DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“actuating element” in claim 1, line 7, the corresponding structure for which can be found in the specification paragraph [0017];
“resetting element” in claim 1, line 7, the corresponding structure for which can be found in the specification paragraphs [0017] and [0018].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the membrane is connected to a plunger which, because of a spring force in the unactuated state of the actuator, is pressed against the fluid drainage opening to close the fluid drainage opening and, in the actuated state of the actuator, is pushed away from the fluid drainage opening by a fluid flow through the fluid supply opening and opens the fluid drainage opening” in lines 14-18; however, the plunger (“S”) of the present invention does not press against the fluid drainage opening (“R”). The fluid drainage opening (“R”; see fig. 1 and figs. 14-17) remains unobstructed at all times.
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because they depend on a rejected claim.
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the passage opening” in line 2; however, the claim is unclear as to if this recitation refers to one, some or all of the “at least one passage opening” recited in parent claim 1, line 21. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that the recitation “the passage opening” in claim 2, line 2, should read –the at least one passage opening--.
Similarly, claims 3-6 recite the limitation “the passage opening” and are rejected for the same reasons as claim 2, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by DE20201807073 (“Afmeier”).
Regarding claim 1, Afmeier discloses (see fig. 4) a pneumatic valve comprising:
a housing (mainly defined by “8”) defining a fluid supply port (“40”), a fluid outlet port (“50”), and a fluid drainage opening (“24”);
a valve chamber (chamber within which valve member “4” is disposed, at least partially defined by “64”) having a fluid supply opening (“42”) connected to the fluid supply port, a fluid outlet opening (“44”) connected to the fluid outlet port, and a trigger opening (opening defined by seat against which seal “26” abuts, and in direct fluid connection with fluid drainage opening “24”; see fig. 4) connected to an actuator chamber (“22”) which is connected to the fluid drainage opening;
an actuator formed with an SMA wire (“28”), an actuating element (“38”), a resetting element (“34”), and a printed circuit board (“76”), the actuator disposed in the actuator chamber, wherein a sealing element (“26”) is arranged on the actuating element, the sealing element pressed against the trigger opening by the resetting element in the non-actuated state of the actuator (see fig. 4) and opening up the trigger opening in the actuated state of the actuator;
a membrane (“46”) dividing the valve chamber into a first region (region disposed above diaphragm “46”, relative to the orientation of fig. 4) connected to the trigger opening and a second region (region disposed below diaphragm “46”, relative to the orientation of fig. 4) connected to the fluid supply opening;
wherein the membrane is connected to a plunger (“38”) which, because of a spring force (force of spring “34”) in the unactuated state of the actuator, is pressed against the fluid drainage opening to close the fluid drainage opening (see fig. 4) and, in the actuated state of the actuator (where seal “26” is lifted away from its seat to open flow through fluid drainage opening “24”), is pushed away from the fluid drainage opening by a fluid flowing through the fluid supply opening and opens the fluid drainage opening;
wherein the membrane has an edge (radially outer edge of membrane “46”) clamped between a cup-shaped element (recess formed by housing “8” which receives membrane “46”) forming the valve chamber and a cover element (“10”) inserted therein, and wherein, in the region of the clamping, at least one passage opening (“20” is formed between the first region and the second region, through which fluid can flow from the first region into the second region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 6, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afmeier, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US6457697 (“Kolze”).
Regarding claim 2, Afmeier discloses the invention as claimed except for the membrane defining at least one groove forming the passage opening and surrounding the edge thereof in the region of the cup-shaped element and the cover element.
Kolze teaches (see figs. 1 and 7-9) a valve having a membrane (“36”) defining at least one groove (“90”; see fig. 9) forming a passage opening (“90”) and surrounding a clamped edge (radially inner edge of membrane bead “54”) thereof in a region of a cup-shaped element (recess within which membrane bead “54” is clamped; see fig. 9) and a cover element (“30”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Afmeier by configuring the membrane to define at least one groove forming the passage opening and surrounding the edge thereof in the region of the cup-shaped element and the cover element, as taught by Kolze, to more easily access the passage opening in case of blockage or for repairs.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Afmeier and Kolze discloses the membrane (Afmeier, “46”, as modified by Kolze, “36”, above) includes at least one bead (Kolze, “54”) producing the passage opening (Kolze, “90”) in the clamped state and surrounding the edge (Kolze, radially inner edge of membrane bead “54”) thereof in the region of the cup-shaped element (Afmeier, recess formed by housing “8” which receives membrane “46”, or Kolze, recess formed by body “12” which receives membrane “36”) and the cover element (Afmeier, “10”, or Kolze, “30”).
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Afmeier discloses the invention as claimed except for the cup-shaped element and the cover element, in their regions surrounding the edge of the membrane, defining at least one groove forming the passage opening; and
channels forming the passage opening being defined by the cup-shaped element and the cover element.
Kolze teaches (see figs. 1 and 10-13) teaches a valve, wherein a cup-shaped element (recess formed by body “12” which receives membrane “36”) and a cover element (“30”), in their regions surrounding an edge (radially inner clamped edge of membrane bead “54”) of a membrane (“36”), define at least one groove (“67”, “68”, “75”, “76”, “98” and/or “92”) forming a passage opening (fluid passage extending between inlet chamber “14” and diaphragm chamber “34”); and
channels (channels formed by grooves “67”, “68”, “75”, “76”, “92”, “98” and/or “102”, and bores “91”, “100” and “104”) forming the passage opening (fluid passage extending between inlet chamber “14” and diaphragm chamber “34”) defined by the cup-shaped element and the cover element (see figs. 10-13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the invention of Afmeier by configuring the cup-shaped element and the cover element, in their regions surrounding the edge of the membrane, define at least one groove forming the passage opening, and comprising channels forming the passage opening defined by the cup-shaped element and the cover element, as taught by Kolze, to more easily access the passage opening in case of blockage or for repairs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the closest prior art does not disclose or render obvious, as best understood, the pneumatic valve, wherein the cup-shaped element and the cover element, in their regions surrounding the edge of the membrane, include at least one bead producing the passage opening in the membrane in the clamped state, in combination with the limitations of the base claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. DE10201807073, DE10202404956, WO2015015351, US4128128, US4561627, US11077781, US11859727, US12553532 and US20260029063 disclose a valve actuated by an actuator comprising a temperature responsive element.
/HAILEY K. DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753