CTNF 19/218,928 CTNF 76275 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Status Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07-22-2025 and 05-27-2025 has been considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-4, 13-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawahashi (US 11,532,061) in view of Watts (US 2020/0372556) . Regarding claims 1, 13-15 and 20, Sawahashi teaches an electronic device comprising: an input device (812, fig. 8; 818) ; a display (820, fig. 8; col 2:49-55 teaches "in some embodiments, taxi 102 may include a laptop computer, a tablet computer, a netbook computer, a personal computer (pc), a desktop computer, a personal digital assistant (pda), a smart phone, or any programmable electronic device capable of communicating over a data connection to network 116. ", col. 1 10:34-35; col. 8:22-26); a communicator (810 in fig. 8) ; and a processor (804, fig. 8) electrically connected to the input device, the display, and the communicator, wherein the processor is configured to: control information about a plurality of personal mobility vehicles (col. 8:42-44 teaches "...the passengers are provided with a visual marker which will be matched by display elements of the matched arriving taxi. " said “Taxi” is interpreted as corresponding to a personal mobility device particularly in instances wherein a single individual, or a single party are traveling therein ) included in each of a plurality of service providers (col. 7:16-17 teaches "in an embodiment, the system connects many passengers and different taxi companies and ridesharing services. " ) based on current location information (col. 4:63-65 teaches " The entries of the passenger queues are specific to each taxi boarding location. " ) of the electronic device or location information selected through the input device (col. 8:42-47 teaches that the passengers are provided with a visual marker which will be matched by display elements of the matched arriving taxi. Furthermore, the passenger may be a color pattern and the arriving taxi may display the same pattern upon an external display element of the vehicle) ; transmit, based on communication with a first personal mobility vehicle among the plurality of personal mobility vehicles through the communicator, first information about the first personal mobility vehicle to a server (col. 7:62- col. 8:5 teaches as shown in the figure, after program start, the rideshare management software receives passenger information including pick-up and drop-off information from a potential passenger, at 502, and furthermore that The system determines transit points for the passenger's route according to available taxi stand points and the passenger's indicated pick-up and drop-off information at 504) ; and receive service information about the first personal mobility vehicle from the server through the communicator in response to the transmission of the first information (col. 8:10-15 teaches at 508, the passenger information is added to the boarding ledger. The entry includes passenger information (identity and contact information), pick-up and drop-off information, current status (taxi identifier or “waiting”), and calculated wait time for the passenger and after step 508 of FIG. 5, the system notifies waiting passengers of an arrival at their location at 602 .) Sawahashi fails to expressly teach display of said output information about a plurality of personal mobility included in each of a plurality of service providers based on current location information of the electronic device or location information selected through the input device. WATTS teaches the display of output information about a plurality of personal mobility included in each of a plurality of service providers based on current location information of the electronic device or location information selected through the input device (Watts teaches in [0051], a recommendation module 205 may recommend the plurality of service providers for performing a service type, e.g., generating at least in-part, a list of vehicles for performing in a user interface of UE 101. Further, providing a ranking of said vehicles based at least in part on proximity to the pick-up location.) Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to display output information about a plurality of vehicles in each plurality of service providers based on current location information of the user device because it allows comparison of vehicle types and prices in a manner which reduces dependence upon a single provider, and further permits selection of vehicles which are physically closer to a user. Regarding claims 2 and 16, Watts teaches that the plurality of personal mobility vehicles comprises personal mobility vehicles available in a region corresponding to the current location information of the electronic device or the location information selected through the input device ([0051] teaches vehicle determination based on proximity to pick up location). Regarding claims 3 and 17, Watts teaches that the processor is configured to identify termination of use of the first personal mobility vehicle based on a user input through the input device or a release of the communication with the first personal mobility vehicle ([0087] teaches that users may click GUIs 609 and 612; [0092] teaches a user may select a GUIs 705, 717, 723, 731, and 737, respectively) . Regarding claims 4 and 18, Watts teaches that the processor is configured to receive information about a service usage fee of the first personal mobility vehicle from the server through the communicator in response to the processor identifying the termination of the use of the first personal mobility vehicle ([0085] teaches the user is presented with a total cost estimate for the service. Once, the user accepts the estimated cost for the service, the request for service is processed. ) 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5, 7, 9-12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawahashi (US 11,532,061) in view of Watts (US 2020/0372556) as applied to claim 4 and further in view of Rosekrans (US 2021/0358025) . Regarding claims 5 and 19, Sawahashi modified by Watts teaches the electronic device of claim 4 wherein (in Watts, [0037], [0045],[0046] in particular, [0045] teaches "...using the user device 108, sends a request to the server 102 requesting access to a vehicle... includes requirements or parameters for the desired usage of a vehicle including, for example, vehicle type, starting location, destination(s), duration of vehicle usage, etc.... the requirements identified in the request are analyzed by the vehicle matching module 206 to identify which vehicles from the vehicle database 202 satisfy these requirements.") , but fails to teach that the processor is configured to transmit use time information and use distance information of the first personal mobility vehicle to the server through the communicator in response to the processor identifying the termination of the use of the first personal mobility vehicle. ROSEKRANS teaches a system for providing transport services wherein the processor is configured to transmit use time information and use distance information of the first personal mobility vehicle to the server through the communicator in response to the processor identifying the termination of the use of the first personal mobility vehicle ([0041] teaches a transaction module 208 may determine the estimated cost based on the type of vehicle, time of day (i.e., use time ), distance to be traveled ( distance ), demand, and other various factors. Once the vehicle is returned, a final cost is determined). Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to further modify Sawahashi to transmit usage time information as recited for the benefit of ensuring that charges as proportional to the actual use of the vehicle. Additionally, a user which place greater wear and tear on the vehicle would contribute more towards maintenance and replacement costs. Regarding claim 7 , Rosekrans teaches that the selected location information comprises information about a region selected through the input device; and the plurality of personal mobility vehicles included in each of the plurality of service providers is located in the region ([0045],[0046] teaches "The request sent from the user device 108 includes requirements or parameters for the desired usage of a vehicle including at least the starting location, ETCS. ... At block 310, the requirements identified in the request are analyzed by the vehicle matching module 206 to identify which vehicles from the vehicle database 202 satisfy these requirements.”) . Regarding claim 9 , Rosekrans teaches that the service information comprises information about a description of a function, a usage fee, an available time and/or an available distance of the first personal mobility vehicle ([0041] teaches "the owner and/or the user is informed as to an estimated cost of the user accessing the vehicle in advance." Thus teaching that service information comprises a usage fee). Regarding claim 10 , Rosekrans teaches that the processor is configured to send a first authentication request through the communicator ([0051],[0052] teaches that when the user arrives at the vehicle 104, the network interface hardware 134 of the vehicle 104 may verify the identity of the user using any suitable means such as, for example, recognizing the presence of the user device 108 via Bluetooth or other near field communication protocols, and/or scanning the user device 108 once within the vehicle 104 to initiate a vehicle start and permit the vehicle 104 to be driven.) Regarding claim 11 , Watts teaches that the processor is configured to receive information about a service usage fee ([0085] teaches the user is presented with a total cost estimate for the service. Once, the user accepts the estimated cost for the service, the request for service is processed and the service provider is notified, e.g., the selected low-priced vehicle is alerted of a new service request. ) Regarding claim 12 , Rosekrans teaches that the information about the service usage fee is based on use time information and use distance information of the first personal mobility vehicle ([0055] teaches that the cost of the vehicle usage may be estimated at the outset based on the details of the request, but are calculated after the vehicle is returned to determine actual vehicle usage, including the distance traveled and the duration of vehicle usage.) 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawahashi (US 11,532,061) in view of Watts (US 2020/0372556) as applied to claim 4 and further in view of Abhyanker (US 2016/0027307) . Regarding claim 6, Sawahashi modified by Watts teaches the electronic device of claim 4, but fails to expressly teach that the service usage fee of the first personal mobility vehicle comprises: a first fee based on a first service of a first service provider configured to provide the first personal mobility vehicle and the use of the first personal mobility vehicle; and a second fee based on a second service of a second service provider subscribed to by a user of the electronic device and a use of a platform of the second service provider. ABHYANKER teaches a service usage fee of the first personal mobility vehicle comprises: a first fee based on a first service of a first service provider configured to provide the first personal mobility vehicle and the use of the first personal mobility vehicle; and a second fee based on a second service of a second service provider subscribed to by a user of the electronic device and a use of a platform of the second service provider ([0193], FIG. 6B teaches a renter user interface view 651 of the renter device of FIG. 5, in which a broadcast data is generated through the user interface of FIG. 6A and rental details 607; [0194] teaches the renter may be able to view available vehicles and/or all registered vehicles within a certain proximity to the user and/or the user's claimed geospatial locations 700; [0355] teaches a criteria module 203 may process a criteria associated with an automotive listing data 102 including a description, a photograph, a video, a rental fee , a category, a vehicle make, a vehicle model, and/or a functional status.) Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to further modify Sawahashi to include within the service usage fee information - the fee information as claimed, for the purpose of permitting the user to choose the option that best satisfies their needs and budget . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawahashi (US 11,532,061) in view of Watts (US 2020/0372556) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Whitt (US 2019/0376802) . Regarding claim 8, Sawahashi modified by Watts teaches the electronic device of claim 1, but fails to expressly teach that the processor is configured to control the display to output information about whether the plurality of service providers and the plurality of personal mobility vehicles included in the plurality of service providers that are available to a user of the electronic device are present or not. WHITT teaches a system/method for matching transportation requests ([0034] teaches that each PMV may be equipped with sensors, onboard computers, wireless communications devices, and/or other electronics that enable each vehicle to communicate with the dynamic transportation matching system over a network) wherein the processor is configured to control the display to output information about whether the plurality of service providers and the plurality of personal mobility vehicles included in the plurality of service providers that are available to a user of the electronic device are present or not ([0070] teaches a personal mobility vehicle 1002 is within physical distance 1006 of requesting device 104 while personal mobility vehicle 1004 is within physical distance 1008 of requesting device 104. Evaluation module 314 may grant personal mobility vehicle 1002 a higher matching fitness than personal mobility vehicle 1004 by virtue of physical distance 1006 being shorter than physical distance 1008; [0090] teaches one or more devices associated with a provider (e.g., devices integrated with managed vehicles 1314(a), 1314(b), and/or 1314(c); [0091] teaches the identity management services 1304 may be configured to perform authorization services for requestors and providers and/or manage their interactions and/or data with transportation management system 1302. This may include, e.g., authenticating the identity of providers and determining that they are authorized to provide services through transportation management system 1302; [0059] teaches a dynamic transportation matching system 120 may generate a ranked list of personal mobility vehicles and/or personal mobility vehicle types based on the fitness scores of each personal mobility vehicle and/or personal mobility vehicle type. Dynamic transportation matching system 120 may then prompt transportation requestor 102 to select a personal mobility vehicle type and/or a specific personal mobility vehicle through a user interface of requesting device 104.) Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to modify the system of the primary disclosure so as to display the recited information for the benefit of increasing user satisfaction because different users may value different attributes and thus a user would be allowed to make the final selection. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DIONNE PENDLETON whose telephone number is (571)272-7497. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9a-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Davetta Goins can be reached at 571-272-2957. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DIONNE PENDLETON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/218,928 Page 2 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/218,928 Page 3 Art Unit: 2689 Application/Control Number: 19/218,928 Page 4 Art Unit: 2689