DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reference to the communication filed on 27 MAY 2025.
Claims 1-10 are present and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “programming time data” is unclear and therefore the scope of the claim is indefinite. The term itself does not appear in the specification outside of the claims. The “attention time” also found in claim 3 is defined in the specification at 0131, and appears to reference the actual total duration of a service provided. As best inferred by the Examiner, programming time is the originally expected duration of a service, i.e. perhaps the normally allotted time slot for a given task. However, this term renders the scope of the claim limitation unclear. Correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. As explained below, the claim(s) are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step One: Is the Claim directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? YES
With respect to claim(s) 1-10 the independent claim(s) 1 recite(s) a method, i.e. a process, which is a statutory category of invention.
Step 2A – Prong One: Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea? YES
With respect to claim(s) 1-10, the independent claim(s) (claims 1) is/are directed, in part, to:
A method for the logistics management of a service area, comprising the stages of:
a) obtain
b) obtain
c) generate
a space allocation data related to at least one service area;
a personnel assignment data related to at least one electronic identification element;
an supply allocation data related to at least one electronic identification element; and
an equipment allocation data related to at least one electronic identification element;
d) generate
a personal identification data;
a supply identification data; and
an equipment identification data;e) generate
These claim elements are considered to be abstract ideas because they are directed to concepts performed in the human mind, i.e. a mental process such as observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion. Obtaining data from disparate sources and requirements, as well as different types of assignment and identification data used to create a verification process are all examples of such concepts.
The claims are further considered to recite an abstract idea of certain methods of organizing human activities including managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people. Managing logistics in a surgical area, including supplies, equipment, personnel, patients, and scheduling are all examples of interpersonal relationships.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recites concepts performed in the human mind, then it falls within the “mental process” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recites managing behaviors/relationships, then it falls within the “method of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? NO.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim(s) recite(s) additional elements: Claim 1 recites a “computing unit” and a “data acquisition device” in communication with one another to perform the claim steps. The computing unit and data acquisition device are recited at a high level of generality and as such amount to no more than adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05f), or generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological field of use/computing environment (see MPEP 2106.05h). Examiner finds no improvement to the functioning of the computer or any other technology or technical field in the computing unit and/or data acquisition device as claimed (see MPEP 2106.05a), nor any other application or use of the judicial exception in some meaningful way beyond a general like between the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05e). As per the communication between the two elements, sending and receiving information is generally found to be analogous to adding insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception(s) identified (see MPEP 2106.05g).
Accordingly, this/these additional element(s) do(es) not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? NO.
The independent claim(s) is/are additionally directed to claim elements such as: Claim 1 recites a “computing unit” and a “data acquisition device” in communication with one another to perform the claim steps.
When considered individually, the “computing unit” and “data acquisition device” claim elements only contribute generic recitations of technical elements to the claims. It is readily apparent, for example, that the claim is not directed to any specific improvements of these elements. Examiner looks to Applicant’s specification in:
[0252] Computing unit: Said control unit (13) can be selected from the group consisting of: programmable logic controllers (PLC), microprocessors, DSCs (Digital Signal Controller), FPGAs (Field Programmable Gate Array), CPLDs (Complex Programmable Logic Device), ASICs (Application Specific Integrated Circuit), SoCs (System on Chip), PsoCs (Programmable System on Chip), computers, servers, tablets, cell phones, smart phones, signal generators and equivalent control units known to a person of ordinary skill in the art and combinations thereof.
[0253] The computing unit may include a storage device, a display device, an output device, a Human Interface Device (HID), a communications module. Furthermore, the computing unit may be or include a special purpose computing unit programmed to execute the method of this disclosure.
[0254] Remote Device: A remote device will be understood as a device with a computing unit that is allowed to share information with the computing unit (1) and that occupies a different physical space than the latter.
[0255] Communication module: A communication module is understood to be a device or system that allows the sending and receiving of information to and from the computing unit from an external device. Said communications module may be a wired communications module, a wireless communications module, or a wired and wireless communications module.
[0259] Data acquisition device: A data acquisition device is understood to be a piece of equipment or system designed to collect information from one or more external sources and convert it into data that can be directly interpreted or transmitted to a computing unit for subsequent interpretation or storage.
These passages, as well as others, makes it clear that the invention is not directed to a technical improvement. When the claims are considered individually and as a whole, the additional elements noted above, appear to merely apply the abstract concept to a technical environment in a very general sense – i.e. a generic computer receives information from another generic computer, processes the information and then sends information back. The most significant elements of the claims, that is the elements that really outline the inventive elements of the claims, are set forth in the elements identified as an abstract idea. The fact that the generic computing devices are facilitating the abstract concept is not enough to confer statutory subject matter eligibility.
As per dependent claims 2-10:
Dependent claims 2-9 are not directed any additional abstract ideas and are also not directed to any additional non-abstract claim elements. Rather, these claims offer further descriptive limitations of elements found in the independent claims and addressed above – such as the types of data collected or generated in the mental process/management of a surgical area, including additional information about the procedure, the facility, the staffing, and the management process therein. While these descriptive elements may provide further helpful context for the claimed invention these elements do not serve to confer subject matter eligibility to the invention since their individual and combined significance is still not heavier than the abstract concepts at the core of the claimed invention.
Dependent claim 10 is not directed to any additional abstract ideas, however the claim does recite the additional element of a display. Examiner notes that a display displaying data is considered to be adding insignificant extra solution activity to the judicial exception(s) identified (see MPEP 2106.05g). As such the claim is not found to have a practical application nor significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Souissi (US 20220020476 A1).
In reference to claim 1
Souissi teaches: A method for the logistics management of a service area, comprising the stages of:
a) obtain in a computing unit a requirement data for a service area (at least [fig 1 and related text] “The subsystems are illustrated in FIG. 1 which shows input information that feeds into a scheduling engine. The information includes patient information including name, age, gender, location, time spent in waiting room, time spent in Preop, and time spent in operating room. The information also includes surgery status, surgeon name, anesthesiologist name, type of anesthesia, equipment needed, availability of needed equipment, staff members, and which operating room is used for which surgery… A first subsystem is a visualization engine that renders a simple and intuitive illustration of a procedure involving information about patient name, age, gender, physician name, anesthesiologist, type of anesthesia, type of allergies, type of surgery, medical staff supporting the surgery, equipment needed for the surgery and other parameters relative to the procedure.”);
b) obtain in the computing unit an availability data (at least [fig 1 and related text including 041] “The inputs may be sent to the scheduling server via the Internet, via private network, or via other means. The scheduling server also receives status about equipment availability and its whereabouts within the center. Equipment location is sent by the tracking system. Special equipment needs and availability is established for each scheduled procedure.” At [049] “ Usually nurses and technicians are assigned to a group of surgeries by a surgeon or in an operating room. Once that group of procedures is complete, the personnel could be scheduled to switch to a different operating room/surgeon. For example, a nurse could be assigned the team for physician 1 in the morning and then to the team for physician 2 in the afternoon. When system makes any changes to the scheduled time of procedures, it evaluates if staff changes are required. Any changes to start time of a procedure or a move to a new operating room needs validation of staff availability and special equipment availability.” – i.e. availability of staff/equipment);
c) generate in the computing unit a requirements verification data through a scheduling process from the requirement data and the availability data (at least [043-045] “The scheduling server uses inputs to detect if a change in schedule is warranted. Common inputs that warrant a change in the schedule are patient delays, procedure cancellations, physician delays, equipment not available, patient health issues, and missing medical staff… The scheduling server has knowledge of automatic schedule changes that it can make and schedule changes that do not require approval from an operating room coordinator.”), wherein the requirements verification data comprises:
a space allocation data related to at least one service area (at least [046-049] “The system detects needs and opportunities for four types of changes... Third, move operating rooms for a procedure. Sometimes an operating room is assigned to a surgeon for a block of time (e.g. operating room 1 is assigned to a surgeon from 6 am to noon). When the system makes any changes to the time schedule or procedures, the system checks the operating room assignment constraints to detect conflicts based on operating room assignments. If such a conflict is detected, the system finds alternative operating rooms to move the procedure to. If the system is given the autonomy, the system would make this change automatically. Otherwise, system sends this change recommendation as part of the notification to appropriate personnel and makes the change on approval received from such personnel.”);
a personnel assignment data related to at least one electronic identification element (at least [046-049] “The system detects needs and opportunities for four types of changes... Fourth, change support staff for a procedure. Usually nurses and technicians are assigned to a group of surgeries by a surgeon or in an operating room. Once that group of procedures is complete, the personnel could be scheduled to switch to a different operating room/surgeon. For example, a nurse could be assigned the team for physician 1 in the morning and then to the team for physician 2 in the afternoon. When system makes any changes to the scheduled time of procedures, it evaluates if staff changes are required.”);
an supply allocation data related to at least one electronic identification element (at least [017, 018] type of anesthesia for a procedure); and
an equipment allocation data related to at least one electronic identification element (at least (at least [046-049] “The system detects needs and opportunities for four types of changes... Any changes to start time of a procedure or a move to a new operating room needs validation of staff availability and special equipment availability.”);
d) generate in a data acquisition device in communication with the computing unit an identification data from an electronic identification element (at least [027-28, 040-041] “The scheduling server is a remote server that receives inputs from a patient enrollment desk, from nursing station terminals (e.g. computers, tablets), and from patient tracking system.” – i.e. this information is generated from a plurality of stations), wherein the identification data comprises:
a personal identification data (at least [fig 2 and related text] “Physician name”; “anesthesiologist” see also [040] for discussion of patient tracking);
a supply identification data (at least [fig 2 and related text] “type of anesthesia”); and
an equipment identification data (at least [fig 2 and related text] “special equipment”; at [041] “The scheduling server also receives status about equipment availability and its whereabouts within the center. Equipment location is sent by the tracking system. “);e) generate in the computing unit a registration data through a minimum requirements verification process from the requirements verification data and the identification data (at least [049] “When system makes any changes to the scheduled time of procedures, it evaluates if staff changes are required. Any changes to start time of a procedure or a move to a new operating room needs validation of staff availability and special equipment availability.”)
wherein the data acquisition device is related to at least one service area (at least [040-041, fig 4, 5 and related text] “The scheduling server is a remote server that receives inputs from a patient enrollment desk, from nursing station terminals (e.g. computers, tablets), and from patient tracking system.” FIG. 4 is an illustration of a sample PreOP tablet device to signal patient status and readiness to move to an operating room., FIG. 5 is an illustration of a sample operating room tablet device to capture patient status during surgery.”).
In reference to claim 2:
Soussi further teaches: wherein the service area is a surgical service area (at least [fig 1 and related text] “Systems and methods provided herein for an intelligent schedule board for operating rooms in surgical centers and hospitals are based on three major subsystems. The subsystems are illustrated in FIG. 1 which shows input information that feeds into a scheduling engine.“)
In reference to claim 3:
Soussi further teaches: wherein the registration data comprises:
- a service status data (at least [fig 2 and related text] “Surgery Status” is manually input, see also figs 4, 5 and related text)
- a programming time data (at least [034] “Systems provided herein use machine learning to learn of and estimate duration by procedure types and by procedure type for per physician. Systems use this information to detect if subsequent procedures are at risk of getting delayed. By learning from thousands of procedures, the intelligent operating room scheduling engine can estimate the procedure duration based on patient information (age, gender, medical history), the surgeon performing the surgery and the surgeon's history performing similar procedures. “ at [050] “For example, based on the start time of the procedure, which may be captured by an operating room nurse through an operating room tablet device, and looking into historical data for the same surgeon performing the procedure, for example a knee replacement for a healthy 50 year old patient, the system may use the average duration of the past 100 knee replacement surgeries for a same age and similar health patient to estimate the duration of the procedure. If the estimate shows that the procedure is expected to be on time, then no action is taken. If the procedure is estimated to be late then schedule changes may be warranted. More advanced estimation techniques may be used to determine patient exit time from the operating room. This involves examination of surgeon history performing same procedure, patient health history, patient age, equipment used in surgery, and staff supporting surgery.” See also [013] “] Finally, scheduled durations of surgical procedures are static but cause disruption when surgery exceeds allocated procedure time.“);
- a data on attention time (at least [034] “When the procedure is progressing and as the procedure status is updated (time out, start procedure closing), the estimated time of surgery completion is refined. Based on changes to the surgery start time and end time, the optimization engine moves procedures around automatically and notifies staff on the monitor or via text messaging.” at [050] “For example, based on the start time of the procedure, which may be captured by an operating room nurse through an operating room tablet device, and looking into historical data for the same surgeon performing the procedure, for example a knee replacement for a healthy 50 year old patient, the system may use the average duration of the past 100 knee replacement surgeries for a same age and similar health patient to estimate the duration of the procedure. If the estimate shows that the procedure is expected to be on time, then no action is taken. If the procedure is estimated to be late then schedule changes may be warranted. More advanced estimation techniques may be used to determine patient exit time from the operating room. This involves examination of surgeon history performing same procedure, patient health history, patient age, equipment used in surgery, and staff supporting surgery.”);
- a supply usage data (at least [017, 018] “anesthesia type” as discussed in fig 2, see also At [017, 041] “The information also includes surgery status, surgeon name, anesthesiologist name, type of anesthesia, equipment needed, availability of needed equipment, staff members, and which operating room is used for which surgery.”).
In reference to claim 4:
Soussi further teaches: a step of generating a data of statistics related to procedure (60) through a statistical analysis process based on the registration data and the statistical data related to the procedure (at least [050] “The system further includes a learning function to estimate procedure time. In a preferred embodiment, the system can estimate the duration of a procedure as it is underway in the operating room. For example, based on the start time of the procedure, which may be captured by an operating room nurse through an operating room tablet device, and looking into historical data for the same surgeon performing the procedure, for example a knee replacement for a healthy 50 year old patient, the system may use the average duration of the past 100 knee replacement surgeries for a same age and similar health patient to estimate the duration of the procedure. If the estimate shows that the procedure is expected to be on time, then no action is taken. If the procedure is estimated to be late then schedule changes may be warranted. More advanced estimation techniques may be used to determine patient exit time from the operating room. This involves examination of surgeon history performing same procedure, patient health history, patient age, equipment used in surgery, and staff supporting surgery.”).
In reference to claim 5:
Soussi further teaches: wherein the statistical data related to procedure comprises:
a performed procedure data; a time used data; an identified personnel data; a used supplies data; and a used equipment data (at least [050] “The system further includes a learning function to estimate procedure time. In a preferred embodiment, the system can estimate the duration of a procedure as it is underway in the operating room. For example, based on the start time of the procedure, which may be captured by an operating room nurse through an operating room tablet device, and looking into historical data for the same surgeon performing the procedure, for example a knee replacement for a healthy 50 year old patient, the system may use the average duration of the past 100 knee replacement surgeries for a same age and similar health patient to estimate the duration of the procedure. If the estimate shows that the procedure is expected to be on time, then no action is taken. If the procedure is estimated to be late then schedule changes may be warranted. More advanced estimation techniques may be used to determine patient exit time from the operating room. This involves examination of surgeon history performing same procedure, patient health history, patient age, equipment used in surgery, and staff supporting surgery.”).
In reference to claim 6:
Soussi further teaches: further comprising a step of modifying the availability data by means of an inventory adjustment process from the registration data (at least [041] “ The inputs may be sent to the scheduling server via the Internet, via private network, or via other means. The scheduling server also receives status about equipment availability and its whereabouts within the center. Equipment location is sent by the tracking system. Special equipment needs and availability is established for each scheduled procedure.” At [049] ”Any changes to start time of a procedure or a move to a new operating room needs validation of staff availability and special equipment availability.” At [017] “The information also includes surgery status, surgeon name, anesthesiologist name, type of anesthesia, equipment needed, availability of needed equipment, staff members, and which operating room is used for which surgery.”).
In reference to claim 7:
Soussi further teaches: a step of generating a request in the computing unit from the registration data (at least [046-050] based on the types of changes detected, the system can either request approval to make a change or make a change that is automatically approved).
In reference to claim 8:
Soussi further teaches: wherein the registration data comprises a user data (at least [049] “Usually nurses and technicians are assigned to a group of surgeries by a surgeon or in an operating room. Once that group of procedures is complete, the personnel could be scheduled to switch to a different operating room/surgeon. For example, a nurse could be assigned the team for physician 1 in the morning and then to the team for physician 2 in the afternoon. “ – i.e. assigned staff member(s)). At [018] “A first subsystem is a visualization engine that renders a simple and intuitive illustration of a procedure involving information about patient name, age, gender, physician name, anesthesiologist, type of anesthesia, type of allergies, type of surgery, medical staff supporting the surgery, equipment needed for the surgery and other parameters relative to the procedure.”).
In reference to claim 9:
Soussi further teaches: wherein the service status data is selected from Scheduling, Admission, Preparation Start, Preparation End, Procedure Start, Procedure End, Recovery Start, and Recovery End (at least [figs. 2, 3, 4, 5 and related text] fig 3 shows categories pertaining to status of patient, see also 024 for discussion of recover after procedure end time).
In reference to claim 10:
Soussi further teaches: a step of displaying the service status data on a display device (at least [fig 2, 4, 5 and related text] “surgery status” in various displays).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210295984 to Prokle discloses a means of real time monitoring to create schedules and availability of staff and resources in a medical environment.
US 20170177806 to Fabian also discloses a means of scheduling supplies, staff, specialists, and patient procedures, as well as tracking and monitoring of ongoing use of resources.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE . KOLOSOWSKI-GAGER/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3687
/KATHERINE KOLOSOWSKI-GAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3687