DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lapointe et al (US2014/0069086A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lapointe teaches an apparatus configured to recirculate internal combustion engine exhaust gas recirculation (Figures 2-7 illustrate various EGR structural designs), the apparatus comprising: an exhaust gas recirculation line having an exhaust gas recirculation cooler (See EGR cooler in each of Figures 2-7), an exhaust gas recirculation valve (See EGR valve in each of Figures 2-7), and a catalyst (See catalysts 264 in Figure 2, 464 in Figure 4, 564 in Figure 5), wherein the catalyst is arranged after the exhaust gas recirculation cooler in a flow direction of recirculated exhaust gas (See Paragraph 0041 "in other embodiments, the NOx catalyst 264 could be positioned downstream of the EGR cooler 266 if desired.").
Regarding claim 2, Lapointe discloses the invention of claim 1 as discussed above, and Lapointe teaches that the internal combustion engine is designed a hydrogen engine (Paragraph 0030).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art does not teach [with the use of “the apparatus comprising an exhaust gas recirculation line having an exhaust gas recirculation cooler, an exhaust gas recirculation valve, and a catalyst, wherein the catalyst is arranged after the exhaust gas recirculation cooler in a flow direction of recirculated exhaust gas”] “adjusting a defined uncombusted amount of fuel at the catalyst by controlling the combustion or ignition in the internal combustion engine, wherein the defined uncombusted amount of fuel is catalytically burned by the catalyst to avoid ice formation due to combustion heat.” A person having ordinary skill in the art would not have found it obvious to perform these steps with the extremely rare structure which is disclosed by Lapointe, as noted in the 102 section above.
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art, Lapointe, does not teach that “the recirculation line opens into an air supply duct to the internal combustion engine after a compressor”, and given the rarity of the previously cited structure in the prior art, a person having ordinary skill in the art would not have found it obvious to make this simple modification absent some reasonable motivation to do so, as post compressor inlet from this EGR line structure would change the flow characteristics drastically..
Conclusion
/KEVIN R STECKBAUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747