Claims 11-13 are withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-10 and 14-20 are currently under review.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1: figure 4 in the reply filed on May 27, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that species I through IV does not impose a serious search and/or examination burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because the other species either has additional components and/or different connections requiring different search strategies.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on May 27, 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 27, 2025 and October 21, 2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shim et al. (Pub. No.: US 2015/0187276 A1) hereinafter referred to as Shim.
With respect to Claim 14, Shim teaches a method (¶47) of operating an electronic device (fig. 9; ¶112), the method comprising: displaying an image through a display (fig. 9, item 100; ¶113) including a plurality of pixels (fig. 9, item P; ¶114), wherein one pixel of the plurality of pixels (fig. 9) comprises: a light emitting diode (fig. 2, item OLED); a first transistor (fig. 2, item Tdr) having a first electrode (fig. 2, item d of Tdr), a first control electrode (fig. 2, item g1 of Tdr), a second control electrode (fig. 2, item g2 of Tdr), and a second electrode (fig. 2, item d of Tdr), the first transistor being electrically connected to a first voltage line (fig. 2, item EVdd: first voltage line) that provides a first driving voltage and a second electrode electrically connected to an anode of the light emitting diode (fig. 2); a second transistor (fig. 2, item Tsw3) having a control electrode, the second transistor being electrically connected between the first control electrode of the first transistor (fig. at item n1) and the second electrode of the first transistor (fig. 2, at item n2); and a third transistor (fig. 2, item Tsw2) having a control electrode, the third transistor being electrically connected between the second control electrode of the first transistor (fig. 2, item g2 of Tdr) and a data line (fig. 2, item DL) that provides a data signal (fig. 2, item Vdata), and wherein the control electrode of the second transistor and the control electrode of the third transistor are electrically connected to a scan line that provides a same scan signal (fig. 2, item CS2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim in view of Jeong et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0066949 A1) hereinafter referred to as Jeong.
With respect to Claim 1, Shim teaches an electronic device (fig. 9; ¶112) comprising: a display (fig. 9, item 100; ¶113) including a plurality of pixels (fig. 9, item P; ¶114); wherein one pixel of the plurality of pixels (fig. 9) comprises: a light emitting diode (fig. 2, item OLED); a first transistor (fig. 2, item Tdr) having a first electrode (fig. 2, item d of Tdr), a first control electrode (fig. 2, item g1 of Tdr), a second control electrode (fig. 2, item g2 of Tdr), and a second electrode (fig. 2, item d of Tdr), the first electrode being electrically connected to a first voltage line (fig. 2, item EVdd: first voltage line) that provides a first driving voltage and the second electrode being electrically connected to an anode of the light emitting diode (fig. 2); a second transistor (fig. 2, item Tsw3) having a control electrode, the second transistor being electrically connected between the first control electrode of the first transistor (fig. at item n1) and the second electrode of the first transistor (fig. 2, at item n2); and a third transistor (fig. 2, item Tsw2) having a control electrode, the third transistor being electrically connected between the second control electrode of the first transistor (fig. 2, item g2 of Tdr) and a data line (fig. 2, item DL) that provides a data signal (fig. 2, item Vdata), and wherein the control electrode of the second transistor and the control electrode of the third transistor are electrically connected to a scan line that provides a same scan signal (fig. 2, item CS2).
Shim does not mention the electronic device comprises a memory storing a program or at least one instruction; and at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to individually or collectively execute the program or the at least one instruction stored in the memory to cause the electronic device to: control the display to display an image.
Jeong teaches an electronic device (fig. 17, item 1100; ¶100) comprising: a display (fig. 14, item 600; fig. 17, item 1160; ¶103; ¶105) including a plurality of pixels (fig. 14, item PX; ¶91); a memory (fig. 17, item 1120; ¶102) storing a program or at least one instruction; and at least one processor (fig. 17, item 1110; ¶101), wherein the at least one processor is configured to individually or collectively execute the program or the at least one instruction stored in the memory to cause the electronic device to: control the display to display an image (¶3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electronic device of Shim to further comprise: a memory storing a program or at least one instruction; and at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to individually or collectively execute the program or the at least one instruction stored in the memory to cause the electronic device to: control the display to display an image, as taught by Jeong as it is common for functionality among display devices such as a smart phone, wearable electronic device, a tablet computer, a mobile phone etc (¶105).
With respect to Claim 20, Shim teaches a method (¶47) of operating an electronic device (fig. 9; ¶112) and display devices such as notebook computers, tablet computers or desktop computers comprising a display including a plurality of pixels, wherein one pixel of the plurality of pixels (fig. 9) comprises: a light emitting diode (fig. 2, item OLED); a first transistor (fig. 2, item Tdr) having a first electrode (fig. 2, item d of Tdr), a first control electrode (fig. 2, item g1 of Tdr), a second control electrode (fig. 2, item g2 of Tdr), and a second electrode (fig. 2, item d of Tdr), the first transistor being electrically connected to a first voltage line (fig. 2, item EVdd: first voltage line) that provides a first driving voltage and a second electrode electrically connected to an anode of the light emitting diode (fig. 2); a second transistor (fig. 2, item Tsw3) having a control electrode, the second transistor being electrically connected between the first control electrode of the first transistor (fig. at item n1) and the second electrode of the first transistor (fig. 2, at item n2); and a third transistor (fig. 2, item Tsw2) having a control electrode, the third transistor being electrically connected between the second control electrode of the first transistor (fig. 2, item g2 of Tdr) and a data line (fig. 2, item DL) that provides a data signal (fig. 2, item Vdata), and wherein the control electrode of the second transistor and the control electrode of the third transistor are electrically connected to a scan line that provides a same scan signal (fig. 2, item CS2).
Although Shim does not explicitly a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium, Shim teaches display devices such as notebook computers, tablet computers or desktop computers which commonly comprise a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program which, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to display an image through a display including a plurality of pixels.
Jeong teaches an electronic device (fig. 17, item 1100; ¶100) comprising: a display (fig. 14, item 600; fig. 17, item 1160; ¶103; ¶105) including a plurality of pixels (fig. 14, item PX; ¶91); a memory (fig. 17, item 1120; ¶102) storing a program or at least one instruction; and at least one processor (fig. 17, item 1110; ¶101), wherein the at least one processor is configured to individually or collectively execute the program or the at least one instruction stored in the memory to cause the electronic device to: control the display to display an image (¶3).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to record the method of Shim at a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program which, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to display an image through a display including a plurality of pixels, as taught by Jeong as it is common for functionality among display devices such as a smart phone, wearable electronic device, a tablet computer, a mobile phone etc (¶105).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 and 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to Claims 2 and 15, none of the prior art teaches “wherein the electronic device is configured to: provide the scan signal including a scan section to the second transistor and the third transistor through the scan line within one frame, and provide the data signal including a data section to the third transistor through the data line, and the data section and the scan section overlap each other“ including the base limitations. With respect to Claims 9 and 19, none of the prior art teaches “wherein the one pixel further comprises: a capacitor electrically connected between the first voltage line and the first control electrode of the first transistor; a fourth transistor having a control electrode, the fourth transistor being electrically connected between the anode of the light emitting diode and the second electrode of the first transistor; a fifth transistor having a control electrode, the fifth transistor being electrically connected between the first control electrode of the first transistor and a second voltage line that receives a second driving voltage; and a sixth transistor having a control electrode, the sixth transistor being electrically connected between the second control electrode of the first transistor and a first initialization line that receives a first initialization voltage, and each of a control electrode of the fourth transistor and a control electrode of the sixth transistor is electrically connected to a light emitting line that receives a light emitting signal, and wherein the control electrode of the fifth transistor is electrically connected to an initialization scan line that receives an initialization scan signal” including all the base limitations.
Conclusion
/DONNA V Bocar/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621