DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Atkins et al. (US 2023/0217067, hereinafter “Atkins”). Regarding claim 1, Atkins discloses a display method comprising: the first display device acquiring a master image (Figs. 1A and 2A, [0028], master image is full canvas for output on display devices that have different aspect ratios; first display device is 4:3 aspect ratio device); the first display device acquiring a first aspect ratio of a first display screen of a first display device (Fig. 1A-C and 2A, [0028-0029], step 51 selects an original aspect ratio as a first aspect ratio such as 4:3 aspect ratio from the first display device); the first display device setting a first region in a master region of the master image based on the first aspect ratio (Figs. 1A and 2A, [0028, 0030], determining a region of interest in a particular scene sets a first region in the master region of the full canvas as the master image from the 4:3 aspect ratio device); the first display device displaying, on the first display screen, a first image obtained by trimming an image portion inside the first region in the master image, wherein the first display screen maintains a layout of the master image (Figs. 1A and 2A, [0028, 0030], steps 51 and 53, first display device with 4:3 aspect ratio displays content that is trimmed as a first image on first display screen while maintaining first display screen layout of the canvas or master image; automatically or manually selecting a centroid of a user’s face as a position of the image campus based a selection of a center pixel which causes trimming the image portion in the first region based on centroid selections and width and/or height selections for the subject to form first image); acquiring a second aspect ratio of a second display screen of a second display device different from the first display device (Figs. 1B and 2A, [0028 and 0031], step 55, adapt playback to a second display having a second aspect ratio such as 16:9 which is different from the first display device with 4:3 aspect ratio); setting, in the master region, a second region having an overlapping region that overlaps the first region and a non-overlapping region that does not overlap the first region in at least one of a first direction and a second direction that are orthogonal to each other in the master region, based on the second aspect ratio and a second direction that are orthogonal to each other in the master region, based on the second aspect ratio (Fig. 2A, [0031], step 55, expanding in one or more directions based on a vector; Figs. 4A and 4B illustrate master region 151 that has first region 153 and second region 155 that has an overlapping region at 153 and a non-overlapping regions at areas outside area 153 in a X-axis first direction that is orthogonal to a Y-axis second direction in the master region 151, based on the second aspect ratio of Fig. 4B); and displaying, on the second display screen, a second image obtained by trimming an image portion inside the second region in the master image (Figs. 3A-D, 4A and 4B, [0031, 0032 and 0035] step 55, cropping the original image canvas based on the aspect ratio of the second playback device and orientation (landscape versus portrait) results in displaying on the second display screen a second image by trimming or cropping an image portion inside the second region of the master image).
Regarding claim 2, Atkins discloses the display method according to claim 1, further comprising: acquiring first rotation information of the first display screen of the first display device, wherein the first aspect ratio is acquired based on the first rotation information (Atkins, [0031, 0036], first rotation information is determined as portrait or landscape to determine the first aspect ratio).
Regarding claim 3, Atkins discloses the display method according to claim 1, further comprising: acquiring second rotation information of the second display screen of the second display device, wherein the second aspect ratio is acquired based on the second rotation information (Atkins, [0031, 0036], second rotation information is determined as portrait or landscape to determine the second aspect ratio).
Regarding claim 4, Atkins discloses the display method according to claim 1, wherein an aspect ratio of the master image is the same as the second aspect ratio (Atkins, Figs. 1A-C, an aspect ratio of the master image is the same as the second aspect ratio when first and second device have a same aspect ratio, for example).
Regarding claim 5, Atkins discloses the display method according to claim 4, wherein a length of the first region in the first direction is greater than a length of the first region in the second direction (Atkins, [0193], Figs. 6E and 6F, as shown in Fig. 6E, a region of interest corresponding to a portion of “Hi”, for example, has a first X-axis horizontal direction greater in the first region “Hi” than that in a Y-axis second vertical direction), and the length of the first region “Hi” in the first direction is the same as a length of the second region (Atkins, [0193], Fig. 6F, shifted position of “Hi” in the first X-axis direction).
Regarding claim 6, Atkins discloses the display method according to claim 1, wherein a length of the second region in the second direction is the same as a length of the master region in the second direction (Atkins, [0036], Fig. 4D, a length of the second region 159 in the Y-axis second direction is the same as a length of the master region 151 in the second direction), and a length of the second region in the first direction is less than a length of the master region in the first direction (Atkins, [0036], Fig. 4D, a length of the second region 159 in the X-axis first direction is less than a length of the master region 151 in the first direction).
Regarding claim 7, Atkins discloses the display method according to claim 1, wherein a center of the first region and a center of the second region do not coincide (Atkins, [0037], Figs. 4E and 4F, a center of first region 161 and a center of the second region 163 do not coincide).
Regarding claim 8, Atkins discloses a display system comprising (Figs. 1A-C, displays as a display system): a first display device (Fig. 1A, [0028], first display device is 4:3 aspect ratio device); and a second display device (Fig. 1B, [0028], second display device is 16:9 aspect ratio device), wherein the first display device acquires a master image (Figs. 1A and 2A, [0028], master image is full canvas for output on display devices that have different aspect ratios; first display device is 4:3 aspect ratio device), acquires a first aspect ratio of a first display screen of the first display device (Fig. 1A-C and 2A, [0028-0029], step 51 selects an original aspect ratio as a first aspect ratio such as 4:3 aspect ratio from the first display device), sets a first region in a master region of the master image based on the first aspect ratio (Figs. 1A and 2A, [0028, 0030], determining a region of interest in a particular scene sets a first region in the master region of the full canvas as the master image from the 4:3 aspect ratio device), and displays, on the first display screen, a first image obtained by trimming an image portion inside the first region in the master image (Figs. 1A and 2A, [0028, 0030], steps 51 and 53, first display device with 4:3 aspect ratio displays content that is trimmed as a first image on first display screen while maintaining first display screen layout of the canvas or master image; automatically or manually selecting a centroid of a user’s face as a position of the image campus based a selection of a center pixel which causes trimming the image portion in the first region based on centroid selections and width and/or height selections for the subject to form first image), the first display device or the second display device acquires a second aspect ratio of a second display screen of the second display device (Figs. 1B and 2A, [0028 and 0031], step 55, adapt playback to a second display having a second aspect ratio such as 16:9 which is different from the first display device with 4:3 aspect ratio), and sets, in the master region, a second region having an overlapping region that overlaps the first region and a non-overlapping region that does not overlap the first region in at least one of a first direction and a second direction that are orthogonal to each other in the master region, based on the second aspect ratio (Fig. 2A, [0031], step 55, expanding in one or more directions based on a vector; Figs. 4A and 4B illustrate master region 151 that has first region 153 and second region 155 that has an overlapping region at 153 and a non-overlapping regions at areas outside area 153 in a X-axis first direction that is orthogonal to a Y-axis second direction in the master region 151, based on the second aspect ratio of Fig. 4B), and the second display device displays, on the second display screen, a second image obtained by trimming an image portion inside the second region in the master image, wherein the second region includes a portion of the master image protruding from the first region in at least one of the first direction and the second direction to display content not displayed in the first image (Figs. 3A-D, 4A and 4B, [0031, 0032 and 0035] step 55, cropping the original image canvas based on the aspect ratio of the second playback device and orientation (landscape versus portrait) results in displaying on the second display screen a second image by trimming or cropping an image portion inside the second region of the master image, wherein the second region includes a portion of the master image protruding from the first region in at least one of the first direction and the second direction to display content not displayed in the first image as shown in Figs. 4B or 4D where the master image 151 has portions of 155 or 159 protruding from the first region 153 or 157 in the first X-axis direction or second Y-axis direction based on the changed aspect ratio). Regarding claim 9, this claim is rejected for the same reasons recited with respect to the rejection of claim 2. Regarding claim 10, this claim is rejected for the same reasons recited with respect to the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, this claim is rejected for the same reasons recited with respect to the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, this claim is rejected for the same reasons recited with respect to the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, this claim is rejected for the same reasons recited with respect to the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, this claim is rejected for the same reasons recited with respect to the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, Atkins discloses a display method comprising: transmitting request information to a server device, the request information indicating a reference point and an aspect ratio ([0004, 0208], server device used for receiving transmitted program code that includes request information indicating a reference point and an aspect ratio as a reference point or subject 111 shown in Fig. 4E and an aspect ratio 4:3 shown in Fig. 1A formed as part of metadata); acquiring a master image from the server device, the master image representing a provision range determined by the server device based on the reference point ([0005,] , master image 151 generated from software downloaded by the server, range as a provision range from 1:1 to less than 1:1 down to 9:16 based on the reference point 111); acquiring a first aspect ratio of a first display screen of a first display device (Fig. 1A-C and 2A, [0028-0029], step 51 selects an original aspect ratio as a first aspect ratio such as 4:3 aspect ratio from the first display device); setting a first region in a master region of the master image based on the first aspect ratio (Figs. 1A and 2A, [0028, 0030], determining a region of interest in a particular scene sets a first region in the master region of the full canvas as the master image from the 4:3 aspect ratio device); displaying, on the first display screen, a first image obtained by trimming an image portion inside the first region in the master image (Figs. 1A and 2A, [0028, 0030], steps 51 and 53, first display device with 4:3 aspect ratio displays content that is trimmed as a first image on first display screen while maintaining first display screen layout of the canvas or master image; automatically or manually selecting a centroid of a user’s face as a position of the image campus based a selection of a center pixel which causes trimming the image portion in the first region based on centroid selections and width and/or height selections for the subject to form first image); acquiring a second aspect ratio of a second display screen of a second display device different from the first display device (Figs. 1B and 2A, [0028 and 0031], step 55, adapt playback to a second display having a second aspect ratio such as 16:9 which is different from the first display device with 4:3 aspect ratio); setting, in the master region, a second region having an overlapping region that overlaps the first region and a non-overlapping region that does not overlap the first region in at least one of a first direction and a second direction that are orthogonal to each other in the master region, based on the second aspect ratio (Fig. 2A, [0031], step 55, expanding in one or more directions based on a vector; Figs. 4A and 4B illustrate master region 151 that has first region 153 and second region 155 that has an overlapping region at 153 and a non-overlapping regions at areas outside area 153 in a X-axis first direction that is orthogonal to a Y-axis second direction in the master region 151, based on the second aspect ratio of Fig. 4B); displaying, on the second display screen, a second image obtained by trimming an image portion inside the second region in the master image (Figs. 3A-D, 4A and 4B, [0031, 0032 and 0035] step 55, cropping the original image canvas based on the aspect ratio of the second playback device and orientation (landscape versus portrait) results in displaying on the second display screen a second image by trimming or cropping an image portion inside the second region of the master image); and scrolling the first image and the second image in synchronization within the master region in response to an update to the reference point ([0218-0224], user interaction of scrolling results in reframing of the playback device based on the image metadata which includes scrolling information of the first device which is synchronized within the master region based on the update reference point 111 in Fig. 4E).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOSEPH PATRICK FOX
Examiner
Art Unit 2622
/JOSEPH P FOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622