DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/28/25 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figure 16 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is 165 words instead of the preferred limit of 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b) and 37 C.F.R. 1.72.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vacura et al. (US 11,720,314, hereinafter “Vacura”). Regarding claim 1, Vacura discloses a display method comprising: acquiring a master image (Figs. 1-4B, col. 9, line 59 to col. 10, line 14, master image is content on smartphone electronic device 101 which is acquired by processors 207); acquiring a first aspect ratio of a first display screen of a first display device (col. 10, line 45-49, col. 11, lines 17-23; col. 16, lines 32-37, content parameter determination engine 219 modifies aspect ratio of content, which results in the first aspect ratio of smartphone 101 being acquired to perform modification of it); setting a first region in a master region of the master image based on the first aspect ratio (col. 24, line 65 to col. 25, line 15, a crop mask based on cropping is positioned based on a region of interest which is a set first region in the master region of the smartphone master image that is based on the first aspect ratio of the smartphone); displaying, on the first display screen, a first image obtained by trimming an image portion inside the first region in the master image (col. 24, line 65 to col. 25, line 15, one or more processors 207 of the smartphone electronic device 101 can include a generative artificial intelligence engine detecting movement of the subject and/or region of interest based on crop mask, and move the crop mask to maintain depictions of the subject substantially centered within the cropped images on the smartphone 101); acquiring a second aspect ratio of a second display screen of a second display device different from the first display device (col. 24, lines 30-36, second aspect ratio of second display screen or display 103 of a second display device as content presentation companion device 102 is acquired to change images from smartphone 101 to a different aspect ratio); setting, in the master region, a second region having an overlapping region that overlaps the first region and a non-overlapping region that does not overlap the first region in at least one of a first direction and a second direction that are orthogonal to each other in the master region, based on the second aspect ratio (col. 24, line 65 to col. 25, line 15, one or more processors 207 of the smartphone electronic device 101 can include a generative artificial intelligence engine detecting movement of the subject and/or region of interest based on crop mask, and move the crop mask to maintain depictions of the subject substantially centered within the cropped images on the smartphone 101; the moving region of interest sets, in the master region of the smartphone, a second region (moved region of interest) having an overlapping region that overlaps the first region (overlapping region moved a little bit) and a non-overlapping region that does not overlap the first region in at least one of a first direction (direction opposite to the movement direction) and a second direction that are orthogonal to each other in the master region, based on the second aspect ratio); and displaying, on the second display screen, a second image obtained by trimming an image portion inside the second region in the master image (col. 24, lines 30-36, col. 24; line 65 to col. 25, line 15, a crop mask based on cropping is positioned based on a region of interest which is a set first region in the master region of the smartphone master image that is based on the first aspect ratio of the smartphone which is then changed based on the aspect ratio of second display screen 103 of the content presentation companion device 102 and displayed thereon as a second trimmed image of an image portion region of interest inside the second region of the master image).
Regarding claim 2, Vacura discloses the display method according to claim 1, further comprising: acquiring first rotation information of the first display screen of the first display device, wherein the first aspect ratio is acquired based on the first rotation information (Vacura, col. 24, lines 37-51, Figs. 4B and 5, image portion in step 415 changes from portrait image orientation to a landscape image orientation, or vice-versa based on the electronic device 101 orientation).
Regarding claim 3, Vacura discloses the display method according to claim 1, further comprising: acquiring second rotation information of the second display screen of the second display device, wherein the second aspect ratio is acquired based on the second rotation information (Vacura, col. 24, lines 37-51, Figs. 4B and 5, image portion in step 415 changes from portrait image orientation to a landscape image orientation, or vice-versa based on the content presentation companion device 102 orientation).
Regarding claim 4, Vacura discloses the display method according to claim 1, wherein an aspect ratio of the master image is the same as the second aspect ratio (Vacura, col. 9, line 59 to col. 10, line 2, e.g., when smartphone is electronic device 101 and a second similar smartphone is content presentation companion device 102 results in an aspect ratio of the master image is the same as the second aspect ratio).
Regarding claim 5, Vacura discloses the display method according to claim 4, wherein a length of the first region in the first direction is greater than a length of the first region in the second direction (Vacura, Fig. 4B, in a landscape mode as shown in Fig. 4B of electronic device 101, a region of interest corresponding to, for example, area 405 has a first vertical direction greater in the first region than that in a second horizontal direction), and the length of the first region in the first direction is the same as a length of the second region in the first direction (second region being area 405 scrolled slightly left, for example, the length of the first region in the first vertical direction is the same as a length of the second region in the first vertical direction when aspect ratios are the same between devices 101 and 102).
Regarding claim 6, Vacura discloses the display method according to claim 1, wherein a length of the second region in the second direction is the same as a length of the master region in the second direction (Vacura, Fig. 4B, in a landscape mode as shown in Fig. 4B of electronic device 101, a region of interest corresponding to an entire lower half of the display screen, for example, has a length of the second region in the second horizontal direction being the same as a length of the master region in the second direction, and a length of the second region in the first direction is less than a length of the master region in the first direction (Vacura, Fig. 4B, in a landscape mode as shown in Fig. 4B of electronic device 101, a region of interest corresponding to an entire lower half of the display screen, for example, has a length of the second region in the first direction (1/2 the entire vertical direction of the screen length of device 101 in Fig. 4B) is less than a length of the master region (the entire vertical direction of the screen length of device 101 in Fig. 4B) in the first vertical direction).
Regarding claim 7, Vacura discloses the display method according to claim 1, wherein a center of the first region and a center of the second region do not coincide (Vacura, col. 24, lines 30-36, col. 24; line 65 to col. 25, line 15, a crop mask based on cropping is positioned based on a region of interest which is a set first region in the master region of the smartphone master image that is based on the first aspect ratio of the smartphone which is then changed based on the aspect ratio of second display screen 103 of the content presentation companion device 102 and displayed thereon as a second trimmed image of an image portion region of interest inside the second region of the master image; the trimming or cropping of the image to fit the aspect ratio of the second display screen 103 results in a center of the first region and a center of the second region not coinciding).
Regarding claim 8, Vacura discloses a display system comprising (Figs. 1-4B, col. 9, line 59 to col. 10, line 14, master image is content on smartphone electronic device 101 which is acquired by processors 207 in system 100): a first display device (Figs. 1-4B, col. 9, lines 59-66, electronic device 101); and a second display device (Figs. 1-4B, col. 9, lines 59-66, content presentation companion device 102), wherein the first display device acquires a master image (Figs. 1-4B, col. 9, line 59 to col. 10, line 14, master image is content on smartphone electronic device 101 which is acquired by processors 207), acquires a first aspect ratio of a first display screen of the first display device (col. 10, line 45-49, col. 11, lines 17-23; col. 16, lines 32-37, content parameter determination engine 219 modifies aspect ratio of content, which results in the first aspect ratio of smartphone 101 being acquired to perform modification of it), sets a first region in a master region of the master image based on the first aspect ratio (col. 24, line 65 to col. 25, line 15, a crop mask based on cropping is positioned based on a region of interest which is a set first region in the master region of the smartphone master image that is based on the first aspect ratio of the smartphone), and displays, on the first display screen, a first image obtained by trimming an image portion inside the first region in the master image (col. 24, line 65 to col. 25, line 15, one or more processors 207 of the smartphone electronic device 101 can include a generative artificial intelligence engine detecting movement of the subject and/or region of interest based on crop mask, and move the crop mask to maintain depictions of the subject substantially centered within the cropped images on the smartphone 101), the first display device or the second display device acquires a second aspect ratio of a second display screen of the second display device (col. 24, lines 30-36, second aspect ratio of second display screen or display 103 of a second display device as content presentation companion device 102 is acquired by smartphone 101 to change images from smartphone 101 to a different aspect ratio), and sets, in the master region, a second region having an overlapping region that overlaps the first region and a non-overlapping region that does not overlap the first region in at least one of a first direction and a second direction that are orthogonal to each other in the master region, based on the second aspect ratio (col. 24, line 65 to col. 25, line 15, one or more processors 207 of the smartphone electronic device 101 can include a generative artificial intelligence engine detecting movement of the subject and/or region of interest based on crop mask, and move the crop mask to maintain depictions of the subject substantially centered within the cropped images on the smartphone 101; the moving region of interest sets, in the master region of the smartphone, a second region (moved region of interest) having an overlapping region that overlaps the first region (overlapping region moved a little bit) and a non-overlapping region that does not overlap the first region in at least one of a first direction (direction opposite to the movement direction) and a second direction that are orthogonal to each other in the master region, based on the second aspect ratio), and the second display device displays, on the second display screen, a second image obtained by trimming an image portion inside the second region in the master image (col. 24, lines 30-36, col. 24; line 65 to col. 25, line 15, a crop mask based on cropping is positioned based on a region of interest which is a set first region in the master region of the smartphone master image that is based on the first aspect ratio of the smartphone which is then changed based on the aspect ratio of second display screen 103 of the content presentation companion device 102 and displayed thereon as a second trimmed image of an image portion region of interest inside the second region of the master image).
Conclusion
JOSEPH PATRICK FOX
Examiner
Art Unit 2622
/JOSEPH P FOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2622 /PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622