DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final office action on the merits. Claims 1-10 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/27/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/11/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Non-English documents have been considered in as much as the drawings and translated portions provided therein (See MPEP 609)
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Area setting unit, area set setting unit in claim 1,
Reception unit, correction unit in claim 2,
Display unit in claims 3-4.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: abbreviations and acronyms are required to be spelled out at first use in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by NOH et al. (US 20160101524).
Regarding claims 1, 9, 10, NOH et al. teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program for causing a computer included in a setting device for a sensor configured to perform a two-dimensional scan with light and detect a target object entering a predetermined area, to execute:
(at least figs. 1-13 [0007]-[0055] discussed robot cleaner 100, controller 104, storage unit or memory 160, discussed imaging, light projector or projection unit 150, feature detection, boundary detection)
area setting of assigning an ID to each of a plurality of detection areas for detecting entry of the target object and setting a shape of the detection area;
and area set setting of setting a plurality of detection area sets including at least one of the plurality of detection areas, wherein
in the area set setting, when a shared ID is assigned to the plurality of detection areas included in at least two of the plurality of detection area sets, the plurality of detection area sets are set by using the plurality of detection areas to which the shared ID is assigned;
(at least figs. 1-13 [0007]-[0055] discussed robot cleaner 100, controller 104, storage unit or memory 160, discussed imaging, light projector or projection unit 150, feature detection, boundary detection; in particular figs. 11-13 [0051]-[0055] discussed regions with IDs, A1(1), C1, A1(2), C2, A1(2) and C2 are shared IDs)
Regarding claim 2, NOH et al. teaches:
a reception unit configured to receive correction of the shape of at least one of the plurality of detection areas; and
a correction unit configured to correct the shape of at least one of the plurality of detection areas, wherein when the reception unit receives correction of the shape of one of the plurality of detection areas to which the shared ID is assigned, the correction unit corrects all of the shapes of the plurality of detection areas to which the shared ID is assigned;
(at least figs. 1-13 [0007]-[0055] discussed robot cleaner 100, controller 104, storage unit or memory 160, discussed imaging, light projector or projection unit 150, feature detection, boundary detection; in particular figs. 11-13 [0051]-[0055] discussed regions with IDs, A1(1), C1, A1(2), C2; discussed detecting according to PL, PL1, PL2)
Regarding claim 5, NOH et al. teaches:
wherein the plurality of detection areas include protection areas,
the area setting unit assigns the shared ID to the protection areas in at least two of the plurality of detection area sets, and
the area set setting unit sets the at least two of the plurality of detection area sets by using the protection areas to which the shared ID is assigned;
(at least figs. 1-13 [0007]-[0055] discussed robot cleaner 100, controller 104, storage unit or memory 160, discussed imaging, light projector or projection unit 150, feature detection, boundary detection; in particular figs. 11-13 [0051]-[0055] discussed regions with IDs, A1(1), C1, A1(2), C2, discussed obstacle presence region)
Regarding claim 6, NOH et al. teaches:
wherein the plurality of detection areas include warning areas,
the area setting unit assigns the shared ID to the warning areas in at least two of the plurality of detection area sets, and
the area set setting unit sets the at least two of the plurality of detection area sets by using the warning areas to which the shared ID is assigned;
(at least figs. 1-13 [0007]-[0055] discussed robot cleaner 100, controller 104, storage unit or memory 160, discussed imaging, light projector or projection unit 150, feature detection, boundary detection; in particular figs. 11-13 [0051]-[0055] discussed regions with IDs, A1(1), C1, A1(2), C2, discussed obstacle presence region)
Regarding claim 7, NOH et al. teaches:
wherein the plurality of detection areas include a protection area and a warning area,
the area setting unit assigns the shared ID to the protection area of one of at least two of the plurality of detection area sets and the warning area of the other of the at least two of the plurality of detection area sets, and
the area set setting unit sets the at least two of the plurality of detection area sets by using the protection area and the warning area to which the shared ID is assigned;
(at least figs. 1-13 [0007]-[0055] discussed robot cleaner 100, controller 104, storage unit or memory 160, discussed imaging, light projector or projection unit 150, feature detection, boundary detection; in particular figs. 11-13 [0051]-[0055] discussed regions with IDs, A1(1), C1, A1(2), C2, discussed obstacle presence region)
Regarding claim 8, the cited portions and rationale in rejection to claims, 1, 9-10 read on this claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NOH et al. (US 20160101524) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KURIYAMA et al. (JP-2021186946-A a reference in IDS 5/27/2025 translation in provided and cited).
Regarding claim 3, NOH et al. teaches:
the plurality of detection areas to which the shared ID is assigned (at least figs. 1-13 [0007]-[0055] discussed robot cleaner 100, controller 104, storage unit or memory 160, discussed imaging, light projector or projection unit 150, feature detection, boundary detection; in particular figs. 11-13 [0051]-[0055] discussed regions with IDs, A1(1), C1, A1(2), C2, A1(2) and C2 are shared IDs) ;
NOH et al. does not explicitly teach:
a display unit configured to display a confirmation screen for, when the reception unit receives correction of the shape of one of the plurality of detection areas, confirming whether to correct all of the shapes of the plurality of detection areas;
However, KURIYAMA et al. teaches:
a display unit configured to display a confirmation screen for, when the reception unit receives correction of the shape of one of the plurality of detection areas, confirming whether to correct all of the shapes of the plurality of detection areas;
(at least [0026] [0038]-[0050]) so the operator can manually correct ([0038]-[0050])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing and at the time of the invention to modify the system and method of NOH et al. with a display unit configured to display a confirmation screen for, when the reception unit receives correction of the shape of one of the plurality of detection areas, confirming whether to correct all of the shapes of the plurality of detection areas as taught by KURIYAMA et al. so the operator can manually correct
Regarding claim 4, NOH et al. does not explicitly teach:
a display unit configured to display the plurality of detection areas, the ID assigned to each of the plurality of detection areas, and the plurality of detection area sets, wherein the display unit performs display in a state where the plurality of detection areas and the ID assigned to each of the plurality of detection areas are associated with each other;
However, KURIYAMA et al. teaches:
a display unit configured to display the plurality of detection areas, the ID assigned to each of the plurality of detection areas, and the plurality of detection area sets, wherein the display unit performs display in a state where the plurality of detection areas and the ID assigned to each of the plurality of detection areas are associated with each other;
(at least fig. 8-8B [0026] [0038]-[0050] [0060]-[0079]) so the operator can manually correct ([0038]-[0050] [0060]-[0079])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing and at the time of the invention to modify the system and method of NOH et al. with display unit configured to display the plurality of detection areas, the ID assigned to each of the plurality of detection areas, and the plurality of detection area sets, wherein the display unit performs display in a state where the plurality of detection areas and the ID assigned to each of the plurality of detection areas are associated with each other as taught by KURIYAMA et al. so the operator can manually correct
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pulikkaseril et al. (US 20230341526) discussed scanning with light to identify object in environment.
BAO LONG T. NGUYEN
Examiner
Art Unit 3656
/BAO LONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656