DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communications regarding the applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed on 08/03/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200301880 to George et al. (hereinafter “George”), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20080183973 to Aguilera et al. (hereinafter “Aguilera”).
As to claim 1, George teaches a computer-implemented method comprising (computer-implemented method in a system comprise processor and non-transitory computer readable storage medium, Fig. 1, 9, par. 0004-0010, 0098-0111):
receiving, at a computing system, a file system command that targets a clone directory located within a special directory of a file system (Fig. 6, 7, par. 0061-0063, selection for creating a snapshot, i.e. “where file management client 2 702 can initiate creating a snapshot of directory volume 120”); and
in response to the file system command:
creating a snapshot of a target file system (Fig. 6, 7, par. 0061-0063, creating a snapshot, i.e. “where file management client 2 702 can initiate creating a snapshot of directory volume 120”);
cloning the snapshot into the clone directory to generate a live, read- write file system instance (Fig. 6-9, par. 0061-0063, i.e. “based on receiving the request to create the snapshot, multitier snapshotting component 150 can create a snapshot directory volume 160 that can reference directory volume 120 for file information, and can have separate metadata to track changes based on a copy-on-write mechanism, as described. For example, a volsnap service can be used for copy-on-write on the directory volume, where the volsnap service can recognize files being accessed and can make backup copies of the files based on access requests. In this example, multitier snapshotting component 150 can create metadata 708 for the snapshot directory volume 160 that includes the metadata of directory volume 120 (e.g., as snapshot directory metadata 162), pointing to the same file information. This can represent a snapshot of the directory volume 120 before further changes are made to the directory volume 120”);
mapping an address of the target file system into the clone directory (Fig. 6-9, par. 0061-0063, i.e. “based on receiving the request to create the snapshot, multitier snapshotting component 150 can create a snapshot directory volume 160 that can reference directory volume 120 for file information, and can have separate metadata to track changes based on a copy-on-write mechanism, as described. For example, a volsnap service can be used for copy-on-write on the directory volume, where the volsnap service can recognize files being accessed and can make backup copies of the files based on access requests. In this example, multitier snapshotting component 150 can create metadata 708 for the snapshot directory volume 160 that includes the metadata of directory volume 120 (e.g., as snapshot directory metadata 162), pointing to the same file information. This can represent a snapshot of the directory volume 120 before further changes are made to the directory volume 120”); and
linking the clone directory to a head node, wherein the head node presents the clone directory as visible in the head node to clients through a unified mount point (Fig. 4, 6-9, par. 0061-0069, i.e. “based on receiving the request to create the snapshot, multitier snapshotting component 150 can create a snapshot directory volume 160 that can reference directory volume 120 for file information, and can have separate metadata to track changes based on a copy-on-write mechanism, as described. For example, a volsnap service can be used for copy-on-write on the directory volume, where the volsnap service can recognize files being accessed and can make backup copies of the files based on access requests. In this example, multitier snapshotting component 150 can create metadata 708 for the snapshot directory volume 160 that includes the metadata of directory volume 120 (e.g., as snapshot directory metadata 162), pointing to the same file information. This can represent a snapshot of the directory volume 120 before further changes are made to the directory volume 120”).
George does not explicitly teach wherein the live, read-write file system is a duplicate writable file system that provides instant access to a writable copy of the file system as claimed.
Aguilera teaches wherein the live, read-write file system is a duplicate writable file system that provides instant access to a writable copy of the file system (Aguiler, par. 0015-0017, snapshots that are writable, i.e .” [0015] Embodiments in accordance with the present invention are directed to apparatus, systems, and methods for providing snapshots (i.e., copies at a given point-in-time) or clones (i.e., snapshots that are writable) in a distributed storage system that employs quorum-based replication. As will be explained in more detail below, in one exemplary embodiment, a distributed block storage system provides point-in-time branching… Cloning a volume results in a new writable volume whose initial contents are identical to the source volume. While the data in a clone can change, the snapshot retains its original data. Further, it is possible to clone a snapshot multiple times.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine the teaching of George with the teaching of Aguilera because they are in the same field of endeavor. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have been motivated to do so because the teaching of Aguilera would allow George to facilitate “…the snapshots and clones accurately reflect the data …”. (Aguilera, par. 0001-0004)
As to claim 2, combination of George and Aguilera teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising mirroring security privileges and administrative access from the target file system to the clone directory (Fig. 6-9, par. 0052, 0061-0069, i.e. “Further, the file metadata 132 may include one or more attributes, a file security descriptor, a file size, an allocation size, and shard information. For each shard 142 in the file layout, the file management client 104 may open the shard 142 on the shard volume 140 and perform read/write operations…multitier snapshotting component 150 can create metadata 708 for the snapshot directory volume 160 that includes the metadata of directory volume 120 (e.g., as snapshot directory metadata 162), pointing to the same file information. This can represent a snapshot of the directory volume 120 before further changes are made to the directory volume 120”).
As to claim 3, combination of George and Aguilera teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein files in the clone directory are read-write files (Fig. 11, par. 0034-0035, 0072, modifying data in snapshot directory volume 160).
As to claim 4, combination of George and Aguilera teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising receiving a selection of the snapshot of the target file system that is stored in a snapshot directory (par. 0077-0082, selection of a snapshot for deletion).
As to claim 5, combination of George and Aguilera teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the snapshot is a point-in-time reference of the target file system (par. 0034-0035, point-in-time reference such as “snapshot versions of files modified since the snapshot”).
As to claim 6, combination of George and Aguilera teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising copying file system properties of the target file system, wherein the file system properties include one or more of compartment, tags, display name, keys, and mount target export information (Fig. 3-4, par. 0049-0053, one or more of compartment such as Directory Volume, File Volume and Shard Volume).
As to claim 7, combination of George and Aguilera teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising copying linking metadata from the target file system to the clone directory (Fig. 6-9, par. 0052, 0061-0069, i.e. “Further, the file metadata 132 may include one or more attributes, a file security descriptor, a file size, an allocation size, and shard information. For each shard 142 in the file layout, the file management client 104 may open the shard 142 on the shard volume 140 and perform read/write operations…multitier snapshotting component 150 can create metadata 708 for the snapshot directory volume 160 that includes the metadata of directory volume 120 (e.g., as snapshot directory metadata 162), pointing to the same file information. This can represent a snapshot of the directory volume 120 before further changes are made to the directory volume 120”).
Regarding claims 8-14, are essentially the same as claims 1-7 except that it sets forth the claimed invention as a computer-program product rather than a method and rejected for the same reasons as applied hereinabove.
Regarding claims 15-20, is essentially the same as claims 1-6 except that it sets forth the claimed invention as a system rather than method and rejected for the same reasons as applied hereinabove.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ANHTAI V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2168