DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites “a diffractor… configured to create a shadow within the reflected light, accordingly , forming an umbra, penumbra, and antumbra in the reflected light”. The limitation “diffractor” has been interpreted as “a structure that causes diffraction of light”. The Examiner finds that all opaque or light blocking materials create diffractive patterns of light along the edge of the opaque structure.
Furthermore, any light blocking material is capable of forming an umbra, penumbra, and antumbra in the diffused and reflected light. The Examiner is unclear on what specific structure or arrangement is required by the diffractor or what is required by the reflected light for form the shadows. The Examiner suggests further defining the structure of the diffractor and reflective surface to further define the invention.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaiser (U.S. 9,648,217) in view of Beverly (U.S. 6,234,638).
Regarding claim 1, Kaiser teaches a light reflector (100) comprising:
a reflector body (housing 104 and associated structure, see fig 1, 2), the reflector body being opaque and having a front surface (opaque body with mirror surface 133); and
a coating (3mm mirror glass coating, see col. 5 lines 28-60, applied via adhesive) applied to the front surface of the reflector body, the coating configured to reflect light from one or more light sources (ambient light, external light), wherein one or more of the reflector body (reflector body comprises magnets 146, 148, magnets may be significantly larger or numerous, see col. 5 lines 28-60) or the coating comprises a ferromagnetic material.
Kaiser does not teach that the coating is configured to diffuse light from the one or more light sources.
Beverly teaches a reflector configured to diffuse light from the one or more light sources (diffusing reflector 10).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have made the mirror finish of Kaiser a diffuse reflective surface as taught by Beverly to achieve desired diffuse bounce light and avoid glares or harsh lighting in the photographs, see col. 1 line 55-67).
Regarding claim 2, Kaiser teaches further comprising one or more lighting devices (mobile device 50, light device with screen) removably connected to the front surface of the light reflector.
Regarding claim 3, Kaiser teaches wherein: the light reflector is configured to reflect the reflected light along a reflected light axis (perpendicular to player surface); and
each lighting device (50) is configured to emit light along an artificial light axis that is parallel to the reflected light axis of the reflected light from the reflector body, thus simultaneously mixing the reflected light and the artificial light from each lighting device to create a mixed lighting effect on a subject (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Kaiser teaches that each lighting device comprises:
a housing (phone body 50 and fastener 208);
a light (backlight for screen) housed within the housing; and
one or more magnets (magnets 234, 236) disposed within the housing and configured to magnetically engage with the reflector body to removably connect the housing onto the front surface of the reflector body (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Kaiser teaches further comprising a diffractor (fastener 208) removably connected to the reflector body, wherein the diffractor is configured to create a shadow within the reflected light, accordingly, forming an umbra, penumbra, and antumbra in the reflected light (specifically forms all parts of the shadow as it is an opaque body that is smaller than the light source, i.e. the reflective surface of Kaiser).
Regarding claim 6, Kaiser teaches wherein the diffractor is magnetically connected to the reflector body via a magnetic base (magnetically coupled via 234, 236).
Regarding claim 8, Beverly teaches that the reflector body comprises steel (steel strapping 54, 56).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used steel in the structure of Kaiser as taught by Beverly as steel is a well known durable material that is cheap to manufacture and may be used in an elastic, as taught by Beverly, or rigid manner. The Examiner notes that the reflector body of Kaiser is taught as being ABS plastic, however the Examiner finds that steel would be substantially equivalent.
Regarding claim 9, Beverly teaches that the coating defines a matte finish (diffusive reflector).
Regarding claim 12, Kaiser teaches further comprising a light source (light source 470, 478, see fig. 26) coupled to a backside of the light reflector (see fig. 27, arm structure connects to backside of the light reflector), the light source having a light emitting portion configured to illuminate at least a portion of a front side of the light reflector (see fig. 26, illuminates subject).
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaiser in view of Beverly, further in view of Cai (U.S. 2013/0279174).
Regarding claim 10, Kaiser teaches that the coating comprises an adhesive (see col. 5, adhesive).
Kaiser does not teach that the coating comprises a plurality of first reflective particles, and a plurality of second reflective particles which are less reflective than the first reflective particles.
Cai teaches that the coating comprises a plurality of first reflective particles, and a plurality of second reflective particles which are less reflective than the first reflective particles (see p. 0035-0038, may use a combination of pigments and particles to reflect different amounts of wavelength).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used multiple reflective particles as taught by Cai in the diffuse reflective surface of Kaiser and Beverly to achieve higher levels of reflection across the wavelength spectrum, see p. 0048-0049.
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaiser in view of Beverly, further in view of Bauer (U.S. 7,626,749).
Regarding claim 11, Kaiser does not teach that the coating comprises a paint containing the ferromagnetic material.
Bauer teaches that the coating comprises a paint containing the ferromagnetic material (see col. 58 lines 9-23, sputtering of stainless steel with chromium)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the stainless steel paint of Bauer as the coating of Kaiser to provide a highly durable structure with high strength and reflectivity, see col. 58 of Bauer, see col. 46 of Bauer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 22 recites, inter alia, “the reflector body further comprises a diffractor hole; the diffractor comprises an annular head and a rod extending rearwardly from the head; the rod of the diffractor is configured to extended through the diffractor hole of the reflector body when the diffractor is assembled to the reflector body; and the diffractor is configured to be adjustable by sliding the rod relative to the reflector body to accordingly translate the head closer to or further away from the front surface of the reflector body to thereby respectively increase or decrease the size of the shadow created by the diffractor.”
Although diffractors are well known in the art of photographic lighting, and are taught as being modular or adjustable, see Zhu (U.S. 10,268,105 col. 5 line 64-col. 6 line 26, magnetic deflector 12 that can be at different lengths based on magnetic insert 11), the Examiner finds that the combination of this kind of diffractor with Kaiser would not be obvious as Kaiser teaches the planar mirror being combined with a mobile device. I.e. the diffractor of Zhu would block the mobile device from being able to take photographs, eliminating the essential function of Kaiser.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that “diffractors used for photography are colloquially called ‘fingers’ or ‘dots’ which are rectangular or round, respectively… [and] are intentionally configured to shape, interrupt, feather, or modulate light in a particular way”. If Applicant wishes for such an interpretation of the limitation “diffractor” then it must be included in the claim language. Importation of such structure to a generic limitation such as “diffractor” would be improper analysis by the Examiner.
Applicant’s argument that “an umbra, a penumbra, and an antumbra are not always present, or obvious, in a shadow as the Examiner suggests”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Any diffractor is capable of forming a umbra, penumbra, and an antumbra as it only requires that the source of light is larger than an opaque object. Applicant sets forth that the “light source must be of sufficient distance from the diffractor, and the photographer must be positioned appropriately for these qualities to be observed”. However there is no recitation of such within the claim or any parameters set forth.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that “matte generally means low specularity” and can be used to teach a diffuse reflection of claim 1, the Examiner agrees. “Matte” will be interpreted as “diffusely reflective”.
Applicant’s argument that Kaiser does not teach that one or more of the reflector body or the coating comprises a ferromagnetic material as it only teaches two magnets behind the mirror surface and therefore the entire area of the mirror is not magnetic, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The standard for obviousness is broadest reasonable interpretation. As the magnets of Kaiser are part of the reflector body, the Examiner finds that the reflector body comprises a ferromagnetic material.
If Applicant wishes the entire reflector surface to be magnetic, it must be recited in the claim. However, Kaiser also teaches the body may “include more than two magnets so that the position of fastener 208 can be adjusted about the mirror surface.” See col. 5 lines 56-60. In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner finds that reciting the entire surface has magnetic capabilities would be an obvious modification of Kaiser that is set forth in Kaiser.
Applicant argues that there is no motivation to combine the teachings of Kaiser with the teachings of Beverly, specifically that the combination would render the mirror surface ineffective for viewing oneself, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The hand mirror of Kaiser is used for reflecting light from the LEDs. The mobile device already provides a visual indicator of the picture (and blocks the main viewing portion of the mirror). Using a diffuse instead of specular reflector provides a different reflection and lighting profile from the light sources as noted in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Matthew J. Peerce/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875