Detailed Action
This is in response to application filed on 5/27/2025, claims 1-25 are pending for examination.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
the following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jensen., US 2006/0158765 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Jensen teaches a memory apparatus (Fig.1A, a system 100), comprising: one or more controllers (Fig.1A; controller 120) configured to:
receive, from a host system, configuration information indicating one or more current limits for respective memory operations of one or more memory operations (section 0036; receiving a write message that includes a maximum current limit); and perform the one or more memory operations in accordance with the one or more current limits (section 0036; a subsequent storage operation, such as a write operation, may be performed after receiving a write message that includes a maximum current limit. The controller 120 would then perform the write operation using the maximum current limit received with the write message).
Regarding claim 2, Jensen teaches the one or more current limits include at least one of: a peak current limit for the respective memory operations, or an average current limit for the respective memory operations (section 0036; it is taught as the maximum current limit).
Regarding claim 3, Jensen teaches the average current limit includes a first current level over a first duration, and wherein the peak current limit includes a second current limit over a second duration (section 0037; the usage and non-usage of current may be time-split such that on average the amount of current used is equal to the maximum current value received by the controller 120. For example, the normal amount of current that the recording medium 130 receives may be 600 mA, and a user may wish to limit the power consumption of the recording medium 130 to 150 mA. The controller 120 could then draw the current amount of 600 mA for one second, and draw a near-zero current amount for the next three seconds. Effectively, during the cumulative four-second period, the current amount used would be 600 mA, and on average, the amount of current used would be 150 mA per second. Thus, the maximum amount of current used on average could be said to be 150 mA).
Regarding claim 4, Jensen teaches the one or more controllers, to perform the one or more memory operations, are configured to: perform a memory operation of the one or more memory operations using a current level of a power supply line included in the memory apparatus, wherein the current level is less than or equal to a current limit, of the one or more current limits, that is associated with the memory operation (section 0037; the usage and non-usage of current may be time-split such that on average the amount of current used is equal to the maximum current value received by the controller 120. For example, the normal amount of current that the recording medium 130 receives may be 600 mA, and a user may wish to limit the power consumption of the recording medium 130 to 150 mA).
Regarding claim 5, Jensen teaches the one or more controllers are further configured to: receive, from the host system, a request for supported memory operations; and transmit, to the host system, an indication of the one or more memory operations, wherein the configuration information is based on the indication of the one or more memory operations (section 0036; the controller 120 will control the consumption of power by limiting the maximum amount of current used. If the subsequent operation is a power management message, however, the amount of current used will be updated, and therefore restricted, to the new value transmitted in the last power management message. In other embodiments, a subsequent storage operation, such as a write operation, may be performed after receiving a write message that includes a maximum current limit. The controller 120 would then perform the write operation using the maximum current limit received with the write message).
Regarding claim 6, Jensen teaches the one or more memory operations are supported use cases for the memory apparatus (section 0005; there is a method of managing power used by a recording medium by receiving a maximum current value in the recording medium and limiting operation of the recording medium to the maximum current value during a storage operation (e.g. read, write)).
Regarding claim 7, Jensen teaches the one or more memory operations include at least one of: a sequential read operation, a sequential write operation, a random read operation, or a random write operation (claim 10 of Jensen; the storage operation is an erase or a write operation).
Regarding claim 8, Jensen teaches the one or more memory operations include at least one of: a write-booster operation, or a non-write-booster operation (claim 10 of Jensen; the storage operation is an erase or a write operation).
Regarding claim 9, Jensen teaches the memory apparatus includes multiple power supply lines, and wherein a current limit, of the one or more current limits, is associated with at least one power supply line of the multiple power supply Lines and a memory operation of the one or more memory operations (section 0035; The medium controller 120 may set the amount of current by storing the current amount for future operations. The medium controller 120 may be coupled to a power source connected to the recording medium 130. The medium controller 120 may control the amount of current flowing from the power source to the recording medium 130 every time a new operation is received. Alternatively, the controller 120 may transmit a signal to the power source indicating the maximum amount of current that the power source must produce for any future operation).
Regarding claim 10, Jensen teaches the memory apparatus includes a first power supply line and a second power supply line, and wherein the one or more current limits include: a peak current limit for the first power supply line and a memory operation of the one or more memory operations, and an average current limit for the second power supply line and the memory operation (section 0037; the usage and non-usage of current may be time-split such that on average the amount of current used is equal to the maximum current value received by the controller 120).
Regarding claim 11, Jensen teaches a host system (Fig.1A, a system 100), comprising: one or more controllers (Fig.1A; controller 120) configured to: transmit, to a memory apparatus, a request for supported memory operations of the memory apparatus; receive, from the memory apparatus, capability information indicating one or more supported memory operations (section 0036; receiving a write message that includes a maximum current limit); and transmit, to the memory apparatus, configuration information indicating one or more current limits for at least one supported memory operation of the one or more supported memory operations (section 0036; a subsequent storage operation, such as a write operation, may be performed after receiving a write message that includes a maximum current limit. The controller 120 would then perform the write operation using the maximum current limit received with the write message).
Regarding claim 12, Jensen teaches the one or more current limits include at least one of: a peak current limit for the at least one supported memory operation, or an average current limit for the at least one supported memory operation (section 0036; it is taught as the maximum current limit).
Regarding claim 13, Jensen teaches the average current limit includes a first current level over a first duration, and wherein the peak current limit includes a second current limit over a second duration (section 0037; the usage and non-usage of current may be time-split such that on average the amount of current used is equal to the maximum current value received by the controller 120. For example, the normal amount of current that the recording medium 130 receives may be 600 mA, and a user may wish to limit the power consumption of the recording medium 130 to 150 mA. The controller 120 could then draw the current amount of 600 mA for one second, and draw a near-zero current amount for the next three seconds. Effectively, during the cumulative four-second period, the current amount used would be 600 mA, and on average, the amount of current used would be 150 mA per second. Thus, the maximum amount of current used on average could be said to be 150 mA).
Regarding claim 14, Jensen teaches the one or more current limits indicate an allowable current level for one or more power supply lines of the memory apparatus (section 0035; the medium controller 120 may set the amount of current by storing the current amount for future operations. The medium controller 120 may be coupled to a power source connected to the recording medium 130. The medium controller 120 may control the amount of current flowing from the power source to the recording medium 130 every time a new operation is received. Alternatively, the controller 120 may transmit a signal to the power source indicating the maximum amount of current that the power source must produce for any future operation).
Regarding claim 15, Jensen teaches the one or more supported memory operations are supported use cases for the memory apparatus (section 0005; there is a method of managing power used by a recording medium by receiving a maximum current value in the recording medium and limiting operation of the recording medium to the maximum current value during a storage operation (e.g. read, write)).
Regarding claim 16, Jensen teaches the configuration information includes an information element indicating: the at least one supported memory operation, a power supply line of the memory apparatus, and a current limit of the one or more current limits, wherein the current limit is associated with the at least one supported memory operation and the power supply line (section 0035; The medium controller 120 may set the amount of current by storing the current amount for future operations. The medium controller 120 may be coupled to a power source connected to the recording medium 130. The medium controller 120 may control the amount of current flowing from the power source to the recording medium 130 every time a new operation is received. Alternatively, the controller 120 may transmit a signal to the power source indicating the maximum amount of current that the power source must produce for any future operation).
Regarding claim 17, Jensen teaches the one or more memory operations include at least one of: a sequential read operation, a sequential write operation, a random read operation, or a random write operation (claim 10 of Jensen; the storage operation is an erase or a write operation).
Regarding claims 18 and 23, Jensen teaches a method, comprising: transmitting, by a memory apparatus and to a host system, capability information indicating one or more supported memory operations of the memory apparatus (section 0036; receiving a write message that includes a maximum current limit); and receiving, by the memory apparatus and from the host system, configuration information indicating one or more current limits for at least one supported memory operation of the one or more supported memory operations (section 0036; a subsequent storage operation, such as a write operation, may be performed after receiving a write message that includes a maximum current limit. The controller 120 would then perform the write operation using the maximum current limit received with the write message).
Regarding claim 19, Jensen teaches further comprising: performing the at least one supported memory operation in accordance with the one or more current limits (section 0036; a subsequent storage operation, such as a write operation, may be performed after receiving a write message that includes a maximum current limit.).
Regarding claim 20, Jensen teaches the at least one supported memory operation is associated with a power supply line, and wherein a current level of the power supply line during a duration of the at least one supported memory operation is less than or equal to the one or more current limits (section 0037; the usage and non-usage of current may be time-split such that on average the amount of current used is equal to the maximum current value received by the controller 120. For example, the normal amount of current that the recording medium 130 receives may be 600 mA, and a user may wish to limit the power consumption of the recording medium 130 to 150 mA).
Regarding claim 21, Jensen teaches the configuration information includes an initial configuration of the memory apparatus (section 0027; a computer program running on the CPU 110 may be configured to set a predefined maximum current limit amount every time the recording medium 130 restarts.).
Regarding claim 22, Jensen teaches the one or more memory operations include a first one or more types of write operations and a second one or more types of read operations (section 0005; there is a method of managing power used by a recording medium by receiving a maximum current value in the recording medium and limiting operation of the recording medium to the maximum current value during a storage operation (e.g. read, write).
Regarding claim 24, Jensen teaches the memory apparatus includes multiple power supply lines, and wherein a current limit, of the one or more current limits, is associated with at least one power supply line of the multiple power supply lines and the at least one supported memory operation (section 0035; The medium controller 120 may set the amount of current by storing the current amount for future operations. The medium controller 120 may be coupled to a power source connected to the recording medium 130. The medium controller 120 may control the amount of current flowing from the power source to the recording medium 130 every time a new operation is received. Alternatively, the controller 120 may transmit a signal to the power source indicating the maximum amount of current that the power source must produce for any future operation).
Regarding claim 25, Jensen teaches the one or more current limits include at least one of: a peak current limit for the at least one supported memory operation, or an average current limit for the at least one supported memory operation (section 0036; it is taught as the maximum current limit).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hsu et al., US 10,095,412 B2 teaches a memory system and method for improving write performance in a multi-die environment are disclosed. In one embodiment, a memory system is provided comprising a plurality of memory dies and a controller. The controller is configured to determine a programming status of each of the plurality of memory dies and dynamically adjust a maximum peak current limit of the plurality of memory dies based on the programming status of each of the plurality of memory dies. Hsu does not clearly teach receiving, from a host system, configuration information indicating one or more current limits for respective memory operations of one or more memory operations.
When responding to the office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 C.F.R. 1.111 (c).
When responding to the office action, Applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and page numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist examiner to locate the appropriate paragraphs.
Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUA J SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2133