DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to communication: response to original application filed on 05/27/2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
The IDS filed on 05/27/2025 has been accepted.
Examiner’s Interpretation
As per claims 1-13, the claims recite multiple instances for means-plus-function. For example, claim 1 recites “adjust means for causing” and a “controller configured to.” Such limitations invoke 112f. For purposes of examination, such limitations will be interpreted in accordance to the applicant’s specifications. For example, see paragraphs 15, 26, and throughout.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claims 1-20, the claims recite a security system and a method of performing a multi-factor authentication of a user. However, the claims do not recite more than one authentication factor and it is unclear if there are steps missing in the claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12314458 (application 17/469735). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims are anticipated by the claims of the parent patent. All the limitations of the current application are found in the parent patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 9, 10, 14, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Silverster et al. US Patent Application Publication 2005/0249381 (Silvester)
As per claim 1, Silvester teaches a security system for a multi-factor authentication of a user, the system comprising: a camera for acquiring identifying information of a user, the camera being concealed from the user prior to occurrence of a triggering event for authentication (paragraph 15 with image capture device with facial recognition; comprises shutter that opens when facial image is being captured); adjustment means for causing the camera to be concealed from or revealed to the user (paragraph 15 with mechanical shutter); a controller configured to: detect the triggering event and thereupon cause the adjustment means to reveal the camera to the user (paragraph 15 with opening shutter when facial image is being captured); acquire images of the identifying information of the user (paragraph 15 for facial image capture); and based on the acquired identifying information, determine whether to authenticate the user (paragraph 17 with authentication based on image).
As per claim 2, Silvester teaches wherein the adjustment means is mechanical (see paragraph 15 with mechanical shutter).
As per claim 6, Silvester teaches wherein the triggering event for authentication further comprises presence of the user (paragraph 15 with opening when facial image is being captured).
As per claim 7, Silvester teaches wherein the triggering event for authentication is determined by a security policy (paragraph 15 and throughout wherein the shutter opens when facial image is to be captured, which is in accordance to the systems security policy).
As per claim 9, Silvester teaches further comprising at least one of an identifying information reader or a user interface for receiving a first authentication factor from the user (paragraph 15 with facial image or fingerprint).
As per claim 10, Silvester teaches wherein the first authentication factor comprises at least one of a personal identification number, a token, a password, a bar code, a quick response code, or a fingerprint (paragraph 15 with fingerprint).
Claim 14 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 1 above.
Claim 17 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 6 above.
Claim 18 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 7 above.
Claim 20 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 9 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silvester as applied above, in view of Carlson et al. US Patent Application Publication 2002/0018277 (Carlson).
As per claim 3, Silvester teaches wherein the adjustment means comprises a shutter and an adjustment mechanism (page 3 with physical shutter). However, Silvester does not explicitly teach controlling relative orientations of the shutter. This would have been obvious. For example, see Carlson (paragraph 120, with shutter having various orientations to provide excellent flexibility)
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Silvester with Carlson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to provide flexibility (paragraph 120).
As per claim 4, Silvester does not explicitly teach wherein the adjustment means is optical. However, this would have been obvious. Silvester already teaches a shutter which can control the lens. However, for a more explicit teaching on an optical switch, see Carlson (abstract and throughout).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Silvester with Carlson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to improve switching (paragraph 5 in Carlson).
As per claim 5, the Silvester combination teaches wherein the adjustment means comprises a barrier having a selectable opacity level and comprising at least one of an electrochromatic material, a photochromatic material, a thermochromic material, suspended particles, polymer-dispersed liquid crystals or metal blinds and (ii) a signal source for setting the opacity level of the barrier (Carlson paragraphs 16-17 with selectable opacity; see paragraph 8, 11 for metal and throughout; see also paragraph 55 with thermochromatic compound; see paragraphs 16-17 for signal source for setting opacity level of barrier).
Claim 15 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claims 3 above. Further see Silvester paragraph 15 shutter opening and closing in front of camera.
Claim 16 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 5 above.
Claim(s) 8, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silvester as applied above, in view of Levitov US Patent Application Publication 2017/0329946 (Levitov).
As per claim 8, Silvester does not explicitly teach comprising a presence-detection sensor including at least one of an infrared sensor, a heat sensor, a proximity sensor, a pressure sensor, an acoustic sensor, an RF sensor or a motion sensor for detecting the presence of a user. However, utilizing such sensors for detecting a presence of a user is well known in the art. For example, see Levitov (paragraph 18 with detection motion and activiating an image capturing device when motion is detected).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Silvester with Levitov. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to provide a biometric identification system that is less resource-intensive.
As per claim 13, Silvester teaches causing the adjustment means to conceal the camera from the user, but does not explicitly performing this action following a predetermined number of unsuccessful authentication attempts. However, disabling a camera following unsuccessful authentication would have been obvious. For example, see Levitov (claim 13 with deactivating image capturing device after person in image is determined not to be an authorized user).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Silvester with Levitov. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to provide a biometric identification system that is less resource-intensive.
Claim 19 is rejected using the same basis of arguments used to reject claim 8 above.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silvester as applied above, in view of Enmoto et al. US Patent Application Publication 2015/0207971 (Enmoto).
As per claim 11, Silvester does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is further configured to: determine whether a predetermined time interval has expired and upon determining that the predetermined time interval has expired, cause the adjustment means to conceal the camera from the user. However, this would have been obvious. Silvester already teaches opening the shutter for facial recognition. Thus, it would have been obvious, if not inherent, that the shutter closes after a certain time, as it must open for the next facial recognition. However, for a more explicit teaching on concealing a camera after a predetermined amount of time, see Enomoto (paragraph 68 with closing a camera shutter when certain amount of time has passed).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Silvester with Enomoto. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to increase security (paragraph 7).
As per claim 12, Silvester does not explicitly teach upon determining authentication of the user, cause the adjustment means to conceal the camera from the user. However, this would have been obvious. For example, see Enomoto (paragraph 189-191 wherein shutter is closed after determining user is authenticated;
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Silvester with Enomoto. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such an addition to increase security (paragraph 7).
Conclusion
/JASON K GEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495