DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-4 in the reply filed on 6/29/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the product as claimed cannot be made by another material different process. This is not found persuasive because product by process claims, just like product claims, are examined for its structure implied by the steps and not the manipulation of the recited steps. See MPEP 2113(I). Here, the implied structure of the proposed different method produces the implied structure of the claimed product by process. Thus, the restriction is proper.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/29/26.
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Preisler (USPN 970725) in view of EP3064342.
Regarding claim 1, Preisler teaches:
1. (Previously Presented) A method for manufacturing a motor vehicle seat shell (Preisler: col 2:52-60; the composite component can be used as seat portion for a motor vehicle) from a thermoplastic multilayer structure (Preisler: figs 5-8; col 5:47-col 6:8; col 7:16-col 8:17; skins 112/114 are thermoplastic; adhesive sheets 118/120 are thermoplastic; core 116 is honeycomb), said method being characterized in that it comprises:
a step of laying the multilayer structure over heating mold (Preisler: figs 5-10; col 6: 9-64);
a step of applying a mold directly over the multilayer structure (Preisler: figs 5-10; col 6: 9-64);
a step of applying vacuum into the mold through an upper mold, said vacuum producing a compression of the multilayer structure (Preisler: figs 5-10; col 6: 9-64; vacuum is applied through the upper die 24’);
a step of baking at a predefined temperature (Preisler: figs 5-10; col 6: 9-64; the skins are heated in a range of 160C-200C ); and
a step of demolding and trimming the obtained shell (Preisler: figs 5-10; col 6: 9-64);
said method further comprising integrating a decorative film onto the multilayer structure during molding, before the baking step (Preisler: col 1:62-2:5; col 2:39-51; the thermoplastic skins constitute as decorative films since the skins have woven/non-woven, carbon fiber appearance).
However, Preisler does not teach an aircraft seat shell; an autonomous self-regulated heating mold; applying a heating membrane directly over the multilayer structure; applying vacuum into the mold by means of the heating membrane; and baking at a predefined temperature, according to a cycle regulated by the mold.
EP3064342 teaches vacuum forming an aircraft seat from a sandwich composite, wherein a heated cover assembly including a vacuum bag is used together with a mold having temperature control to regulate the heating of the composite and mold (EP3064342: paras. 0015,0023,0044,0088,0089,0090). It should be noted that Preisler teaches using a variety of compression and/or press molding technologies including vacuum forming to form the sandwich composite into a seatback (Preisler: col 6:9-15). Since Preisler and EP3064342 are analogous with respect to vacuum forming a sandwich composite into a seatback, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the cover assembly including the heated vacuum bag and heat regulating mold and its features of EP3064342 in the process of Preisler in order to simplify the molding process and reduce molding time.
Regarding claim 2, such is taught by Preisler (Preisler: fig 6: col 6:65-col 7:40; adhesive films 118/120 are positioned between thermoplastic skins 112/114 and honeycomb core 116).
Regarding claim 3, such is taught by the above combination of Preisler and EP3064342 since EP3064342 teaches the heated cover assembly and the heated mold heat both sides of the sandwich composite (EP3064342: paras. 0015, 0044, and 0088).
Regarding claim 4, such is taught by Preisler since Preisler teaches heating the thermoplastic adhesives so it becomes sticky and tacky for bonding with the skins and core (Preisler: col 7:10-40).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teaches vacuum forming sandwich composites: USPN 4526421 (forming an aircraft seat by vacuum forming with a vacuum bag); and both KR 10-2020-0098218 and KR 10-2020-0072661 (vacuum forming with a vacuum bag a seatback from a thermoplastic sandwich composite ).
EHL
/EDMUND H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744