DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is in response to application filed on 5/27/2025, in which claim 1 was presented for examination.
3. A preliminary amendment was filed on 11/6/2025, in which claim 1 was canceled, and claims 2 – 21 was added.
4. Claims 2 – 21 are pending in the application.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,863,804 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to identification of unknown media content using reference database. However, the patent application discloses additional features of “defining a set of coefficients from the set of audio frames at least in part by applying a transform function to the set of audio frames; generating an audio cue using the set of coefficients, the audio cue being a representation of the audio signal”.
Instant Application No. 19/219,092
Patent No. US 11,863,804 B2
2. A computer-implemented method comprising: receiving an unknown cue from an unknown media segment, wherein the unknown media segment is associated with media being presented by a display device; identifying, from a multi-dimensional database, a matching cue corresponding to a known media segment based on a distance between the unknown cue and the matching cue; identifying an alternative media segment based on the known media segment; and transmitting a trigger signal to the display device, the trigger signal causing the display device to replace a subsequent media segment to be presented by the display device with the alternative media segment.
1. A computer-implemented method comprising: receiving an audio signal associated with an unknown media segment, the audio signal representing a portion of an audio channel of the unknown media segment; generating a set of audio frames from the audio signal, each audio frame representing a portion of the audio signal; defining a set of coefficients from the set of audio frames at least in part by applying a transform function to the set of audio frames; generating an audio cue using the set of coefficients, the audio cue being a representation of the audio signal; and transmitting the audio cue to a server configured to identify the unknown media segment based on a comparison of the audio cue to reference audio cues associated with known media segments, wherein identification of the unknown media segment causes a trigger to be embedded in a subsequent media segment, the trigger being configured to cause the subsequent media segment to be replaced with a different media segment.
9. A computing device comprising: one or more processors; and a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium containing instructions which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations including: receiving an unknown cue from an unknown media segment, wherein the unknown media segment is associated with media being presented by a display device; identifying, from a multi-dimensional database, a matching cue corresponding to a known media segment based on a distance between the unknown cue and the matching cue; identifying an alternative media segment based on the known media segment; and transmitting a trigger signal to the display device, the trigger signal causing the display device to replace a subsequent media segment to be presented by the display device with the alternative media segment.
8. A computing device comprising: one or more processors; and a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium containing instructions which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations including: receiving an audio signal associated with an unknown media segment, the audio signal representing a portion of an audio channel of the unknown media segment; generating a set of audio frames from the audio signal, each audio frame representing a portion of the audio signal; defining a set of coefficients from the set of audio frames at least in part by applying a transform function to the set of audio frames; generating an audio cue using the set of coefficients, the audio cue being a representation of the audio signal; and transmitting the audio cue to a server configured to identify the unknown media segment based on a comparison of the audio cue to reference audio cues associated with known media segments, wherein identification of the unknown media segment causes a trigger to be embedded in a subsequent media segment, the trigger being configured to cause the subsequent media segment to be replaced with a different media segment.
16. A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium containing instructions which when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations including: receiving an unknown cue from an unknown media segment, wherein the unknown media segment is associated with media being presented by a display device; identifying, from a multi-dimensional database, a matching cue corresponding to a known media segment based on a distance between the unknown cue and the matching cue; identifying an alternative media segment based on the known media segment; and transmitting a trigger signal to the display device, the trigger signal causing the display device to replace a subsequent media segment to be presented by the display device with the alternative media segment.
15. A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium containing instructions which when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations including: receiving an audio signal associated with an unknown media segment, the audio signal representing a portion of an audio channel of the unknown media segment; generating a set of audio frames from the audio signal, each audio frame representing a portion of the audio signal; defining a set of coefficients from the set of audio frames at least in part by applying a transform function to the set of audio frames; generating an audio cue using the set of coefficients, the audio cue being a representation of the audio signal; and transmitting the audio cue to a server configured to identify the unknown media segment based on a comparison of the audio cue to reference audio cues associated with known media segments, wherein identification of the unknown media segment causes a trigger to be embedded in a subsequent media segment, the trigger being configured to cause the subsequent media segment to be replaced with a different media segment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
6. Claims 1 – 4, 7 – 11, 14 – 18, and 20 - 21 are directed are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
As per claim 1,
Step 1: Claim 1 recites an apparatus, which is one of the four statutory categories of eligible matter.
Step 2A Prong 1: The claim recites the limitation of
receiving an unknown cue from an unknown media segment, wherein the unknown media segment is associated with media being presented by a display device (Mental Process performed in human mind using a pen and paper (i.e. observation)).
identifying, from a multi-dimensional database, a matching cue corresponding to a known media segment based on a distance between the unknown cue and the matching cue (Mental Process performed in human mind using a pen and paper (i.e. evaluation)).
identifying an alternative media segment based on the known media segment and transmitting a trigger signal to the display device (Mental Process performed in human mind using a pen and paper (i.e. evaluation)).
the trigger signal causing the display device to replace a subsequent media segment to be presented by the display device with the alternative media segment (i.e. judgement)).
Step 2A Prong 2: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites the additional elements of
identifying, from a multi-dimensional database, a matching cue corresponding to a known media segment based on a distance between the unknown cue and the matching cue (the step is directed to receiving information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g))
identifying an alternative media segment based on the known media segment and transmitting a trigger signal to the display device (the step is directed to evaluating information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
the trigger signal causing the display device to replace a subsequent media segment to be presented by the display device with the alternative media segment (the step is directed to combining information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity and is well understood, routine, and conventional activity of preparing data for presentation (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))))).
Although the additional element limits the identified judicial exceptions. The limitation merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is directed to the judicial exception.
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional element
identifying, from a multi-dimensional database, a matching cue corresponding to a known media segment based on a distance between the unknown cue and the matching cue (the step is directed to evaluating information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g))
identifying an alternative media segment based on the known media segment and transmitting a trigger signal to the display device (this step is directed to organizing information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity and is well understood, routine, and conventional activity of evaluating data).
the trigger signal causing the display device to replace a subsequent media segment to be presented by the display device with the alternative media segment (the step is directed evaluating and presenting information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity, and is well understood, routine, and conventional activity of preparing data for presentation (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i))))).
As explained above, the additional element are recited at a high level of generality. These elements amount to identifying, comparing, and presenting information are well-understood, routine, conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II. The recitation of a computer to perform these limitations amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept.
Thus, the claim is ineligible.
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated.
Step 1: The claim recites an apparatus, which is one of the four statutory categories of eligible matter.
Step 2A Prong 1: The judicial exceptions of claim 1 are incorporated, the limitation of
wherein the unknown cue is derived from an audio component of the unknown media segment (Mental Process performed in human mind using a pen and a paper (i.e. evaluation)).
Step 2A Prong 2: the judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites additional elements of
wherein the unknown cue is derived from an audio component of the unknown media segment (the step is directed to evaluating information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitation recited at high level of generality and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. Mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept.
The claim is not patent eligible.
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated.
Step 1: The claim recites an apparatus, which is one of the four statutory categories of eligible matter.
Step 2A Prong 1: The judicial exceptions of claim 1 are incorporated, the limitation of
wherein the unknown cue is derived from a video component of the unknown media segment (Mental Process performed in human mind using a pen and a paper (i.e. evaluation)).
Step 2A Prong 2: the judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites additional elements of
wherein the unknown cue is derived from a video component of the unknown media segment (the step is directed to evaluating information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitation recited at high level of generality and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. Mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept.
The claim is not patent eligible.
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated.
Step 1: The claim recites an apparatus, which is one of the four statutory categories of eligible matter.
Step 2A Prong 1: The judicial exceptions of claim 1 are incorporated, the limitation of
wherein the trigger signal is configured to cause the alternative media segment to be presented over the media being presented by a display device (Mental Process performed in human mind using a pen and a paper (i.e. evaluation)).
Step 2A Prong 2: the judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites additional elements of
wherein the trigger signal is configured to cause the alternative media segment to be presented over the media being presented by a display device (the step is directed to evaluating information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitation recited at high level of generality and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. Mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept.
The claim is not patent eligible.
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated.
Step 1: The claim recites an apparatus, which is one of the four statutory categories of eligible matter.
Step 2A Prong 1: The judicial exceptions of claim 1 are incorporated, the limitation of
wherein the trigger signal is configured to cause the alternative media segment to replace a portion of the unknown media segment (Mental Process performed in human mind using a pen and a paper (i.e. evaluation)).
Step 2A Prong 2: the judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites additional elements of
wherein the trigger signal is configured to cause the alternative media segment to replace a portion of the unknown media segment (the step is directed to evaluating information, which is understood to be significant extra-solution activity, see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitation recited at high level of generality and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. Mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept.
The claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 9 – 11 and 14 - 15 recites a device, which is one of the four statutory categories of eligible matter.
As per other analysis, claims 9 – 11 and 14 - 15 are device claim correspond to method claims 2 – 4 and 7 - 8 respectively, thus the rationale discussed above regarding claims 2 – 4 and 7 - 8 are applied to claims 9 – 11 and 14 - 15 respectively.
Claims 16 – 18 and 20 - 21 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, which is one of the four statutory categories of eligible matter.
As per other analysis, claims 16 – 18 and 20 - 21 are non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim correspond to method claims 2 – 4 and 7 - 8, thus, the rationale discussed above regarding claims 2 – 4 and 7 - 8 is applied to claims 16 – 18 and 20 - 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 2 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schrempp et al (US 2003/0033321 A1), in view of Gordon (US 2017/0094351 A1).
As per claim 1, Schrempp et al (US 2003/0033321 A1) discloses,
A computer-implemented method comprising: receiving an unknown cue from an unknown media segment (para.[0070]; “identifying new media content …..receive an unidentified segment”).
wherein the unknown media segment is associated with media being presented by a display device (para.[0009]; “receiving broadcast signals and providing the signals to an analysis and lookup module …… identify the content of the received signal”).
identifying, from a multi-dimensional database, a matching cue corresponding to a known media segment based on a distance between the unknown cue and the matching cue (para.[0009]; “identify the content of the received signal by comparing its audio content against a database 108 of reference representations of known
works” and para.[0071]; “a wide variety of similarity measurement techniques may be used, such as those used to identify segments as disclosed above. For example, a threshold for similarity may comprise the vector distance between unidentified
segments”).
identifying an alternative media segment based on the known media segment (para.[0011]; “receive information such as the titles of identified songs from the one or more detection modules 102 through a network such as the Internet 109 and generate a playlist which may be stored on database”).
and transmitting a trigger signal to the display device (para.0054]; “trigger the transmission of representations. …….. such a trigger may comprise the initialization of a
connection to a network, or the activation of media playing software or hardware”).
Schrempp does not disclose the trigger signal causing the display device to replace a subsequent media segment to be presented by the display device with the alternative media segment.
However, Gordon (US 2017/0094351 A1) in an analogous art discloses,
the trigger signal causing the display device to replace a subsequent media segment to be presented by the display device with the alternative media segment (para.[0145]; “the fingerprint matching module 431 in the Content Replacement System 110 performs additional steps to identify the media content associated with the fingerprint received from the Media System”, and para.[0177]; “fingerprint is compared with a corresponding fingerprint for the identified sequence of media content. If the strong fingerprint matches, then the match is verified, and the replacement media content is sent to the Media System”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate replacement media content of the system of Gordon into identification of the unknown media content of the system of Schrempp to select additional content for replacing display media content, thereby enabling display of information related to the media content.
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated and further Schrempp et al (US 2003/0033321 A1) discloses,
wherein the unknown cue is derived from an audio component of the unknown media segment (para.[0049]; “analyze a wide variety of content, including analog radio or video, digital streaming audio or video, VHS tape, audio cassette tape or any other media”).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated and further Schrempp et al (US 2003/0033321 A1) discloses,
wherein the unknown cue is derived from a video component of the unknown media segment (para.[0049]; “analyze a wide variety of content, including analog radio or video, digital streaming audio or video, VHS tape, audio cassette tape or any other media”).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated and further Schrempp et al (US 2003/0033321 A1) discloses,
wherein identifying the unknown media segment includes: detecting one or more media alterations associated with the unknown media segment (claim 12; “representation includes an indication of significant of changes in media signal content”).
and identifying the unknown media segment by comparing one or more coefficients of the unknown media segment to known coefficients associated with known media segments stored in a reference database (para.[0009]; “identify the content of the received signal by comparing its audio content against a database 108 of reference representations of known works” and para.[0036]; “the module 202 may use audio or video spectral or wavelet representation …… representation may comprise a bit calculated key using any of the techniques as are known in the art such as MDS hash and CRC”)
wherein the reference database is different from the multi-dimensional database (claim 39; “reference samples from a reference database”).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated and further Schrempp et al (US 2003/0033321 A1) discloses,
wherein the one or more media alterations include an on-screen graphic (claim 12; “representation includes an indication of significant of changes in media signal content”).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated and further Gordon (US 2017/0094351 A1) discloses,
wherein the trigger signal is configured to cause the alternative media segment to be presented over the media being presented by a display device (para.[0145]; “the fingerprint matching module 431 in the Content Replacement System 110 performs additional steps to identify the media content associated with the fingerprint received from the Media System”, and para.[0177]; “fingerprint is compared with a corresponding fingerprint for the identified sequence of media content. If the strong fingerprint matches, then the match is verified, and the replacement media content is sent to the Media System”).
. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate replacement media content of the system of Gordon into identification of the unknown media content of the system of Schrempp to select additional content for replacing display media content, thereby enabling display of information related to the media content.
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated and further Gordon (US 2017/0094351 A1) discloses,
wherein the trigger signal is configured to cause the alternative media segment to replace a portion of the unknown media segment (para.[0145]; “the fingerprint matching module 431 in the Content Replacement System 110 performs additional steps to identify the media content associated with the fingerprint received from the Media System”, and para.[0177]; “fingerprint is compared with a corresponding fingerprint for the identified sequence of media content. If the strong fingerprint matches, then the match is verified, and the replacement media content is sent to the Media System”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate replacement media content of the system of Gordon into identification of the unknown media content of the system of Schrempp to select additional content for replacing display media content, thereby enabling display of information related to the media content.
Claims 9 – 15 are device claims corresponding to method claims 2 – 8 respectively, and rejected under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claims 2 – 8 respectively above.
Claims 16 – 19 and 20 - 21 are non-transitory machine-readable storage medium claims corresponding to method claims 2 – 5 and 7 - 8 respectively, and rejected under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claims 2 – 5 and 7 - 8 respectively above.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TITLE: Digital video recorder collaboration and similar media segment determination, US 2009/0028520 A1 authors: Jain et al.
/AUGUSTINE K. OBISESAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2156
3/6/2025