axis from the front end toward a rear end of the first joint body.
Re Clm 13: Lewis discloses wherein the mounting portion includes a pair of planes intersecting with the axial direction (see Figs 7 and 9).
Re Clm 16: Lewis discloses a pipe joint comprising: the first joint according to claim 2; and the second joint (see Figs. 1-8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 8, 10, 11, 14, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following documents have structural features (push button catch and release means) which are similar to the applicant’s claimed invention; FR-2907534-A1, US-20070120361-A1, US-20130092271-A1, US-20210199223-A1, US-20230220936-A1, US-4863201-A, and WO-2025041483-A1.
JAMES ALBERT LINFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 3679
08/16/2026
/Matthew Troutman/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679