CTNF 19/219,027 CTNF 83227 DETAILED ACTION Claims 1-6 are pending. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation “a rectangle” is unclear within the claim and does not limit if “a rectangle” reference to a “first rectangle” or a “second rectangle”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a(1) as being anticipated by Inoue (US 2005/0024598) . Claim 1, Inoue teaches A method for determining a projection region in which an image drawn in a drawing region of a panel disposed in a projection apparatus is projected, the method comprising: identifying coordinates that are in a first coordinate system (i.e. coordinates before correction), for each of four vertices of a first quadrangle that defines the drawing region in a coordinate system of the panel (i.e. a’b’c’d’), the first coordinate system being a coordinate system of a projection surface on which the image is projected and which is viewed in a direction of a normal to the projection surface (i.e. projector to screen) (fig. 7; p. 0067, 0077, 0086-0087); identifying first intersection coordinates that are in the first coordinate system and that are coordinates of a point where two diagonals of a second quadrangle intersect with each other based on coordinates for each of four vertices of the second quadrangle (i.e. angles are calculated based on “z” and “d”), the second quadrangle corresponding to the first quadrangle (i.e. p’q’r’s’), and the four vertices of the second quadrangle corresponding in a one-to-one relationship to the four vertices of the first quadrangle (i.e. calculated correction corresponding to a’b’c’d’) (p. 0077-0081); identifying as a first rectangle a largest rectangle that falls within the second quadrangle (i.e. p’q’r’s’), has central coordinates equal to the first intersection coordinates, and has a first aspect ratio (i.e. corrected trapezoid is now a rectangle which has an aspect ratio) (fig. 12A-C; p. 0127-0134); and determining the projection region of the projection surface based on the first rectangle (i.e. corrected trapezoid) (fig. 12A-C; p. 0127-0134). Claim 3, Inoue teaches the method for determining a projection region according to claim 1, wherein the coordinates for each of the four vertices in the first coordinate system are identified based on a correspondence that associates a second coordinate system (i.e. p’q’r’s’) that is the coordinate system of the panel with the first coordinate system (i.e. calculated correction corresponding to a’b’c’d’) (p. 0077-0081). Claim 4, Inoue teaches The method for determining a projection region according to claim 3, wherein the correspondence is calculated based on a gravity vector (i.e. incline angle) based on an output from an acceleration sensor (i.e. sensor detects inclination angle) associated with the second coordinate system (i.e. p’q’r’s’), and a vector of a normal to the projection surface (i.e. z=d, no inclination angle) (p. 0006-0012, 0077-0081). Claim 5, Inoue teaches The method for determining a projection region according to claim 4, wherein the vector of a normal to the projection surface is calculated based on a depth map of the projection surface based on an output from a distance sensor configured to detect a distance (i.e. z=d, no inclination angle) (p. 0006-0012, 0077-0081). Claims 6 is analyzed and interpreted as an apparatus of claim 1 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (US 2005/0024598) in view of Chae et al. (US 2012/0147054) . Claim 2, Inoue is not entirely clear in teaching the method for determining a projection region according to claim 1, further comprising identifying, as a second rectangle that falls within the second quadrangle and is larger than the first rectangle, a rectangle having four vertices one of which is a point where the second quadrangle and the first rectangle are in contact with each other and having the first aspect ratio, wherein the projection region of the projection surface is determined based on the second rectangle. Chae teaches the method for determining a projection region according to claim 1, further comprising identifying, as a second rectangle (508) that falls within the second quadrangle and is larger than the first rectangle (i.e. grown), a rectangle having four vertices one of which is a point where the second quadrangle and the first rectangle are in contact with each other and having the first aspect ratio (i.e. maintain aspect ratio), wherein the projection region of the projection surface is determined based on the second rectangle (i.e. global boundary) (fig. 5D-E; p. 0062-0074). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided growing rectangles as taught by Chae to the system of Inoue to provide change sizes of display while maintaining aspect ratio (p. 0059) . Conclusion Claims 1-6 are rejected. 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20250168304 A1 KIM; Jiman et al. – pixel image system US 20230127730 A1 Johnson; Tyler M. et al. – projection mapping US 20190323827 A1 Lindner; Albrecht Johannes et al. – projection depth systems. US 20190104289 A1 Lin; Chi-Wei et al. – analyzing projection image to meet image conditions US 20190037186 A1 YOSHIMURA; Jun – calculating overlapping projection images US 20130201457 A1 Watanabe; Toshiyuki et al. – focus for projection image US 8111949 B2 Sakurai; Keiichi – larger rectangles and quadrangles projected together US 20090278999 A1 Ofune; Kenji et al. – user adjusting rectangle US 20080284987 A1 Yonezawa; Ryohichi – panel coordinate system adjustment US 20050168705 A1 Li, Baoxin et al. – focus calibration US 20050024598 A1 Inoue, Hideaki – trapezoidal correction Inquiries Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MUSHFIKH I ALAM whose telephone number is (571)270-1710. The examiner can normally be reached 1:00PM-9:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nasser Goodarzi can be reached at 571-272-4195. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. MUSHFIKH I. ALAM Primary Examiner Art Unit 2426 /MUSHFIKH I ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 5/22/2026 Application/Control Number: 19/219,027 Page 2 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/219,027 Page 3 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/219,027 Page 4 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/219,027 Page 5 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/219,027 Page 6 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/219,027 Page 7 Art Unit: 2426