This communication is in response to the application filed on 05/27/2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 11, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by EP. 3528155. To LU et al. (hereinafter LU).
Regarding claim 1, LU discloses a login verification method for an application program (¶0007, “…logging in to the first application when a comparison result indicates that the collected biological feature matches the biological feature bound to the first application…”),
the method comprising: collecting a first biological feature of a first type of biological feature to obtain a first collection result (¶0007, “… receiving a touch operation of an operation body on an icon of a first application; collecting a biological feature of a user in response to the touch operation; comparing the collected biological feature with a biological feature bound to the first application; and logging in to the first application when a comparison result indicates that the collected biological feature matches the biological feature bound to the first application…”), (¶0012, “… obtaining a first fingerprint of a first finger of a user that touches an icon of a first application by using a touchscreen; determining whether the first fingerprint matches a first fingerprint template bound to a first user account of the first application; if the first fingerprint matches the first fingerprint template, logging in to the first application by using the first user account…”);
displaying an application interface in a login state based on the first collection result including the first biological feature being associated with a first account, the application program being logged in based on the first account in the login state (¶0012, “an authentication method, including: obtaining a first fingerprint of a first finger of a user that touches an icon of a first application by using a touchscreen; determining whether the first fingerprint matches a first fingerprint template bound to a first user account of the first application; if the first fingerprint matches the first fingerprint template, logging in to the first application by using the first user account, so that the first application loads a first resource directory corresponding to the first user account; obtaining a second fingerprint of a second finger of the user that touches the icon of the first application by using the touchscreen; determining whether the second fingerprint matches a second fingerprint template bound to a second user account of the first application; and if the first fingerprint matches the second fingerprint template, logging in to the first application by using the second user account, so that the first application loads a second resource directory corresponding to the second user account, where a fingerprint sensor is integrated into the touchscreen or near the touchscreen.”);
collecting a second biological feature of a second type of biological feature to obtain a second collection result, the second type of biological feature being different from the first type of biological feature (¶0012, “… obtaining a second fingerprint of a second finger of the user that touches the icon of the first application by using the touchscreen; determining whether the second fingerprint matches a second fingerprint template bound to a second user account of the first application; and if the first fingerprint matches the second fingerprint template, logging in to the first application by using the second user account, so that the first application loads a second resource directory corresponding to the second user account, where a fingerprint sensor is integrated into the touchscreen or near the touchscreen…”, wherein the fingerprint of a second finger of the user id different from the first fingerprint of the first finger), (¶0020, “A fifth aspect of this application provides an electronic device, including: an image sensor, configured to capture a facial image of a user; a touchscreen, configured to display an image, and interact with an operation body; and a processor, configured to receive a touch operation of the operation body on an icon of a first application; control, in response to the touch operation, the image sensor to capture the facial image of the user; compare the captured facial image with a facial image bound to the first application; and log in to the first application when a comparison result indicates that the captured facial image matches the facial image bound to the first application.”, where the facial image is also different from the first and second fingerprints); and
controlling, by processing circuitry of a first electronic device, the login state of the application interface based on the second collection result (¶0020, “… an image sensor, configured to capture a facial image of a user; a touchscreen, configured to display an image, and interact with an operation body; and a processor, configured to receive a touch operation of the operation body on an icon of a first application; control, in response to the touch operation, the image sensor to capture the facial image of the user; compare the captured facial image with a facial image bound to the first application; and log in to the first application when a comparison result indicates that the captured facial image matches the facial image bound to the first application.”). see also ¶0023.
Regarding claim 2, LU discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the controlling the login state comprises: based on the second collection result including the second biological feature being associated with the first account, maintaining the application interface in the login state (¶0018, “the collecting a biological feature of a user in response to the touch operation includes: controlling, in response to the touch operation, an image capture unit to capture a facial image of the user.”), (¶0053, “when the user performs the touch operation on the icon of the first application, the biological feature of the user is directly collected without displaying an authentication screen, the collected biological feature is compared with the biological feature bound to the first application, and the first application is logged in to when the comparison result indicates that the collected biological feature matches the biological feature bound to the first application. Based on the foregoing process, authentication can be implemented through only one interaction between the user and the electronic device, so that user operations are simplified.”), (¶0055, “…When operating a same application icon by using fingers with different fingerprints, a user may log in to the application by simultaneously using different user accounts.”).
Regarding claim 3, LU discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the controlling the login state comprises: based on the second collection result including the second biological feature not being associated with the first account, switching the application interface from the login state to a non- login state in which the application program is not logged in based on the first account (¶0051-¶0052, “If the comparison result indicates that the collected biological feature does not match the biological feature bound to the first application, prompt information may be output, to prompt the user that authentication fails. For example, the biological feature is a fingerprint. The electronic device displays the icon of the first application by using the touchscreen. After the user performs the touch operation on the icon of the first application by using the finger, the electronic device collects, by using the fingerprint sensor integrated into the touchscreen, the fingerprint of the finger of the user that touches the icon of the first application, compares the collected fingerprint with a fingerprint bound to the first application, and logs in to the first application if the collected fingerprint matches the fingerprint bound to the first application, or does not log in to the first application if the collected fingerprint does not match the fingerprint bound to the first application”), (¶0129, “the first application further includes a user account that is not bound to any biological feature, and the processing module 93 may be further configured to: when the comparison result indicates that the collected biological feature does not match any biological feature bound to the first application, determine a second user account that meets a preset condition and that is not bound to any biological feature; and log in to the first application based on the second user account, so that the first application loads information stored in a second resource directory corresponding to the second user account.”). see also ¶0154.
Regarding claim 4, LU discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the switching the application interface comprises: displaying prompt information based on the second collection result including the second biological feature not being bound to the first account, the prompt information indicating that verification is required based on the first biological feature of the first type (¶0086, “If a comparison result indicates that the collected biological feature does not match the biological feature bound to the first user account, the first application is logged in to based on a second user account of the foregoing two user accounts, so that the first application loads information stored in a second resource directory corresponding to the second user account. The second user account is a user account of the foregoing two user accounts that is not bound to any biological feature.”), (¶0154, “…Further, the first application further includes a user account that is not bound to any biological feature, and the processor 182 is further configured to: when the comparison result indicates that the collected biological feature does not match any biological feature bound to the first application, determine a second user account that meets a preset condition and that is not bound to any biological feature (authentication/verification process); and log in to the first application based on the second user account, so that the first application loads information stored in a second resource directory corresponding to the second user account.”);
collecting a third biological feature of the first type to obtain a third collection result (¶0088, “… The first application is corresponding to three user accounts: a first user account, a second user account, and a third user account. The first user account is bound to a fingerprint of a right hand index finger of a user, the second user account is bound to a fingerprint of a right hand middle finger of the user, and the third user account is bound to a fingerprint of a right hand ring finger of the user.”), (¶0095, “As shown in FIG. 5e, FIG. 5e is a diagram of an example in which a user interacts with an electronic device by using a left hand index finger. When the user touches the icon of the first application by using the left hand index finger, the electronic device collects a fingerprint of the left hand index finger by using a fingerprint sensor integrated into the touchscreen, compares the collected fingerprint with the foregoing three fingerprints, and when a comparison result indicates that the collected fingerprint matches the fingerprint bound to the second user account, logs in to the first application by using the second user account…”); and
when the third collection result does not include the first biological feature, switching the application interface from the login state to the non-login state (¶0096, “When the user touches the icon of the first application by using the right hand middle finger, the electronic device collects a fingerprint of the right hand middle finger by using a fingerprint sensor integrated into the touchscreen, compares the collected fingerprint with the foregoing three fingerprints, and when a comparison result indicates that the collected fingerprint neither matches the fingerprint bound to the first user account nor matches the fingerprint bound to the second user account, logs in to the first application by using the third user account…”), (¶0051-¶0052, “If the comparison result indicates that the collected biological feature does not match the biological feature bound to the first application, prompt information may be output, to prompt the user that authentication fails…. compares the collected fingerprint with a fingerprint bound to the first application, and logs in to the first application if the collected fingerprint matches the fingerprint bound to the first application, or does not log in to the first application if the collected fingerprint does not match the fingerprint bound to the first application.”), (¶0115, “…When the comparison result indicates that the collected fingerprint does not match the pre-stored fingerprint, prompt information is output, to prompt the user that authentication fails.”, wherein the prompt information of failure authentication is interpreted as switching login state to the non-login state).
Regarding claim 5, LU discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the controlling the login state comprises: when the third collection result includes the first biological feature, maintaining the application interface in the login state (¶0127, “…the collected biological feature is compared with the biological feature bound to the first application, and the first application is logged in to when a comparison result indicates that the collected biological feature matches the biological feature bound to the first application. Based on the foregoing process, authentication can be implemented through only one interaction between the user and the electronic device, so that user operations are simplified.”), (¶0082, “… the first application is logged in to based on a third user account bound to the second biological feature, so that the first application loads information stored in a third resource directory corresponding to the third user account. In this case, the first application is logged in to by simultaneously using the first user account and the third user account.”, wherein logging in to the first application using the user first and third account simultaneously is interpreted as maintaining the login state to 6the application. The user does not need to sign out of the application and login again to the same application using a different account that belongs to him/her).
Regarding claim 11, LU discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the controlling the login state of the application interface comprises: when the second collection result including the second biological feature is not associated with the first account, switching the application interface from the login state to a non-login state in which the application program is not logged in based on the first account (¶0051-¶0052, “If the comparison result indicates that the collected biological feature does not match the biological feature bound to the first application, prompt information may be output, to prompt the user that authentication fails. For example, the biological feature is a fingerprint. The electronic device displays the icon of the first application by using the touchscreen. After the user performs the touch operation on the icon of the first application by using the finger, the electronic device collects, by using the fingerprint sensor integrated into the touchscreen, the fingerprint of the finger of the user that touches the icon of the first application, compares the collected fingerprint with a fingerprint bound to the first application, and logs in to the first application if the collected fingerprint matches the fingerprint bound to the first application, or does not log in to the first application if the collected fingerprint does not match the fingerprint bound to the first application”), (¶0129, “the first application further includes a user account that is not bound to any biological feature, and the processing module 93 may be further configured to: when the comparison result indicates that the collected biological feature does not match any biological feature bound to the first application, determine a second user account that meets a preset condition and that is not bound to any biological feature; and log in to the first application based on the second user account, so that the first application loads information stored in a second resource directory corresponding to the second user account.”). see also ¶0154.
Regarding claim 16, LU discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: collecting the first biological feature and the second biological feature for a first user; and binding the first biological feature and the second biological feature to the first account, wherein the first account is associated with the first user (¶0012, “A second aspect of this application provides an authentication method, including: obtaining a first fingerprint of a first finger of a user that touches an icon of a first application by using a touchscreen; determining whether the first fingerprint matches a first fingerprint template bound to a first user account of the first application; if the first fingerprint matches the first fingerprint template, logging in to the first application by using the first user account, so that the first application loads a first resource directory corresponding to the first user account; obtaining a second fingerprint of a second finger of the user that touches the icon of the first application by using the touchscreen; determining whether the second fingerprint matches a second fingerprint template bound to a second user account of the first application; and if the first fingerprint matches the second fingerprint template, logging in to the first application by using the second user account, so that the first application loads a second resource directory corresponding to the second user account, where a fingerprint sensor is integrated into the touchscreen or near the touchscreen.”), (¶0084, “if the first application includes only two user accounts, and the first application is bound to only one biological feature, and specifically, the biological feature is bound to the first user account of the two user accounts, the authentication method provided in this embodiment of this application may be: receiving a touch operation of an operation body on an icon of a first application, where the operation body may be a finger of a user; collecting a biological feature of the user in response to the touch operation, where when the user performs the touch operation on the icon of the first application by using the finger, a fingerprint of the finger that performs the touch operation on the icon of the first application is collected at a touch location on a touchscreen; comparing the collected biological feature with a biological feature bound to a first user account; and if a comparison result indicates that the collected biological feature matches the biological feature bound to the first user account, logging in to the first application based on the first user account, so that the first application loads information stored in a first resource directory corresponding to the first user account.”). see ¶0087, and ¶0089.
Regarding claim 18, LU discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the application interface is configured to authenticate a user to perform a function (¶0027, “when a user performs a touch operation on an application, an electronic device directly collects a biological feature of the user without displaying an unlock screen, compares the collected biological feature with a biological feature bound to the application that is touched by the user, and when a comparison result indicates that the collected biological feature matches the biological feature bound to the application that is touched by the user, it indicates that authentication succeeds, and the application is directly logged in to. To be specific, according to the authentication method provided in the embodiments of this application, an encrypted application can be logged in to through only one interaction between the user and the electronic device, so that user operations are simplified.”). see also ¶0084.
Regarding claim 19, LU discloses a login verification apparatus for an application program (¶0150, “… a touch detection apparatus and a touch controller.”), (¶0007, “…logging in to the first application when a comparison result indicates that the collected biological feature matches the biological feature bound to the first application…”),
the apparatus comprising:
processing circuitry configured to:
collect a first biological feature of a first type of biological feature to obtain a first collection result (¶0007, “… receiving a touch operation of an operation body on an icon of a first application; collecting a biological feature of a user in response to the touch operation; comparing the collected biological feature with a biological feature bound to the first application; and logging in to the first application when a comparison result indicates that the collected biological feature matches the biological feature bound to the first application…”), (¶0012, “… obtaining a first fingerprint of a first finger of a user that touches an icon of a first application by using a touchscreen; determining whether the first fingerprint matches a first fingerprint template bound to a first user account of the first application; if the first fingerprint matches the first fingerprint template, logging in to the first application by using the first user account…”);
display an application interface in a login state based on the first collection result including the first biological feature being associated with a first account, the application program being logged in based on the first account in the login state (¶0012, “an authentication method, including: obtaining a first fingerprint of a first finger of a user that touches an icon of a first application by using a touchscreen; determining whether the first fingerprint matches a first fingerprint template bound to a first user account of the first application; if the first fingerprint matches the first fingerprint template, logging in to the first application by using the first user account, so that the first application loads a first resource directory corresponding to the first user account; obtaining a second fingerprint of a second finger of the user that touches the icon of the first application by using the touchscreen; determining whether the second fingerprint matches a second fingerprint template bound to a second user account of the first application; and if the first fingerprint matches the second fingerprint template, logging in to the first application by using the second user account, so that the first application loads a second resource directory corresponding to the second user account, where a fingerprint sensor is integrated into the touchscreen or near the touchscreen.”);
collect a second biological feature of a second type of biological feature to obtain a second collection result, the second type of biological feature being different from the first type of biological feature (¶0012, “… obtaining a second fingerprint of a second finger of the user that touches the icon of the first application by using the touchscreen; determining whether the second fingerprint matches a second fingerprint template bound to a second user account of the first application; and if the first fingerprint matches the second fingerprint template, logging in to the first application by using the second user account, so that the first application loads a second resource directory corresponding to the second user account, where a fingerprint sensor is integrated into the touchscreen or near the touchscreen…”, wherein the fingerprint of a second finger of the user id different from the first fingerprint of the first finger), (¶0020, “A fifth aspect of this application provides an electronic device, including: an image sensor, configured to capture a facial image of a user; a touchscreen, configured to display an image, and interact with an operation body; and a processor, configured to receive a touch operation of the operation body on an icon of a first application; control, in response to the touch operation, the image sensor to capture the facial image of the user; compare the captured facial image with a facial image bound to the first application; and log in to the first application when a comparison result indicates that the captured facial image matches the facial image bound to the first application.”, where the facial image is also different from the first and second fingerprints); and
control the login state of the application interface based on the second collection result(¶0020, “… an image sensor, configured to capture a facial image of a user; a touchscreen, configured to display an image, and interact with an operation body; and a processor, configured to receive a touch operation of the operation body on an icon of a first application; control, in response to the touch operation, the image sensor to capture the facial image of the user; compare the captured facial image with a facial image bound to the first application; and log in to the first application when a comparison result indicates that the captured facial image matches the facial image bound to the first application.”). see also ¶0023.
Regarding claim 20, LU discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processor (¶0147, “The memory 120 may be configured to store a software program and a module. The processor 180 runs the software program and the module stored in the memory 120, to execute all types of function applications and data processing of the mobile phone 100…the memory 120 may include a high-speed random access memory, and may further include a non-volatile memory, for example, at least one magnetic disk storage component, a flash memory component, or another volatile solid-state storage component.”), cause the processor to perform:
collecting a first biological feature of a first type of biological feature to obtain a first collection result (¶0007, “… receiving a touch operation of an operation body on an icon of a first application; collecting a biological feature of a user in response to the touch operation; comparing the collected biological feature with a biological feature bound to the first application; and logging in to the first application when a comparison result indicates that the collected biological feature matches the biological feature bound to the first application…”), (¶0012, “… obtaining a first fingerprint of a first finger of a user that touches an icon of a first application by using a touchscreen; determining whether the first fingerprint matches a first fingerprint template bound to a first user account of the first application; if the first fingerprint matches the first fingerprint template, logging in to the first application by using the first user account…”);
displaying an application interface in a login state based on the first collection result including the first biological feature being associated with a first account, an application program being logged in based on the first account in the login state (¶0012, “an authentication method, including: obtaining a first fingerprint of a first finger of a user that touches an icon of a first application by using a touchscreen; determining whether the first fingerprint matches a first fingerprint template bound to a first user account of the first application; if the first fingerprint matches the first fingerprint template, logging in to the first application by using the first user account, so that the first application loads a first resource directory corresponding to the first user account; obtaining a second fingerprint of a second finger of the user that touches the icon of the first application by using the touchscreen; determining whether the second fingerprint matches a second fingerprint template bound to a second user account of the first application; and if the first fingerprint matches the second fingerprint template, logging in to the first application by using the second user account, so that the first application loads a second resource directory corresponding to the second user account, where a fingerprint sensor is integrated into the touchscreen or near the touchscreen.”);
collecting a second biological feature of a second type of biological feature to obtain a second collection result, the second type of biological feature being different from the first type of biological feature (¶0012, “… obtaining a second fingerprint of a second finger of the user that touches the icon of the first application by using the touchscreen; determining whether the second fingerprint matches a second fingerprint template bound to a second user account of the first application; and if the first fingerprint matches the second fingerprint template, logging in to the first application by using the second user account, so that the first application loads a second resource directory corresponding to the second user account, where a fingerprint sensor is integrated into the touchscreen or near the touchscreen…”, wherein the fingerprint of a second finger of the user id different from the first fingerprint of the first finger), (¶0020, “A fifth aspect of this application provides an electronic device, including: an image sensor, configured to capture a facial image of a user; a touchscreen, configured to display an image, and interact with an operation body; and a processor, configured to receive a touch operation of the operation body on an icon of a first application; control, in response to the touch operation, the image sensor to capture the facial image of the user; compare the captured facial image with a facial image bound to the first application; and log in to the first application when a comparison result indicates that the captured facial image matches the facial image bound to the first application.”, where the facial image is also different from the first and second fingerprints); and
controlling the login state of the application interface based on the second collection result (¶0020, “… an image sensor, configured to capture a facial image of a user; a touchscreen, configured to display an image, and interact with an operation body; and a processor, configured to receive a touch operation of the operation body on an icon of a first application; control, in response to the touch operation, the image sensor to capture the facial image of the user; compare the captured facial image with a facial image bound to the first application; and log in to the first application when a comparison result indicates that the captured facial image matches the facial image bound to the first application.”). see also ¶0023;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3528155 to LU et al. (hereinafter LU) in view of CN 111866557 to ZHANG, Li-shuai (hereinafter ZHANG) and further in view of CN106161397 to LIU, Xin-long (hereinafter LIU).
NB: Both ZHANG and LIU references were provided by the applicant in the IDS of 06/10/2025.
Regarding claim 6, LU discloses the method according to claim 1.
However, LU does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
further comprising: displaying a graphic code by the processing circuitry of the first electronic device; receiving configuration information from a second electronic device after the second electronic device scans the graphic code; and performing, by the processing circuitry of the first electronic device, based on the configuration information, at least one of: adjusting a frequency at which the second type of biological feature is collected; displaying a time interval between a current time and a next time for collecting the second type of biological feature; or restoring the frequency at which the second type of biological feature is collected to a default frequency.
ZHANG discloses displaying a graphic code by the processing circuitry of the first electronic device (page 3, third paragraph, “The solution of the embodiment of the invention is executed, displaying the graphic code by the display unit,…”);
receiving configuration information from a second electronic device after the second electronic device scans the graphic code (page 3, third paragraph, “receiving the configuration parameter input from the terminal device based on the configuration interface, performing configuration operation according to the configuration parameter. executing the method of the invention, the terminal device by scanning the graphical code displayed on the large screen display device, the configuration interface of the display parameter on the terminal device, the user configuration interface on the parameter configuration, large screen display device receives the configuration parameter, and configuring operation according to the configuration parameter…”); and
performing, by the processing circuitry of the first electronic device, based on the configuration information, at least one of: adjusting a frequency at which the second type of biological feature is collected; displaying a time interval between a current time and a next time for collecting the second type of biological feature; or restoring the frequency at which the second type of biological feature is collected to a default frequency.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of LU to include receiving configuration information from a second electronic device after the second electronic device scans the graphic code as disclosed by ZHANG and be motivated in doing so in order to configure the operation of the large screen display device according to the configuration parameter-ZHANG abstract in parts.
However, the combination of LU and ZHANG does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
performing, by the processing circuitry of the first electronic device, based on the configuration information, at least one of: adjusting a frequency at which the second type of biological feature is collected; displaying a time interval between a current time and a next time for collecting the second type of biological feature; or restoring the frequency at which the second type of biological feature is collected to a default frequency (page 5, 2nd paragraph, “The rights management module 14 is used after the user login is successful, every a first preset time to prompt the user to input again the biological characteristic, and judging whether receiving the biological characteristic of the user input within a second predetermined time, if not, forbidding the user to use the particular application program. logging on each time the predetermined time is less than time in the usage rights, in one embodiment, the first predetermined time is 10 minutes and said second predetermined time is 10 seconds.”).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of LU and ZHANG to include ; displaying a time interval between a current time and a next time for collecting the second type of biological feature as disclosed by LIU and be motivated in doing so in order to prevent other unauthorized users, such as children continue to use the particular application program when the legal user forgets to log out of the program-LIU, page 5, 3rd paragraph in parts.
Regarding claim 8, LU in view of ZHANG and further in view of LIU discloses the method according to claim 6.
ZHANG further discloses wherein the graphic code includes an identifier of the first electronic device, and causes the second electronic device to: display a setting interface corresponding to the first electronic device based on the identifier (page 5, 4th to 5th paragraphs, S201, “S201, displaying the graphic code by the display unit. Wherein, the graphic code is two-dimensional code or bar code. In the embodiment of the invention, the large screen display device can be a television, the remote control operation performed by the user on the remote controller of the television, the television receives the key remote control operation, obtaining the IP address and port number of the television. It can be understood that the IP address is a mark number when the computer communicates in the network, the IP address can uniquely identify a computer, through the IP address can be connected to the appointed computer, but if it wants to access a certain application program in the target computer, it also needs to specify the port number, In the computer, different application programs are distinguished by port numbers. after obtaining the IP address and port number of the television, entering into the engineering mode of the television, generating a graphic code, and displaying the graphic code by the display unit”), the setting interface including a sensitivity setting control (page 12, last paragraph and page 13, 1st paragraph, “Specifically, the input unit 1230 may include a touch sensitive surface 1231 (for example: a touch screen, a touch pad or a touch frame). touch sensitive surface 1231, also referred to as a touch display screen or touch pad, can collect the user on or near the touch operation (such as user using a finger, Any suitable object or accessory such as a stylus is on the touch sensitive surface 1231 or in the vicinity of the touch sensitive surface 1231), and drives the corresponding connecting device according to a pre-set program. Optionally, the touch sensitive surface 1231 may include a touch detection device and a touch controller two parts. wherein the touch detection device detects the touch orientation of the user, and detects the signal caused by the touch operation; the signal is transmitted to the touch controller; the touch controller receives the touch information from the touch detection device, and converts it into contact coordinate, then to the processor 1290, and can receive the command sent by the processor 1290 and executed. In addition, the touch sensitive surface 1231 may be implemented in a variety of types, such as resistance type, capacitance type, infrared ray, and surface acoustic wave”, wherein a touch detection device paired with a touch controller provide sensitivity setting control); and display a sensitivity setting interface based on a trigger operation for the sensitivity setting control (page 13, 2nd paragraph, “The display unit 1240 may be used to display information input by the user or information provided to the user and various graphical user interfaces of the terminal device, and the graphical user interface may be composed of a graphic, text, icon, video, and any combination thereof. The display unit 1240 may include a display panel 1241, and may optionally be a liquid crystal display (LCD). OLED (Organic Light-Emitting Diode, organic light emitting diode) and so on to configure the display panel 1241. Further, the touch sensitive surface 1231 can cover the display panel 1241, when the touch sensitive surface 1231 detects the touch operation on or near it, transmitting to the processor 1290 to determine the type of the touch event.”),
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of LU, ZHANG, and LIU to include wherein the graphic code includes an identifier of the first electronic device as disclosed by ZHANG and be motivated in doing so in order to improve security, asset tracking, and device management by linking physical items directly to digital profile. It also leads to fast scanning and instant verification.
and
LIU further discloses the sensitivity setting interface including at least one of: a time interval control element that is configured to adjust the frequency at which the first electronic device collects the second type of biological feature (page 5, 2nd -3rd paragraphs, “The rights management module 14 is used after the user login is successful, every a first preset time to prompt the user to input again the biological characteristic, and judging whether receiving the biological characteristic of the user input within a second predetermined time, if not, forbidding the user to use the particular application program. logging on each time the predetermined time is less than time in the usage rights, in one embodiment, the first predetermined time is 10 minutes and said second predetermined time is 10 seconds…”);
a visualization control element that is configured to cause the time interval between the current time and the next time for collecting the second type of biological feature to be displayed on the first electronic device; and a default configuration restoring control element that is configured to restore the frequency for collecting the second type of biological feature to the default frequency.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of LU, ZHANG, and LIU to include wherein the graphic code includes a time interval control element that is configured to adjust the frequency at which the first electronic device collects the second type of biological feature as disclosed by ZHANG and be motivated in doing so in order to authenticate the user through each interval so as to avoid illegal usage of the application program-ZHANG page 5, 2nd -3rd paragraphs in parts.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3528155 to LU et al. (hereinafter LU) in view of USPGPub. NO. 20210182864 to ZHOU; Liang (hereinafter ZHOU) and further in view of USPGPub. No. 20220019325 to XU; Jie (hereinafter XU).
Regarding claim 9, LU discloses the method according to claim 1.
However, LU does not explicitly disclose the following limitations:
further comprising: obtaining a first distance between a first user corresponding to the first biological feature and the first electronic device, and a second distance between a second user corresponding to the second biological feature and the first electronic device; and collecting a fourth biological feature of the second type when a difference between the second distance and the first distance exceeds a difference threshold.
ZHOU discloses obtaining a first distance between a first user corresponding to the first biological feature and the first electronic device, and a second distance between a second user corresponding to the second biological feature and the first electronic device; and collecting a fourth biological feature of the second type (¶0009, “the acquiring biometric feature information of the settlement user comprises: triggering an image acquisition apparatus to perform image acquisition on a settlement venue; obtaining, through the image acquisition apparatus, a settlement operation image of the settlement venue, wherein the settlement operation image comprises a plurality of users; detecting respective distances from the plurality of users to the computer device; and determining one of the plurality of users with a shortest distance to the computer device as the settlement user; and extracting the biometric feature information of the settlement user from the settlement operation image.”, wherein any of the plurality of users could be labeled first or second user with their respective distances to the computer device , and any of the biometric features mentioned in ¶0031 may be labeled the fourth biometric feature), see also ¶0035.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of LU to include obtaining respective distances from the plurality of users to the computer device and extracting the biometric feature information as disclosed by ZHOU and be motivated in doing so in order to determine a user closest (with the shortest distance) to the self-service checkout device as the settlement user according to the distances between the users and the self-service checkout device-ZHOU ¶0035 in parts.
However, LU in view of ZHOU does not explicitly disclose that the biometric feature was collected when a difference between the second distance and the first distance exceeds a difference threshold.
XU discloses collection of biometric feature when a difference between the second distance and the first distance exceeds a difference threshold (¶0009-¶0010, “If a sliding distance of the sliding operation is greater than a first distance threshold or duration of the sliding operation is greater than a first duration threshold, the electronic device collects face information of the user… the electronic device may display the “Hidden albums” entry or display the “Hidden albums” interface only when the collected face information matches the face information template and the sliding distance of the sliding operation is greater than a second distance threshold. The second distance threshold is greater than the first distance threshold…”)
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of LU to include collection of biometric feature when a difference between the second distance and the first distance exceeds a difference threshold as disclosed by XU and be motivated in doing so in order to ensure that an authorized user is physically present at the payment device and thus prevent an unauthorized remote exploitation.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3528155 to LU et al. (hereinafter LU) in view of CN106161397 to LIU, Xin-long (hereinafter LIU).
Regarding claim 13, LU discloses the method according to claim 1.
However, LU does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
further comprising: performing at least one of:
periodically collecting the second type of biological feature;
collecting the second type of biological feature when a non-operation duration exceeds a duration threshold; or collecting the second type of biological feature when a specific operation on the application interface is detected.
LIU discloses periodically collecting the second type of biological feature (page 5, 2nd and 3rd paragraphs, “The rights management module 14 is used after the user login is successful, every a first preset time to prompt the user to input again the biological characteristic, and judging whether receiving the biological characteristic of the user input within a second predetermined time…”);
collecting the second type of biological feature when a non-operation duration exceeds a duration threshold (page 5, 3rd and 4th paragraphs, “…Thus, when legal users, such as parents after successfully logging on, because some things will temporarily leaves, because the need to again input biological characteristics, which can prevent other unauthorized users, such as children continue to use the particular application program. wherein the other illegal user is any person outside of the legal user, for example, the legal user logs in a specific application program such as a network game, if leaves forgetting to log out, at this moment, a predetermined identification time to authenticate the user through each interval so as to avoid illegal user to use….”);
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of LU to include collecting the second type of biological feature when a non-operation duration exceeds a duration threshold as disclosed by LIU and be motivated in doing so in order to prevent other unauthorized users, such as children continue to use the particular application program when the legal user forgets to log out of the program-LIU, page 5, 3rd paragraph in parts.
Claims 10, 12, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3528155 to LU et al. (hereinafter LU) in view of CN 114519177 to LI; Jian-zhong (hereinafter LI).
NB: LI reference was provided by the applicant in the IDS of 06/10/2025. The PDF is attached as an NPL.
Regarding claim 10, LU discloses the method according to claim 1.
However, LU does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
further comprising: determining, based on a biological feature protection function on a second electronic device being enabled, that the second biological feature is to be collected, the biological feature protection function being configured to control the login state of the application interface based on the second biological feature of the second type
LI discloses determining, based on a biological feature protection function on a second electronic device being enabled, that the second biological feature is to be collected, the biological feature protection function being configured to control the login state of the application interface based on the second biological feature of the second type (page 16, last paragraph -page 17, 1st paragraph, “as shown in FIG. 6A, FIG. 6A is an interface schematic diagram of the verification of the invention claims a processing method of the interface, the payment client electronic equipment payment request the user, namely receiving the trigger operation (first operation) for control 603A in the page 601A the payment client electronic equipment of the user to the user for brushing the face recognition from the first biological feature),… electronic equipment display the payment result page 609A after the face-brushing payment recognition the user can use the identity login the face-swiping merchant small program and performing subsequent operation on the payment result page, continuing to refer to FIG. 6B, FIG. 6B is an interface schematic diagram of the verification of the invention provided by the embodiment of the method, in response to the page 609B the control 611B trigger operation (second operation), that is, in response to receiving electronic equipment request of the user login the small program, the page in the 609B pop-up window 614B without preview 614B (pop-up no preview of the loading elastic window). at this time, starting to collect the second biological feature, for example, the human face data at this time, the preset time (such as 2 seconds) is finished and the front face of the face obtained by brushing the face is recognition (compared with the first biological feature, for example, comparing with the first face of the local cache of 1: 1), if the comparison is passed, then presenting the verification prompt message 615B in the page, 609B to execute the subsequent process, namely skipping to the page 616B (merchant small program page)…”)
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of LU to include control the login state of the application interface based on the second biological feature of the second type as disclosed by LI and be motivated in doing so in order to prevent fraudulent activities on the user payment electronic equipment.
Regarding claim 12, LU discloses the method according to claim1.
However, LU does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
further comprising: determining a similarity between the first biological feature and each of a plurality of reference biological features of the first type; and when a maximum similarity is greater than a similarity threshold, identifying an account bound to an authorized biological feature associated with the maximum similarity as the first account.
LI discloses determining a similarity between the first biological feature and each of a plurality of reference biological features of the first type (page 2, second to the last paragraph, “the first processing module is further used for: sending the collected first biological feature to the server, so that the server performs the following processing: matching the first biological feature with a plurality of authorized biological features, to determine the identity information to the matched authorized biological feature, presenting execution results obtained by performing the first operation based on the identity information”). See also page 18, 3rd paragraph;
and when a maximum similarity is greater than a similarity threshold, identifying an account bound to an authorized biological feature associated with the maximum similarity as the first account (page 17, last paragraph-page 18, 1st paragraph, “…if the similarity is greater than the preset threshold value, judging that the comparison is successful, otherwise, entering the step of "secondary recognition", it is the common flow of face recognition, the flow of common human face recognition a preview page, that is, the process is perceptible”).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of LU to include comparing the first biological feature with a plurality of authorized biological features (reference biological features) as disclosed by LI and be motivated in doing so in order to provide high recognition accuracy of the users of the application and lower false rejection rates.
Regarding claim 14, LU discloses the method according to claim 1.
However, LU does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
wherein the collecting the second biological feature further comprises: enabling a silent mode on the application interface related to collecting the second biological feature (page 4, paragraphs 9-10, “The embodiment of the invention has the following beneficial effects: in response to the sensitive operation (first operation) of the verification, if it is necessary to respond to the new sensitive operation (second operation), then need to silence again, verification it is by means of silence collecting biological characteristics, so it can be high efficiency verification the condition of no perception. It gives attention to the safety of the verification efficiency and the sensitive operation.”); and collecting the second biological feature in the silent mode (Page 4, paragraphs 2-3, “In the above scheme, the silent mode collecting the second biological characteristic, the second processing module is further used for:…”).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of LU to include collecting the second biological feature in the silent mode as disclosed by LI and be motivated in doing so in order to provide high efficiency verification under the condition of no perception and give attention to the safety of the verification efficiency and the sensitive operation-LI page 4, paragraph 10 in parts.
Regarding claim 15, LU discloses the method according to claim 1.
However, LU does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
further comprising: obtaining operation data in a current time period and operation data in a previous time period; extracting operation features from the operation data in the current time period and the operation data in the previous time period; obtaining, via a machine learning model, a prediction result based on the operation features; and when the prediction result indicates that a different user is present, collecting the second biological feature.
LI discloses obtaining operation data in a current time period and operation data in a previous time period, (page 16, paragraph 3, “in response to the trigger operation (second operation) of the control 508A in the page 507 A, it will perform fast secondary verification, continuously referring to FIG. 5B. FIG. 5 B is an interface schematic diagram of the verification of the invention provides a processing method, in response to the trigger operation of the control 508B in the page 507 B, before using the merchant member balance for payment, the page 507 B pop-up no preview of the loading pop-up window 509B. at this time, starting to collect the second biological characteristic, for example, the human face data at this time, the preset time (such as 2 seconds) is finished and the previous time brushing the face recognition the face to obtain the comparison (compared with the first biological characteristic, for example, can be compared with the local cache of the first brushing field picture 1: 1). if the comparison is passed, then presenting the verification prompt message 513B through the page in the page 507 B, continuing to execute the subsequent payment process, namely jumping to the page 514B, the page 514B presenting the inquiring payment result, when the payment is successful, jumping to the payment success page 515B….”), see also page 17, paragraph 3;
extracting operation features from the operation data in the current time period and the operation data in the previous time period (page 19, 1st paragraph, “the second processing module 4552 is further configured to: obtaining the scene data of the scene to which the second operation belongs, so as to extract the risk characteristic of the scene; based on the risk characteristic call neural network the prediction level of the second operation; wherein the training sample of the neural network model comprises historical scene data, the marking data of the training sample comprises the risk level of the scene corresponding to the historical scene data”, wherein the historical scene data is interpreted as data in the previous time period), (page 19, 3rd paragraph, “the second processing module 4552 is further configured to: collecting the biological feature data collected function the biological feature in the electronic equipment performing living body detection processing and quality detection processing to the biological characteristic data; when the biological data is detected by living body, and the quality detection processing passes through, extracting the second biological characteristic from the real-time biological data.”, wherein the real-time biological data is interpreted as data in the current time period).
obtaining, via a machine learning model, a prediction result based on the operation features (page 19, 1st paragraph, “the second processing module 4552 is further configured to: obtaining the scene data of the scene to which the second operation belongs, so as to extract the risk characteristic of the scene; based on the risk characteristic call neural network the prediction level of the second operation; wherein the training sample of the neural network model comprises historical scene data, the marking data of the training sample comprises the risk level of the scene corresponding to the historical scene data”), see also page 3, 5th paragraph, and page 12, last paragraph to page 13, 1st paragraph.
and when the prediction result indicates that a different user is present, collecting the second biological feature (page 6, 2nd paragraph, “…considering the user experience, no operation automatic exit waiting time is long, but the current operator and the authorized user are not the possibility of the same person, so there is safety hidden trouble, in order to improve the safety of the face-brushing payment process, when triggering the sensitive operation, can be further quantified by verification the current operator identity, ensure that the operation is indeed the authorized user initiated by the face of the user, so as to improve the safety of the face-brushing payment process.”), (page 12, 2nd paragraph, “using silence mode to collect the second biological characteristic, performing risk detection for the second operation; determining the presence risk, at least having the following two situations, when the second operation has a first level risk, determining that the second biological characteristic is collected by using silence mode to perform verification when the second operation has a second level risk, determining to adopt the sensing mode to collect the second biological characteristic to perform the verification, namely collecting and verification the second biological characteristic by the collection similar to the authorization first operation and the implementation manner of the verification biological characteristic”), (page 19, 4th paragraph, “…when the biological data is not passed through and/or the quality detection process is not passed, presenting a third collection preview area corresponding to the biological characteristic collection function to collect the third biological characteristic; The third biometric is network verification, and when the network is not verification through, it presents rejection response to the prompt message operation”), (page 17, 3rd paragraph, “the client (no need to interact with the background) to finish the current operator and the previous face brushing user whether the same identity of the comparison; 2, when the comparison fails, re processing based on background interaction, face recognition the background to confirm the identity of the current operator, and executing the subsequent operation by the current operator identity. describing the logic flow of fast secondary verification through the finite state machine, triggering sensitive operation (payment, opening service, login small program and so on), the payment client or merchant client enters into a certain key state, is convenient to control risk, whether need to perform secondary verification itself is optional, by the configuration content of the operation, determining to enable the secondary verification or closing the secondary verification, if it needs secondary verification, then opening the camera, obtaining the preferred graph of the user, the silent obtaining process of preferably graph will perform living body detection, human face picture quality detection and so on, to evade the photo and verification of mask verification the process of silent recognition and so on is the human face of the current captured face and the user identity before entering the key state corresponding to the similarity comparison, if the similarity is greater than the preset threshold value, judging that the comparison is successful, otherwise, entering the step of "secondary recognition",”).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of LU to include collecting the second biological feature and when the prediction result indicates that a different user is present as disclosed by LI and be motivated in doing so in order to verify whether the current operator (user) is indeed an authorized user and thereby improve the safety of the system-LI page 6, paragraph 1 in parts.
Claims 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3528155 to LU et al. (hereinafter LU) in view of US. PGPub. No. 20220012317 to Byrne; Cameron (hereinafter Byrne).
Regarding claim 17, LU discloses the method according to claim 1.
LU further discloses wherein the first and second biological feature is the facial feature (¶0020, “A fifth aspect of this application provides an electronic device, including: an image sensor, configured to capture a facial image of a user; a touchscreen, configured to display an image, and interact with an operation body; and a processor, configured to receive a touch operation of the operation body on an icon of a first application; control, in response to the touch operation, the image sensor to capture the facial image of the user; compare the captured facial image with a facial image bound to the first application; and log in to the first application when a comparison result indicates that the captured facial image matches the facial image bound to the first application.”).
However, LU does not explicitly disclose the following limitation:
wherein the first biological feature is one of a palm print feature and a facial feature, and the second biological feature is the other one of the palm print feature and the facial feature.
Byrne discloses wherein the first biological feature is one of a palm print feature and a facial feature, and the second biological feature is the other one of the palm print feature and the facial feature (¶0011, “The first biometric and the second biometric may be at least one of a vocal pattern, a fingerprint, a palm print, a facial geometry, a retina pattern, a signature, or a vein pattern.”).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the method of LU to include wherein the first biological feature is one of a palm print feature and a facial feature, and the second biological feature is the other one of the palm print feature and the facial feature as disclosed by Byrne and be motivated in doing so in order to create high accuracy, convenience, and strong defense against fraud as it merges a surface pattern (palm print) with facial geometry.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MUDASIRU K OLAEGBE/Examiner, Art Unit 2495