DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the post comprising a passageway through the post, as set forth in claim 2, lines 1-2, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84 for including extraneous written matter in Figures 2, 4, 9-14, 16, 20, 22, 23, and 25-27. Written matter is reserved the specification, wherein the description of the drawings is used to describe the drawing views. See MPEP 608.01(F).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(a) because Figures 1, 4, and 11 are not of sufficient quality such that all details in the drawings are reproducible in black and white in the printed patent.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h) and 37 CFR 1.84(u) because Figure 14 includes multiple views under a single label, and therefore the views are not “clearly separated from one another”. Further, “[t]he different views must be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation, “the adjacent posts are configured to be anchored to the ground, and wherein, with the adjacent posts anchored to the ground, the splicing rail is supported at one post of the adjacent posts” in lines 1-3. However, the adjacent posts are first recited in claim 1 as part of an intended use of a rail member in lines 2-3, and are not positively claimed. It is therefore unclear, from the claim, whether Applicant is intending to claim a subcombination including only a rail member and splicing rail, or a combination including a rail member, splicing rail, and adjacent posts. Claims 3-9 inherit this issue for depending upon claim 2. For the purpose of this action, the Examiner has interpreted claims 2-9 as being directed to a combination including a rail member, splicing rail, and adjacent posts, given the reliance on the post for the remaining limitations in claims 3-9. Appropriate correction should be made to clearly set forth whether Applicant intends to claim the aforementioned subcombination or combination.
Claim 21 recites the limitation, “the splicing rail receives the end portion of the rail member and the end portion of the second rail member at a position between the adjacent posts of the fencing system” in lines 1-3. However, the adjacent posts are first recited in claim 1 as part of an intended use of a rail member in lines 2-3, and are not positively claimed. It is therefore unclear, from the claim, whether Applicant is intending to claim a subcombination including only a rail member and splicing rail, or a combination including a rail member, splicing rail, and adjacent posts. For the purpose of this action, the Examiner has interpreted claim 21 as being directed to the subcombination of only a rail member and splicing rail, given the adjacent posts are introduced as a part of an intended use of the fencing system. Appropriate correction should be made to clearly set forth whether Applicant intends to claim the aforementioned subcombination or combination.
Claim 22 recites the limitation, “the splicing rail receives the end portion of the rail member and the end portion of the second rail member at one post of the adjacent posts of the fencing system” in lines 1-3. However, the adjacent posts are first recited in claim 1 as part of an intended use of a rail member in lines 2-3, and are not positively claimed. It is therefore unclear, from the claim, whether Applicant is intending to claim a subcombination including only a rail member and splicing rail, or a combination including a rail member, splicing rail, and adjacent posts. For the purpose of this action, the Examiner has interpreted claim 22 as being directed to the subcombination of only a rail member and splicing rail, given the adjacent posts are introduced as a part of an intended use of the fencing system. Appropriate correction should be made to clearly set forth whether Applicant intends to claim the aforementioned subcombination or combination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-15, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2008/0310911 (Jones).
Regarding claim 1, Jones discloses a fencing system (see Figures 1-3) comprising:
a rail member (10, 11) having a slot (15), wherein the rail member is configured to extend between adjacent posts of the fencing system (see NOTE below);
a splicing rail (1) comprising a channel (2) and a flexible tab (21); and
wherein, with an end portion of the rail member received along the channel of the splicing rail, the flexible tab of the splicing rail flexes at least partially into the channel of the splicing rail and at least partially within the slot of the rail member to preclude the rail member from pulling out of the channel of the splicing rail (see Figure 3 and paragraph [0046]).
NOTE: It is to be noted the limitation, “the rail member is configured to extend between adjacent posts of the fencing system” constitutes an intended use recitation. Applicant is reminded that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 9, Jones discloses the rail (10, 11) member comprises a channel (adjacent 12 in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Jones discloses the rail member (10, 11) comprises a first side (bottom side in Figure 1) and a second side (top side in Figure 1) opposite the first side, and wherein the rail member comprises a lengthwise opening (12) along the first side of the rail member, and wherein the slot (15) is formed at the second side of the rail member, and wherein the slot is opposite the lengthwise opening (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Jones discloses the flexible tab (21) of the splicing rail (1) does not interfere with the channel of the rail member (10, 11; see Figures 1-3, where the clip 20, which includes tab 21, is inserted adjacent the top side of the rails, leaving the bottom open and not interfered with).
Regarding claim 12, Jones discloses a cable extends along the channel of the rail member (10, 11; see paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 13, Jones discloses the channel (2) of the splicing rail (1) comprises an inner profile that corresponds to an outer profile of the rail (10, 11; see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Jones discloses the splicing rail (1) comprises a C-shaped rail (see Figure 1), and wherein the rail member (10, 11) comprises a C-shaped rail (see Figure 1), and wherein the C-shaped rail of the rail member is configured to form a friction fit along the channel of the C-shaped rail of the splicing rail (see Figures 1-3 and paragraph [0011]).
Regarding claim 15, Jones discloses the flexible tab (21) comprises (i) a leading edge (24) that is at least partially connected to the splicing rail and (ii) a trailing edge (opposite 24) that is at least partially disconnected from the splicing rail, and wherein, with the trailing edge at least partially within the slot (15) of the rail member (10, 11), the leading edge flexes as the trailing edge engages the rail member to preclude the rail member from pulling out of the channel of the splicing rail (see Figures 2 and 3, and paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 20, Jones discloses a second rail member (the other of 10, 11) having a second slot (15), and wherein, with an end portion of the second rail member received along the channel of the splicing rail, a second flexible tab (21) of the splicing rail flexes at least partially into the channel (2) of the splicing rail and at least partially within the second slot of the second rail member to preclude the second rail member from pulling out of the channel of the splicing rail, and wherein the rail member and the second rail member extend in opposing directions from the splicing rail (see Figures 1-3, and paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 21, Jones discloses the splicing rail (1) receives the end portion of the rail member (10, 11) and the end portion of the second rail member (the other of 10, 11) at a position between the adjacent posts of the fencing system (see 112 rejection above).
Regarding claim 22, Jones discloses the splicing rail (1) receives the end portion of the rail member (10, 11) and the end portion of the second rail member (the other of 10, 11) at one post of the adjacent posts of the fencing system (see 112 rejection above).
Claims 1, 9, 11, and 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 979,213 (Smith).
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses a fencing system (see Figures 1-3) comprising:
a rail member (10, 11) having a slot (14, 15, 16, 17), wherein the rail member is configured to extend between adjacent posts of the fencing system (an intended use; see NOTE above);
a splicing rail (20, 21) comprising a channel (formed between 20 and 21) and a flexible tab (26, 27, 28, 29); and
wherein, with an end portion of the rail member received along the channel of the splicing rail, the flexible tab of the splicing rail flexes at least partially into the channel of the splicing rail and at least partially within the slot of the rail member to preclude the rail member from pulling out of the channel of the splicing rail (see Figures 2 and 3, and page 2, lines 27-54).
Regarding claim 9, Smith discloses the rail member (10, 11) comprises a channel (at 8 in Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 11, Smith discloses the flexible tab (26, 27, 28, 29) of the splicing rail (20, 21) does not interfere with the channel of the rail member (10, 11; see Figure 2, wherein clearance is provided inside the channel of the rail member).
Regarding claim 13, Smith discloses the channel of the splicing rail (20, 21) comprises an inner profile that corresponds to an outer profile of the rail (see Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 14, Smith discloses the splicing rail (20, 21) comprises a C-shaped rail, and wherein the rail member (10, 11) comprises a C-shaped rail, and wherein the C-shaped rail of the rail member is configured to form a friction fit along the channel of the C-shaped rail of the splicing rail (see Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 15, Smith discloses the flexible tab (26, 27) comprises (i) a leading edge that is at least partially connected to the splicing rail and (ii) a trailing edge that is at least partially disconnected from the splicing rail (20, 21), and wherein, with the trailing edge at least partially within the slot of the rail member (10, 11), the leading edge flexes as the trailing edge engages the rail member to preclude the rail member from pulling out of the channel of the splicing rail (see Figures 1-3, and page 2, lines 27-54).
Regarding claim 16, Smith discloses as the end portion of the rail member (10, 11) is inserted along the channel of the splicing rail (20, 21) in a direction of insertion, the trailing edge moves along the rail member and along the slot of the rail member and the leading edge flexes to move the trailing edge at least partially into the slot of the rail member, and wherein the trailing edge engages the rail member to preclude movement of the rail member in a direction opposite the direction of insertion (see Figures 1-3, and page 2, lines 27-54).
Regarding claim 17, Smith discloses the trailing edge of the flexible tab (26, 27) is further inboard along the splicing rail (20, 21) in the direction of insertion than the leading edge of the flexible tab (see Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 18, Smith discloses the flexible tab (26, 27) comprises a C-shaped tab integrally formed with a side of the splicing rail (20, 21; see Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 19, Smith discloses the flexible tab (26, 27) is cut from a side of the splicing rail (20, 21; see Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 20, Smith discloses a second rail member (the other of 10, 11) having a second slot (the other pair of 14, 15, 16, 17), and wherein, with an end portion of the second rail member received along the channel of the splicing rail (20, 21), a second flexible tab (the other pair of, 26, 27, 28, 29) of the splicing rail flexes at least partially into the channel of the splicing rail and at least partially within the second slot of the second rail member to preclude the second rail member from pulling out of the channel of the splicing rail, and wherein the rail member and the second rail member extend in opposing directions from the splicing rail (see Figures 1-3, and page 2, lines 27-54).
Regarding claim 21, Smith discloses the splicing rail (20, 21) receives the end portion of the rail member (10, 11) and the end portion of the second rail member (the other of 10, 11) at a position between the adjacent posts of the fencing system (see 112 rejection above).
Regarding claim 22, Smith discloses the splicing rail (20, 21) receives the end portion of the rail member (10, 11) and the end portion of the second rail member (the other of 10, 11) at one post of the adjacent posts of the fencing system (see 112 rejection above).
Claims 1 and 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 956,036 (Parkin).
Regarding claim 1, Parkin discloses a fencing system (see Figures 1-3) comprising:
a rail member (4, 5) having a slot (6, 7), wherein the rail member is configured to extend between adjacent posts of the fencing system (an intended use; see NOTE above);
a splicing rail (1) comprising a channel (adjacent 2 in Figure 1) and a flexible tab (3); and
wherein, with an end portion of the rail member received along the channel of the splicing rail, the flexible tab of the splicing rail flexes at least partially into the channel of the splicing rail and at least partially within the slot of the rail member to preclude the rail member from pulling out of the channel of the splicing rail (see Figure 3 and page 1, lines 54-65).
Regarding claim 13, Parkin discloses the channel (adjacent 2) of the splicing rail (1) comprises an inner profile that corresponds to an outer profile of the rail (4, 5; see Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 14, Parkin discloses the splicing rail (1) comprises a C-shaped rail (formed by slot 2), and wherein the rail member comprises a C-shaped rail (the end portion at 9 in Figure 2 forming a shape similar to a C), and wherein the C-shaped rail of the rail member is configured to form a friction fit along the channel of the C-shaped rail of the splicing rail (see Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 15, Parkin discloses the flexible tab (3) comprises (i) a leading edge (end of 3 connected to middle portion of 1) that is at least partially connected to the splicing rail and (ii) a trailing edge (free end of 3) that is at least partially disconnected from the splicing rail, and wherein, with the trailing edge at least partially within the slot (6, 7) of the rail member (see Figure 3), the leading edge flexes as the trailing edge engages the rail member to preclude the rail member from pulling out of the channel of the splicing rail (see Figure 3 and page 1, lines 54-65).
Regarding claim 16, Parkin discloses the end portion of the rail member (4, 5) is inserted along the channel (adjacent 2) of the splicing rail (1) in a direction of insertion, the trailing edge (free end of 3) moves along the rail member (4, 5) and along the slot (6, 7) of the rail member and the leading edge (end of 3 connected to middle portion of 1) flexes to move the trailing edge at least partially into the slot of the rail member, and wherein the trailing edge engages the rail member to preclude movement of the rail member in a direction opposite the direction of insertion (see Figure 3 and page 1, lines 54-65).
Regarding claim 17, Parkin discloses the trailing edge (free end of 3) of the flexible tab (3) is further inboard along the splicing rail in the direction of insertion than the leading edge (end of 3 connected to middle portion of 1) of the flexible tab (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 18, Parkin discloses the flexible tab (3) comprises a C-shaped tab integrally formed with a side of the splicing rail (1; see Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 19, Parkin discloses the flexible tab (3) is cut from a side of the splicing rail (1; see Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 20, Parkin discloses a second rail member (the other of 4, 5) having a second slot (the other of 6, 7), and wherein, with an end portion of the second rail member received along the channel of the splicing rail (1), a second flexible tab (3) of the splicing rail flexes at least partially into the channel (adjacent 2) of the splicing rail (1) and at least partially within the second slot of the second rail member to preclude the second rail member from pulling out of the channel of the splicing rail, and wherein the rail member and the second rail member extend in opposing directions from the splicing rail (see Figure 3 and page 1, lines 54-65).
Regarding claim 21, Parkin discloses the splicing rail (1) receives the end portion of the rail member (4, 5) and the end portion of the second rail member (the other of 4, 5) at a position between the adjacent posts of the fencing system (see 112 rejection above).
Regarding claim 22, Parkin discloses the splicing rail (1) receives the end portion of the rail member (4, 5) and the end portion of the second rail member (the other of 4, 5) at one post of the adjacent posts of the fencing system (see 112 rejection above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9-15, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,631,551 (Payne) in view of Jones.
Regarding claim 1, Payne discloses a fencing system (see Figures 1-68) comprising:
a rail member (5600), wherein the rail member is configured to extend between adjacent posts (5304) of the fencing system;
a splicing rail (3600) comprising a channel (formed inside 3600; see Figures 36 and 37); and
an end portion of the rail member is received along the channel of the splicing rail (see Figure 56).
Payne does not expressly disclose the rail member having a slot and the splicing rail having a flexible tab, and therefore also does not expressly disclose with an end portion of the rail member received along the channel of the splicing rail, the flexible tab of the splicing rail flexes at least partially into the channel of the splicing rail and at least partially within the slot of the rail member to preclude the rail member from pulling out of the channel of the splicing rail.
Jones teaches a rail member (10, 11) having a slot (15), wherein the rail member is configured to extend between adjacent posts of the fencing system (see NOTE below);
a splicing rail (1) comprising a channel (2) and a flexible tab (21); and
wherein, with an end portion of the rail member received along the channel of the splicing rail, the flexible tab of the splicing rail flexes at least partially into the channel of the splicing rail and at least partially within the slot of the rail member to preclude the rail member from pulling out of the channel of the splicing rail (see Figure 3 and paragraph [0046]).
Jones teaches this structure provides a strong connection that is easy to assemble and disassemble (see paragraphs [0009]-[0013]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fencing system of Payne such that the rail member having a slot and the splicing rail having a flexible tab, and therefore also does not expressly disclose with an end portion of the rail member received along the channel of the splicing rail, the flexible tab of the splicing rail flexes at least partially into the channel of the splicing rail and at least partially within the slot of the rail member to preclude the rail member from pulling out of the channel of the splicing rail, as taught in Payne, in order to provide a strong connection that is easy to assemble and disassemble.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Payne and Jones teaches adjacent posts (5304 of Payne) are configured to be anchored to the ground (at 5310 in Figure 53), and wherein, with the adjacent posts anchored to the ground, the splicing rail (3600 of Payne; 1 of Jones) is supported at one post of the adjacent posts (see NOTE 2 below).
NOTE 2: While not supported directly at one of the adjacent posts, the splicing rail (3600 of Payne) would still be supported by one of the adjacent posts (5304 of Payne) via its connection to the rail member (5304 of Payne; see, e.g., Figure 66 of Payne)
Regarding claim 9, Jones teaches the rail (10, 11) member comprises a channel (adjacent 12 in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Jones teaches the rail member (10, 11) comprises a first side (bottom side in Figure 1) and a second side (top side in Figure 1) opposite the first side, and wherein the rail member comprises a lengthwise opening (12) along the first side of the rail member, and wherein the slot (15) is formed at the second side of the rail member, and wherein the slot is opposite the lengthwise opening (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Jones teaches the flexible tab (21) of the splicing rail (1) does not interfere with the channel of the rail member (10, 11; see Figures 1-3, where the clip 20, which includes tab 21, is inserted adjacent the top side of the rails, leaving the bottom open and not interfered with).
Regarding claim 12, Jones teaches a cable extends along the channel of the rail member (10, 11; see paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 13, Jones teaches the channel (2) of the splicing rail (1) comprises an inner profile that corresponds to an outer profile of the rail (10, 11; see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Jones teaches the splicing rail (1) comprises a C-shaped rail (see Figure 1), and wherein the rail member (10, 11) comprises a C-shaped rail (see Figure 1), and wherein the C-shaped rail of the rail member is configured to form a friction fit along the channel of the C-shaped rail of the splicing rail (see Figures 1-3 and paragraph [0011]).
Regarding claim 15, Jones teaches the flexible tab (21) comprises (i) a leading edge (24) that is at least partially connected to the splicing rail and (ii) a trailing edge (opposite 24) that is at least partially disconnected from the splicing rail, and wherein, with the trailing edge at least partially within the slot (15) of the rail member (10, 11), the leading edge flexes as the trailing edge engages the rail member to preclude the rail member from pulling out of the channel of the splicing rail (see Figures 2 and 3, and paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 20, Jones teaches a second rail member (the other of 10, 11) having a second slot (15), and wherein, with an end portion of the second rail member received along the channel of the splicing rail, a second flexible tab (21) of the splicing rail flexes at least partially into the channel (2) of the splicing rail and at least partially within the second slot of the second rail member to preclude the second rail member from pulling out of the channel of the splicing rail, and wherein the rail member and the second rail member extend in opposing directions from the splicing rail (see Figures 1-3, and paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 21, Jones teaches the splicing rail (1) receives the end portion of the rail member (10, 11) and the end portion of the second rail member (the other of 10, 11) at a position between the adjacent posts of the fencing system (see 112 rejection above).
Regarding claim 22, Jones teaches the splicing rail (1) receives the end portion of the rail member (10, 11) and the end portion of the second rail member (the other of 10, 11) at one post of the adjacent posts of the fencing system (see 112 rejection above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 3, the combination of Payne and Jones teaches the fencing system of claim 2, but fails to teach the post (5304 of Payne) comprises a passageway through the post, and wherein the splicing rail (3600 of Payne; 1 of Jones) is received within the passageway of the post, and wherein the splicing rail secures the end portion of the rail member (5600 of Payne; 10, 11 of Jones) at the post.
The prior art fails to fairly show or suggest a modification to the combination of Payne and Jones, such that the post comprises a passageway through the post, and wherein the splicing rail is received within the passageway of the post, and wherein the splicing rail secures the end portion of the rail member at the post.
Regarding claims 4-8, the combination of Payne and Jones teaches the fencing system of claim 2, but fails to teach an attachment bracket is disposed at the post (5304 of Payne), and wherein the attachment bracket comprises a passageway, and wherein the splicing rail (3600 of Payne; 1 of Jones) is received within the passageway of the attachment bracket, and wherein the splicing rail secures the end portion of the rail member (5600 of Payne; 10, 11 of Jones) at the post.
The prior art fails to fairly show or suggest a modification to the combination of Payne and Jones, such that an attachment bracket is disposed at the post, and wherein the attachment bracket comprises a passageway, and wherein the splicing rail is received within the passageway of the attachment bracket, and wherein the splicing rail secures the end portion of the rail member at the post. Attention is directed to US 6,290,214 (DeSouza) which teaches a connector (15) functioning as splicing rail in the form of an attachment bracket disposed at a post (10), wherein the attachment bracket/splicing rail (15) comprises a passageway (formed between side walls 21, 22), and wherein the splicing rail secures the end portion of a rail member (16, 17) at the post. However, given the connector of DeSouza functions as both a splicing rail and an attachment bracket, DeSouza fails to teach a splicing rail being received within the passageway of the attachment bracket.
Conclusion
The prior art set forth in the attached Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure in the field of fencing systems.
/Josh Skroupa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678