DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Embodiment A3-Figures 1C, 4C, Embodiment B1-Figure 2, and Embodiment C3- Figure 7B corresponding to claims 1-4, 6-14, 16, 18 in the reply filed on 7/6/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “electronic device” and its corresponding components of “a memory”, “a processor”, “a computer program…” in claim 13 and “terminal device” in claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Note: Changes in the drawings may necessitate changes in the specification. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8-10, 14, 18 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 10 each recite “…when operation of the grid is abnormal: controlling the switching circuit to disconnect the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit electrically from the power grid or from the load; stopping operation of the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit…” The examiner notes that one skilled in the art would understand that a grid being “abnormal” is no longer suitable for normal power delivery to the load; however, applicant’s published disclosure (par [0057]), states “in the case that power grid 60 is abnormal… the second switch K2 is always on, allowing the power grid 60 to continue supplying power to the load.” That is, the claims’ recitation of “abnormal” is inconsistent with what is typically understood and should be amended in line with applicant’s disclosure to clarify that the grid, even when abnormally operating, is controlled via the switching circuit to maintain supplying power to the load. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1 and 10 each recite “…when operation of the grid is abnormal: controlling the switching circuit to disconnect the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit electrically from the power grid or from the load; stopping operation of the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit…” This means that the DC-AC inverter may be disconnected from the grid but does not have to be and may be disconnected from the load but does not have to be (when the grid’s abnormal). However, applicant’s published disclosure states two different types of “abnormal” in par [0057]- one in which the grid abnormality is “over-voltage, over-frequency, or under-frequency conditions” and requires the DC-AC inverter to be both disconnected from the grid and the load (not an alternative as currently presented in claims 1 and 10) and another abnormal type (“the power grid 60 is abnormally powered off”) in which the grid is disconnected but the DC-AC inverter is connected to the load to supply power to the load. The applicant is encouraged to define the type of “abnormal” in the claims and the corresponding control of the switching circuit that would allow the grid to maintain supplying power to the load while the DC-AC inverter is disconnected from both the grid and the load. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 recites “…wherein the DC voltage conversion circuit comprises of a first conversion circuit…” This should instead be “…comprises a first voltage conversion circuit”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 recites the limitations “the second conversion circuit” and “the energy storage battery”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 9 recites “…according to claim 8, wherein the DC voltage conversion comprises the second voltage conversion circuit”. The examiner notes the second voltage conversion circuit has already been recited in claim 8. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites “…for connecting an power grid…” It should be “a power grid”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 recites “a computer-readable storage medium…” This should instead read as “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium…” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 18 recites “... according to claim 8, wherein the DC voltage conversion circuit further comrpises a second conversion circuit…an energy storage battery…” The examiner notes the second voltage conversion circuit and energy storage battery have already been recited in claim 8. Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Satake et al. (2016/0064936 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Satake teaches a power converter, comprising:
a direct current (DC) voltage conversion circuit (figs.1-4, items 27, 28, pars [37-38]; box around DC/DC converters 27 and 28 forms a “DC voltage conversion circuit”);
a direct current-alternating current (DC-AC) voltage conversion circuit (figs.1-4, dc-ac voltage conversion circuit 21, par [39]);
a switching circuit (figs.1-4, items 22, 23, 24);
a controller (“controller” 25), wherein
the DC voltage conversion circuit is connected to the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (21, see figs.1-4; 27 and 28 connected to 21), and is configured for connecting a DC power supply (items 11 and 12, pars [35-37]; DC power supply 11 and 12) and converting DC power outputted by the DC power supply to output converted DC power to the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (21, pars [38-39]; DC conversion circuit 27, 28 converts DC power outputted by the DC supply 11, 12 to output to DC/AC inverter 21);
the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (21) is configured for converting the converted DC power into alternating current (AC) power (pars [38-39]),
the switching circuit (22, 23, 24) is connected to the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (21, see figs.1-4), and is configured for connecting a power grid (“grid”) and connect a load (32, pars [40, 42]; for e.g., switch 23 when closed is configured for connecting the “grid” and connecting load 32); and
the controller (25) is communicatively connected to the DC voltage conversion circuit (par [42]; controller 25 is communicatively connected to 27, 28 as it controls operations of 27, 28), the DC AC voltage conversion circuit (21, figs.1-4, par [42]), and the switching circuit (22-24, figs.1-4, par [42]), wherein the controller is configured for, when operation of the power grid is abnormal (pars [33, 42]; due to an outage of the grid):
controlling the switching circuit to disconnect the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (21) electrically from the power grid (fig.4, pars [52, 54-57]; disconnecting the DC-AC inverter 21 from the grid by turning off switches 22, 23) or from the load;
stopping the operation of the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (21, pars [42, 55, 57, 59]; Satake teaches “the controller 25…controls operations of the inverter 21…” and “…power ceases to be supplied by the distributed power sources via the inverter 21. At this time, the power flowing through point a becomes zero”. Thus, Satake teaches the DC/AC inverter 21 is stopped when the power flowing through point a/the output of the inverter becomes zero); and keeping operation of the DC voltage conversion circuit (pars [38, 42, 54-59]; Satake teaches discharging 12 of the DC power supply via 28 of the DC voltage conversion circuit and when the DC/AC inverter 21 is stopped and the power at point a is zero, 28 of the DC voltage conversion is kept in operation by controlling 28 of DC voltage conversion circuit to charge 12 of the DC power supply).
Examiner Note: The applicant is encouraged to further amend the claim to define “abnormal” and the corresponding control of the switching circuit that would allow the grid to maintain supplying power to the load while the DC-AC inverter is disconnected from both the grid and the load.
Regarding Claim 2,
Satake teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 1 and further teaches wherein the controller is further configured for, in response to the power grid stopping outputting power (see fig.3, pars [33, 50-51, 55] and related discussion; when the grid is stopped from outputting power/ “no power supply from the grid”): controlling the switching circuit to connect the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit electrically to the load (see fig.3, pars [50, 51, 55]; switching circuit 22 and 23 are turned off and 24 is turned on to connect the DC/AC inverter 21 to load 32); disconnecting the power grid electrically from the load (see fig.3, pars [50, 51, 55]; disconnecting the grid from the load 32 by opening switches 22, 23); and keeping operation of the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (see figs.2-3, pars [48-51]; keeping operating of the DC/AC inverter 21 by closing switch 24).
Regarding Claim 3,
Satake teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 1 and further teaches wherein the switching circuit (22, 23, 24) comprises a first switch (23) and a second switch (24), wherein a first terminal (figs.1-4, see top terminal of switch 23) of the first switch (23) is connected to the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (21, figs.1-4; top terminal of switch 23 is indirectly connected via 22 to dc/ac inverter 21), a second terminal of the first switch (figs.1-4, bottom terminal of switch 23) is connected to a first terminal of the second switch (24, figs.1-4; bottom terminal of switch 23 is connected to a first terminal/right terminal of switch 24) and connected to the load (32, see figs.1-4; bottom terminal of switch 23 is indirectly connected to load 32), and a second terminal of the second switch (see figs.1-4; second terminal/left terminal of second switch 24) is connected to the power grid (see figs.1-4; left terminal of second switch 24 is indirectly connected to “grid” via 22); and the controller (25) is configured for turning off the first switch (23) when the operation of the power grid is abnormal (pars [33, 42] and related discussion; during the grid operating abnormally, the first switch 23 is turned off/open).
Regarding Claim 4,
Satake teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 2 and further teaches wherein the switching circuit (22, 23, 24) comprises a first switch (23) and a second switch (24), wherein a first terminal (figs.1-4, see top terminal of switch 23) of the first switch (23) is connected to the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (21, figs.1-4; top terminal of switch 23 is indirectly connected via 22 to dc/ac inverter 21), a second terminal of the first switch (figs.1-4, bottom terminal of switch 23) is connected to a first terminal of the second switch (24, figs.1-4; bottom terminal of switch 23 is connected to a first terminal/right terminal of switch 24) and connected to the load (32, see figs.1-4; bottom terminal of switch 23 is indirectly connected to load 32), and a second terminal of the second switch (see figs.1-4; second terminal/left terminal of second switch 24) is connected to the power grid (see figs.1-4; left terminal of second switch 24 is indirectly connected to “grid” via 22); and the controller (25) is configured for turning off the first switch (23) when the operation of the power grid is abnormal (pars [33, 42] and related discussion; during the grid operating abnormally, the first switch 23 is turned off/open).
Regarding Claim 10,
Satake teaches a power system, comprising a power converter (figs.1-4, item 20), wherein the power converter comprises:
a direct current (DC) voltage conversion circuit (figs.1-4, items 27, 28, pars [37-38]; box around DC/DC converters 27 and 28 forms a “DC voltage conversion circuit”);
a direct current-alternating current (DC-AC) voltage conversion circuit (figs.1-4, dc-ac voltage conversion circuit 21, par [39]);
a switching circuit (figs.1-4, items 22, 23, 24);
a controller (“controller” 25), wherein
the DC voltage conversion circuit is connected to the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (21, see figs.1-4; 27 and 28 connected to 21), and is configured for connecting a DC power supply (items 11 and 12, pars [35-37]; DC power supply 11 and 12) and converting DC power outputted by the DC power supply to output converted DC power to the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (21, pars [38-39]; DC conversion circuit 27, 28 converts DC power outputted by the DC supply 11, 12 to output to DC/AC inverter 21);
the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (21) is configured for converting the converted DC power into alternating current (AC) power (pars [38-39]),
the switching circuit (22, 23, 24) is connected to the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (21, see figs.1-4), and configured for connecting an power grid (“grid”) and connecting a load (32, pars [40, 42]; for e.g., switch 23 when closed is configured for connecting the “grid” and connecting load 32); and
the controller (25) is communicatively connected to the DC voltage conversion circuit (par [42]; controller 25 is communicatively connected to 27, 28 as it controls operations of 27, 28), the DC AC voltage conversion circuit (21, figs.1-4, par [42]), and the switching circuit (22-24, figs.1-4, par [42]), wherein the controller is configured for, when operation of the power grid is abnormal (pars [33, 42]; due to an outage of the grid):
controlling the switching circuit to disconnect the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (21) electrically from the power grid (fig.4, pars [52, 54-57]; disconnecting the DC-AC inverter 21 from the grid by turning off switches 22, 23) or from the load;
stopping the operation of the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (21, pars [42, 55, 57, 59]; Satake teaches “the controller 25…controls operations of the inverter 21…” and “…power ceases to be supplied by the distributed power sources via the inverter 21. At this time, the power flowing through point a becomes zero”. Thus, Satake teaches the DC/AC inverter 21 is stopped when the power flowing through point a/the output of the inverter becomes zero); and
keeping operation of the DC voltage conversion circuit (pars [38, 42, 54-59]; Satake teaches discharging 12 of the DC power supply via 28 of the DC voltage conversion circuit and when the DC/AC inverter 21 is stopped and the power at point a is zero, 28 of the DC voltage conversion is kept in operation by controlling 28 of DC voltage conversion circuit to charge 12 of the DC power supply).
Examiner Note: The applicant is encouraged to further amend the claim to define “abnormal” and the corresponding control of the switching circuit that would allow the grid to maintain supplying power to the load while the DC-AC inverter is disconnected from both the grid and the load.
Regarding Claim 11,
Satake teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 10 and teaches further comprising the DC power supply (Satake, figs.1-4, DC power supply 11, 12), wherein the power converter is connected to the DC power supply (Satake, see figs.1-4), and is configured for connecting the power grid and the load (figs.1-4; configured for connecting the “grid” and load 32 via the switching circuit 22-24), wherein the DC power supply comprises at least one of a photovoltaic power supply (Satake, figs.1-4, pars [33, 35], photovoltaic power supply 11) or an energy storage battery.
Regarding Claim 12,
Satake teaches a method for controlling the power converter according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), comprising: determining whether operation of the power grid is abnormal (pars [33, 42] and related discussion; determining whether the power grid has an outage/abnormal or is normal); and when the operation of the power grid is abnormal, controlling the switching circuit (22, 23, 24) to disconnect the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit from the power grid and the load (pars [40, 42, 52, 57]; disconnecting the DC-AC inverter 21 from the grid by turning off switches 22, 23 and from the load 32 via switches 22 and 23 being open. Examiner Note: the claim does not require complete disconnection of the DC-AC circuit from the load. Satake teaches one path in which DC/AC inverter 21 is disconnected from load 32. Applicant is encouraged to amend the claims to further provide details of the switching circuit and how it is controlled to completely disconnect the DC/AC conversion circuit from the load); stopping the operation of the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (21, pars [42, 55, 57, 59]; Satake teaches “the controller 25…controls operations of the inverter 21…” and “…power ceases to be supplied by the distributed power sources via the inverter 21. At this time, the power flowing through point a becomes zero”. Thus, Satake teaches the DC/AC inverter 21 is stopped when the power flowing through point a/the output of the inverter becomes zero); and keeping operation of the DC voltage conversion circuit (pars [38, 42, 54-59]; Satake teaches discharging 12 of the DC power supply via 28 of the DC voltage conversion circuit and when the DC/AC inverter 21 is stopped and the power at point a is zero, 28 of the DC voltage conversion is kept in operation by controlling 28 of DC voltage conversion circuit to charge 12 of the DC power supply).
Regarding Claim 13,
Satake teaches an electronic device, comprising:
a memory (figs.1-4, pars [42, 73]; Satake teaches in par 42 the controller 25 is configured with a microcomputer which inherently has a memory and par 73 teaches the disclosed operations are implemented by program instructions stored on an on-transitory storage medium);
a processor (figs.1-4, pars [42, 73]; Satake teaches in par 42 the controller 25 is configured with a microcomputer and par [73] teach the disclosed operations are implemented by “one or more processors”, “CPU”, “controller, microcontroller, microprocessor…” which teaches the processor); and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor (pars [42, 73]; Satake the controller (microcomputer) and that the disclosed operations are implemented by program instructions stored on a non-transitory storage medium and executed by one or more processors), wherein the processor, when executing the program, performs the method for controlling the power converter according to claim 12 (figs.1-4, pars [42, 54-59, 73], see rejection of claim 12; Satake teaches performing the method for controlling the power converter according to claim 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satake et al. (2016/0064936 A1) in view of Allert et al. (2022/0209572 A1).
Regarding Claim 6,
Satake teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 1 and Satake further teaches the DC voltage conversion circuit is connected to the DC power supply (see figs.1-4; DC voltage conversion circuit 27, 28 is connected to the DC supply 11, 12); and a first terminal of the switching circuit is connected to the power grid (see figs.1-4; first terminal between switches 22, 23 is connected to “grid”) and a second terminal of the switching circuit is connected to the load (see figs.1-4; second terminal between switches 23, 24 is connected to load 32) .
Satake does not explicitly disclose a first interface, a second interface and a third interface, wherein the DC voltage conversion circuit is connected to the DC power supply through the first interface; and a first terminal of the switching circuit is connected to the power grid through the second interface, and a second terminal of the switching circuit is connected to the load through the third interface.
Allert (fig.1), however, teaches a first interface (item 38, par [50]), a second interface (item 12, par [46]) and third interface (14, par [46]), wherein the DC voltage conversion circuit (34, 36) is connected to the DC power supply through the first interface (38, see fig.1; the DC voltage conversion circuit is connected to 40 of the DC power supply through first interface 38); and a first terminal of the switching circuit (46, 48) is connected to the power grid (22) through the second interface (12, see fig.1), and a second terminal of the switching circuit (46, 48) is connected to the load (24) through the third interface (14, see fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Satake to that of Allert of a first interface, a second interface, and a third interface along with connecting Satake’s DC voltage conversion circuit to the DC power supply through the first interface and the first terminal of Satake’s switching circuit to the grid through a second interface and the second terminal of Satake’s switching circuit to the load through a third interface. The motivation would have been because the interfaces allow the converter to act as an intelligent bridge that safely and efficiently transfers energy between DC sources, converters, the load, and the grid. Furthermore, the interfaces offer flexibility by allowing different sources of the DC power supply, loads, and grid configurations to use the same converter architecture.
Regarding Claim 7,
The combination teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 6 and the combination teaches the DC power supply comprises a photovoltaic power supply (Satake, figs.1-4, 11 and Allert, fig.1, 40), and the DC voltage conversion circuit is connected to the photovoltaic power supply through the first interface (Satake, figs.1-4 and Allert, fig.1; the combination teaches the DC voltage conversion circuit is connected to the photovoltaic supply through Allert’s first interface 38).
Regarding Claim 16,
The combination teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 7 and further teaches the power converter further comprises a fourth interface (Satake, see figs.1-4 and Allert, fig.1, 16, par [48]), the DC power supply further comprises an energy storage battery (Satake, figs.1-4, item 12 and Allert, fig.1, pars [1,11, 65], item 26), a first terminal of the DC voltage conversion circuit is connected to the photovoltaic power supply through the first interface (see rejection of claim 7; a first terminal of the DC voltage conversion circuit is connected to the photovoltaic power supply through the first interface 38 of Allert as discussed in the rejection of claim 7), and a second terminal of the DC voltage conversion circuit is connected to the energy storage battery through the fourth interface (Satake, figs.1-4, item 11 and Allert, fig.1, item 16; the second terminal of the DC voltage conversion circuit is connected to the energy storage battery through Allert’s fourth interface 16).
The examiner notes while Satake illustrates a storage cell 12 and does not explicitly use the term “battery”, Allert teaches the obviousness of the storage cell 12 to correspond to energy storage battery (26). The motivation being that a storage cell is a building block of a storage battery. Also see Moriyama (2018/0309299 A1) below for further evidence that a storage cell corresponds to a storage battery.
Claim(s) 8-9, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satake et al. (2016/0064936 A1) in view of Moriyama (2018/0309299 A1).
Regarding Claim 8,
Satake teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 1 and further teaches wherein the DC voltage conversion circuit (figs.1-4, 27, 28; see rejection of claim 1) comrpises a first conversion circuit (Satake, figs.1-4, first conversion circuit 27), wherein the DC power supply comprises a photovoltaic power supply (Satake, figs.1-4, photovoltaic power supply 11), a first terminal of the first conversion circuit is configured for connecting the photovoltaic power supply (Satake, figs.1-4, first terminal to the left of first conversion circuit 27 is connected to PV power supply 11), a second terminal of the first conversion circuit is connected to the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (Satake, figs.1-4, second terminal to the right of first conversion circuit 27 is connected to DC/AC inverter 21), and the first conversion circuit is configured for converting first DC power supplied by the photovoltaic power supply into second DC power and outputting the second DC power to the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (Satake, figs.1-4, pars [37-38]; first conversion circuit 27 converts PV power into second DC power and outputs it to second DC power to DC/AC inverter 21), the second conversion circuit (Satake, figs.1-4, pars [37-28], second conversion circuit 28) is connected to the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (21, see figs.1-4 of Satake), and the second conversion circuit is configured for converting third DC power into fourth DC power and outputting the fourth DC power to the energy storage cell (12, figs.1-4, pars [37-38]; Satake teaches the second conversion circuit 28 converts third DC power into fourth DC power by outputting a lower DC voltage to storage 12), and converting fifth DC power supplied by the energy storage cell into sixth DC power and outputting the sixth DC power to the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (Satake, figs.1-4, pars [37-38]; Satake teaches converting fifth DC power supplied by the storage 12 into sixth DC power supplied to DC/AC inverter 21); or the DC power supply comprises a photovoltaic power supply and an energy storage battery, a first terminal of the first conversion circuit is configured for connecting the photovoltaic power supply, a second terminal of the first conversion circuit is connected to the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit, and the first conversion circuit is configured for converting first DC power supplied by the photovoltaic power supply into second DC power and outputting the second DC power to the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit; a first terminal of the second conversion circuit is connected to the second terminal of the first conversion circuit and the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit, and a second terminal of the second conversion circuit is configured for connecting the energy storage battery (written in the alternative and not required to be read into the claim).
Satake teaches an energy storage cell, which implies an energy storage battery since a storage cell is a building block of a battery. However, Satake does not explicitly use term energy storage “battery”. In order to further expedite prosecution, Moriyama is being relied upon to explicitly teach the energy storage battery.
Moriyama (fig.1), however, teaches it is known in the art for a storage cell (12) to be an energy storage battery (par [33] and related discussion; the storage cell 12 such as a lead acid battery, lithium-ion battery…may be discharged… and is chargeable…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Satake to that of Moriyama. The motivation would have been to fill in the blanks in Satake and further illustrate that is well-known and obvious for the storage cell in Satake to correspond to an energy storage battery as discussed within Moriyama.
Regarding Claim 9,
The combination teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 8 and the combination further teaches wherein the DC voltage conversion circuit comprises the second conversion circuit (Satake, figs.1-4, second voltage conversion circuit 28), wherein the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit is configured for converting the sixth DC power into first AC power and outputting the first AC power to the load (Satake, see fig.3, pars [38-39, 51]; sixth DC power is converted to first AC power via DC/AC inverter 21 and output to the load), and converting second AC power received from the power grid into seventh DC power and outputting the seventh DC power to the second conversion circuit (Satake, see fig.2, pars [38-39, 49] and Moriyama, fig.1, par [33]; DC/AC inverter 21 converts AC power from the “grid” into seventh DC power and provides it to second conversion circuit 28 to charge storage 12).
Regarding Claim 18,
The combination teaches the claimed subject matter in claim 8 and further teaches wherein the DC voltage conversion circuit comprises a second conversion circuit (Satake, figs.1-4, pars [37-28], second conversion circuit 28), wherein the DC power supply further comprises an energy storage battery (Satake, figs.1-4, 12 and Moriyama, fig.1, par [33]), a first terminal of the second conversion circuit is connected to the second terminal of the first conversion circuit and the DC-AC voltage conversion circuit (Satake, figs.1-4, first right terminal of second conversion circuit 28 to the second right terminal of first conversion circuit 27 and DC/AC inverter 21), and a second terminal of the second conversion circuit is configured for connecting the energy storage battery (Satake, figs.1-4, Moriyama, fig.1, par [33]; Satake teaches second terminal to the left of second conversion circuit 28 connected to energy storage battery 12 as modified by Moriyama).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satake et al. (2016/0064936 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (2025/0096576 A1).
Regarding Claim 14,
Satake teaches a computer-readable storage medium storing an instruction (pars [42, 73]; “…instructions may be stored on a machine readable non-transitory storage medium”), wherein the instruction, when being executed on a system, causes the system to perform the method for controlling the power converter according to claim 12 (Satake, figs.1-4, pars [42, 54-59, 73], see rejection of claim 12; Satake teaches program instructions executed by a system and performing the method for controlling the power converter according to claim 12).
Satake teaches a computer system executing the instruction. However, Satake does not explicitly teach the instruction executed by a terminal device.
Zhang, however, teaches it is known in the art for the instruction to be executed by a terminal device (par [23]; Zhang teaches a terminal device comprising a processor that executes instructions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Satake with that of Zhang. The motivation would have been because Satake already teaches instructions executed by a processor in devices such as a PC, cellular phone, and one skilled in the art would have obviously recognized the execution platform using the more specific term “terminal device” as discussed within Zhang.
PRIOR ART DEEMED RELEVANT BUT NOT CURRENTLY RELIED UPON:
Lee (2014/0140520)-figs.1, 4, pars [51, 68-69]; Lee teaches when there is an abnormality with the grid, the inverter (112) is disconnected from grid (140) by turning the second switch 117 off and stopping the operation of inverter 112.
Conclusion
/RASEM MOURAD/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2836