Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in France on 5/31/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the FR2405702 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the recitation of “a mechanical transmission transmitting” in lines 13 renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood to be a mechanical transmission configure to transmit.
Claim 6 recites “a ring for guiding the longitudinal rod in longitudinal translation, housed radially inside the bellow sand rigidly attached to the ring” which is considered indefinite as it is unclear which ring the second ring is referring to. For the purpose of examination, the second ring is understood to be the ring referred to in claim 6.
Regarding Claim 11, the recitation of “cryogenic fluid transfer member conveying” in lines 13 renders indefinite the metes and bounds sought for protection of the claim. In the instant case, the claim recites both an apparatus and process in the same claim. Per MPEP 2173.05(p): “[a] single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.” For the purpose of examination, this limitation is understood that the cryogenic fluid transfer member is configured to convey.
Claims 2-5, 7-10 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: movable member in claim 1 , understood to be a piston.
Cryogenic fluid transfer member is not being interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as sufficient structure is understood to be present.
Mechanical transmission in claim 1 is understood to be referring to a structure and not the act of a transmission happening and is not treated under 35 USC 112(f) as neither mechanical and transmission are considered to be nonce terms and is understood to be referring an eccentric or crank-rod configuration.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 and 11 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-10 of copending Application No. 19220264 in view of Park (US PG Pub 20250283458), hereinafter referred to as Park.
The present claim 1 is taught entirely by the co-pending claim 1 except for the presence of the movable member being connected to the body by a bellows isolating the motor and the mechanical transmission from the cryogenic fluid.
Park (Figure 3) teaches that a piston that drives a pump can be connected to the body of the pump using a bellows (200) allows the pump to act as a long-life non-contact pump where the piston moves with the bellows (paragraphs 33-41) which allows of the pumping operation without friction between parts but maintaining an airtightness so that replacement cycle is increased (paragraph 23).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have configured the pump of the co-pending claim as in Park where the movable member is connected to the body using bellows which provide a seal and allow the cryogenic fluid transfer member to operate with no friction between the parts so that the parts of do not have to be replaced as often. The presence of the bellows would result in isolation the mechanical transmission and the motor from the cryogenic fluid.
In view of the rejection above, claim 11 is also rejected in view of claim 10 of the co-pending claims as it is entirely taught by claim 10 as modified.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gram et al. (US Patent No. 5884488), hereinafter referred to as Gram and Park and Tilhof (EP3696408), hereinafter referred to as Tilhof
With respect to claim 1, Gram teaches (Figures 3-4) a cryogenic fluid storge unit comprising:
an internal reservoir internally delimiting a cryogenic fluid storage volume that stores cryogenic fluid (inner tank 42 which has LNG, Column 8, lines 50-51);
an external reservoir, in which the internal reservoir is housed, the internal reservoir and the external reservoir being separated from each other by a low-pressure intermediate space (LNG tank 30 which has vacuum space between the outer jacket and 42, Column 8, lines 39-40);
a cryogenic fluid transfer member housed in the low-pressure intermediate space (pump 48 which is in sump 46 which is in the vacuum space of 30), the cryogenic fluid transfer member comprising a body delimiting a chamber (51, Column 9, lines 19), an intake placing the chamber in communication with the cryogenic fluid storage volume (inlet through line 31 and check valve 63, Column 9, lines 17-20), a discharge placing the chamber in communication with a cryogenic fluid outlet outside the cryogenic fluid storage unit (outlet through 53 and ultimately to 64, Column 9, lines 20-27)
a movable member configured to move relative to the body by varying a volume of the chamber (piston 54, Column 9, line 18-19) (the piston moves so there is a mechanical transmission).
Gram does not teach a motor, a mechanical transmission transmitting a movement from an output shaft of the motor to the movable member.
Tilhof teaches that an electric motor is used to drive the piston of a pump (paragraph 82) which rotates a drive shaft (133) which in turn moves a piston using a crankshaft with an offset center axis using connecting rods attached eccentrically to the crankshaft (paragraphs 70-71).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Tilhof to have to provide driving of the piston of Gram an electric motor which rotates a drive shaft (which would be an output shaft) which in turn rotates a crankshaft with a enter axis offset (which would be the mechanical transmission) with a eccentrically connected connecting rod which drive the piston of Gram since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby one having common knowledge in the art would consider that in order to drive the piston of Gram, a motor would be needed and choosing a motor connected as in Tilhof would provide the necessary driving mechanism for the pump.
Gram as modified does not teach the movable member being connected to the body by a bellows isolating the motor and the mechanical transmission from the cryogenic fluid.
Park (Figure 3) teaches that a piston that drives a pump can be connected to the body of the pump using a bellows (200) allows the pump to act as a long-life non-contact pump where the piston moves with the bellows (paragraphs 33-41) which allows of the pumping operation without friction between parts but maintaining an airtightness so that replacement cycle is increased (paragraph 23).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have configured the pump of Gram as in Park where the piston is connected to the body of the pump using bellows which provide a seal to the pump in order to allow the pump to operate with the moving of the piston but a no friction between the parts of the pump so that the parts of the pump to not have to be replaced as often. This would result in the pump being configured in the way shown by Park where fluid flows through the inlet and outlet based on the configuration of the pump as shown in Park. The presence of the bellows would result in isolation the mechanical transmission and the motor from the cryogenic fluid.
With respect to claim 4, Gram as modified teaches wherein the body comprises a cylinder with a central longitudinal axis and a cylinder head closing one longitudinal end of the cylinder (as modified the pump has a head and cylinder as seen in Park), the movable member being a piston moving in the chamber in a longitudinal direction without friction against the cylinder (the piston moves along the cylinder, and based on the modification of the bellows, there is no friction between the cylinder and the cylinder).
With respect to claim 5, Gram as modified does not teach wherein the cryogenic fluid transfer member comprises a ring rigidly attached to an internal surface of the cylinder, the movable member having a head arranged longitudinally between the ring and the cylinder head, the bellows being compressible in the longitudinal direction and connecting in a sealed manner the head of the movable member to the ring.
Park teaches a fixed flange (210) which the end of the bellows pipe is connected to (paragraph 40), seen in the figure to be fixed to the cylinder head (and thus the cylinder). The head of the piston (410) is arranged between the end of the pump cylinder (which is also a cylinder head) and the ring and the bellows provides the seal and is compressed in the longitudinal direction with the moving of the piston head (Paragraphs 33-41).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill I the art at the time the invention was filed to have in Gram when providing the general configuration of Park to have had a flange (which is a ring) fixed (which is the same as rigidly attached) to an end of the cylinder which the bellows is connected to with the piston head moving between the ring and the other end of the cylinder (other head of the cylinder) with the bellows compressing and expanding with the movement of the piston longitudinally since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby utilizing the flange to mount the bellows would provide what would be common knowledge in the art of a way to attach the bellows and provide a place to provide seals (which is what is shown in Park see 241 and 43, paragraph 58) to maintain the seal between outside the bellows and inside the bellow while also structurally attaching the bellows.
With respect to claim 6, Gram as modified does not teach wherein the movable member comprises a longitudinal rod integral with the head, the cryogenic fluid transfer member comprising a ring for guiding the longitudinal rod in longitudinal translation, housed radially inside the bellows and rigidly attached to the ring.
Park teaches that around the rod of the piston (420) a rod guide (220) can be provided (paragraph 57) which as seen in the figure is radially inside the bellows.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have based on the teaching of Park provided in Gram a rod guide surrounding the piston (which as it surrounds the piston would be in the shape of a ring) in the location of Park (which is inside the bellows radially) since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby providing the rod guide would provide what would be common knowledge in the art of ensuring that the rod moves back and forth in the correct and desired direction and maintains stability of operation. While this is not a teaching of the rod guide being rigidly attached to the ring, examiner takes official notice that it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the to have rigidly attached the rod guide to the cylinder cover portion (300) it is shown to be inside which the flange is also fixed to in order to ensure the rod guide stays in place so the reciprocating rod continues to operate as desired. As both rings are fixed to end of the cylinder, they are also fixed to each other indirectly.
With respect to claim 7, Gram as modified does not teach wherein the mechanical transmission comprises an eccentric mounted on the output shaft of the motor and a connecting rod connecting the eccentric to the longitudinal rod (as modified the drive shaft couples to the crankshaft which has a center axis offset, which makes it an eccentric, and has a longitudinal rod which drives the connecting rod).
With respect to claim 8, Gram as modified does not teach wherein the intake comprises at least one intake valve mounted on the cylinder head and the discharge comprises at least one exhaust valve mounted on the cylinder head. As modified based on Park the flow in and out are on the same side of the pump but there is no valves mounted in a head of the cylinder.
Tilhof teaches (Figure 3A) that a cylinder head (151) of a pump can include intake and exhaust valves (122/124) which allow flow into and out of the pump where fluid flows up and into the valve and out of the pump or down and into the valve into the pump (paragraph 72).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have when configuring the pump of Gram with both inlet and outlet on the same side (based on the modification of Park) to have provided the inlet and outlet in a cylinder head on that side of the pump with valves along the pathway of the fluid in the cylinder head since it has been shown that combining prior art elements to yield predictable results is obvious whereby one having ordinary skill in the art would consider it a suitable and thus obvious location to choose from for the configuration of the inlet and outlet of the pump based on the configuration and spacing required.
With respect to claim 9, Gram as modified teaches wherein the discharge comprises at least one exhaust duct arranged in the body, the at least one exhaust valve being interposed along the at least one exhaust duct (as modified the pathway through the head where the exhaust valve is located in an exhaust duct in the body).
With respect to claim 11, Gram as modified teaches a vehicle (the invention is a LNG tank with a pump to a vehicle engine, Column 6, lines 8-55), the cryogenic fluid transfer member conveying the cryogenic fluid into the combustion chambers of the internal combustion engine (the pump is to connect the natural gas to an internal combustion engine, clm13, abstract).
Claim(s) 2-3, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gram/Park/Tilhof and further in view of Kato (US Patent No. 3993416), hereinafter referred to as Kato.
With respect to claim 2, Gram does not teach wherein the body is fitted directly to a flange attached to the internal reservoir.
Kato (Figure 2) teaches that using a mounting structure (18) a pump (2, Column 2, line 51-52) with a flange can be directly connected to a fuel tank (1, Column 2, lines 51-52) by connecting it to a seat member provided at the side wall portion of the tank (Column 3, liens 37-45) which can be seen to be around an opening for the outlet of the tank. The mounting is in the lower side wall of the tank (Column 2, lines 12-14).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have instead of the configuration as shown in Kato to have had the pump using a flange directly mounted to a seat member (which is also a flange) which surrounds an opening at a lower portion of the inner tank of Gram which surrounds the outlet of the tank since it has been shown that a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results is obvious whereby as they are both known methods of providing an outlet of a tank into a pump it would have been obvious to have utilized the method of Kato for the prima facie obvious method of providing a connection between the tank and the pump and further it would be common knowledge in the art that providing such a direct connection could also decrease in leaks as there would be less connection points and openings with having the fluid line having to pass through multiple openings between the tank and the pump.
With respect to claim 3, Gram does not teach wherein the flange is attached around an internal outlet port of the internal reservoir, arranged at a low point of the internal reservoir (as modified, the seat member surrounds the outlet port of the inner tank and is on a lower portion of the inner tank).
With respect to claim 10 Gram as modified does not teach wherein a flange is attached around an internal outlet port of the internal reservoir, arranged at a low point of the internal reservoir, and wherein the intake comprises at least one intake passage arranged through the cylinder head and opening directly into the internal outlet port, the at least one intake valve being interposed along the at least one intake passage.
Kato (Figure 2) teaches that using a mounting structure (18) a pump (2, Column 2, line 51-52) with a flange can be directly connected to a fuel tank (1, Column 2, lines 51-52) by connecting it to a seat member provided at the side wall portion of the tank (Column 3, liens 37-45) which can be seen to be around an opening for the outlet of the tank. The mounting is in the lower side wall of the tank (Column 2, lines 12-14).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have instead of the configuration as shown in Kato to have had the pump using a flange directly mounted to a seat member (which is also a flange) which surrounds an opening at a lower portion of the inner tank of Gram which surrounds the outlet of the tank since it has been shown that a simple substitution of one known element for another to yield predictable results is obvious whereby as they are both known methods of providing an outlet of a tank into a pump it would have been obvious to have utilized the method of Kato for the prima facie obvious method of providing a connection between the tank and the pump and further it would be common knowledge in the art that providing such a direct connection could also decrease in leaks as there would be less connection points and openings with having the fluid line having to pass through multiple openings between the tank and the pump. As modified the seat member surrounds the outlet port of the inner tank and is on a lower portion of the inner tank and connected an intake passage would extend directly from the opening of tank (which would be the internal outlet port formed by the connection) and would continue to extend through the cylinder head via the intake valve (which is part of the passage) forming the rest of the intake passage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Noble (US 7293418).
/BRIAN M KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763