DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-10 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/25/2026.
Therefore, claims 1-7 and 11-13 are examined and claims 8-10 and 14 are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: “of intra-uterine device” should be “of intra-uterine device (IUD)” line 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: “a tube and an intra-uterine device (IUD)” should be “a tube and an intra-uterine device (130) [[(IUD)]]” in line 2. Appropriate correction is required. Please see 35 U.S.C 112(b) for “a tube” below.
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: “of postpartum uterus (150)” should be “of a postpartum uterus (150)” in line 19. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: “vagina of postpartum uterus (150)” should be “a vagina of the postpartum uterus (150)” in line 20. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: “a fundal end” should be “[[a]] the fundal end” in line 16. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: “a gripping end” should be “[[a]] the gripping end” in line 19. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities: “a fundal end of the placement tube” should be “[[a]] the fundal end (118) of the placement tube (114)” in lines 3-4. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 objected to because of the following informalities: “of postpartum uterus (150)” should be “of the postpartum uterus (150)” in lines 7-8. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: “a orifice” should be”[[a]] an orifice” in line 2. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities: “on one of its flat faces” should be “on at least one [[of]] [[its]] flat [[faces]] face of the string retainer (131)” in line 6. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 objected to because of the following informalities: “the gripping end” should be “the gripping end (117)” in line 23. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 objected to because of the following informalities: “till remaining” should be “[[till] until remaining” in line 10. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 2-5, 7, 11, and 13 are also rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “an intra-uterine device” in line 2 is unclear. Examiner is unsure whether “an intra-uterine device” is another structure or if it is referring back to the intra-uterine device that was introduced in the preamble. Examiner examined this claim as best understood. Examiner suggests positively reciting both the instrument comprises a tube and an intra-uterine device if desired.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “a placement tube” in line 5 is unclear. Examiner is unsure whether “a placement tube” is another structure or if it is referring back to the tube that was introduced in the preamble. Examiner examined this claim as best understood. Examiner also suggests adding a reference number to “a tube” or “a placement tube” in the preamble.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “a placement string (121) disposed removably on the IUD (130) having a retrieval string (115) disposed unremovably” in lines 9-10 is unclear. Examiner is unsure whether there are two sets of strings or if a portion of a retrieval string is a part of the placement string. Examiner examined this claim as best understood and suggests to positively recite each set of strings if there are two sets of strings.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the bulge" in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “wherein the retrieval string is knotted around a orifice of the bulge from a middle of the retrieval string” is unclear. Examiner is unsure if applicant wanted the knot to be located in the middle of the retrieval string or in another location based on the limitation above. Examiner examined this claim as best understood.
Regarding claim 12, the limitation “a first end” in line 2 is unclear. Examiner is unsure whether there is another first end of the placement string or if it is referring back to the first end that was introduced in claim 1. Examiner examined this claim as best understood.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the hanging end(s)" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the two respective constraining slots" in lines 14-15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the ends" in lines 15-16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the two ends" in lines 18-19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation " the respective guiding slots" in line 23. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the middle" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner examined this claim as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LYYTIKÄINEN et al. (US 20200179159 A1).
Regarding claim 1, LYYTIKÄINEN discloses an instrument (figure 2A, an inserter and almond-shaped IUS: paragraph 0095) for postpartum placement of intra-uterine device (1 – figure 2A, an almond-shaped IUS: paragraph 0095) (the inserter is used for positioning the intra-uterine device [1]: paragraph 0001), comprising a tube (6 – figure 1, an insertion tube: paragraph 0092) and an intra-uterine device (1), the instrument (figure 2A) characterized by: a placement tube (6) of an extended length (figure 2A, the placement tube [6] has an extended length) having a rotation constraining means (20 – figure 9D, a connection slot: paragraph 0104) at a fundal end (A – see annotated figure 1, a fundal end of the placement tube) (see annotated figure 1/9D, the rotation constraining means [20] is at the fundal end of the placement tube [A] that releases the intra-uterine device [1]:paragraph 0104), a pair of guiding slots at a gripping end (B – see annotated figure 1, a gripping end with plunger: paragraph 0093) (the gripping end [B] may also have a connection part [pair of guiding slots] comprising of two to six slots; the connection part [pair of guiding slots] can also be made to fit onto the plunger of the gripping end [B]: paragraph 0049), a referencing mark or projection (5/8 – figure 2A, a slider [5] within an opening [8]: paragraph 0092) at the gripping end (A) in a defined position with respect to the rotation constraining means (20) (figure 1, the referencing mark or projection [5] is slider and there is an opening [8] that provides a visual positional reference; it is in a position with respect to the rotation constraining means [20]: paragraph 0093), a placement string (7 – figure 2A, a removal string(s): paragraph 0095) disposed removably on the IUD (1) having a retrieval string disposed unremovably (figure 7A/7B, the placement string [7] has a portion of its string where it is locked or unremovable by a locking part before use: paragraph 0102), a string retainer (3 – figure 1, a handle that has a portion of the placement string [7] within it via the locking part [16 – figure 7A/7B]: paragraph 0092/0098/0102) having an axial though-hole (9 – figure 1, at one end of the string retainer [3], there is a channel for the placement tube [6] to slide in: paragraph 0092-0093), the string retainer (3) firmly stay puts linearly as well as rotatingly on the placement tube (6) (figure 1, the string retainer [3] is also a handle that does not move linearly or rotate: paragraph 0092-0093), and a string lock (16 – figure 7A/7B, a locking means that immobilizes the strings: paragraph 0102) having a concentric hole (figure 7A/7B, the string lock [16] has a pinhole through which the placement string [7] runs through: paragraph 0060-0061/0102), the string lock (16) firmly stay puts linearly on the placement tube (6) (figure 7A, the string lock [16] stays put linearly before use: paragraph 0102); the extended length of the placement tube (6) is configured to include a portion of tube length for holding the placement tube from the gripping end (A) after a fundal end of the placement tube touches a fundus of postpartum uterus (the placement tube [6] is inserted into the uterus of the patient and the gripping end [B] comprises a handle [3 – see annotated figure 1] that allows the user to maneuver and insert the IUD [1] into the uterus: paragraph 0056/0084-0090) and a gripping end of the placement tube (A) projects out of vagina of postpartum uterus (the gripping end of the placement tube [B] projects out of the vagina for handling purposes and to position the IUD [1] in the uterus via the placement tube [6]: paragraph 0056/0084-0090), and a placement length of the placement string includes a portion of placement string (7) length for holding a first end of the placement string (figure 2B, the first end of the placement string is coupled to the IUD [1]: paragraph 0089) while a second end is trapped by the string retainer (3) while the IUD (1) is situated at the fundal end of the placement tube (figure 2A/2B/7A/7B, the second end of the placement string is coupled to the string lock [16] within the string retainer [3] while the IUD [1] is situated at the fundal end of the placement tube before use: paragraph 0089/0098/0102) with the placement string (7) taut (figure 7A/figure 7B, the placement string [7] is taut before use via string lock [16]: paragraph 0102) and arms of the IUD (C/D – see annotated figure 2, first and second arm portions of the IUD; it was also mentioned in the prior art that the IUD can be polygonal shaped or diamond shaped rather than almond shaped as seen in the annotated figure: paragraph 0051) constrained against rotation by the rotation constraining means (20) (the rotation constraining means [20] help secure the IUD [1] in the correct configuration during insertion: paragraph 0050).
Annotated figure 1: inserter of LYYTIKÄINEN et al.
Annotated figure 2: connection between IUD and inserter of LYYTIKÄINEN et al.
Regarding claim 2, LYYTIKÄINEN et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. LYYTIKÄINEN et al. further discloses wherein the rotation constraining means (20) is a pair of constraining slots integrally formed at a fundal end of the placement tube (A) (see annotated figure 1/9D, the rotation constraining means [20] can have two-six slots; the rotation constraining means [20] is at the fundal end of the placement tube [A] that releases the intra-uterine device [1]: paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 4, LYYTIKÄINEN et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 2. LYYTIKÄINEN et al. further discloses wherein the pair of guiding slots is axially parallel to the pair of constraining slots (20) (the gripping end [B] may also have a connection part [pair of guiding slots] comprising of two to six slots; the connection part [pair of guiding slots] can be made to fit onto the plunger of the gripping end [B]. Furthermore, since the slots of the connection parts [the pair of guiding slots and pair of constraining slots {20}] can be parallel to the placement tube [6], the pair of guiding slots and pair of constraining slots [20] can be axially parallel to each other: paragraph 0049-0050).
Regarding claim 13, LYYTIKÄINEN et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1. LYYTIKÄINEN et al. further discloses wherein the instrument (figure 2A) is configured to place the IUD (1) comprising the steps of: a. taking out the instrument (figure 2A) from a sterilized transparent pouch (the instrument [figure 2A] is taken out of the sterile package for use: paragraph 0089/0095), b. inserting the instrument (figure 2A) from the fundal end (A) of the placement tube (6) (the inserter comprising the fundal end [A] of the placement tube [6] is introduced into the uterus of the patient: paragraph 0084-0090), c. orienting the placement tube (6) so that the projection (5/8) is visibly in the middle (figure 2A, the placement tube [6] can be oriented in different positions so the projection [5/8] is visible in the middle of the gripping end’s [A] surface), d. dismounting the string lock (16) from the gripping end of the placement tube (A) (figure 7A/7B, the string lock [16] is dismounted from its original position in order to release the placement string [7]: paragraph 0102), e. cutting the placement string (7) at a vicinity of the second end (there can be a blade within the projection [5/8] to cut the placement string loose from the inserter: paragraph 0079-0080/0092-0093), f. pulling out the placement string (7) from a vicinity of the first end till remaining placement string (7) is out of the placement tube (6), including a cut end (the placement string [7] is coupled to the IUD [1] at its first end and is pulled out of the placement tube [6] [including the released/cut end]: paragraph 0084-0090), and g. withdrawing the placement tube (6) (once the IUD [1] is in its correct location, the placement tube [6] is removed: 0084-0090) (please see examiner further notes below).
Examiner further notes: With respect to Claim 13, regarding the method step claimed, to the extent that the prior art apparatus meets the structural limitations of the apparatus as claimed, it will inherently perform the method steps as claimed. Furthermore, it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of anticipation has been established. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986) and In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); (under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device) see MPEP 2112.01(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LYYTIKÄINEN et al. (US 20200179159 A1) in view of Lad et al. (US 20180055684 A1).
Regarding claim 3, LYYTIKÄINEN et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
However, LYYTIKÄINEN et al. fails to disclose wherein the placement tube made of a thermoplastic material is configured to bend axially to adopt to a curvature of postpartum uterus.
Lad et al. teaches wherein an analogous placement tube (16 – figure 1A, an insertion tube: paragraph 0018) made of a thermoplastic material (the placement tube [16] can be made of polypropylene, low density polyethylene, polycarbonate, and polyvinylchloride [applicant’s specification mentioned polypropylene as an example of a thermoplastic material: page 5, lines 4-13]: paragraph 0022) is configured to bend axially to adopt to a curvature of postpartum uterus (the placement tube [16] is flexible and can conform to human anatomy: paragraph 0022).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the placement tube of LYYTIKÄINEN et al. to be made of a thermoplastic material as taught by Lad et al. in order to provide an instrument that has an improved placement tube that is capable of conforming to human anatomy for ease of inserting the IUD (paragraph 0015/0022, Lad et al.).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LYYTIKÄINEN et al. (US 20200179159 A1).
Regarding claim 5, LYYTIKÄINEN et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
However, LYYTIKÄINEN et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the placement tube has a thickness 0.5mm to 2.5mm and a diameter of 5mm to 8mm.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the thickness of the placement tube to be 0.5mm to 2.5mm and the diameter of the placement tube to be 5mm to 8mm to ensure that the placement tube can be straight or curved so as to conform to the anatomy of the uterus (LYYTIKÄINEN et al., paragraph 0057), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, applicant places no criticality on the ranges claimed, indicating simply that the thickness is “typically” within the claimed ranges and the diameter is “optimum” within the claimed ranges (written specification: page 12, lines 13-18).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LYYTIKÄINEN et al. (US 20200179159 A1) in view of Raje et al. (US 20170231809 A1).
Regarding claim 6, LYYTIKÄINEN et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
However, LYYTIKÄINEN et al. fails to disclose wherein the retrieval string is knotted around a orifice of the bulge from a middle of the retrieval string.
Raje et al. teaches wherein analogous retrieval string (4 – figure 2A, a string: paragraph 0055) is knotted around a orifice (61a/61b – figure 2A, a pair of opening: paragraph 0055) of the bulge (3 – figure 2A, a region that is a hemisphere: paragraph 0054) from a middle of the analogous retrieval string (4) (figure 2A/figure 2B/figure 2C, the retrieval string [4] is knotted around an orifice [61a/61b] of the bulge [3] and the knot [5 – figure 2A] is located in the middle of the retrieval spring [there are two hanging portions {9 – figure 2A}]: paragraph 0055).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the IUD of LYYTIKÄINEN et al. to have a bulge comprising an orifice in which the retrieval string is knotted around the orifice of the bulge as taught by Raje et al. in order to provide an instrument that has an improved IUD that prevents the retrieval string from curling up in the uterus through the cervix which would allow users to check if the IUD got expelled or not (paragraph 0003-0004/0058, Raje et al.).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LYYTIKÄINEN et al. (US 20200179159 A1) in view of Tal et al. (US 20160058609 A1).
Regarding claim 7, LYYTIKÄINEN et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
However, LYYTIKÄINEN et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the retrieval string has a hanging length of 4cm to 13cm.
Tal et al. teaches wherein an analogous retrieval string (24 – figure 1A, a retrieval thread: paragraph 0025) has a hanging length of 4cm to 13cm (the retrieval string [24] has a length of about 5cm to 9cm, which falls within the claimed range: column 4, lines 1-2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the filing date to have modified the hanging length of the retrieval string from 5cm-9cm to 4cm-13cm to allow clinicians to not cut the retrieval string, which would eliminate a deployment step, save time, and reduce use of instrument resources (Tal et al., paragraph 0027). Additionally, the claimed value lies within the range disclosed by the prior art (please see MPEP 2144.05 I., “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)”). Further, applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the hanging length of the retrieval string is within the claimed ranges (page 5, lines 24-27/page 6, lines 1-5/page 13, lines 10-19).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LYYTIKÄINEN et al. (US 20200179159 A1) in view of Deckman et al. (US 20190307600 A1).
Regarding claim 11, LYYTIKÄINEN et al. discloses the invention as discussed in claim 1.
However, LYYTIKÄINEN et al. fails to disclose wherein the string retainer has a reference mark on one of its flat faces.
Deckman et al. teaches wherein an analogous string retainer (635 – figure 6A, a handle with a string control slider to control the one or more strings attached to the IUD: paragraph 0103/0105) has a reference mark (639 – figure 6A, markings: paragraph 0108) on one of its flat faces (figure 6A, the string retainer [635] has a reference mark [639] on its flat surface: paragraph 0108).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the string retainer of LYYTIKÄINEN et al. with a reference mark as taught by Deckman et al. in order to provide an instrument that has an improved string retainer that provides a visual or tactile indication to the user the appropriate positions of the insertion device components during the multiple phases of the insertion procedure (paragraph 0114, Deckman et al.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 12 contains allowable subject matter because the prior art fails to disclose, either singly or
in combination, the limitations of the claim. The closest prior art made of record was LYYTIKÄINEN et al. (US 20200179159 A1) in view of Raje et al. (US 20170231809 A1).
LYYTIKÄINEN et al. in view of Raje et al. discloses wherein the instrument (LYYTIKÄINEN et al.: figure 2A) comprises a first end of the placement string (Raje et al.: 4 – figure 2A, a string: paragraph 0055) inserted into an orifice (Raje et al.: 61a/61b – figure 2A, a pair of opening: paragraph 0055) of a bulge (Raje et al.: 3 – figure 2A, a region that is a hemisphere: paragraph 0054) of an analogous IUD (Raje et al.: 20 – figure 2A, IUD: paragraph 0051) (figure 2A/figure 2B/figure 2C, the retrieval string [4] is knotted around an orifice [61a/61b] of the bulge [3] of the IUD [20] and the knot [5 – figure 2A] is located in the middle of the retrieval spring [there are two hanging portions {9 – figure 2A}]: paragraph 0055), the first end and the second end of the placement string of the IUD slipped into placement tube (LYYTIKÄINEN et al.: 6) from the fundal end (LYYTIKÄINEN et al.: A), continued with the hanging end(s) of the retrieval strings slipped in (LYYTIKÄINEN et al. in view of Raje et al., with the combination of arts, the placement string [7] of LYYTIKÄINEN et al. comprising the retrieval strings are inserted into the fundal end of the placement tube [A] of LYYTIKÄINEN et al., as seen in figure 2B: paragraph 0084-0090).
However, none of the relevant prior art discloses the first end (121A) and the second end (121B) pulled out from the gripping end (117) while the arms (129) of the IUD (130) sit in the two respective constraining slots (142) of the placement tube (114), keeping both the ends (121A, 121B) of the placement string (121) taut, the string retainer (131) slid on the placement tube (114) slipping over the placement string (121), till the string retainer (131) carries the placement string (121) along and is close to the two ends (121A, 121B) of the placement string (121), the string lock (132) slid on the placement tube (114) from the gripping end (117) and positioned just after the gripping end (117) of the placement tube (114), the placement string (121) in the vicinity of the first end (121A) and the second end (121B) placed in the respective guiding slots (142A) at the gripping end, the placement string (121) being taut. Therefore, claim 12 is allowable once the 35 U.S.C 112(b) issues has been resolved.
Conclusion
/ANDREW JUN-WAI MOK/Examiner, Art Unit 3786
/KARI K RODRIQUEZ/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3786