DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: reference number “16” in Figs. 15, 16, and 17 – 23.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, 16 – 17, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 20 recite “proximal facing of the tissue layer” in lines 14 & 21 and 13, respectively, however the lines are not grammatically correct, therefore, the Examiner suggests the lines be amended to recite “proximally facing surface of the tissue layer”;
Claims 1 and 20 recite “each anchor deployer comprises: a deployment rod, and an anchor, and a tissue grip” based on the claims indentions; although, the claims are understood by the Examiner, based on Applicant’s disclosure, to mean that “each anchor deployer comprises: a deployment rod and an anchor” and that the “tissue grip” is a singular structure within the system as a whole and not comprised with each anchor deployer, the Examiner suggests the clauses starting with “a deployment rod” and “an anchor” be indented;
Claims 16 and 17 recite “a junction released by” in line 2, although the lines are understood by the Examiner to be functional limitations and not method step limitations within an apparatus claim, the Examiner suggests the lines be amended to read “a junction configured to be released by” for the purpose of maintaining consistent language throughout the claims;
Claim 18 recites “a blood vessel” in line 3, although the line is understood by the Examiner to mean “the blood vessel” as the “blood vessel” was previously defined in the preamble of claim 1, the Examiner suggests the line be amended to read “the blood vessel” for the purpose of maintaining consistent language throughout the claims;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the generic placeholder is “a detachment mechanism” in claims 1 and 20, which is coupled to the functional language “mechanism configured to detach the detachable anchor and the deployment rod”. Furthermore, there are no structural modifiers either preceding or following the generic placeholders. For the purpose of examination, the “detachment mechanism” in claims 1 and 20 will be read as a mechanical mechanism or a thermal mechanism (which is the disclosed corresponding structure, as described in page 15 paragraph [0002] of the instant specification) or an equivalent structure (which is any structure that performs the identical function of the generic placeholder(s) specified in the claim in substantially the same way).
Claim 9 recites “each of the releasable anchors comprises a jaw that can be moved between an open state and a closes state”, however, it is understood by the Examiner, based on Applicant’s disclosure (specifically Figs. 9 and 10), that Applicant is intending for the claim to mean “each of the releasable anchors comprises a pair of jaws…”, as each anchor has two jaws.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 10 – 15, and 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fortson (US 2010/0179590 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fortson discloses a vascular closure device (closure device 100) for closing a passage in a tissue layer located above and adjacent to an access hole in a wall of a blood vessel (abstract, paragraphs [0008], [0016], [0024], [0031 – 0042], and Figs. 1 – 2F), the vascular closure device comprising:
a housing (sheath 110) having an elongate configuration with a proximal end and a distal section (section shown in Fig. 1) wherein the distal section is configured to be positioned above and adjacent to the passage in the tissue layer (Examiner’s note: it should be understood that the preceding limitations is an intended use limitation which requires only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning in the manner claimed; with that said, the distal section (i.e., the section shown in Fig. 1) is capable of being positioned as claimed);
a plurality of anchor deployers (elongate members 160 and anchors 120) which are slidably disposed relative to the housing at the distal section of the housing (paragraph [0032] and Figs. 1 – 2F), each anchor deployer comprising:
a deployment rod (elongate members 160) which is slidably disposed relative to the housing (paragraphs [0016], [0032], [0034], and Fig. 1) and which includes an elongate resilient configuration (configuration shown in Fig. 1) and a distal end (end attached to anchors 120 – shown in Fig. 1) that is configured to extend distally and radially outward from the distal section of the housing (shown in Fig. 2D), and
an anchor (anchor 120) which is secured to the distal end of the deployment rod with a releasable junction (location of the anchor breakable from the elongate members 160 – shown in Fig. 2F) including a detachment mechanism disposed between the detachable anchor and the deployment rod (Examiner’s note: as discussed in paragraph [0042] and shown in Fig. 2F, the anchors 120 are detachable from the elongate members 160 at some releasable junction; and in order to detach them, the system must include some sort of mechanism to initiate the break. Therefore, Fortson encompasses a detachment mechanism as claimed) and
the anchor configured to engage and secure to a proximal facing of the tissue layer from above the tissue layer without passing through the passage in the tissue layer (Examiner’s note: it should be understood that the preceding limitations is an intended use limitation which requires only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning in the manner claimed. With that said, Fortson discloses, in paragraph [0029], wherein the anchors 120 are configured to engage the outer surface of a lumen of a wall; therefore, the anchors of Fortson are capable of engaging and securing themselves to a proximally facing surface of the tissue layer (i.e., the top surface of tissue layer 190) without passing through the passage (i.e., the hole) in the tissue layer); and
a tissue grip (cleat 130) which is disposed on and deployable from the distal end of the housing (paragraphs [0021 – 0024], [0040 – 0042], and Figs. 1, 2D – 2F) (Examiner’s note: as shown in Fig. 1, the cleat 130 is disposed on the inside surface of the housing) and which is configured to be deployed directly to tissue of the tissue layer, compress and secure the tissue of the tissue layer, and maintain the tissue in a gathered configuration (paragraphs [0024], [0040 – 0042], and Fig. 2F);
wherein, when the tissue grip (cleat 130) is deployed directly to the tissue of the tissue layer, the anchors (anchor 120) are configured to be releasable from the proximal facing of the tissue layer, the deployment rods (elongate members 160) are configured to be retractable relative to the housing, and the tissue grip (cleat 130) is configured to close the passage in the tissue layer and provide a tissue lock indirectly sealing the access hole in the blood vessel while the tissue layer is disposed above and adjacent the access hole in the wall of the blood vessel (Examiner’s note: it should be understood that the preceding limitations is an intended use limitation which requires only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning in the manner claimed. With that said, Fortson discloses, wherein the anchors are capable of being anchored to the outside surface (i.e., the proximal face) of the tissue layer, and discloses wherein the cleat locks the tissue opening together, with the anchors, after the deployment rods are retracted, thereby providing a tissue lock; therefore, the device of Fortson is capable of and configured to function as claimed).
However, Fortson is silent regarding (i) wherein the anchors are facing distally.
As to the above, Smith teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a vascular closure device (tissue aperture securing and sealing apparatus; abstract) comprising a housing (elongate member 140; which equate to the members 160 of Fortson) (paragraph [0032]), an anchor deployer (retractor 160; which equate to the shaft of members 160 of Fortson), and anchors (plurality of fingers 162; which equate to the anchors 20 of Fortson), wherein the anchors are facing distally and are configured to initially engage the proximally facing surface and secure itself to the tissue (Examiner’s note: as discussed in paragraph [0056] the fingers include a distal portion directed radially inward and extend distally from the base to splay out away from the longitudinal axis of the base, further shown in Fig. 10H; 10C; 10D; additionally paragraphs [0048, 0050, 0052, and 0057] discusses wherein the first surface that is engaged is the outer surface, which is the proximally facing surface, and does not recite wherein the anchors pass through the passage to engage said tissue; further paragraph [0057] recites hook like projections grab the tissue; and [0059] recites wherein the retractor 160 and thus the plurality of fingers are secured to the tissue), thus the claimed limitations are considered encompassed or at least obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and device for securing a tissue of Fortson to incorporate the distally facing anchors and the method steps of engaging the proximally facing surface, based on the teachings of Smith, because both Smith and Fortson teach the grasping tissue from different angles and positions with anchors of different shapes and orientations relative to the tissue as desired by the operator, which allows for the device to be used in multiple scenarios instead of one (paragraphs [0030 – 0031] of Fortson; paragraphs [0029-0030] of Smith). Furthermore, because both Fortson and Smith teach methods for closing the tissue, it would have been obvious to substitute one method for the other to achieve the predictable results of securing tissue.
For the sake of simplicity the examiner will be referencing the anchors of Fortson throughout the rest of the rejection, however, it should be understood that the anchors have been modified to face distally and to engage the proximally facing tissue initially without going through the passage.
Regarding claim 2, as discussed above, the combination of Fortson and Smith teaches the device of claim 1. Additionally, Fortson discloses wherein the housing (sheath 110) further comprises a guidewire lumen (lumen through sheath 110) extending an axial length thereof.
Regarding claim 10, as discussed above, the combination of Fortson and Smith teaches the device of claim 1. Additionally, Fortson discloses wherein each of the releasable anchors comprises a shaft (shaft portion of elongate members 160 with each anchor) having an elongate configuration (configuration shown in Fig. 1) with an axial length greater than an outer transverse dimension (Fig. 1) (paragraph [0035]) that is configured to be actuated between a curved tissue gripping state (state shown in Fig. 2D) and a straightened state (state shown in Fig. 1), the shaft further including a sharpened distal end (anchor 120 has a sharp distal tip) (Examiner’s note: it should be understood that the preceding limitations is an intended use limitation which requires only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning in the manner claimed. With that said, Fortson discloses, in paragraph [0035], that the elongate members 160, thus the shaft, are made up of flexible shape-memory material; therefore, the structure of Fortson is capable and configured to function as claimed).
Regarding claim 11, as discussed above, the combination of Fortson and Smith teaches the device of claim 1. Additionally, Fortson discloses wherein the shaft comprises a shape memory metal (paragraph [0035]) that can be actuated between the curved tissue gripping state and the straightened state (Examiner’s note: it should be understood that the preceding limitations is an intended use limitation which requires only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning in the manner claimed. With that said, Fortson discloses, in paragraph [0035], that the elongate members 160, thus the shaft, are made up of flexible shape-memory material; therefore, the structure of Fortson is capable and configured to function as claimed).
Regarding claim 12, as discussed above, the combination of Fortson and Smith teaches the device of claim 1. Additionally, Fortson discloses wherein the shape memory metal of the shaft comprises nickel titanium alloy (paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 13, as discussed above, the combination of Fortson and Smith teaches the device of claim 1. Additionally, Fortson discloses wherein the shaft comprises a bi-metal structure that can be actuated between the curved tissue gripping state and the straightened state (Examiner’s note: it should be understood that the preceding limitations is an intended use limitation which requires only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning in the manner claimed. With that said, Fortson discloses, in paragraph [0035], that the elongate members 160, thus the shaft, are made up of flexible shape-memory material; therefore, the structure of Fortson is capable and configured to function as claimed. Additionally, as stated in paragraph [0038], the shape-memory material is Nitinol which makes the shaft a bi-metal structure).
Regarding claim 14, as discussed above, the combination of Fortson and Smith teaches the device of claim 1. Additionally, Fortson discloses wherein each of the detachable anchors (anchors 120) comprises a proximally oriented barb (teeth) (paragraph [0029]) (Examiner’s note: the teeth are oriented proximally relative to the tissue surface, as the anchors are modified to extend distally and engage the proximal surface of the tissue layer without passing through the access hole).
Regarding claim 15, as discussed above, the combination of Fortson and Smith teaches the device of claim 1. Additionally, Fortson discloses wherein the detachable anchors comprise a plurality of proximally oriented barbs (teeth) (paragraph [0029]) (Examiner’s note: the teeth are oriented proximally relative to the tissue surface, as the anchors are modified to extend distally and engage the proximal surface of the tissue layer without passing through the access hole).
Regarding claim 17, as discussed above, the combination of Fortson and Smith teaches the device of claim 1. Additionally, Fortson discloses wherein the releasable junctions comprise a junction released by mechanical detachment (retraction of the elongate members 160) (Examiner’s note: as discussed in paragraph [0042], the retraction of the elongate members uncouples the mandrel 140 and the anchors 120 from the elongate members. As uncoupling is defined as to release the coupling or link between, the retraction of the elongate members equates to, or at least makes obvious the mechanical detachment of the anchors as well as the detachment mechanism).
Regarding claim 18, as discussed above, the combination of Fortson and Smith teaches the device of claim 1. Additionally, Fortson discloses further comprising a lateral surface (outside surface on the distal end) configured to extend radially from a distal extension of the housing while the lateral surface is disposed within a blood vessel to provide a reference point between axial relative positions of the wall of the blood vessel and the anchors prior to deployment of the anchors (Examiner’s note: the outside surface of the sheath 110 on the distal end has a thickness that extends radially outward from the inner surface of the distal extension. Furthermore, it should be understood that the preceding limitations is an intended use limitation which requires only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning in the manner claimed. With that said, there is nothing that prohibits a user from using the designated lateral surface of the sheath 110 from being used to provide a reference point in the manner claimed; therefore, the Examiner contends that the structure of Fortson is capable and configured to function as claimed).
Regarding claim 19, as discussed above, the combination of Fortson and Smith teaches the device of claim 1. Additionally, Fortson discloses wherein the anchors (anchors 120) can be deployed a predetermined axial distance from the wall of the blood vessel as measured from the lateral surface which is disposed against the wall of the blood vessel (Examiner’s note: it should be understood that the preceding limitations is an intended use limitation which requires only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning in the manner claimed. With that said, there is nothing that prohibits a user from deploying the anchors a predetermined axial distance from the wall of the blood vessel as measured by the outer surface of the sheath 110 when the outer surface is against the vessel wall).
Regarding claim 20, Fortson discloses a vascular closure device (closure device 100) (abstract, paragraphs [0008], [0016], [0024], [0031 – 0042], and Figs. 1 – 2F), comprising:
a housing (sheath 110) having an elongate configuration with a proximal end and a distal section (section shown in Fig. 1) wherein the distal section is configured to be positioned above and adjacent to a passage in a fascia layer (Examiner’s note: it should be understood that the preceding limitations is an intended use limitation which requires only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning in the manner claimed; with that said, the distal section (i.e., the section shown in Fig. 1) is capable of being positioned as claimed);
a plurality of anchor deployers (elongate members 160 and anchors 120) which are slidably disposed relative to the housing at the distal section of the housing (paragraph [0032] and Figs. 1 – 2F), each anchor deployer comprising:
a deployment rod (elongate members 160) which is slidably disposed relative to the housing (paragraphs [0016], [0032], [0034], and Fig. 1) and which includes an elongate resilient configuration (configuration shown in Fig. 1) and a distal end (end attached to anchors 120 – shown in Fig. 1) that is configured to extend distally and radially outward from the distal section of the housing (shown in Fig. 2D), and
an anchor (anchor 120) is secured to the distal end of the deployment rod with a releasable junction (location of the anchor breakable from the elongate members 160 – shown in Fig. 2F) including a detachment mechanism disposed between the detachable anchor and the deployment rod (Examiner’s note: as discussed in paragraph [0042] and shown in Fig. 2F, the anchors 120 are detachable from the elongate members 160 at some releasable junction; and in order to detach them, the system must include some sort of mechanism to initiate the break. Therefore, Fortson encompasses a detachment mechanism as claimed),
the anchor configured to engage and secure to a proximal facing of the tissue layer from above the tissue layer without passing through the passage in the tissue layer (Examiner’s note: it should be understood that the preceding limitations is an intended use limitation which requires only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning in the manner claimed. With that said, Fortson discloses, in paragraph [0029], wherein the anchors 120 are configured to engage the outer surface of a lumen of a wall; therefore, the anchors of Fortson are capable of engaging and securing themselves to a proximally facing surface of the tissue layer (i.e., the top surface of tissue layer 190) without passing through the passage (i.e., the hole) in the tissue layer); and
a tissue grip (cleat 130) which is disposed on and deployable from the distal end of the housing (paragraphs [0021 – 0024], [0040 – 0042], and Figs. 1, 2D – 2F) (Examiner’s note: as shown in Fig. 1, the cleat 130 is disposed on the inside surface of the housing) and which is configured to be deployed directly to tissue of the tissue layer, compress and secure the tissue of the tissue layer, and maintain the tissue in a gathered configuration (paragraphs [0024], [0040 – 0042], and Fig. 2F).
However, Fortson is silent regarding (i) wherein the anchors are facing distally.
As to the above, Smith teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a vascular closure device (tissue aperture securing and sealing apparatus; abstract) comprising a housing (elongate member 140; which equate to the members 160 of Fortson) (paragraph [0032]), an anchor deployer (retractor 160; which equate to the shaft of members 160 of Fortson), and anchors (plurality of fingers 162; which equate to the anchors 20 of Fortson), wherein the anchors are facing distally and are configured to initially engage the proximally facing surface and secure itself to the tissue (Examiner’s note: as discussed in paragraph [0056] the fingers include a distal portion directed radially inward and extend distally from the base to splay out away from the longitudinal axis of the base, further shown in Fig. 10H; 10C; 10D; additionally paragraphs [0048, 0050, 0052, and 0057] discusses wherein the first surface that is engaged is the outer surface, which is the proximally facing surface, and does not recite wherein the anchors pass through the passage to engage said tissue; further paragraph [0057] recites hook like projections grab the tissue; and [0059] recites wherein the retractor 160 and thus the plurality of fingers are secured to the tissue), thus the claimed limitations are considered encompassed or at least obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and device for securing a tissue of Fortson to incorporate the distally facing anchors and the method steps of engaging the proximally facing surface, based on the teachings of Smith, because both Smith and Fortson teach the grasping tissue from different angles and positions with anchors of different shapes and orientations relative to the tissue as desired by the operator, which allows for the device to be used in multiple scenarios instead of one (paragraphs [0030 – 0031] of Fortson; paragraphs [0029-0030] of Smith). Furthermore, because both Fortson and Smith teach methods for closing the tissue, it would have been obvious to substitute one method for the other to achieve the predictable results of securing tissue.
Claims 3 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fortson (US 2010/0179590 A1) in view of Smith (US 2008/0287988 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gordon (US 5,540,704).
Regarding claim 3, as discussed above, the combination of Fortson and Smith makes obvious the device of claim 1 above.
However, the combination of Fortson and Smith is silent regarding (i) a handle.
As to the above, Gordon teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a tissue closure system comprising a handle (handle 538) (column 26, lines 23 – 61, and Fig. 39) for the purpose of having something for the surgeon to grasp / hold on to during the operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Fortson in view of Smith to incorporate a handle on the proximal end of the housing for the purpose of having something for the surgeon to grasp / hold on to during the operation.
Regarding claim 4, as discussed above, the combination of Fortson and Smith makes obvious vascular closure device of claim 1. Fortson further discloses the device further comprising a deployment rod pusher (plunger – not shown – paragraph [0036]) operatively coupled to the deployment rods (elongated members 160) (paragraph [0036]).
However, the combination of Fortson and Smith is silent regarding (i) wherein the pusher is spring loaded.
As to the above, Gordon teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a tissue closure system comprising a deployment rod (rigid tube 532) with an anchor (needle 560), and a deployment rod pusher (driver button 528) which is spring loaded and biased towards a retracted position (biased by spring 530) (column 26, lines 23 – 61) for the purpose of being able to extend and retract the anchor with ease, and for forcing the assembly back to its original position (column 28, lines 19 – 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the plunger of Fortson in view of Smith to incorporate a the spring, based on the teachings of Gordon, for the purpose of being able to extend and retract the deployment rods and for being able to bring the deployment rods back to their original position (column 28, lines 19 – 52 – Gordon).
Regarding claim 5, as discussed above, the combination of Fortson, Smith, and Gordon makes obvious the vascular closure device of claim 4. Additionally, Fortson further discloses wherein the deployment rod pusher (plunger – not shown – Fortson) is operatively coupled to a proximal end of the deployment rods (elongate members 160) (paragraph [0036]) and configured to extend the deployment rods (elongate members 160) in a distal direction upon actuation (paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 6, as discussed above, the combination of Fortson, Smith, and Gordon makes obvious the vascular closure device of claim 5. Additionally, Fortson further discloses wherein the deployment rods (elongate members 160) are configured to extend and retract simultaneously (Examiner’s note: Fortson states in paragraph [0036] that the plunger is coupled to a proximal end of both of the elongate members 160, therefore, because the singular plunger is coupled to both elongate members, any movement of the plunger would cause simultaneous movement of the deployment rods. Additionally, it should be understood that the is nothing that prevents the elongate members 160 from being simultaneously moved, therefore, the elongate members 160 are at least configured to move simultaneously).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fortson (US 2010/0179590 A1) in view of Smith (US 2008/0287988 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Noda (US 2012/0010633 A1).
Regarding claim 7, as discussed above, the combination of Fortson and Smith makes obvious the device of claim 1 above.
However, the combination of Fortson and Smith is silent regarding (i) wherein the tissue grip comprises a lock ring disposed about the anchor deployers which includes a self-retracting coil with a central lumen which is sized to allow movement of the tissue portions while the self-retracting coil is in an expanded state and which has an interior surface of the central lumen that is configured to compress and secure the tissue portions relative to each other when in a retracted state.
As to the above, Noda teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a vascular closure device (vessel closure) (abstract), comprising a housing (applicator tube 146) a proximal end (proximal end = end further from the hooks – not shown), a distal end (distal end = end closer to the anchors – Fig. 37) and a distal section (distal end of applicator tube 146); a plurality of anchor deployers (shaft of hooks 150) which are slidably (paragraph [0092]) disposed within the housing (applicator tube 146) an deployment rod (shaft of hooks 150), an anchor (hook ends of hooks 150), and a tissue grip (compression ring 144) wherein the tissue grip (compression ring 144) is disposed on the distal end of the housing (distal end of applicator tube 146) and configured to compress and secure tissue portions relative to each other once deployed from the distal end of the housing (distal end of applicator tube 146) (paragraph [0092]) and wherein the tissue grip (compression ring 144) comprises a lock ring (compression ring 144) disposed about the anchor deployers (disposed about the applicator 146 which is disposed about the shafts of the hooks 150) which includes a self-retracting coil (the ring 144 self-retracts when pushed off of the applicator tube 146 – paragraph [0092]) (Examiner’s note: Merriam-Webster defines a “coil” as “a single loop” – thus ring 144 is a coil under the broadest reasonable interpretation) with a central lumen (central lumen of compression ring 144) which is sized to allow movement of the tissue portions while the self-retracting coil is in an expanded state (Examiner’s note: figure 37 shows the compression ring 144 in the expanded state, where the lumen of the ring 144, is large enough to receive / allow movement of the tissue) and which has an interior surface of the central lumen that is configured to compress and secure the tissue portions relative to each other when in a retracted state (Examiner’s note: figure 42 shows the compression ring 144 in the retracted state, where the interior surface of the lumen compresses the tissue to secure tissue portions relative to each other).
It should be understood that Fortson and Noda are known references in the art that teach a vascular closure system comprising anchors and a tissue grip for locking the tissue pieces together (abstract and paragraphs [0040 – 0042] – Fortson ; abstract and paragraph [0092] – Noda); and the Examiner contends that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have substituted one tissue locking grip for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and resulted in the modified device of Fortson to being able to function as intended to properly close the tissue opening. The examiner notes the rejection above is based on KSR int’l Co. V. Teleflex inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), rational B, outlined in MPEP 2143.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fortson (US 2010/0179590 A1) in view of Smith (US 2008/0287988 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shimizu (US 2015/0265350 A1).
Regarding claim 8, as discussed above, the combination of Fortson and Smith makes obvious the device of claim 1 above. Additionally, Fortson discloses an outlet port (lumen opening) in the distal end of the housing (sheath 110) (Fig.1).
However, the combination of Fortson and Smith is silent regarding (i) wherein the tissue grip comprises an adhesive that can be dispensed from an outlet port in the distal end of the housing.
As to the above, Shimizu teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a tissue closure device comprising anchors (arms 26), and an outlet port (supply tube 100) for disposing an adhesive for the purpose of occluding the body lumen (paragraph [0210 – 0211]), and wherein the adhesive is preferable are cyanoacrylate because they exhibit an embolizing effect immediately upon discharge (paragraph [0211]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Fortson in view of Smith to incorporate an adhesive, based on the teachings of Shimizu, for the purpose of occluding the body lumen and providing an immediate embolizing effect (paragraph [0211] – Shimizu).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fortson (US 2010/0179590 A1) in view of Smith (US 2008/0287988 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wiltshire et al (US 2004/0138529 A1).
Regarding claim 9, as discussed above, the combination of Fortson and Smith makes obvious the device of claim 1 above.
However, the combination of Fortson and Smith is silent regarding (i) wherein each of the releasable anchors comprise a pair of jaws, with opposed pair of tissue gripping teeth, that can be moved between an open state and a closed state. (Examiner’s note: see the claim interpretation section on how claim 9 is being interpreted to read “a pair of jaws” instead of “a jaw”).
As to the above, Wiltshire teaches a tissue grasping device comprising two tissue grasping jaws (end-effectors 48; which equate to the anchors 120 of Fortson) with opposed pair of tissue gripping teeth (abstract, paragraphs [0082], [0141], [0145], and Figs. 1, 2, 30).
It should be understood that Fortson and Wiltshire are known references in the art that teach a tissue grasping instruments comprising two tissue graspers (abstract and paragraphs [0040 – 0042] – Fortson ; abstract and paragraph [0092] – Noda); and the Examiner contends that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have substituted one tissue grasping tip for another (i.e., making the anchors of Fortson comprise jaws similar to the jaws of Wiltshire), and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and resulted in the modified device of Fortson to being able to function as intended to properly close grasp and hold on to the tissue. The Examiner notes the rejection above is based on KSR int’l Co. V. Teleflex inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), rational B, outlined in MPEP 2143.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fortson (US 2010/0179590 A1) in view of Smith (US 2008/0287988 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Drasler (US 2013/0006297 A1).
Regarding claim 16, as discussed above, the combination of Fortson and Smith makes obvious the device of claim 1 above.
However, the combination of Fortson and Smith is silent regarding (i) wherein the detachment mechanism is a thermal mechanism for releasing the anchors.
As to the above, Drasler teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a vessel closure device comprising a housing (inner sheath 95), a deployment rod (connecting fiber 105), and an anchor (anchor 130); wherein the anchor (anchor 130) is released from the deployment rod (connecting fiber 105) via a thermal or mechanical mechanism (paragraph [0077]).
It should be understood that Fortson and Noda are known references in the art that teach a vascular closure system comprising anchors that are detachable from the system via detachment mechanism (abstract and paragraphs [0038 – 0042] – Fortson ; abstract and paragraph [0077] – Drasler); and the Examiner contends that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have substituted one detachment mechanism for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and resulted in the modified device of Fortson to being able to function as intended to properly release the anchors. The examiner notes the rejection above is based on KSR int’l Co. V. Teleflex inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), rational B, outlined in MPEP 2143.
Related Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sibbitt, JR. et al (US 2007/0049968 A1) and Mas (US 2009/0264922 A1) teach vascular closure devices comprising a plurality of anchors.
Conclusion
/Andrew Restaino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771