DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “design range of rotation” of claim 1, the hexagonal tiles with “non-hexagonal outer edges” of claim 3, “monolithic receiver section”, “regions” of claim 11 (please see 112b below), and safety latch claim 12 (see 112b below), must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, applicant claims “each center tile has a design range of rotation”. The record is not clear what the “range of rotation” is, let alone how “design” modifies the “range of rotation”. Further, since the side tiles and the center tiles are identical in structure, and the record is not clear why only the center tiles have a range of rotation. Additionally, a range of rotation is created when the linking bar and the through holes are circular.
Regarding claim 3, applicant requires all tile segments are hexagonal, then claims the “left and right tile segments have non-hexagonal outer edges”. The disclosure does not clearly show the use of all tile segments are hexagonal but with “non-hexagonal outer edges”, or the combination of hexagonal center tiles with left/right tiles having “non hexagonal outer edges”.
Regarding claim 10, applicant claims the linking bars have “substantially rectangular cross section”, which prevents the tiles from having the “range of rotation” claimed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, applicant claims “regions” which is not utilized in the specification or drawing. Examiner assumes this means a portion that resembles the tiles. Applicant claims “monolithic receiver section” but does not utilize this term in the specification or drawings. Examiner assumes applicant intends the disclosed “receiver side 500” of figure 8. If examiner’s assumptions are correct, the claim language should be identical to the disclosed parts in the specification and drawings. Applicant claims “one of the regions having the appearance of a center tile segment having a transverse through hole”. The claim is not clear if the region is required to look like there is a through hole, or if there is actually a through hole.
Examiner assumes applicant means to claim the receiver side 500 front side has four regions which have the same size and shape of the tiles, one region in line with the left tile segments, one region in line with the right tile segments, and two regions in line with the center tile segments; one center tile region having a through hole to receive a transverse linking bar; the other center tile region having a receiver aperture 504.
Applicant claims a “monolithic spring lock section” which is not disclosed, but examiner assumes applicant intends “spring lock side” 600. Examiner also assumes that applicant intends to claim three regions which have the same size and shape of the tiles.
Regarding claim 12, applicant claims the term “safety latch”, but discloses the term “clasp safety arm” 700 in figure 8. Examiner assumes that applicant intends this term. If examiner’s assumptions are correct, the claim language should be identical to the disclosed parts in the specification and drawings.
Dependent claims inherit the same issues from parent claims and do not resolve any indefinite issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by 2253659 Swarovski.
Regarding claim 1, Swarovski discloses a necklace (“elements and tie means, tapes” column 1 line 13) comprising:
a plurality of tile segments 2 arranged lengthwise along a length of the necklace as a plurality of left tile segments, a plurality of center tile segments, and a plurality of right tile segments in a spaced apart but meshed tiled configuration (as shown in figure 3) wherein, in a width direction, a maximum width of the necklace is less than a combined width of a left tile segment, a right tile segment, and a center tile segment, and in the length direction as viewed normal to a front side of the tile segments, the arrangement of tile segments is such that each left tile segment of the plurality of left tile segments is positioned along the necklace with a paired right tile segment of the plurality of right tile segments, a respective first one of the center tile segments is interposed between upper portions of each pair of left and right tile segments (as shown in figure 3), and a respective second one of the center tile segments is interposed between lower portions of each pair of left and right tile segments, such that each center tile segment is interposed between two adjacent pairs of left and right tile segments; and
a plurality of transverse linking bars 3, wherein two respective transverse linking bars of the plurality of transverse linking bars connect each left tile segment to its paired right tile segment, one transverse linking bar of the two respective transverse linking bars passes through a transverse through hole in a first given one of the center tile segments interposed between upper portions of the paired left and right tile segments, the other transverse linking bar of the two respective transverse linking bars passes through a transverse through hole in a second given one of the center tile segments, and the through holes in the center tile segments are larger in cross section than a cross section of the linking bars such that, in at least a lengthwise direction along a length of the necklace, each center tile segment has a design range of rotation, as viewed normal to a front of the tile segments, with respect to adjacent left and right tile segments.
Regarding claim 4, Swarovski discloses the tile segments are circular (figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, Swarovski discloses the linking bars have a circular cross section (figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-6, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swarovski.
Regarding claims 2-3, 5, Swarovski discloses the necklace (strand shown in figure 3 with a “tie means”) of claim 1, wherein the tiles are circular to emulate a pearl (“imitation of pearl webbing” column 2 line 31), or are square/rectangular (figure 6) which “differs only in shape” to form a pyramid (page 2 column 1 line 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the shape of the tiles to hexagons, octagons, squares, or rectangles, as it is old and well known to change the shape of the tiles within Swarovski as is old and well known in the art. A change of shape is considered a matter of choice. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (b). Examiner notes that this is done for the purpose of aesthetics. See MPEP 2144.04 (I).
Regarding claim 6, Swarovski discloses the necklace of claim 1, wherein the center tile segments have a central cavity 1, the through holes allow the linking bars 3 adjacent the central cavity, but are not shown to go directly through the central cavity 1. Swarovski does disclose “further saving in mass and weight is obtained by limitation of the wall strengthening” (column 2 line 43) creating walls 4, is based on the material used in Swarovski (plastic). Should another material be used, the “wall strengthening” walls 4 are not required, because the material is sufficiently strong to retain the linking bars 3 and still save weight and mass.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to remove the “wall strengthening” walls 4 and have a larger cavity 1 in the interior of Swarovski, in order to save the “mass and weight” as desired by Swarovski, should the material be capable of holding the linking bars 3 in a sufficiently strong manner. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(a). Examiner contends that the change of size of the cavity 1 of Swarovski to be shown in the manner of annotated figure 1 would still allow the device to function as desired. This change in size of the cavity 1 performs the function of “saving in mass and weight” as disclosed.
Regarding claims 8-10, Swarovski discloses the use of a circular linking bar 3 through circular holes (figure 1). The use of differently shaped linking bars and holes limits the “design range of rotation” to require no rotation (oblong linking bar in an oblong hole, or rectangular linking bar in rectangular hole, do not allow rotation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the shape of the linking bar 3 of Swarovski to be a different shape with a corresponding shaped through hole in order to prevent rotation of the tiles with respect to each other. A change of shape is considered a matter of choice. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (b). This is done for the obvious purpose of preventing rotation with respect to adjacent tiles.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swarovski as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of 1085103 Bonner.
Regarding claim 1, Swarovski discloses the necklace of claim 1, but does not provide any clear description of the “tie means” required by Swarovski.
Bonner discloses a bracelet with a single row of square tiles and a clasp mechanism having:
a monolithic receiver section (assumed to be “receiver side”, Bonner part c) having a front side (figure 1) with respective regions having the appearance of two center tile segments (the receiver left side of figure 4 and figure 1 looks like the appearance of two center tile segments), one of the regions having the appearance of a center tile segment (both regions of Bonner are center tile regions) having a transverse through hole to receive a transverse linking bar (as annotated in figure 4), the other of the regions having the appearance of a center tile segment having a receiver aperture (annotated in figure 4) in the end thereof; and
a monolithic spring lock section (assumed to be section 600) having a spring lock d having first and second flat arms and adapted to engage with the receiver aperture in a locking configuration (figure 1), and a front side (figure 1) with respective regions having the appearance of one center tile segment, fixedly connected to the first flat arm at an end interposed, and at the other end, having a transverse through hole (annotated in figure 4) to receive a transverse linking bar (as annotated), the region having the appearance of a center tile segment fixedly connected to the second flat arm, such that the spring lock d is disengageable from the receiver aperture by pressing the two regions (as is old and well known in the art taught by Bonner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the clasp of Bonner in place of the “tie means” required by but unshown by Swarovski, as this would be an obvious and well known “tie means” to hold the necklace of Swarovski together. Examiner contends that these are known equivalents and are used for the same purpose within the ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144 (I): “rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art…it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art”.
Examiner further contends that since Bonner clearly shows that the receiver and lock sides of the clasp should look like the tiles used in the bracelet, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to also include the left/right side regions to the receiver and lock sides of the clasp of Bonner for aesthetic continuity of the device of Swarovski. Examiner contends that having left/right side regions to emulate the rest of the strand of Swarovski is for aesthetic purposes and does not alter the form, function, or use, of the clasp of Bonner on the necklace of Swarovski.
Regarding claim 12, Swarovski necklace of claim 1 with the Bonner clasp of claim 11, the Bonner clasp of claim 11 further has a safety latch g on an underside (figure 5) that, when latched, holds the receiver section to the spring lock section.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see 892.
/EMILY M MORGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677