Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species XI (FIG. 15-16) in the reply filed on 16 December 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Species are in the same classes and subclasses. This is not found persuasive because the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search; in particular the different species would require employing different search strategies or search queries.
It is noted that no claims are withdrawn as a result of the election.
The restriction is deemed proper and considered final.
DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication(s) filed on 16 December 2025.
Claims 1-20 are being considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted was/were considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner notes, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term “plenum” includes “an air filled space in a structure” (see Merriam-Webster).
Examiner note: no 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as unpatentable over Tsukimoto et al (US 20180010460), hereafter referred to as Tsukimoto, in view of Jackson et al (US 20030082053), hereafter referred to as Jackson.
Regarding Claim 1, Tsukimoto discloses the following:
A stator vane (24, FIG. 1, 11; also see [0053]) comprising:
a platform (synonymous with shroud portions 40A, 40B; see FIG. 3) defining an opening (42A, 42B; FIG. 3);
an airfoil (30) having a leading edge, a trailing edge, a suction side wall, and a pressure side wall (not labeled, as best seen in FIG. 3), the airfoil (30) extending radially between a base and a tip,
the airfoil (30) defining a cavity (74, FIG. 3-4),
wherein at least one of the base or the tip includes a protrusion (synonymous 32A,B, see FIG. 5; [0062]), the protrusion (synonymous 32A,B, see FIG. 5; [0062]) extending into the opening (42A, 42B; FIG. 3) of the platform (synonymous with shroud portions 40A, 40B; see FIG. 3) such that the platform (synonymous with shroud portions 40A, 40B; see FIG. 3) surrounds the protrusion (synonymous 32A,B, see FIG. 5; [0062]) of the airfoil (30);
a cooling circuit (having cooling hole 34 A,B, and plenum 50A,B; as best seen in FIG. 11) defined in the protrusion (synonymous 32A,B, see FIG. 5; [0062]) of the airfoil (30) to cool the weld joint (51), the cooling circuit (having cooling hole 34 A,B, and plenum 50A,B; as best seen in FIG. 11) fluidly connected to the cavity (74, FIG. 3-4).
Tsukimoto does not explicitly disclose the following:
wherein the welded joint is a brazed joint;
However Jackson teaches the following:
it is well known to use welding and brazing interchangeably (see [0025]) when mechanically fastening turbine blades (12) to platforms (synonymous with tip portion 20; see FIG. 3);
a braze joint (31, FIG. 3; [0025]) disposed between and fixedly coupling the platform (synonymous with tip portion 20; FIG. 3) and the protrusion (as seen in FIG. 3) of the airfoil (12);
MOTIVATION STATEMENT
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the welded joint between the turbine blade components as disclosed by Tsukimoto, wherein the joint is instead a brazed joint, as taught by Jackson, with the reasonable expectation of successfully mechanically joining the turbine blade components. The Examiner notes, the simple substitution of the welded joint of Tsukimoto, with the brazed joint of Jackson, yields the predictable result of joining an airfoil with a platform (i.e. substituting one known means to join an airfoil with a platform with another known means to join an airfoil with a platform). This rationale further supports a conclusion of obviousness to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2143, I, B).
Regarding Claim 2, Tsukimoto as modified by Jackson discloses the following:
The stator vane (24, FIG. 1, 11; also see [0053]) as in claim 1,
Tsukimoto continues to teach the following:
wherein the cooling circuit (having cooling hole 34 A,B, and plenum 50A,B; as best seen in FIG. 11) comprises one or more inlet (radially outer opening of the cavity; FIG. 4) channels (right side of 34A,B in combination with the radially outer opening of the cavity) and one or more outlet channels (outlet of plenum 50A,B where the circuit joins the fluid passage 72; FIG. 11).
Regarding Claim 3, Tsukimoto as modified by Jackson discloses the following:
The stator vane (24, FIG. 1, 11; also see [0053]) as in claim 1,
Tsukimoto continues to teach the following:
wherein the one or more inlet (radially outer opening of the cavity; FIG. 4) channels (right side of 34A,B in combination with the radially outer opening of the cavity) extend from an inlet (radially outer opening of the cavity; FIG. 4) on a radially outer surface of the airfoil (30) towards the braze joint (31, FIG. 3; [0025] as modified by Jackson).
Regarding Claim 11, Tsukimoto discloses the following:
A turbomachine comprising:
a compressor section;
a combustion section; and
a turbine section comprising a plurality of stator vanes (24, FIG. 1, 11; also see [0053]), wherein at least one stator vane (24, FIG. 1, 11; also see [0053]) of the plurality of stator vanes (24, FIG. 1, 11; also see [0053]) comprises:
a platform (synonymous with shroud portions 40A, 40B; see FIG. 3) defining an opening (42A, 42B; FIG. 3);
an airfoil (30) having a leading edge, a trailing edge, a suction side wall, and a pressure side wall (not labeled, as best seen in FIG. 3), the airfoil (30) extending radially between a base and a tip, the airfoil (30) defining a cavity (74, FIG. 3-4), wherein at least one of the base or the tip includes a protrusion (synonymous 32A,B, see FIG. 5; [0062]), the protrusion (synonymous 32A,B, see FIG. 5; [0062]) extending into the opening (42A, 42B; FIG. 3) of the platform (synonymous with shroud portions 40A, 40B; see FIG. 3) such that the platform (synonymous with shroud portions 40A, 40B; see FIG. 3) surrounds the protrusion (synonymous 32A,B, see FIG. 5; [0062]) of the airfoil (30);
a cooling circuit (having cooling hole 34 A,B, and plenum 50A,B; as best seen in FIG. 11) defined in the protrusion (synonymous 32A,B, see FIG. 5; [0062]) of the airfoil (30) to cool the weld joint (51), the cooling circuit (having cooling hole 34 A,B, and plenum 50A,B; as best seen in FIG. 11) fluidly connected to the cavity (74, FIG. 3-4).
Tsukimoto does not explicitly disclose the following:
wherein the welded joint is a brazed joint;
However Jackson teaches the following:
it is well known to use welding and brazing interchangeably (see [0025]) when mechanically fastening turbine blades (12) to platforms (synonymous with tip portion 20; see FIG. 3);
a braze joint (31, FIG. 3; [0025]) disposed between and fixedly coupling the platform (synonymous with tip portion 20; FIG. 3) and the protrusion (as seen in FIG. 3) of the airfoil (12);
MOTIVATION STATEMENT
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the welded joint between the turbine blade components as disclosed by Tsukimoto, wherein the joint is instead a brazed joint, as taught by Jackson, with the reasonable expectation of successfully mechanically joining the turbine blade components. The Examiner notes, the simple substitution of the welded joint of Tsukimoto, with the brazed joint of Jackson, yields the predictable result of joining an airfoil with a platform (i.e. substituting one known means to join an airfoil with a platform with another known means to join an airfoil with a platform). This rationale further supports a conclusion of obviousness to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2143, I, B).
Regarding Claim 12, Tsukimoto as modified by Jackson discloses the following:
The turbomachine as in claim 11,
Tsukimoto continues to teach the following:
wherein the cooling circuit (having cooling hole 34 A,B, and plenum 50A,B; as best seen in FIG. 11) comprises one or more inlet (radially outer opening of the cavity; FIG. 4) channels (right side of 34A,B in combination with the radially outer opening of the cavity) and one or more outlet channels (outlet of plenum 50A,B where the circuit joins the fluid passage 72; FIG. 11).
Regarding Claim 13, Tsukimoto as modified by Jackson discloses the following:
The turbomachine as in claim 11,
Tsukimoto continues to teach the following:
wherein the one or more inlet (radially outer opening of the cavity; FIG. 4) channels (right side of 34A,B in combination with the radially outer opening of the cavity) extend from an inlet (radially outer opening of the cavity; FIG. 4) on a radially outer surface of the airfoil (30) towards the braze joint (31, FIG. 3; [0025] as modified by Jackson).
Claim(s) 5-10 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tsukimoto et al (US 20180010460), hereafter referred to as Tsukimoto, in view of Jackson et al (US 20030082053), hereafter referred to as Jackson, as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, in further view of Wilson (US 4288201), hereafter referred to as Wilson.
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Tsukimoto and Jackson disclose the following:
The stator vane and turbomachine as in claims 1 and 11 (respectively),
wherein the stator vane (24, FIG. 1, 11; also see [0053]) defines a cavity (74, FIG. 3-4),
Tsukimoto as modified by Jackson does not disclose the following:
further comprising an insert coupled to the protrusion and extending into the cavity.
However Wilson teaches the following:
wherein the stator vane defines a cavity (24, FIG. 1), wherein an insert (26, FIG. 1) is coupled to the protrusion (as applied to the protrusion of Tsukimoto) and extends into the cavity (24, FIG. 1), and wherein a cap (42, FIG. 1) is coupled to the protrusion (as applied to the protrusion of Tsukimoto) and extends across the cavity (24, FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cavity of the airfoil as disclosed by Tsukimoto and modified by Jackson, wherein an insert is coupled to the protrusion and extends into the cavity, and wherein a cap is coupled to the protrusion and extends across the cavity, as taught by Wilson, with the reasonable expectation of successfully providing an airfoil with improved use of vane cooling air without introducing mechanical stresses or differential growth induced deformation into the structure (see for example Abstract, Wilson).
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Tsukimoto, Jackson, and Wilson disclose the following:
The stator vane and turbomachine as in claims 5 and 15 (respectively),
Wilson continues to teach the following:
further comprising a cap (42, FIG. 1) coupled to the protrusion (synonymous 32A,B, see FIG. 5; [0062]) and extending across the cavity (74, FIG. 3-4).
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Tsukimoto, Jackson, and Wilson disclose the following:
The stator vane and turbomachine as in claims 6 and 16 (respectively),
Wilson continues to teach the following:
wherein the cap (42, FIG. 1) and the insert (26, FIG. 1) define an outlet plenum within the cavity (74, FIG. 3-4) of the stator vane (24, FIG. 1, 11; also see [0053]).
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, Tsukimoto, Jackson, and Wilson disclose the following:
The stator vane and turbomachine as in claims 7 and 17 (respectively),
Tsukimoto continues to teach the following:
wherein the cooling circuit (having cooling hole 34 A,B, and plenum 50A,B; as best seen in FIG. 11) is in fluid communication with the outlet plenum (It is noted, since there is a gap between the cap, insert, and airfoil, the insert of Wilson as applied to Tsukimoto would result in the cooling circuit of Tsukimoto in fluid communication with the outlet plenums of the insert.).
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, Tsukimoto, Jackson, and Wilson disclose the following:
The stator vane and turbomachine as in claims 8 and 18 (respectively),
Wilson continues to teach the following:
wherein an annular plenum (space between 26 and 28, FIG. 1; for example see Col. 2, line 60-Col. 3, line 20) is defined between the insert (26, FIG. 1) and a wall of the airfoil (30).
Regarding Claims 10 and 20, Tsukimoto, Jackson, and Wilson disclose the following:
The stator vane and turbomachine as in claims 9 and 19 (respectively),
Wilson continues to teach the following:
wherein the annular plenum (space between 26 and 28, FIG. 1; for example see Col. 2, line 60-Col. 3, line 20) is fluidly coupled to the outlet plenum via an insert aperture (30, FIG. 1) defined in the insert (26, FIG. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 14 would appear to be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In combination with the other structures required by the independent claims, the inclusion of:
Regarding Claims 4 and 14:
wherein the one or more outlet channels extend from the inlet channel away from the braze joint to an outlet on an interior surface of the airfoil;
was not found or fairly taught by prior art and differentiated the claims from the closest prior art to Tsukimoto et al (US 20180010460), Jackson et al (US 20030082053), and Wilson (US 4288201).
The Examiner notes Tsukimoto is considered the closest prior art and does not teach the limitations as described above. Further, it appears there would be no reason to modify the prior art without the benefit of Applicant's disclosure and impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
See form No. 892 for other references pertinent to the application that may not have been cited within the Office Action.
For references which show similar stator vane arrangements see Pages 1-3.
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745