DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This non-final office action is in response to the application filled on 05/07/2025. Claims 1-9 are pending and examined below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a) ‐ (d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2024/087766, filed on 05/30/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of date of this action, IDS filled has been annotated and considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Acquisition unit”, “determination unit” and “drive control unit” in claim 1
“Receiving unit”, “determination unit” and “drive control unit” in claim 8
“Acquisition unit” and “transmitting unit” in claim 9
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0256605 (“Ning”).
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly claim 8 and 9), Ning discloses a robot system comprising (see at least fig 2):
an acquisition unit configured to acquire stop parameter information regarding a stop parameter corresponding to a condition regarding a stop of a predetermined portion on a robot arm when the robot arm is subjected to an emergency stop (see at least fig 3 and fig 5, state acquisition unit, 16, distance acquisition unit, 14);
a determination unit configured to determine whether to subject the robot arm to the emergency stop during an operation of the robot arm (see at least fig 5, state determination unit, 13, see also fig 3 and [0057]); and
a drive control unit configured to execute a stop operation based on the stop parameter information when the determination unit determines to subject the robot arm to the emergency stop (see at least fig 5, drive unit, see also [0034], [0041] and [0047]).
Regarding claim 2, Ning further discloses a robot system wherein the stop parameter information includes information on a deceleration rate K of a speed of the predetermined portion when the robot arm is subjected to the emergency stop (see at least [0047] and [0050]) and information on an allowable braking distance Lmax until the robot arm stops (see at least [0040], where “safe distance”; see also [0051], [0049], [0039] and [0027]).
Regarding claim 3, Ning further discloses a robot system wherein, when the determination unit determines to subject the robot arm to the emergency stop, the drive control unit calculates, using the deceleration rate K, a braking distance La when the robot arm is subjected to the emergency stop (see at least fig 3), and when La > Lmax, the drive control unit subjects the robot arm to the emergency stop using a deceleration rate Ka larger than the deceleration rate K (see at least [0049-50]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0256605 (“Ning”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2024/028488 (“Kobayashi”).
Regarding claim 4, Ning further discloses a robot system wherein the drive control unit repeats an operation of acquiring information on a target position to which the predetermined portion is to be moved next and moving the robot arm based on the acquired information on the target position a plurality of times (see at least fig 3).
Ning does not disclose the following limitation:
the determination unit determines to subject the robot arm to the emergency stop when the drive control unit does not acquire the information on the target position.
However, Kobayashi discloses a robot system wherein the determination unit determines to subject the robot arm to the emergency stop when the drive control unit does not acquire the information on the target position (see at least [0096]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Ning to incorporate the teachings of Kobayashi by including the above feature for avoiding unnecessary movement and collision of robot by stopping robot operation when target destination is clear.
Regarding claim 5, Ning further discloses a robot system wherein, when the determination unit determines to subject the robot arm to the emergency stop, the drive control unit moves the robot arm on an extension line of a line segment connecting a target position Pn acquired last and a target position Pn-1 acquired immediately before the target position Pn, n being an integer of 2 or more (see at least fig 7 and [0095]. Target position is related to target time to stop. Integer of 2 or more is a design choice).
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0256605 (“Ning”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2019/0070730 (“Morioka”).
Regarding claim 6, Ning further discloses a robot system wherein the robot arm has, as movable regions of the robot arm, a first region and a second region different from the first region (see at least fig 2 and [0036-37]).
Ning does not disclose the following limitation:
the acquisition unit acquires, from the stop parameter information, first stop parameter information regarding the first region and second stop parameter information regarding the second region.
However, Morioka discloses a robot system wherein the acquisition unit acquires, from the stop parameter information, first stop parameter information regarding the first region and second stop parameter information regarding the second region (see at least fig 3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Ning to incorporate the teachings of Morioka by including the above feature for avoiding collision of robot by stopping robot operation when object is determined inside a predetermined range.
Regarding claim 7, Rejection relied on Ning for emergency stop. Morioka further discloses a robot system wherein the drive control unit executes the stop operation based on the first stop parameter information in a case where the determination unit determines to subject the robot arm to the emergency stop when the predetermined portion of the robot arm is located in the first region, and executes the stop operation based on the second stop parameter information in a case where the determination unit determines to subject the robot arm to the emergency stop when the predetermined portion of the robot arm is located in the second region (see at least fig 3).
Conclusion
/SOHANA TANJU KHAYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657