DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species D, claims 13-15 in the reply filed on 08/04/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-12 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/04/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/22/2025 is considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because there appears to be an arrow missing between the step shown by reference number 470 and the step shown by reference 370 in Figure 7, reproduced below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DePietro et al. (US 2007/0298176; cited on IDS).
Regarding claim 13, DiPietro et al. teaches a molding composition and a method of forming structures on a substrate as shown in Figures 1F-1I and 2G-2I ([0007-0009, 0066-0069]). Figure 1H is reproduced below for reference.
DiPietro et al. teaches a structure comprising in order a substrate (100; polymeric support film) with first and second major surfaces, a first adhesion layer (105; etch stop layer), a transfer layer (110; pattern transfer layer), a second adhesion layer (115), a molding layer (120; nanoreplicated resin layer) comprising a molded pattern (engineered nanostructures) formed therein, and a backfill layer forming etch barrier islands (175B) ([0007-0009, 0066-0069]). As shown by Figure 1H, the molding layer (120; nanoreplicated resin layer) comprises a first surface adjacent the transfer layer (110; pattern transfer layer) and a second surface further comprising a molded pattern (engineered nanostructures) formed therein having dimensions of width, length and height ([0007-0009, 0066-0069]).
DiPietro et al. teaches that the first adhesion layer (105; etch stop layer) is comprised of compounds including alkoxy silanes (i.e. metal oxides) ([0015-0016, 0053-0057]), which is similar to the materials disclosed in Table 1 for the claimed etch stop layer, therefore, the first adhesion layer (105; etch stop layer) taught by DiPietro et al. would be capable of performing as etch stop and etch resist layers respectively.
Regarding claim 15, DiPietro et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 13 above, and further teaches that the molded pattern (engineered nanostructures) formed in the molding layer (120; nanoreplicated resin layer) has dimensions of length, width and height as shown at least by Figure 1H above, and are disclosed in the examples to have dimensions such as 50nm, 90nm ([0079-0080]), falling within the opened ended range recited by claim 15 of “less than 10 microns”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DePietro et al. (US 2007/0298176; previously cited as prior art of record but not relied upon).
Regarding claim 14, DiPietro et al. teaches all the limitations of claim 13 above. While the reference does not expressly teach that the structure transmits visible or infrared light, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the structure taught by DiPietro et al. would be able to transmit either visible or infrared light because the reference does not teach any opaque or light blocking materials used in the layers of the structure.
Conclusion
LAURA POWERS
Examiner
Art Unit 1785
/LAURA C POWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785