DETAILED ACTION
It would be of great assistance to the Office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
1. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
2. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
3. Filing date.
4. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
5. Title of invention.
6. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 – 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the artificial-reality activity" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3 – 8 are rejected based on their dependence on claim 2.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the artificial-reality activity" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 10 – 15 are rejected based on their dependence on claim 9.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the artificial-reality activity" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 17 – 21 are rejected based on their dependence on claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latta et al. (US 2013/0194304) in view of Cardenas Gasca et al. (US 2022/0075591).
As to claim 2, Latta discloses an augmented-reality system, comprising:
one or more processors (controller unit 32 of fig. 4 comprising a processor 56C of fig. 6) communicatively coupled with:
a head-wearable device worn by a user (HMD device 34 of fig. 4), an imaging device (infrared or visible-light cameras [034]), and one or more sensors (accelerometers 58 and GPS receiver 60 of fig. 6);
and memory including executable instructions (data holding 112 of fig. 6) that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform:
while an augmented-reality application for linking the user of the head-wearable device with at least one participant of a participant device is active at the head-wearable device (application running on AR system HMD devices 16 linking first participant 12 [user device] and second participant 14 [a participant device] [0018 – 0019]): causing presentation of a group-activity (group activity of fig. 17).
Latta fails to disclose that while augmented-reality application is running:
determining, based on location data obtained by the one or more sensors, an augmented-reality activity to be performed by the user and a participant;
causing presentation of a group-activity user interface (UI) including, at least, the artificial-reality activity to be performed by the user and the participant;
in accordance with a determination, based on image data obtained by the imaging device, that the user is engaged in the augmented-reality activity:
causing presentation of a participation UI including, at least, a first UI element descriptive of the user's performance of the augmented-reality activity and a second UI element descriptive of the participant's performance of the augmented-reality activity, and updating one or more of the first UI element and the second UI element based on the user's and the participant's engagement in the augmented-reality activity.
In the same filed of endeavor, Cardenas Gasca discloses AR experience wherein while augmented-reality application is running (while presenting AR experience of fig. 8A):
determining, based on location data obtained by the one or more sensors (location sensors [0137 – 0138]), an augmented-reality activity to be performed by the user and a participant (using an AR marker to synchronize multiple users to perform AR activity [0112]);
causing presentation of a group-activity user interface (UI) including, at least, the artificial-reality activity to be performed by the user and the participant (presenting interface as shown in fig. 8B);
in accordance with a determination, based on image data obtained by the imaging device (camera device [0137]), that the user is engaged in the augmented-reality activity (user participating in the AR activity [0112 – 0116]):
causing presentation of a participation UI including (participation UI of fig. 8B), at least, a first UI element descriptive of the user's performance of the augmented-reality activity (first participant’s score [0114 – 0115]) and a second UI element descriptive of the participant's performance of the augmented-reality activity (displaying another user’s score after sharing [0114]), and updating one or more of the first UI element and the second UI element based on the user's and the participant's engagement in the augmented-reality activity (updating user’s score and another user’s score after sharing [0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Latta and the teachings of Cardenas Gasca such that the UI was provided for the shared activity as disclosed by Cardenas Gasca, with motivation to provide for supporting and encouraging co-located shared AR experiences from two or more users (Cardenas Gasca [0016]).
As to claim 9, Latta discloses a method, comprising: while an augmented-reality application for linking a user of a head-wearable device with at least one participant of a participant device is active at the head-wearable device (application running on AR system HMD devices 16 linking first participant 12 [user device] and second participant 14 [a participant device] [0018 – 0019]): causing presentation of a group-activity (group activity of fig. 17).
Latta fails to disclose that while augmented-reality application is running:
determining, based on location data obtained by one or more sensors, an augmented-reality activity to be performed by the user and a participant;
causing presentation of a group-activity user interface (UI) including, at least, the artificial-reality activity to be performed by the user and the participant;
in accordance with a determination, based on image data obtained by an imaging device, that the user is engaged in the augmented-reality activity:
causing presentation of a participation UI including, at least, a first UI element descriptive of the user's performance of the augmented-reality activity and a second UI element descriptive of the participant's performance of the augmented-reality activity, and updating one or more of the first UI element and the second UI element based on the user's and the participant's engagement in the augmented-reality activity.
In the same filed of endeavor, Cardenas Gasca discloses AR experience wherein while augmented-reality application is running (while presenting AR experience of fig. 8A):
determining, based on location data obtained by the one or more sensors (location sensors [0137 – 0138]), an augmented-reality activity to be performed by the user and a participant (using an AR marker to synchronize multiple users to perform AR activity [0112]);
causing presentation of a group-activity user interface (UI) including, at least, the artificial-reality activity to be performed by the user and the participant (presenting interface as shown in fig. 8B);
in accordance with a determination, based on image data obtained by the imaging device (camera device [0137]), that the user is engaged in the augmented-reality activity (user participating in the AR activity [0112 – 0116]):
causing presentation of a participation UI including (participation UI of fig. 8B), at least, a first UI element descriptive of the user's performance of the augmented-reality activity (first participant’s score [0114 – 0115]) and a second UI element descriptive of the participant's performance of the augmented-reality activity (displaying another user’s score after sharing [0114]), and updating one or more of the first UI element and the second UI element based on the user's and the participant's engagement in the augmented-reality activity (updating user’s score and another user’s score after sharing [0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Latta and the teachings of Cardenas Gasca such that the UI was provided for the shared activity as disclosed by Cardenas Gasca, with motivation to provide for supporting and encouraging co-located shared AR experiences from two or more users (Cardenas Gasca [0016]).
As to claim 16, Latta discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium including instructions (data holding system [0087]) that, when executed by a computing device, cause the computing device to perform:
while an augmented-reality application for linking a user of a head-wearable device with at least one participant of a participant device is active at the head-wearable device (application running on AR system HMD devices 16 linking first participant 12 [user device] and second participant 14 [a participant device] [0018 – 0019]): causing presentation of a group-activity (group activity of fig. 17).
Latta fails to disclose that while augmented-reality application is running:
determining, based on location data obtained by one or more sensors, an augmented-reality activity to be performed by the user and a participant;
causing presentation of a group-activity user interface (UI) including, at least, the artificial-reality activity to be performed by the user and the participant;
in accordance with a determination, based on image data obtained by an imaging device, that the user is engaged in the augmented-reality activity:
causing presentation of a participation UI including, at least, a first UI element descriptive of the user's performance of the augmented-reality activity and a second UI element descriptive of the participant's performance of the augmented-reality activity, and updating one or more of the first UI element and the second UI element based on the user's and the participant's engagement in the augmented-reality activity.
In the same filed of endeavor, Cardenas Gasca discloses AR experience wherein while augmented-reality application is running (while presenting AR experience of fig. 8A):
determining, based on location data obtained by the one or more sensors (location sensors [0137 – 0138]), an augmented-reality activity to be performed by the user and a participant (using an AR marker to synchronize multiple users to perform AR activity [0112]);
causing presentation of a group-activity user interface (UI) including, at least, the artificial-reality activity to be performed by the user and the participant (presenting interface as shown in fig. 8B);
in accordance with a determination, based on image data obtained by the imaging device (camera device [0137]), that the user is engaged in the augmented-reality activity (user participating in the AR activity [0112 – 0116]):
causing presentation of a participation UI including (participation UI of fig. 8B), at least, a first UI element descriptive of the user's performance of the augmented-reality activity (first participant’s score [0114 – 0115]) and a second UI element descriptive of the participant's performance of the augmented-reality activity (displaying another user’s score after sharing [0114]), and updating one or more of the first UI element and the second UI element based on the user's and the participant's engagement in the augmented-reality activity (updating user’s score and another user’s score after sharing [0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Latta and the teachings of Cardenas Gasca such that the UI was provided for the shared activity as disclosed by Cardenas Gasca, with motivation to provide for supporting and encouraging co-located shared AR experiences from two or more users (Cardenas Gasca [0016]).
As to claim 5 (dependent on 2), claim 12 (dependent on 9), claim 19 (dependent on 16), Cardenas Gasca discloses the augmented-reality system and method, wherein the group-activity user UI includes one or more of a description of the augmented-reality activity, suggested participants for the augmented-reality activity, and a number of participants (displaying scores participants [0114 - 0115] inherently corresponds to the number of participants).
As to claim 8 (dependent on 2) and claim 15 (dependent on 9), Cardenas Gasca discloses the augmented-reality system and method, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to further perform: selecting the participant based on a proximity of the head-wearable device and a respective participant device to the augmented-reality activity (based on proximity to a synchronization marker [0112]).
Claim(s) 6, 7, 13, 14, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latta et al. (US 2013/0194304) in view of Cardenas Gasca et al. (US 2022/0075591) and Harple et al. (US 2014/0015987).
As to claim 6 (dependent on 2), claim 7 (dependent on 6), claim 13 (dependent on 9), claim 14 (dependent on 13), claim 20 (dependent on 16) and claim 21 (dependent on 20), Latta discloses the augmented-reality system and method, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to further perform: capturing additional image data, via the imaging device, while the user is engaged in the augmented-reality activity (capturing field of view in real time when user participates in AR activity [0064 – 0065], [0068]); but Latta in view of Cardenas Gasca does not explicitly disclose storing the additional image data and encrypting the additional image data before storing the additional image data.
In the same filed of endeavor, Harple discloses securing augmented reality application (TITLE), wherein when using AR application storing image data (saving to memory [0011]) and encrypting the image data before storing the additional image data (the images may be protected by encrypting the image data before it is saved to a memory [0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Latta in view of Cardenas Gasca such that additional image data while using AR application was encrypted before storing as disclosed by Harple, with motivation to be able to use the augmented reality applications in areas where cameras may not be desired (Harple [0001]).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 10, 11, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latta et al. (US 2013/0194304) in view of Cardenas Gasca et al. (US 2022/0075591) and Wanta (US 2025/0124619).
As to claim 3 (dependent on 2), claim 4 (dependent on 3), claim 10 (dependent on 9), claim 11 (dependent on 10), claim 17 (dependent on 16) and claim 18 (dependent on 17), Latta in view of Cardenas Gasca discloses the augmented-reality system and the method, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to further perform: determining, based on the location data obtained by the one or more sensors, an activity location for participating the augmented-reality activity (determining activity location as shown fig. 8), but Latta in view of Cardenas Gasca does not explicitly disclose causing presentation of a guidance UI element, separate and distinct from the group- activity UI, that provides a visual path to the activity location for participating the augmented- reality activity; causing presentation of one or more thematic UI elements based on the augmented-reality activity, wherein the one or more thematic UI elements are configured to immerse the user in the augmented-reality activity as the user navigates to the activity location based on the guidance UI element.
In the same field of endeavor, Wanta discloses presenting a augmented reality guidance interface, wherein the presenting comprises causing presentation of a guidance UI element, separate and distinct from the activity UI, that provides a visual path to the activity location for participating the activity (presenting direction objects 603 of fig. 6A that guide to the location of the activity); causing presentation of one or more thematic UI elements based on the augmented-reality activity (as shown in fig. 6, the arrows 603 are themed in the direction of movement), wherein the one or more thematic UI elements are configured to immerse the user in the augmented-reality activity as the user navigates to the activity location based on the guidance UI element (direction object 603 could be displayed as a direction indicator (e.g., arrows) showing which direction (e.g., north, south, east, west) the user should operate apparatus 100 [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Latta in view of Cardenas Gasca such that guidance elements were displayed to guide to the location of future augmented reality activity as disclosed by Wanta, with motivation to improve the overall human-computer interface (Wanta [0083]).
Conclusion
/DMITRIY BOLOTIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623