DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0398196 A1 (hereinafter “De Troyer”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0279271 A1 (hereinafter “Goldman”).
With respect to claim 11, De Troyer discloses
“A method for facilitating communications between parties comprising”: De Troyer, abstract;
“receiving electronic information at a personal electronic device”; De Troyer ¶¶ 0009, 0010 (user logs into mobile application, providing identifying information);
“initiating electronic communications with a central computing device located at an address identified by the electronic information”; De Troyer ¶ 0009 (first individual logs into mobile application on mobile device; mobile device is then in communication with central server; mobile device uses central server’s address to communicate with it);
“receiving, at the central computing device, a first selection by a person, the first selection identifying one or more items to be purchased”; De Troyer ¶¶ 0012, 0013 (first individual selects item to be purchased as a gift and establishment from which to purchase it; e.g., first individual can select a beverage gift at a particular establishment);
“receiving a signal at the central computing device indicating that the one or more items have been purchased”; De Troyer ¶¶ 0012, 0013 (first individual’s selection signals central server);
“sending a signal, from the central computing device to a second computing device, indicating that the purchased one or more items are available to be claimed …”; De Troyer ¶ 0017 (second individual receives signal from central server); and
“receiving a signal, from the second computing device to the central computing device, indicating that all of the purchased one or more items have been claimed by a first individual …”. De Troyer ¶¶ 0020-0022 (central server is signaled when second individual claims gift).
De Troyer does not explicitly disclose a purchased item being available to be claimed by a plurality of individuals. Goldman discloses
“… indicating that the purchased one or more items are available to be claimed by a plurality of
Individuals”; Goldman ¶ 0006 (item can be claimed by any member of group); and
“… indicating that all of the purchased one or more items have been claimed by a first individual of
the plurality of individuals”. Goldman ¶ 0006 (item is claimed by any member of group).
Both De Troyer and Goldman relate to notifications regarding ordered products. De Troyer, abstract; Goldman, abstract. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the group feature as taught by Goldman in the method of De Troyer with the motivation of managing order notifications in an easy and efficient manner. Goldman ¶¶ 0001-0004.
With respect to claim 12, De Troyer discloses
“generating a visual display, by an output device, indicating that the purchased one or more items are available to be claimed”. De Troyer ¶¶ 0017, 0018, fig. 2B (display displays item available to be claimed).
With respect to claim 13, De Troyer discloses
“wherein the electronic information comprises a QR code”. De Troyer ¶¶ 0017, 0018, fig. 2C.
With respect to claim 14, De Troyer discloses
“wherein the purchased one or more items comprise a beverage”. De Troyer ¶¶ 0012, 0013.
With respect to claim 15, De Troyer discloses
“providing, to a recipient that received the purchased one or more items, contact information that identifies a purchaser of the purchased one or more items”. De Troyer ¶¶ 0017, 0018, fig. 2B (name of purchaser is provided to recipient).
With respect to claim 16, De Troyer discloses
“receiving a second selection at the central computing device, the second selection identifying first individual;”; De Troyer ¶¶ 0017, 0018, fig. 2B (first individual can make any number of selections to any number of recipients; e.g., in fig. 2B, first individual has selected an item to be gifted to a second individual and an item to be claimed by the first individual); and
“in response to receiving an attempt by first individual to claim the purchased item, confirming the first individual corresponds to the plurality of individuals”. De Troyer ¶¶ 0018-0022 (QR code uniquely identifying claimer is read).
With respect to claim 17, De Troyer discloses
“wherein the electronic information is a first electronic information, and wherein the step of confirming the first individual corresponds to the plurality of individuals comprises”: De Troyer ¶¶ 0012, 0013 (signal to central server is electronic information);
“receiving second electronic information corresponding to the first individual”; De Troyer ¶ 0018 (QR code on claimer’s mobile device is scanned); and
“comparing the first electronic information to the second electronic information”. De Troyer ¶¶ 0018-0022 (scanned QR code is validated, which comprises a comparison to the first electronic information).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 and 18-20 of U.S. Patent Number 12,340,407 B2 (hereinafter “Kacmarcik”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-10 and 18-20 of the present application are anticipated by claims 10 and 18-20 of Kacmarcik. Independent claim 1 of the present application differs from claim 1 of Kacmarcik in that claim 1 of the present application recites “clothing associated with a sports team” whereas claim 1 of Kacmarcik recites “a sports jersey associated with a sports team”. Independent claim 18 of the present application differs from claim 18 of Kacmarcik in that claim 18 of Kacmarcik recites that clothing is scanned “via the electronic device” whereas claim 18 of the present application does not specify how the clothing is scanned.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 and 11-18 are allowable over the prior art of record, subject to the above rejections.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
Upon review of the evidence at hand, it is hereby concluded that the evidence obtained and made of record, alone or in combination, neither anticipates, reasonably teaches, nor renders obvious the below noted features of applicant's invention as the noted features amount to more than a predictable use of elements in the prior art. The allowable features include "receiving a signal at the central computing device indicating that the single item has been purchased"; "sending a signal, from the central computing device to a second computing device, indicating that the purchased single item is available to be claimed by a plurality of individuals"; and "receiving a signal at the central computing device from the second computing device, the signal indicating that the purchased single item has been claimed by at least one of the plurality of individuals".
In addition to the above, the Examiner emphasizes the interrelation of the above distinguishing elements with the remainder of each respective claim element, and further notes that it is the interrelation that truly distinguishes Applicant's invention from the evidence at hand. Moreover, none of the evidence at hand teaches or suggests the combination of features claimed, nor does there exist an appropriate rationale for further modification of the evidence at hand.
It is hereby asserted by the Examiner that, in light of the above and in further deliberation over all of the evidence at hand, that the claims are allowable as the evidence at hand does not anticipate the claims and does not render obvious any further modification of the references to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
ETHAN D. CIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3688
/ETHAN D CIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3688