DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Although the prior art teaches glass substrates with solar control films similar to that of claim 17, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest such a structure as set forth in the present claim 17 wherein the first and thirteen dielectric layers are materials having a medium refractive index and the second through twelfth and fourteenth layers are alternating high and low index materials.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tonooka et al., US 2010/0132756 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Tonooka teaches an article comprising a glass substrate with opposite first and second surfaces and a non-conductive solar coating on one of the first or second surfaces, the coating comprising alternating layers of a high index material and a low index material, the high-index material being in contact with the glass substrate (Abstract, Fig. 4, 7, and 9, [0022]-[0026]). Note that although Tonooka does not explicitly teach that the coating layers are to be “non-conductive,” Tonooka teaches numerous specific examples of materials that are non-conductive (e.g. silica and titania as seen in Fig. 4 and [0075]).
Regarding claim 2, Tonooka teaches low-index materials with a refractive index of less than 1.7 (e.g. the silica of Fig. 4, 7, and 9).
Regarding claims 3, 4, 8, 9, and 13, Tonooka teaches that the coating may comprise seven layers of hi-index material alternating with seven layers of low-index material (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Tonooka teaches that the product may have a visible transmittance of greater than 70% (Fig. 5, [0076]).
Regarding claims 12 and 15, Tonooka teaches that the coating may have a total thickness of 1308 nm (the sum of each layer thickness in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Tonooka teaches that the high-index material may be titania (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonooka et al., US 2010/0132756 A1.
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Tonooka teaches that the coating may comprise a mixed metal oxide of zinc and tin (ie, a zinc stanate) ([0023]) and that the layer may have a thickness of 10 – 325 nm ([0026]). Note that when a claimed range overlaps with or lies inside a range disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Regarding claim 7, Tonooka teaches that the product may have a visible transmittance of greater than 60% (Abstract, Claim 1). Note that when a claimed range overlaps with or lies inside a range disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonooka et al., US 2010/0132756 A1 as applied above, in view of Veerasamy, US 6602371 B2.
Regarding claim 10, Tonooka teaches an article as discussed above. The teachings of Tonooka differ from the present invention in that although Tonooka teaches that the product may be used as part of a vehicle windshield, Tonooka does not teach a protective overcoat. Veerasamy, however, teaches that it is desirable to provide such vehicle windshields with protective outer coatings to improve scratch resistance (col. 1 ln. 19-45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the product of Tonooka with a protective coating, in accordance with the teachings of Veersasamy, because doing so would help protect the product from scratches.
Regarding claim 11, Veersasamy teaches that windshields typically comprise two glass substrates opposite each other (col. 1 ln. 19-25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the product of Tonooka with a second glass substrate opposite the first substrate, in accordance with the teachings of Veersasamy, because such a structure is typical in the construction of windshields.
Conclusion
/IAN A RUMMEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785