DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 13-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu 12,221,998 in view of Morino 11,758,672.
Regarding claim 1, Hsu discloses an electronic device (col 1 lines 10-15) comprising: a housing (200, Fig 1) comprising a first housing (200 on left, Fig 1), a second housing (200 on right, Fig 1), and a hinge cover (1, Fig 2); a flexible display (300, Fig 5) on the housing (Fig 5); a hinge assembly (100, Figs 2-4) rotatably connected to the first housing and the second housing (see Figs 1, 9), wherein the hinge assembly comprises a first support structure (3 on left, Fig 2) connected to the first housing (Figs 1, 2) and a second support structure (3 on right, Fig 2) connected to the second housing (Figs 1, 2); a center bar structure (4, Fig 1) at least partially between the first support structure and the second support structure (see Fig 1) and spaced apart from the hinge cover (spaced upward from 1, Fig 1), wherein the center bar structure comprises a support member (41, Fig 2) comprising a first seating portion (one 42, Fig 2) recessed toward the hinge cover (Figs 2, 3) and a cover member (11, Fig 3) on at least a portion of the support member (once assembled, Fig 1-3).
Hsu discloses the claimed invention except for expressly teaching a flexible circuit board in the housing, wherein the flexible circuit board comprises a first portion in the first housing, a second portion in the second housing, and a bending area extending between the first portion and the second portion, wherein at least a portion of the bending area is between the first seating portion of the support member and the cover member.
Morino, however teaches a flexible circuit board (20, Fig5A) in a housing (housing exterior of 10, 12A, 12B, Fig 3), wherein the flexible circuit board comprises a first portion (20a, Fig 3) in the first housing (Fig 3), a second portion (20b, Fig 3) in the second housing (Fig 3), and a bending area (20c, Fig 4) extending between the first portion and the second portion (Figs 3-4), wherein at least a portion of the bending area is between a first portion (26, Fig 4) of a support member (26a, Fig 4) and a cover member (12Ba/12Aa, Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Hsu to include a flexible circuit board disposed between the first seating portion and the cover as claimed, and, as taught by Morino, in order to electrically connect components in the first housing with components in the second housing through slim/miniscule space behind the hinge assembly of the first seating portion, while laying flush against the cover member without adding bulk, thereby optimizing the limited space available in the device and improving reliability.
Regarding claim 2, Hsu, in view of Morino disclose the electronic device of claim 1, Hsu teaches wherein the first seating portion comprises a convex surface (see convex surface of 42, Fig 3) which is convex toward the bending area (of Morino.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Hsu to include a flexible circuit board disposed between the first seating portion and the cover as claimed, and, as taught by Morino, in order to electrically connect components in the first housing with components in the second housing through slim/miniscule space behind the hinge assembly of the first seating portion, while laying flush against the cover member without adding bulk, thereby optimizing the limited space available in the device and improving reliability.
Regarding claim 3, Hsu in view of Morino disclose the electronic device of claim 2, Hsu teaches wherein the cover member comprises a second seating portion (112, Fig 2) facing the first seating portion (Fig 2) with at least a portion of the bending area (portion of 20c of Morino) interposed therebetween (of Hsu), the second seating portion comprising a concave surface which is concave toward the bending area (see concave portion of 112, Fig 2 of Hsu).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Hsu to include a flexible circuit board disposed between the first seating portion and the cover as claimed, and, as taught by Morino, in order to electrically connect components in the first housing with components in the second housing through slim/miniscule space behind the hinge assembly of the first seating portion, while laying flush against the cover member without adding bulk, thereby optimizing the limited space available in the device and improving reliability.
Regarding claim 4, Hsu, in view of Morino discloses the electronic device of claim 3, Hsu teaches wherein a degree of curvature of the concave surface is similar to, the same as, or smaller than a degree of curvature of the convex surface (concave/convex surfaces considered to have at least similar degree of curvature, Fig 10).
Regarding claim 5, Hsu in view of Morino disclose the electronic device of claim 1, Hsu teaches wherein a width of the cover member is greater than a width of the first seating portion of the support member (see Figs 4, 6, 10), and wherein each of the width of the cover member and the width of the first seating portion are measured in a first direction intersecting a longitudinal direction of the flexible circuit board (see Figs 4, 6, 10).
Regarding claim 6, Hsu in view of Morino disclose the electronic device of claim 1, Hsu teaches wherein the cover member comprises a first opening (one 112, Fig 2) on a first end of the cover member (toward left end of 11, Fig 2) and a second opening (other 112, Fig 2) on a second end of the cover member (toward right end of 11, Fig 2), and wherein the center bar structure comprises fixing members (421, Fig 3) configured to fix the cover member to the support member (Fig 6), the fixing members comprising a first fixing member (left 421, Fig 3) passing through the first opening (Fig 6) and a second fixing member (right 421, Fig 3) passing through the second opening (Fig 6).
Regarding claim 7, Hsu in view of Morino disclose the electronic device of claim 6, Hsu teaches wherein the first fixing member and the second fixing member are respectively fixed to the first end and the second end of the support member with the first seating portion of the support member interposed between the first fixing member and the second fixing member (Figs 2-3 and 6).
Regarding claim 8, Hsu in view of Morino disclose the electronic device of claim 6, Morino teaches wherein a portion of the bending area (portion of 20c of Fig 3) passes between the first fixing member and the second fixing member (of Hsu).
Regarding claim 9, Hsu in view of Morino disclose the electronic device of claim 1, Hsu teaches wherein the center bar structure further comprises a buffer member (34, Fig 3), and wherein the buffer member comprises at least one of: a first buffer member (34 on one side, Fig 3) between the first seating portion (Fig 3) and at least a portion of the bending area (of Hsu), the first buffer member having a hardness lower than a hardness of the first seating portion (lower hardness due to 34 formed of less material that seating portion, Fig 3).
Regarding claim 10, Hsu in view of Morino disclose the electronic device of claim 9, Hsu teaches wherein a thickness of the buffer member (thickness of 34, Fig 34) is smaller than a thickness of the bending area (of Morino), and wherein the thickness of the buffer member (thickness of 34, Fig 3, of Hsu) and the thickness of the bending area (of Morino) are measured in a radial direction of a curvature of the bending area (radial direction of curvature of bending area of Morino).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Hsu to include a flexible circuit board disposed between the first seating portion and the cover as claimed, and, as taught by Morino, in order to electrically connect components in the first housing with components in the second housing through slim/miniscule space behind the hinge assembly of the first seating portion, while laying flush against the cover member without adding bulk, thereby optimizing the limited space available in the device and improving reliability.
Regarding claim 13, Hsu in view of Morino discloses the electronic device of claim 1, Morino teaches wherein the flexible circuit board comprises a first flexible circuit board (20d, Fig 6A) and a second flexible circuit board (20e, Fig 6A).
Regarding claim 14, Hsu in view of Morino discloses the electronic device of claim 13, Morino teaches wherein a cover member (24A, 24B, Fig 5A) further comprises a first cover member (24A, Fig 5A) on the first flexible circuit board (Fig 5A) and a second cover member (24B, Fig 5A) on the second flexible circuit board (Fig 5A).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Hsu to include a flexible circuit board disposed between the first seating portion and the cover as claimed, and, as taught by Morino, in order to electrically connect components in the first housing with components in the second housing through slim/miniscule space behind the hinge assembly of the first seating portion, while laying flush against the cover member without adding bulk, thereby optimizing the limited space available in the device and improving reliability.
Regarding claim 15, Hsu in view of Morino discloses the electronic device of claim 13, Morino teaches wherein the cover member further comprises an additional opening (S1, Fig 5A) formed between an area on which the first flexible circuit board (area near S1, Fig 5A) is placed and an area on which the second flexible circuit board is placed (area near S2, Fig 5A), and wherein the center bar structure further comprises a fixing member (421, Fig 3 of Hsu) configured to pass through the additional opening (of Morino) and fix the cover member to the support member (of Hsu).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Hsu to include a flexible circuit board disposed between the first seating portion and the cover as claimed, and, as taught by Morino, in order to electrically connect components in the first housing with components in the second housing through slim/miniscule space behind the hinge assembly of the first seating portion, while laying flush against the cover member without adding bulk, thereby optimizing the limited space available in the device and improving reliability.
Regarding claim 17, Hsu in view of Morino discloses the electronic device of claim 13, Morino teaches wherein a center bar structure (27A, 27B, Fig 5A) comprises a first center bar structure (27A, Fig 5A) configured to support a portion of the first flexible circuit board (Fig 5A), and a second center bar structure (27B, Fig 5A) separated from the first center bar structure (Fig 5A) and configured to support a portion of the second flexible circuit board (Fig 5A).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Hsu to include a flexible circuit board disposed between the first seating portion and the cover as claimed, and, as taught by Morino, in order to electrically connect components in the first housing with components in the second housing through slim/miniscule space behind the hinge assembly of the first seating portion, while laying flush against the cover member without adding bulk, thereby optimizing the limited space available in the device and improving reliability.
Regarding claim 18, Hsu discloses an electronic device (col 1 lines 10-15) comprising: a housing (200, Fig 1) comprising a first housing (200 on left, Fig 1), a second housing (200 on right, Fig 1), and a hinge cover (1, Fig 2); a flexible display (300, Fig 5) on the housing (Fig 5); a hinge assembly (100, Figs 2-4) rotatably connected to the first housing and the second housing (see Figs 1, 9), the hinge assembly comprising a first support structure (3 on left, Fig 2) connected to the first housing (Figs 1, 2) and a second support structure (3 on right, Fig 2) connected to the second housing (Figs 1, 2); a center bar structure (4, Fig 1) at least partially between the first support structure and the second support structure (see Fig 1) and spaced apart from the hinge cover (spaced upward from 1, Fig 1), wherein the center bar structure comprises a support member (41, Fig 2) and a cover member (11, Fig 3) fixed to the support member (Figs 2, 3).
Hsu discloses the claimed invention except for expressly teaching a flexible circuit board in the housing, wherein the flexible circuit board comprises a first portion in the first housing, a second portion in the second housing, and a bending area extending between the first portion and the second portion, wherein at least a portion of the bending area is between the support member and the cover member.
Morino, however teaches a flexible circuit board (20, Fig 5A) in a housing (housing exterior of 10, 12A, 12B, Fig 3), wherein the flexible circuit board comprises a first portion (20a, Fig 3) in the first housing (Fig 3), a second portion (20b, Fig 3) in the second housing (Fig 3), and a bending area (20c, Fig 4) extending between the first portion and the second portion (Figs 3-4), wherein at least a portion of the bending area (portion of 20c, Fig 4) is between a support member (26a, Fig 4) and a cover member (12Ba/12Aa, Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Hsu to include a flexible circuit board disposed between a portion and the cover as claimed, and, as taught by Morino, in order to electrically connect components in the first housing with components in the second housing through slim/miniscule space behind the hinge assembly of the portion, while laying flush against the cover member without adding bulk, thereby optimizing the limited space available in the device and improving reliability.
Regarding claim 19 Hsu in view of Morino disclose the electronic device of claim 18, Hsu teaches wherein the support member comprises a first seating portion (one 42, Fig 3) comprising a convex surface (convex surface of 42) which is convex toward the bending area (of Morino), wherein a portion of the bending area (of Morino) is on the first seating portion (of Hsu), wherein the cover member comprises a second seating portion (one of 112, Fig 2) facing the first seating portion (Fig 3) with at least a portion of the bending area (of Morino) interposed between the first seating portion and the second seating portion (of Hsu), and wherein the second seating portion comprises a concave surface (concave surface of 112, Fig 2) which is concave (of Hsu) toward the bending area (of Morino).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Hsu to include a flexible circuit board disposed between a portion and the cover as claimed, and, as taught by Morino, in order to electrically connect components in the first housing with components in the second housing through slim/miniscule space behind the hinge assembly of the portion, while laying flush against the cover member without adding bulk, thereby optimizing the limited space available in the device and improving reliability.
Regarding claim 20 Hsu in view of Morino disclose the electronic device of claim 18, Hsu teaches wherein the cover member comprises a first opening (one 112, Fig 2) on a first end of the cover member (toward left end of 11, Fig 2) and a second opening (other 112, Fig 2) on a second end of the cover member (toward right end of 11, Fig 2), and wherein the center bar structure comprises fixing members (42, Fig 2) configured to secure the cover member to the support member Figs 2, 6), the fixing members comprising a first fixing member (one 421, Fig 3) passing through the first opening (Fig 6) and a second fixing member (other 421, Fig 3) passing through the second opening (Fig 6).
Claim(s) 11-12 and 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu 12,221,998 in view of Morino 11,758,672 and further in view of Park 10,838,458.
Regarding claim 11, Hsu in view of Morino disclose the electronic device of claim 1, except wherein the support member and the cover member are made of different materials.
Park however teaches wherein a support member (220b, Fig 25C) and a cover member (220a, Fig 25C) are made of different materials (col. 20 lines 39-40).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support member and cover member of Hsu in view of Morino to be made of different materials, as taught by Park, in order to optimize material selection in the hinge area for thermal management, making one material more flexible and the other more rigid, thereby improving functionality and reliability.
Regarding claim 12, Hsu in view of Morino disclose the electronic device of claim 1, except wherein a surface hardness of the support member is greater than a surface hardness of the cover member.
Park however teaches wherein a surface hardness of a support member (surface hardness of 220a, Fig 26C) is greater than a surface hardness of a cover member (surface hardness of 220b having more flexibility, Fig 26C).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support member and cover member of Hsu in view of Morino to be made of different surface hardness, as taught by Park, in order to optimize material selection in the hinge area for thermal management, making one material more flexible/less hardness and the other more rigid, thereby improving functionality and reliability.
Regarding claim 16, Hsu in view of Morino discloses the electronic device of claim 13, except wherein the first seating portion comprises a (1-1). sup.th seating portion on which the first flexible circuit board is disposed, and a (1-2). sup.th seating portion spaced apart from the (1-1). sup.th seating portion and on which the second flexible circuit board is disposed.
Park however teaches a (1-1). sup.th wherein a first flexible circuit board is disposed (163 on one side, Fig 3) and a (1-2). sup.th where a second flexible circuit board is disposed (163 on other side, Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seat portions and flexible circuit board to include a (1-1). sup.th and (1-2). sup.th, as taught by Park, in order to electrically connect components in the first housing with components in the second housing through slim/miniscule space behind the hinge assembly of the portion, while laying flush against the cover member without adding bulk, thereby optimizing the limited space available in the device and improving reliability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO 892.
/RASHEN E MORRISON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/IMANI N HAYMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841