DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-11 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruffin et al. (US 7300185 B1, hereinafter, “Ruffin”) in view of Adeishvili et al (US 20190265469 A1, hereinafter, “Adeishvili”).
Regarding claim 1, Ruffin teaches an optical member (light array 216, see figure 9 and figures 1-5 to show common elements and features to all embodiments) comprising:
a plurality of light control units (see plurality of reflectors 24 in fig 9, and individually seen in fig 1), each comprising:
an upper surface (semi-cylindrical front surface 32, see fig 1) serving as an emitting surface (as seen in fig 5),
a first incident surface (57) located below the emitting surface (outer surface of 32),
a second incident surface (58, 60) located at an outer periphery (periphery of 57, see fig 4) of the first incident surface (57) in a top view (see fig 4), and extending downward (as seen in fig 5) from a first incident surface (57) side (side of 57), and
a reflective surface (38, 40) located at an outer periphery (periphery of 58, 60) of the second incident surface (58, 60) in the top view (see fig 3), and
inclined in a direction away (away from axis A, as annotated in fig 5 below) from a center (A) of the light control unit (24) so as to extend closer to the emitting surface (outer surface of 32) from a vicinity (at 58, 60) of the second incident surface (58, 60);
wherein:
the light control units (se plurality of 24s) are configured such that light incident (light from LED 12, see fig 5) on the first incident surface (57) and the second incident surface (58, 60), and light reflected by the reflective surface (38, 40) are emitted from the emitting surface (outer surface of 32);
the first incident surface (57) is a convex surface (as seen in fig 5) curved in a direction away (towards 12) from the emitting surface (outer surface of 32);
the emitting surface (outer surface of 32) is a convex surface curved (as seen in fig 1) in a direction away (away from 5) from the first incident surface (57); and
the emitting surfaces (outer surface of 32) of adjacent ones (as seen in fig 9) of the light control units (se plurality of 24s) are connected to each other (as seen in fig 9).
Annotated figures 4-5 of Riffun have been reproduced below:
Ruffin does not explicitly teach a radius of curvature of the first incident surface is larger than a radius of curvature of the emitting surface in a cross-sectional view
However, Ruffin discloses first incident surface (57) may have either or a combination of the following surfaces: flat, convex, fresnel or concave (see col 4, lines 49-53), and one of ordinary skill would have considered making the radius of curvature of the first incident surface larger than the radius of curvature of the emitting surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to make the radius of curvature of the first incident surface larger than a radius of curvature of the emitting surface of Ruffin in order to expand light refraction onto the light emission surface. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to help meet a beam distribution or lighting effect.
Ruffin does not explicitly teach the emitting surfaces of adjacent ones of the light control units are directly connected to each other.
Adeishvili teaches an optical member (lens array 50, see fig 2) formed by a plurality of light control units (plurality of TIR lenses 60);
the emitting surfaces (upper surfaces of 60) of adjacent ones of the light control units (60) are directly connected to each other (as seen in fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to provide direct contact between the light control units as taught by Adeislvili in to the teachings of Ruffin in order to reduce the distance between the outputs of each light emitting unit avoiding dark spots formation in between them. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to a more uniform light.
Regarding claim 2, Ruffin teaches wherein the emitting surface (outer surface of 32) and the first incident surface (57) have a shape of a square or a rectangle (see rectangle shape as seen in fig 4) in the top view.
Regarding claim 4, Ruffin teaches wherein a center (along A) of the first incident surface (57) coincides with a center (along A) of the emitting surface (outer surface of 32) in the top view (as seen in fig 5 above).
Regarding claim 5, Ruffin teaches wherein:
the emitting surface (outer surface of 32) has a shape of a rectangle (as seen in fig 4) having short sides (see short sides S as annotated in fig 4 above) and long sides (see short sides L as annotated in fig 4 above) in the top view; and
when a vertical cross-section cut parallel to the short sides (S) and passing through a center (A) of the rectangle is defined as a third cross-section (see third cross section 3rd, as annotated in fig 4 above), and
a vertical cross-section cut parallel to the long sides (L) and passing through the center (A) of the rectangle is defined as a fourth cross-section (see fourth cross section 4th, as annotated in fig 4 above),
a height (see heights h1 and h2, in annotated fig 4) of a portion (portions of 32), at which the emitting surfaces (outer surface of 32) of the light control units (se plurality of 24s) adjacent (to another above and to a side adjacent, as seen in fig 9) to each other are in contact with each other (better seen in fig 9), from a lower end (bottom of 24) of the second incident surface (58, 60) is smaller (must occur because short sides of 24 are at a lower position with respect to long sides of 24, better seen in fig 9, thus, a height with another optical member at a long side is larger than a height at a short side of an adjacent 24) in the fourth cross-section (4th) than in the third cross-section (3rd).
Regarding claim 6, Ruffin teaches wherein:
the emitting surface (outer surface of 32) has a shape of a rectangle (as seen in fig 4) having short sides (see short sides S as annotated in fig 4 above) and long sides (see short sides L as annotated in fig 4 above) in the top view; and
when a vertical cross-section cut parallel to the short sides (S) and passing through a center (along A) of the rectangle is defined as a third cross-section (see third cross section 3rd, as annotated in fig 4 above), and
a vertical cross-section cut parallel to the long sides (L) and passing through the center (along A) of the rectangle is defined as a fourth cross-section (see fourth cross section 4th, as annotated in fig 4 above),
a radius of curvature (radius of curvatures at S and at L) of the emitting surface (outer surface of 32) is larger (as curvature along L is closer to a line and thus having the largest curvature) in the fourth cross-section (4th) than in the third cross-section (3rd).
Regarding claim 7, Ruffin teaches light source module (Light 200) comprising: a planar light source (front structure 214, holding substrates 18 with LEDs 12, see fig 10) comprising a substrate (214), and a plurality of light sources (see plurality of 12s) disposed on the substrate (214); and
the optical member (se plurality of 24s) according to claim 1 disposed above the plurality of light sources (see plurality of 12s).
Regarding claim 8, Ruffin teaches wherein a center (along A) of at least one of the light sources (5) coincides with a center (along A) of each corresponding one of the first incident surface (57) in the top view (better seen in fig 5).
Regarding claim 10, Ruffin teaches an optical member (light array 216, see figure 9 and figures 1-5 to show common elements and features to all embodiments) comprising:
a plurality of light control units (see plurality of reflectors 24 in fig 9, and individually seen in fig 1), each comprising:
an upper surface (semi-cylindrical front surface 32, see fig 1) serving as an emitting surface (as seen in fig 5),
a first incident surface (57) located below the emitting surface (outer surface of 32),
a second incident surface (58, 60) located at an outer periphery (periphery of 57, see fig 4) of the first incident surface (57) in a top view (see fig 4), and extending downward (as seen in fig 5) from a first incident surface (57) side (side of 57), and
a reflective surface (38, 40) located at an outer periphery (periphery of 58, 60) of the second incident surface (58, 60) in the top view (see fig 3), and
inclined in a direction away (away from axis A, as annotated in fig 5 below) from a center (A) of the light control unit (24) so as to extend closer to the emitting surface (outer surface of 32) from a vicinity (at 58, 60) of the second incident surface (58, 60);
wherein:
the light control units (se plurality of 24s) are configured such that light incident (light from LED 12, see fig 5) on the first incident surface (57) and the second incident surface (58, 60), and light reflected by the reflective surface (38, 40) are emitted from the emitting surface (outer surface of 32);
the first incident surface (57) 32 is a flat surface (flat, see col 4, lines 49-52);
the emitting surface (outer surface of 32) is a convex surface curved (as seen in fig 1) in a direction away (away from 5) from the first incident surface (57); and
the emitting surfaces (outer surface of 32) of adjacent ones (as seen in fig 9) of the light control units (se plurality of 24s) are connected to each other (see fig 9).
Ruffin does not explicitly teach the emitting surfaces of adjacent ones of the light control units are directly connected to each other.
Adeishvili teaches an optical member (lens array 50, see fig 2) formed by a plurality of light control units (plurality of TIR lenses 60);
the emitting surfaces (upper surfaces of 60) of adjacent ones of the light control units (60) are directly connected to each other (as seen in fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to provide direct contact between the light control units as taught by Adeislvili in to the teachings of Ruffin in order to reduce the distance between the outputs of each light emitting unit avoiding dark spots formation in between them. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to a more uniform light.
Regarding claim 11, Ruffin teaches wherein the emitting surface (outer surface of 32) and the first incident surface (57) have a shape of a square or a rectangle (see rectangle shape as seen in fig 4) in the top view.
Regarding claim 13, Ruffin teaches wherein a center (along A) of the first incident surface (57) coincides with a center (along A) of the emitting surface (outer surface of 32) in the top view (as seen in fig 5 above).
Regarding claim 14, Ruffin teaches wherein:
the emitting surface (outer surface of 32) has a shape of a rectangle (as seen in fig 4) having short sides (see short sides S as annotated in fig 4 above) and long sides (see short sides L as annotated in fig 4 above) in the top view; and
when a vertical cross-section cut parallel to the short sides (S) and passing through a center (A) of the rectangle is defined as a third cross-section (see third cross section 3rd, as annotated in fig 4 above), and
a vertical cross-section cut parallel to the long sides (L) and passing through the center (A) of the rectangle is defined as a fourth cross-section (see fourth cross section 4th, as annotated in fig 4 above),
a height (see heights h1 and h2, in annotated fig 4) of a portion (portions of 32), at which the emitting surfaces (outer surface of 32) of the light control units (se plurality of 24s) adjacent (to another above and to a side adjacent, as seen in fig 9) to each other are in contact with each other (better seen in fig 9), from a lower end (bottom of 24) of the second incident surface (58, 60) is smaller (must occur because short sides of 24 are at a lower position with respect to long sides of 24, better seen in fig 9, thus, a height with another optical member at a long side is larger than a height at a short side of an adjacent 24) in the fourth cross-section (4th) than in the third cross-section (3rd).
Regarding claim 15, Ruffin teaches wherein:
the emitting surface (outer surface of 32) has a shape of a rectangle (as seen in fig 4) having short sides (see short sides S as annotated in fig 4 above) and long sides (see short sides L as annotated in fig 4 above) in the top view; and
when a vertical cross-section cut parallel to the short sides (S) and passing through a center (along A) of the rectangle is defined as a third cross-section (see third cross section 3rd, as annotated in fig 4 above), and
a vertical cross-section cut parallel to the long sides (L) and passing through the center (along A) of the rectangle is defined as a fourth cross-section (see fourth cross section 4th, as annotated in fig 4 above),
a radius of curvature (radius of curvatures at S and at L) of the emitting surface (outer surface of 32) is larger (as curvature along L is closer to a line and thus having the largest curvature) in the fourth cross-section (4th) than in the third cross-section (3rd).
Regarding claim 16, Ruffin teaches light source module (Light 200) comprising: a planar light source (front structure 214, holding substrates 18 with LEDs 12, see fig 10) comprising a substrate (214), and a plurality of light sources (see plurality of 12s) disposed on the substrate (214); and
the optical member (se plurality of 24s) according to claim 1 disposed above the plurality of light sources (see plurality of 12s).
Regarding claim 17, Ruffin teaches light source module (Light 200) comprising: a planar light source (front structure 214, holding substrates 18 with LEDs 12, see fig 10) comprising a substrate (214), and a plurality of light sources (see plurality of 12s) disposed on the substrate (214); and
the optical member (se plurality of 24s) according to claim 1 disposed above the plurality of light sources (see plurality of 12s).
Regarding claim 18, Ruffin teaches light source module (Light 200) comprising: a planar light source (front structure 214, holding substrates 18 with LEDs 12, see fig 10) comprising a substrate (214), and a plurality of light sources (see plurality of 12s) disposed on the substrate (214); and
the optical member (se plurality of 24s) according to claim 1 disposed above the plurality of light sources (see plurality of 12s).
Claims 9 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruffin et al. (US 7300185 B1, hereinafter, “Ruffin”) in view of Adeishvili et al (US 20190265469 A1, hereinafter, “Adeishvili”), as applied to claims 1,7 and 10,14-15,17-18 above and further in view of Sugiyama et al. (US 11422367 B2, hereinafter, “Sugiyama”).
Regarding claim 9, Ruffin teaches the light source module (200) according to claim 7; but
Ruffin does not explicitly teach a liquid crystal display device.
Sugiyama teaches a light source module (see plurality of LED collimators 15, see fig 3); and
a liquid crystal display device (liquid crystal display element 50) comprising the light source module (plurality of 15s).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the liquid crystal device as taught by Sugiyama in to the teachings of Ruffin in order to provide enhance illumination to liquid display devices. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to increase the usability and market of Ruffin’s the light source module.
Regarding claim 19, Ruffin teaches the light source module (200) according to claim 17; but
Ruffin does not explicitly teach a liquid crystal display device.
Sugiyama teaches a light source module (see plurality of LED collimators 15, see fig 3); and
a liquid crystal display device (liquid crystal display element 50) comprising the light source module (plurality of 15s).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the liquid crystal device as taught by Sugiyama in to the teachings of Ruffin in order to provide enhance illumination to liquid display devices. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to increase the usability and market of Ruffin’s the light source module.
Regarding claim 20, Ruffin teaches the light source module (200) according to claim 18; but
Ruffin does not explicitly teach a liquid crystal display device.
Sugiyama teaches a light source module (see plurality of LED collimators 15, see fig 3); and
a liquid crystal display device (liquid crystal display element 50) comprising the light source module (plurality of 15s).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the liquid crystal device as taught by Sugiyama in to the teachings of Ruffin in order to provide enhance illumination to liquid display devices. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to increase the usability and market of Ruffin’s the light source module.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, although Ruffin teaches the optical member, as described in claims 1-2 above, the prior art the prior art of the record fails to teach wherein, when a vertical cross-section cut parallel to one side of the emitting surface and passing through a center of the emitting surface is defined as a first cross-section, and a vertical cross-section cut along a diagonal line of the emitting surface is defined as a second cross-section, an angle formed by a center line of the light control unit and the reflective surface is larger.
Regarding claim 12, although Ruffin teaches the optical member, as described in claim 10 above, the prior art the prior art of the record fails to teach wherein, when a vertical cross-section cut parallel to one side of the emitting surface and passing through a center of the emitting surface is defined as a first cross-section, and a vertical cross-section cut along a diagonal line of the emitting surface is defined as a second cross-section, an angle formed by a center line of the light control unit and the reflective surface is larger.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sun et al. (US 20140316742 A1) discloses an optical member (luminaire 600) having a plurality of light control units (3a-d), each comprising: an upper surface (upper surface of each 3) serving as an emitting surface (upper surface of each 3), a first incident surface (11) located below the emitting surface (upper surface of each 3), a second incident surface (19) located at an outer periphery (periphery of 11, see fig 1) of the first incident surface (11) in a top view, and extending downward (as seen in fig 1) from a first incident surface (11) side (side of 11), and a reflective surface (15) located at an outer periphery (periphery of 19) of the second incident surface (19) in the top view, and inclined in a direction away (away from axis A, as seen in fig 1) from a center (A) of the light control unit (3) so as to extend closer to the emitting surface (upper surface of each 3) from a vicinity (at 19) of the second incident surface (19); wherein: the light control units (3a-d) are configured such that light incident (light from 5) on the first incident surface (11, see fig 3a) and the second incident surface (19, see fig 3a), and light reflected by the reflective surface (15) are emitted from the emitting surface (upper surface of each 3); the first incident surface (11) is a convex surface (as seen in fig 3b) curved in a direction away (towards 5) from the emitting surface (upper surface of each 3); the emitting surface (upper surface of each 3) is a convex surface curved (as the upper surface includes 13) in a direction away (away from 5) from the first incident surface (11); a radius of curvature (radii of curvature r.sub.1) of the first incident surface (11) is different from (as seen in fig 1, the diameter of 13 is larger than the diameter of 11) a radius of curvature (radii of curvature r.sub.2) of the emitting surface (upper surface of each 3) in a cross-sectional view (as seen in fig 1); and the emitting surfaces (upper surface of each 3) of adjacent ones (any 3 from 3a-3d) of the light control units (3a-d) are directly connected to each other (as seen in fig 6).
/OMAR ROJAS CADIMA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875