DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the above identified patent application filed on May 27, 2025. Claims 1 – 20 are pending and currently being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over anticipated by (U.S. Patent Number 9,814,339 B2) to DiMaria-Ghalili et al., in view of (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2007 / 0286016 A1) to Sun.
Regarding claim 1, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., discloses a system (100), comprising: an enclosure (50) partially surrounding a volume and having a recessed end (i.e. Cavity Portion of (50) in Figure 2) for receiving a beverage holder (See Figure 2);
a sensor (144) configured to perform a measurement associated with an acceleration of the system (See Abstract); and
a controller (124) configured to detect that the measurement satisfies an acceleration threshold (See Abstract) (See Figure 1).
However, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., lacks and does not explicitly disclose a motor configured to rotate at least a portion of the enclosure; and to command the motor to rotate based on the measurement satisfying the acceleration threshold.
Sun teaches a motor (23) (See Figure 2) configured to rotate (i.e. via (17) in Figures 2 & 4) at least a portion of the enclosure (4); and to command the motor (23) to rotate (i.e. via (17) in Figures 2 & 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make a motor configured to rotate at least a portion of the enclosure; and to command the motor to rotate as taught by Sun with the system of DiMaria-Ghalili et al., in order to provide automatic beverage stirring within the enclosure.
Regarding claim 2, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., discloses wherein the sensor (144) comprises an accelerometer (111) (See Column 6, lines 31 – 48).
Regarding claim 3, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., discloses wherein the measurement is associated with a horizontal direction (i.e. X-Axis Direction), and the system further comprises: an additional sensor (113) configured to perform an additional measurement associated with a vertical direction (i.e. Y-Axis Direction), wherein the controller (124) is further configured to detect that the additional measurement (i.e. via Y-Axis) satisfies a vertical threshold (i.e. Weight of the Cup) (See Column 6, lines 54 & 55), and the command is further based on the additional measurement (i.e. via Y-Axis) satisfying the vertical threshold (i.e. Weight of the Cup) (See Column 6, lines 53 – 56).
Regarding claim 4, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., discloses wherein the additional sensor (113) comprises an accelerometer (See Column 6, lines 31 – 39).
Regarding claim 5, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., discloses wherein the command is further based on an origin point (See Figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., discloses further comprising: a memory storing (i.e. via Circuit Board (124)) an indication of the origin point (See Figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., discloses further comprising: at least one input component (i.e. Contact Switch (148)) configured to receive a signal indicating the origin point (See Figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., discloses wherein the measurement is associated with a first horizontal direction (i.e. X-Axis Direction), and the system further comprises: an additional sensor (113) configured to perform an additional measurement associated with a second horizonal direction (i.e. Z-Axis Direction) that is perpendicular to the first horizontal direction (i.e. X-Axis Direction), wherein the controller (124) is further configured to detect that the additional measurement satisfies an additional acceleration threshold, and the command is further based on the additional measurement satisfying the additional acceleration threshold (See Column 6, lines 53 – 56).
Regarding claim 9, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., discloses a system (100), comprising: at least one accelerometer (111) configured to measure an acceleration of the system (100); and a controller (124) configured to detect that the acceleration satisfies an acceleration threshold and at least a portion of an enclosure (50) having a recessed end (i.e. Cavity Portion of (50) in Figure 2) for receiving a beverage holder, based on the acceleration satisfying the acceleration threshold (See Figure 1).
However, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., lacks and does not explicitly disclose to trigger a command to a motor to rotate.
Sun teaches a command to a motor (23) to rotate.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make a command to a motor to rotate as taught by Sun with the system of DiMaria-Ghalili et al., in order to provide automatic beverage stirring within the enclosure.
Regarding claim 10, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., discloses wherein the accelerometer (111) is included in an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (i.e. via X & Y Axis) (See Column 6, lines 31 – 39).
Regarding claim 11, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., discloses further comprising: at least one input component (i.e. Contact Switch (148)) configured to receive a signal indicating the acceleration threshold (See Column 6, lines 31 – 50).
Regarding claim 12, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., discloses wherein the acceleration includes a vertical component and a horizontal component, the command indicates a direction and a terminus, and the controller (124) is further configured to determine the direction based on the vertical component and to determine the terminus based on the horizontal component (See Column 6, lines 31 – 50).
Regarding claim 13, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., discloses (100) further comprising: a position sensor (144) configured to measure a slope (See Figure 4) associated with the system (100), wherein the controller (124) is further configured to detect that the slope satisfies an incline threshold, and the command is further based on the slope satisfying the incline threshold (See Figures 2A, 2B, 2C, 2D, 4 & 5).
Regarding claim 14, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., discloses a device (100), comprising: one or more processors (i.e. Microprocessors) (See Column 10, lines 29 – 31) configured to: receive, from a sensor (144), a measurement (See Figures 2A, 2B, 2C, 2D, 4 & 5) associated with an acceleration of the sensor (144); determine that the measurement satisfies an acceleration threshold; and transmit a signal, based on the measurement satisfying the acceleration threshold (See Column 6, lines 31 – 50); and an enclosure (50) having a recessed end (i.e. Cavity Portion of (50) in Figure 2) for receiving a beverage holder .
However, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., does not explicitly disclose a motor to trigger the motor to rotate at least a portion of an enclosure.
Sun teaches a motor (23) to trigger the motor (23) to rotate at least a portion of an enclosure (17) for receiving a beverage holder (4) (See Figures 3, 4, 5 & 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make a motor to trigger the motor to rotate at least a portion of an enclosure for receiving a beverage holder as taught by Sun with the system of DiMaria-Ghalili et al., in order to provide automatic beverage stirring within the enclosure.
Regarding claim 15, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., discloses wherein the measurement is associated with a single axis (X-Axis Direction) (See Column 6, lines 31 – 50).
Regarding claim 16, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., discloses wherein the measurement is associated with a plurality of axes (i.e. X, Y & Z Axes) (See Column 6, lines 31 – 50).
Regarding claim 17, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., discloses wherein the one or more processors (i.e. Microprocessors) are further configured to: receive a signal indicating an initial position associated with the enclosure.
Furthermore, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., as modified by Sun discloses wherein the signal to the motor (23) is further based on the initial position (See Figures 2 & 4).
Regarding claim 18, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., discloses further comprising: one or more memories storing an indication of at least one terminal position (See Figure 3).
Furthermore, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., as modified by Sun discloses further comprising: one or more memories storing an indication of at least one terminal position, wherein the signal to the motor (23) is further based on the at least one terminal position.
Regarding claim 19, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., discloses further comprising: one or more memories storing an indication of a first terminal position and an indication of a second terminal position, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to identify a selected terminal position, from the first terminal position or the second terminal position, based on the measurement (See Column 6, lines 53 – 56) (See Figures 2A, 2B, 2C, 2D, 4 & 5).
However, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., lacks and does not explicitly disclose wherein the signal to the motor is further based on the selected terminal position.
Sun teaches wherein the signal to the motor (23) is further based on the selected terminal position (See Figures 2 & 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the signal to the motor is further based on the selected terminal position as taught by Sun with the system of DiMaria-Ghalili et al., in order to provide automatic beverage stirring within the enclosure.
Regarding claim 20, DiMaria-Ghalili et al., discloses wherein the one or more processors (i.e. Microprocessor) are further configured to: receive a signal indicating the acceleration threshold (See Column 10, lines 28 – 31).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/L.L.V/Examiner, Art Unit 3734
/NATHAN J NEWHOUSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3734