DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment and the Request for Continuing Examination filed on 02/28/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-8, 10-15 and 21-26 are now pending in the application. Claims 1, 22, 23 , 25 and 26 have been amended by the Applicant. Previous objections to the drawings and the specification have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments to the above claims.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 201.14(c), acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on continuation of application #18071013 filed on 11/29/2022 which is continuation of application # 16636970, filed 02/06/2020 that is a national stage entry of PCT/KR2018/008966, with International Filing Date of 08/07/2018 that claims foreign priority to KR 10-2017-0099408 on filed 08/07/2017 (Korea).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (hereafter Choi) US 20190049692 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Choi teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-15) a lens driving device (e.g. camera lens assembly with driving parts 150, 170, abstract, paragraphs [01, 6-32, 53-63, 67-82, 88-92], e.g. Figs. 2-3,5,7-8), comprising:
a first housing (base part 110 with body 111 and side 120, e.g. paragraphs [54-64, 67-82], Figs. 2-3,5,7-8);
a bobbin disposed in the first housing (lens carrier 130 in 110, paragraphs [54-64, 67-82], Figs. 2-3,5,7-8);
first and second blades configured to move together with the bobbin (blades 179a, 179b of aperture stop 179 slidably supported on 130 and moving with 130, paragraphs [67-72, 88-92], Figs. 2-3,5,7);
a second magnet disposed on the bobbin (magnet 151 disposed on 130, paragraphs [61-66], Figs. 2-3,5,7);
a second coil facing the second magnet (coil 153 facing 151, paragraphs [61-66], Figs. 2-3,5,7); and
a fourth magnet (circular magnet 173 under driving arm 171 coupled to blades 179a, 179b driven by coils 175a, 175b, paragraphs [67-72, 88-92], Figs. 2-3,5,7) and a fourth coil (175a, 175b )configured to adjust an area of a hole defined by the first and second blades (circular magnet 173 under driving arm 171 coupled to blades 179a, 179b driven by coils 175a, 175b, so the blades 179a,b adjust aperture region through which light passe paragraphs [67-72, 88-92], Figs. 2-3,5,7),
wherein, when viewed in an optical axis direction, the fourth magnet is closer to a center of the bobbin than the second magnet is to the center of the bobbin (i.e. as 173 under 171 is closer to a center of 130 as aperture 179 center light passing hole 140, than the magnet 151, which is on an outer circumference of 130, as viewed along optical axis direction Z-axis direction, as depicted in Figs. 2-3,5,7, paragraphs [53-5, 63-68, 88-92]).
In regard to independent claim 22, Choi teaches (see e.g. Figs. 1-15) a lens driving device (e.g. camera lens assembly with driving parts as auto-focusing 150, and light amount adjustment driving part 170, abstract, paragraphs [01, 6-32, 53-63, 67-82, 88-92], e.g. Figs. 2-3,5,7-8), comprising:
a first housing (base part 110 with body 111 and side 120, e.g. paragraphs [54-64, 67-82], Figs. 2-3,5,7-8);
a bobbin disposed in the first housing (lens carrier 130 in 110, paragraphs [54-64, 67-82], Figs. 2-3,5,7-8);
first and second blades configured to move together with the bobbin (blades 179a, 179b of aperture stop 179 slidably supported on 130 and moving with 130, paragraphs [67-72, 88-92], Figs. 2-3,5,7);
a second magnet disposed on the bobbin (magnet 151 disposed on 130, paragraphs [61-66], Figs. 2-3,5,7);
a second coil facing the second magnet (coil 153 facing 151, paragraphs [61-66], Figs. 2-3,5,7);
a fourth magnet (as light amount adjustment driving part 170 has circular magnet 173 under driving arm 171 coupled to blades 179a, 179b driven by coils 175a, 175b, paragraphs [55, 67-72, 88-92], Figs. 2-3,5,7) and a fourth coil (175a, 175b) configured to adjust an area of a hole defined by the first and second blades (circular magnet 173 under driving arm 171 coupled to blades 179a, 179b driven by coils 175a, 175b, so the blades 179a,b adjust aperture region through which light passes, see e.g. paragraphs [67-72, 88-92], Figs. 2-3,5,7); and
a fourth sensor configured to sense the fourth magnet (i.e. as light amount adjustment hall sensor 113, see paragraphs [55, 67-72, 88-92], Figs. 2-3,5,7) ,
wherein, when viewed in an optical axis direction, the fourth magnet is closer to a center of the bobbin than the second magnet is to the center of the bobbin (i.e. as 173 under 171 is closer to a center of 130 as aperture 179 center light passing hole 140, than the magnet 151, which is on an outer circumference of 130, as viewed along optical axis direction Z-axis direction, as depicted in Figs. 2-3,5,7, paragraphs [53-5, 63-68, 88-92]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10-11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (hereafter Park 571) US 20180284571 A1 (of record, see IDS dated 05/28/2025) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Park ‘571 US 20180284571 A1 in view of Choi et al. (hereafter Choi) US 20190049692 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Park 571 teaches (see Figs. 1-8) a lens driving device (camera lens module 100, 200 with stop driving module 300,400 and focusing portion 500, Abstract, paragraphs [08-21, 36-46, 58-66, 75-89, 91-108]), comprising:
a first housing (housing 110, paragraphs [36-46, 58-66], Figs. 1-3);
a bobbin disposed in the first housing (200 in 110, paragraphs [36-46, 58-66], Figs. 1-3); first and second blades configured to move together with the bobbin (stop module 300 on 200, having stop blades 320, 330 that provide movable aperture of the lens module 200, paragraphs [77-87, 91-108], Figs. 2, 5-8);
a second magnet disposed on the bobbin (510 on 200, paragraphs [36-46, 58-66], Figs. 1-3);
a second coil facing the second magnet (i.e. 520a facing 510, paragraphs [36-46, 58-66], Figs. 1-3); and
a fourth magnet and a fourth coil configured to adjust an area of a hole defined by the first and second blades, and regarding claim 20 configured to move at least a portion of the first and second blades (i.e. as area of stop module hole is defined and changed by moving blades 330, 320 moved by driving force of coil 420a and magnet portion magnet 410, 410a , of coil 420 and magnet portions, see paragraphs [72-73, 81-87], e.g. Figs. 1-3, 7-8),
wherein, when viewed in an optical axis direction the fourth magnet is closer to a center of the bobbin than the second magnet is to the center of the bobbin. (i.e. because the magnet 410a,410 is in the guide groove 313 carved from the edge of plate 310 towards a center of plate 310 of 300, and given that lens barrel 210 with stop module 300 and plate 310 is nested in carrier 220 of 200, and therefore magnet 410a is closer to a center of stop module 300 and lens module 200 through which optical axis passes, than magnet 510 that is on the outer side of carrier 220 of 200 of camera module, when vied along optical axis direction, as clearly depicted in Figs. 2-4,7, see paragraphs [72-73, 81-87, 91-102]).
In the alternative, that Park 571 doesn’t clearly disclose that the fourth magnet is closer to a center of the bobbin than the second magnet is to the center of the bobbin when vied in optical axis direction, given depictions of magnets 410a and 510 with respect to a center of 300 or 200 barrel 210, the above limitation is still obvious over Choi.
Choi teaches in the same field of invention of a lens driving device (e.g. camera lens assembly with driving parts as auto-focusing 150, and light amount adjustment driving part 170, abstract, paragraphs [01, 6-32, 53-63, 67-82, 88-92], e.g. Figs. 2-3,5,7-8), including a second magnet disposed on the bobbin (magnet 151 disposed on 130, paragraphs [61-66], Figs. 2-3,5,7) and a fourth magnet (as light amount adjustment driving part 170 has circular magnet 173 under driving arm 171 coupled to blades 179a, 179b driven by coils 175a, 175b, paragraphs [55, 67-72, 88-92], Figs. 2-3,5,7) and further teaches that when viewed in an optical axis direction, the fourth magnet is closer to a center of the bobbin than the second magnet is to the center of the bobbin (i.e. as 173 under 171 is closer to a center of 130 as aperture 179 center light passing hole 140, than the magnet 151, which is on an outer circumference of 130, as viewed along optical axis direction Z-axis direction, as depicted in Figs. 2-3,5,7, paragraphs [53-5, 63-68, 88-92], thus providing force to the driving arm and the aperture blades to that adjusts the region through which the light passes from completely open to minimized/blocked, and in a plurality of steps and providing adjustment of photographing condition in several steps depending on an amount of external light, paragraphs [67-68, 88-92]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and adjust the positions of fourth i.e. stop driving part magnet of Park ‘571 to be closer to the center of the bobbin where the optical axis is than the second magnet as viewed in direction of optical axis of Park’571 of the lens module moving mechanism according to teachings of Choi in order to provide force to the driving arm and the aperture blades to that adjusts the region through which the light passes from completely open to minimized/blocked, and in a plurality of steps and providing adjustment of photographing condition in several steps depending on an amount of external light, paragraphs [67-68, 88-92]).
Regarding claim 10, Park 571 teaches (see Figs. 1-8) comprising a fourth sensor configured to sense the fourth magnet, wherein the fourth sensor is overlapped with the fourth magnet in a direction of an x-axis (i.e. as sensor 430 on board substrate 420b with/inside coil 420a opposite from, overlapped in an axis and for sensing magnet 410 of the stop portion 330 of stop module 300 (movable aperture), see paragraphs [77-87, 91-108], as depicted in Figs. 1-2, 5-6).
Regarding claim 11, Park 571 teaches (see Figs. 1-8) comprising a second sensor (position sensor 530, paragraphs [55-60]) configured to sense the second magnet (i.e. as 530 sensor on board 520b of housing 110 to sense position of lens module 200 with magnet 510, paragraphs [41-57]), wherein the fourth sensor is overlapped with the second sensor in the direction of the x-axis (i.e. as 430 and 530 are opposite one another and overlap at least to an extent, note also that 530 disposed inside or outside the oval coil 520a, overlapping 430, see Figs. 1-2).
In regard to independent claim 22, Park 571 teaches (see Figs. 1-8) a lens driving device (camera lens module 100, 200 with stop driving module 300,400 and focusing portion 500, Abstract, paragraphs [08-21, 36-46, 58-66, 75-89, 91-108]), comprising:
a first housing (housing 110, paragraphs [36-46, 58-66], Figs. 1-3);
a bobbin disposed in the first housing (200 in 110, paragraphs [36-46, 58-66], Figs. 1-3); first and second blades configured to move together with the bobbin (stop module 300 on 200, having stop blades 320, 330 that provide movable aperture of the lens module 200, paragraphs [77-87, 91-108], Figs. 2, 5-8);
a second magnet disposed on the bobbin (510 on 200, paragraphs [36-46, 58-66], Figs. 1-3);
a second coil facing the second magnet (i.e. 520a facing 510, paragraphs [36-46, 58-66], Figs. 1-3); and
a fourth magnet and a fourth coil configured to adjust an area of a hole defined by the first and second blades, and regarding claim 20 configured to move at least a portion of the first and second blades (i.e. as area of stop module hole is defined and changed by moving blades 330, 320 moved by driving force of coil 420a and magnet portion magnet 410, 410a , of coil 420 and magnet portions, see paragraphs [72-73, 81-87], e.g. Figs. 1-3, 7-8), wherein a shortest distance between an optical axis and the fourth magnet is shorter than a shortest distance between the optical axis and the second magnet (i.e. as magnet 410,410a is in guide groove 313 of plate 310 (of 300) with center passing the optical axis of camera module and nested in carrier 220 of 200, while magnet 220 is on the side of 220 carrier of 200, as depicted in Figs. 2-4,7, see paragraphs [72-73, 81-87, 91-102]).
In the alternative, that Park 571 doesn’t clearly disclose that shortest distance between an optical axis and the fourth magnet is shorter than a shortest distance between the optical axis and the second magnet, given depictions of magnets 410a and 510 with respect to optical axis of lenses in barrel 210, the above limitation is still obvious over Choi.
Choi teaches in the same field of invention of a lens driving device (e.g. camera lens assembly with driving parts as auto-focusing 150, and light amount adjustment driving part 170, abstract, paragraphs [01, 6-32, 53-63, 67-82, 88-92], e.g. Figs. 2-3,5,7-8), including a second magnet disposed on the bobbin (magnet 151 disposed on 130, paragraphs [61-66], Figs. 2-3,5,7) and a fourth magnet (as light amount adjustment driving part 170 has circular magnet 173 under driving arm 171 coupled to blades 179a, 179b driven by coils 175a, 175b, paragraphs [55, 67-72, 88-92], Figs. 2-3,5,7) and further teaches that when viewed in an optical axis direction, the fourth magnet is closer to a center of the bobbin than the second magnet is to the center of the bobbin (i.e. as 173 under 171 is closer to a center of 130 as aperture 179 center light passing hole 140, than the magnet 151, which is on an outer circumference of 130, as viewed along optical axis direction Z-axis direction, as depicted in Figs. 2-3,5,7, paragraphs [53-5, 63-68, 88-92], thus providing force to the driving arm and the aperture blades to that adjusts the region through which the light passes from completely open to minimized/blocked, and in a plurality of steps and providing adjustment of photographing condition in several steps depending on an amount of external light, paragraphs [67-68, 88-92]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and adjust the positions of fourth i.e. stop driving part magnet of Park ‘571 to be closer to the center of the bobbin where the optical axis is than the second magnet as viewed in direction of optical axis of Park’571 of the lens module moving mechanism according to teachings of Choi in order to provide force to the driving arm and the aperture blades to that adjusts the region through which the light passes from completely open to minimized/blocked, and in a plurality of steps and providing adjustment of photographing condition in several steps depending on an amount of external light, paragraphs [67-68, 88-92]).
Claims 1-8 and 12-15, 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Park US 20180343370 A1 or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Park US 20180343370 A1 in view in view of Choi et al. (hereafter Choi) US 20190049692 A1.
In regard to independent claims 1 and claim 2, Park teaches (see Figs. 1-13) a lens driving device (camera lens module 100, 200 with stop driving module 300,400 and focusing portion 500, Abstract, paragraphs [08-26, 50-66,69-85, 88-102, 104-120,138-144]), comprising:
a first housing (housing 110, paragraphs [50-66,69-85], Figs. 1-3);
a bobbin disposed in the first housing (200 in 110, paragraphs [50-66,69-85], Figs. 1-3); first and second blades configured to move together with the bobbin (stop module 500 on 200, having stop blades 530, 540 that provide movable aperture of the lens module 500, paragraphs [97-102, 104-120], Figs. 2, 4-10);
a second magnet disposed on the bobbin (810a on 200, paragraphs [50-66,69-85], Figs. 2-3);
a second coil facing the second magnet (i.e. 810b facing 810a, paragraphs [50-66,69-85], Figs. 2-3), and regarding claims 2, wherein the bobbin is configured to move in a direction of an x-axis perpendicular to an optical axis by the second magnet and the second coil (i.e. as 810a with 810b are hand shake compensation actuators generating force for moving bobbin 200 in first direction perpendicular to optical axis, paragraphs [69-85, 88-102]); and
a fourth magnet and a fourth coil configured to adjust an area of a hole defined by the first and second blades (i.e. as area of stop module 500 with lens barrel 210, has hole is defined and changed by moving blades 530, 540 by driving force of magnet portion 520 and coil 521b, see paragraphs [97-133], Fig. 4-10), wherein the fourth magnet is closer to a center of the bobbin than the second magnet is to the center of the bobbin (i.e. as magnet portion 520 curves towards a center of 500 on 200, see 520 parts 522, 523 is closer to a center of 500 on 200, than magnet 810a on outer periphery/side of 220 of 200 lens module 200, as clearly depicted in Figs. 2-4, paragraphs [50-66,69-85, 88-102, 104-133]).
In the alternative, that Park doesn’t clearly disclose that shortest distance between an optical axis and the fourth magnet is shorter than a shortest distance between the optical axis and the second magnet, given depictions of magnets 520 and 810a with respect to optical axis of , the above limitation is still obvious over Choi.
Choi teaches in the same field of invention of a lens driving device (e.g. camera lens assembly with driving parts as auto-focusing 150, and light amount adjustment driving part 170, abstract, paragraphs [01, 6-32, 53-63, 67-82, 88-92], e.g. Figs. 2-3,5,7-8), including a second magnet disposed on the bobbin (magnet 151 disposed on 130, paragraphs [61-66], Figs. 2-3,5,7) and a fourth magnet (as light amount adjustment driving part 170 has circular magnet 173 under driving arm 171 coupled to blades 179a, 179b driven by coils 175a, 175b, paragraphs [55, 67-72, 88-92], Figs. 2-3,5,7) and further teaches that when viewed in an optical axis direction, the fourth magnet is closer to a center of the bobbin than the second magnet is to the center of the bobbin (i.e. as 173 under 171 is closer to a center of 130 as aperture 179 center light passing hole 140, than the magnet 151, which is on an outer circumference of 130, as viewed along optical axis direction Z-axis direction, as depicted in Figs. 2-3,5,7, paragraphs [53-5, 63-68, 88-92], thus providing force to the driving arm and the aperture blades to that adjusts the region through which the light passes from completely open to minimized/blocked, and in a plurality of steps and providing adjustment of photographing condition in several steps depending on an amount of external light, paragraphs [67-68, 88-92]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and adjust the positions of fourth i.e. stop driving part magnet of Park to be closer to the center of the bobbin where the optical axis is than the second magnet as viewed in direction of optical axis than the second magnet of Park of the lens module moving mechanism according to teachings of Choi in order to provide force to the driving arm and the aperture blades to that adjusts the region through which the light passes from completely open to minimized/blocked, and in a plurality of steps and providing adjustment of photographing condition in several steps depending on an amount of external light, paragraphs [67-68, 88-92]).
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches (see Figs. 1-13) that a length of an outer lateral surface of the second magnet facing the second coil in a direction of a y-axis perpendicular to the optical axis is greater than a length of an outer lateral surface of the fourth magnet facing the fourth coil in the direction of the y-axis (e.g. as a length of an outer lateral surface of 810a is larger than a length of lateral outer surface of magnet 520 part 522, 523, in second direction, as depicted in Figs. 2-3, note that hand shake magnets and coils 810a,b and 830a,b have same sizes, see paragraphs [70-85, 88-102, 104-133], note that no specific length is specified, hence the terms for length are treated broadly).
Regarding claims 4 and 24, Park teaches (see Figs. 1-13) that a length of an inner lateral surface of the fourth coil facing the fourth magnet in a direction of a y-axis perpendicular to the optical axis is shorter than a length of an inner lateral surface of the second coil facing the second magnet in the direction of the y-axis (as length of an inner lateral surface of 521b is smaller than a length of an inner lateral surface of 810b in second direction as depicted in Figs. 2-3, paragraphs [70-85, 88-102, 104-133], note that no specific length is specified, hence the terms for length are treated broadly).
Regarding claim 5 and 25, Park teaches (see Figs. 1-13) that a length of an inner lateral surface of the fourth coil facing the fourth magnet in a direction of the optical axis is greater than a length of an inner lateral surface of the second coil facing the second magnet in the direction of the optical axis (as length of an inner lateral surface of 521b is larger than a length of an inner lateral surface of 810b in optical axis direction as depicted in Figs. 2-3, paragraphs [70-85, 88-102, 104-133], note that no specific length is specified, hence the terms for length are treated broadly).
Regarding claim 6 and 26, Park teaches (see Figs. 1-13) that a length of an inner lateral surface of the fourth coil facing the fourth magnet in a direction of a y-axis perpendicular to the optical axis is shorter than a length of the inner lateral surface of the fourth coil in a direction of the optical axis (as length of an inner of e.g. left section lateral surface of 521b is smaller than a length of an inner lateral surface e.g. total vertical length of 521b in optical axis direction as depicted in Figs. 2-3, paragraphs [70-85, 88-102, 104-133], note that no specific length is specified, hence the terms for length are treated broadly).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches (see Figs. 1-13) comprising: a second housing disposed between the first housing and the bobbin (carrier 300 between 110 and 200, Figs. 1-3, paragraphs [50-66,69-75]); a first magnet disposed on the second housing (710 on 300 Figs. 2-3, paragraphs [50-66,69-85]);
a first coil facing the first magnet (730 facing 710, Figs. 2-3, paragraphs [50-66,69-85]); a third magnet disposed on the bobbin (830a on 200, Figs. 2-3, paragraphs [50-66,69-75]); and a third coil facing the third magnet (830b facing 830a, Figs. 2-3, paragraphs [50-66,69-75]).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches (see Figs. 1-13) that the first to fourth coils are spaced apart from each other, the first coil and the third coil are disposed opposite to each other, and the second coil and the fourth coil are disposed opposite to each other (i.e. as space apart coils 701, 810b,830b,521b, with 710 opposite from 830b, and 810b opposite from 521b, Figs. 2-3, paragraphs [50-66,69-85, 110-118]) and,
wherein the second housing is configured to move in a direction of the optical axis by the first magnet and the first coil (i.e. as magnet710 and coil 730 generate driving force in the optical axis direction for moving carrier 300, paragraphs [55-66], Figs. 103), and
wherein the bobbin is configured to move in a direction of a y-axis perpendicular to the optical axis by the third magnet and the third coil (i.e. as 200 moves in second direction for hand shake compensation with 830a and 830b, paragraphs [68-76], Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 12, Park teaches (see Figs. 1-13) comprising a cover disposed on the first housing (120 on 110, paragraphs [50, 83-87], Figs. 1-3), wherein the cover comprises an upper plate and a plurality of side plates (120 with upper and side plates, Figs. 1-2), wherein the plurality of side plates of the cover comprises first and third side plates opposite to each other, and second and fourth side plates opposite to each other (i.e. as 1st side plate opposite from 3rd side plate, and 2nd side plate opposite to 4th side plate, Figs. 1-2), and wherein the fourth coil is disposed between the fourth magnet and the fourth side plate of the cover (i.e. as 521b is between 520 and fourth side plate of 120, as depicted in figs. 1-2, paragraphs [110-118]).
Regarding claim 13, Park teaches (see Figs. 1-13) that the second coil is disposed between the second magnet and the second side plate of the cover (as 810b is between 810a and second side plate of 120, as depicted in Figs. 1-2, paragraphs [72-76]).
Regarding claim 14, Park teaches (see Figs. 1-13) a camera module (camera module with lens module 200, and stop driving module 300,400 and focusing portion 500, Abstract, paragraphs [08-26, 50-66,69-85, 88-102, 104-120,138-144]), comprising: a printed circuit board (PCB) (600, paragraphs [80-83]) ; an image sensor disposed on the PCB (image sensor on 600, paragraphs [80-83, Fig. 1); the lens driving device of claim 1 disposed above the PCB (as 110 lens module on 600, paragraphs [50-60, 80-83], Figs. 1-2); and a lens coupled to the bobbin of the lens driving device (lens barrel 210 with lenses coupled to 220, 200, paragraphs [50-60]).
Regarding claim 15, Park teaches (see Figs. 1-13) an optical apparatus (i.e. as portable electronic device, as tablet, smartphone and its camera module, paragraphs [03-04, 43-60, 85-86]) including comprising: a frame (i.e. as frame of the portable electronic device, paragraphs [03-04, 43-60, 85-86]); a display disposed on one surface of the frame (i.e. as tablet or smartphone display on the frame, paragraphs [03-04, 43-60, 85-86]); and the camera module of claim 14 disposed on the frame and electrically connected with the display (i.e. as camera module is disposed on and part of the smartphone or tablet portable electronic device, paragraphs [03-04, 43-60, 85-86]).
Regarding claim 21, Park teaches (see Figs. 1-13) that a shortest distance between the first magnet and the third magnet is greater than a shortest distance between the second magnet and the fourth magnet (i.e. given that the 710 is on outer frame surface of carrier 300 and 830a magnet is on bobbin, while both 810a and 520 are both on 200 lens holder 220, which is nested inside the carrier 300, as depicted in Figs. 2-4, paragraphs [50-66,69-85]).
In regard to independent claim 22 and claim 23 Park teaches (see Figs. 1-13) a lens driving device (camera lens module 100, 200 with stop driving module 300,400 and focusing portion 500, Abstract, paragraphs [08-26, 50-66,69-85, 88-102, 104-120,138-144]), comprising:
a first housing (housing 110, paragraphs [50-66,69-85], Figs. 1-3);
a bobbin disposed in the first housing (200 in 110, paragraphs [50-66,69-85], Figs. 1-3); first and second blades configured to move together with the bobbin (stop module 500 on 200, having stop blades 530, 540 that provide movable aperture of the lens module 500, paragraphs [97-102, 104-120], Figs. 2, 4-10);
a second magnet disposed on the bobbin (810a on 200, paragraphs [50-66,69-85], Figs. 2-3);
a second coil facing the second magnet (i.e. 810b facing 810a, paragraphs [50-66,69-85], Figs. 2-3), and regarding claims 23, wherein the bobbin is configured to move in a direction of an x-axis perpendicular to the optical axis by the second magnet and the second coil (i.e. as 810a with 810b are hand shake compensation actuators generating force for moving bobbin 200 in first direction perpendicular to optical axis, paragraphs [69-85, 88-102]); and
a fourth magnet and a fourth coil configured to adjust an area of a hole defined by the first and second blades (i.e. as area of stop module 500 with lens barrel 210, has hole is defined and changed by moving blades 530, 540 by driving force of magnet portion 520 and coil 521b, see paragraphs [97-133], Fig. 4-10), wherein a shortest distance between an optical axis and the fourth magnet is shorter than a shortest distance between the optical axis and the second magnet (i.e. as magnet portion 520 curved towards the optical see 520 parts 522, 523 is closer to optical axis, than magnet 810a on 200 is on the side of 220 holder of lens module 200 having optical axis, as depicted in Figs. 2-4, paragraphs [50-66,69-85, 88-102, 104-133]).
In the alternative, that Park doesn’t clearly disclose that shortest distance between an optical axis and the fourth magnet is shorter than a shortest distance between the optical axis and the second magnet, given depictions of magnets 520 and 810a with respect to optical axis of , the above limitation is still obvious over Choi.
Choi teaches in the same field of invention of a lens driving device (e.g. camera lens assembly with driving parts as auto-focusing 150, and light amount adjustment driving part 170, abstract, paragraphs [01, 6-32, 53-63, 67-82, 88-92], e.g. Figs. 2-3,5,7-8), including a second magnet disposed on the bobbin (magnet 151 disposed on 130, paragraphs [61-66], Figs. 2-3,5,7) and a fourth magnet (as light amount adjustment driving part 170 has circular magnet 173 under driving arm 171 coupled to blades 179a, 179b driven by coils 175a, 175b, paragraphs [55, 67-72, 88-92], Figs. 2-3,5,7) and further teaches that when viewed in an optical axis direction, the fourth magnet is closer to a center of the bobbin than the second magnet is to the center of the bobbin (i.e. as 173 under 171 is closer to a center of 130 as aperture 179 center light passing hole 140, than the magnet 151, which is on an outer circumference of 130, as viewed along optical axis direction Z-axis direction, as depicted in Figs. 2-3,5,7, paragraphs [53-5, 63-68, 88-92], thus providing force to the driving arm and the aperture blades to that adjusts the region through which the light passes from completely open to minimized/blocked, and in a plurality of steps and providing adjustment of photographing condition in several steps depending on an amount of external light, paragraphs [67-68, 88-92]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and adjust the positions of fourth i.e. stop driving part magnet of Park to be closer to the center of the bobbin where the optical axis is than the second magnet as viewed in direction of optical axis than the second magnet of Park of the lens module moving mechanism according to teachings of Choi in order to provide force to the driving arm and the aperture blades to that adjusts the region through which the light passes from completely open to minimized/blocked, and in a plurality of steps and providing adjustment of photographing condition in several steps depending on an amount of external light, paragraphs [67-68, 88-92]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the Remarks dated 02/05/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, Applicant argues on page 12-14 that the cited prior art of Park ‘571 does not disclose the new limitations in claim 1 or limitations in claim 22, that “the fourth magnet is shorter than a shortest distance between the optical axis and closer to a center of the bobbin than the second magnet is to the center of the bobbin” because it appears that that in Fig. 3 magnet 510 is closer to the center of the bobbin than magnet 410. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to issue (1) above, as noted in the rejection above, Park ‘571 teaches all limitations of amended claim 1, as , Park 571 teaches (see Figs. 1-8) a lens driving device (camera lens module 100, 200 with stop driving module 300,400 and focusing portion 500, Abstract, paragraphs [08-21, 36-46, 58-66, 75-89, 91-108]), comprising:
a first housing (housing 110, paragraphs [36-46, 58-66], Figs. 1-3);
a bobbin disposed in the first housing (200 in 110, paragraphs [36-46, 58-66], Figs. 1-3); first and second blades configured to move together with the bobbin (stop module 300 on 200, having stop blades 320, 330 that provide movable aperture of the lens module 200, paragraphs [77-87, 91-108], Figs. 2, 5-8);
a second magnet disposed on the bobbin (510 on 200, paragraphs [36-46, 58-66], Figs. 1-3);
a second coil facing the second magnet (i.e. 520a facing 510, paragraphs [36-46, 58-66], Figs. 1-3); and
a fourth magnet and a fourth coil configured to adjust an area of a hole defined by the first and second blades, and regarding claim 20 configured to move at least a portion of the first and second blades (i.e. as area of stop module hole is defined and changed by moving blades 330, 320 moved by driving force of coil 420a and magnet portion magnet 410, 410a , of coil 420 and magnet portions, see paragraphs [72-73, 81-87], e.g. Figs. 1-3, 7-8), wherein the fourth magnet is closer to a center of the bobbin than the second magnet is to the center of the bobbin. (i.e. because the magnet 410a,410 is in the guide groove 313 carved from the edge of plate 310 towards a center of plate 310 of 300, and given that lens barrel 210 with stop module 300 and plate 310 is nested in carrier 220 of 200, and therefore magnet 410a is closer to a center of stop module and lens module 200, than magnet 510 that is on the outer side of carrier 220 of 200 of camera module as clearly depicted in Figs. 2-4,7, see paragraphs [72-73, 81-87, 91-102]). Therefore, Park ‘571 teaches all limitations of claim 1 as amended.
However, in the alternative, that Park 571 doesn’t clearly disclose that the fourth magnet is closer to a center of the bobbin than the second magnet is to the center of the bobbin when vied in optical axis direction, given depictions of magnets 410a and 510 with respect to a center of 300 or 200 barrel 210, the above limitation is still obvious over Choi.
Choi teaches in the same field of invention of a lens driving device (e.g. camera lens assembly with driving parts as auto-focusing 150, and light amount adjustment driving part 170, abstract, paragraphs [01, 6-32, 53-63, 67-82, 88-92], e.g. Figs. 2-3,5,7-8), including a second magnet disposed on the bobbin (magnet 151 disposed on 130, paragraphs [61-66], Figs. 2-3,5,7) and a fourth magnet (as light amount adjustment driving part 170 has circular magnet 173 under driving arm 171 coupled to blades 179a, 179b driven by coils 175a, 175b, paragraphs [55, 67-72, 88-92], Figs. 2-3,5,7) and further teaches that when viewed in an optical axis direction, the fourth magnet is closer to a center of the bobbin than the second magnet is to the center of the bobbin (i.e. as 173 under 171 is closer to a center of 130 as aperture 179 center light passing hole 140, than the magnet 151, which is on an outer circumference of 130, as viewed along optical axis direction Z-axis direction, as depicted in Figs. 2-3,5,7, paragraphs [53-5, 63-68, 88-92], thus providing force to the driving arm and the aperture blades to that adjusts the region through which the light passes from completely open to minimized/blocked, and in a plurality of steps and providing adjustment of photographing condition in several steps depending on an amount of external light, paragraphs [67-68, 88-92]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and adjust the positions of fourth i.e. stop driving part magnet of Park ‘571 to be closer to the center of the bobbin where the optical axis is than the second magnet as viewed in direction of optical axis of Park’571 of the lens module moving mechanism according to teachings of Choi in order to provide force to the driving arm and the aperture blades to that adjusts the region through which the light passes from completely open to minimized/blocked, and in a plurality of steps and providing adjustment of photographing condition in several steps depending on an amount of external light, paragraphs [67-68, 88-92]).
Applicant argues on page 12-14 that the cited prior art of Park ‘370 does not disclose the new limitations in claim 1 or limitations in claim 22, that “the fourth magnet is shorter than a shortest distance between the optical axis and closer to a center of the bobbin than the second magnet is to the center of the bobbin” because it appears that the coil 830b and the coil 521b are the same distance to the optical axis and since this implies that each of the magnets are the same distance to the center of the bobbin 200.. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to issue (1) above, as noted in the rejection above, Park ‘370 teaches all limitations of claim 1 and 22, as Park teaches (see Figs. 1-13) a lens driving device (camera lens module 100, 200 with stop driving module 300,400 and focusing portion 500, Abstract, paragraphs [08-26, 50-66,69-85, 88-102, 104-120,138-144]), comprising:
a first housing (housing 110, paragraphs [50-66,69-85], Figs. 1-3);
a bobbin disposed in the first housing (200 in 110, paragraphs [50-66,69-85], Figs. 1-3); first and second blades configured to move together with the bobbin (stop module 500 on 200, having stop blades 530, 540 that provide movable aperture of the lens module 500, paragraphs [97-102, 104-120], Figs. 2, 4-10);
a second magnet disposed on the bobbin (810a on 200, paragraphs [50-66,69-85], Figs. 2-3);
a second coil facing the second magnet (i.e. 810b facing 810a, paragraphs [50-66,69-85], Figs. 2-3), and regarding claims 2, wherein the bobbin is configured to move in a direction of an x-axis perpendicular to an optical axis by the second magnet and the second coil (i.e. as 810a with 810b are hand shake compensation actuators generating force for moving bobbin 200 in first direction perpendicular to optical axis, paragraphs [69-85, 88-102]); and
a fourth magnet and a fourth coil configured to adjust an area of a hole defined by the first and second blades (i.e. as area of stop module 500 with lens barrel 210, has hole is defined and changed by moving blades 530, 540 by driving force of magnet portion 520 and coil 521b, see paragraphs [97-133], Fig. 4-10), wherein the fourth magnet is closer to a center of the bobbin than the second magnet is to the center of the bobbin (i.e. as magnet portion 520 curves towards a center of 500 on 200, see 520 parts 522, 523 is closer to a center of 500 on 200, than magnet 810a on outer periphery/side of 220 of 200 lens module 200, as clearly depicted in Figs. 2-4, paragraphs [50-66,69-85, 88-102, 104-133]).
Therefore Park ‘370 teaches all limitations of claim 1.
However, in the alternative, that Park doesn’t clearly disclose that shortest distance between an optical axis and the fourth magnet is shorter than a shortest distance between the optical axis and the second magnet, given depictions of magnets 520 and 810a with respect to optical axis of , the above limitation is still obvious over Choi.
Choi teaches in the same field of invention of a lens driving device (e.g. camera lens assembly with driving parts as auto-focusing 150, and light amount adjustment driving part 170, abstract, paragraphs [01, 6-32, 53-63, 67-82, 88-92], e.g. Figs. 2-3,5,7-8), including a second magnet disposed on the bobbin (magnet 151 disposed on 130, paragraphs [61-66], Figs. 2-3,5,7) and a fourth magnet (as light amount adjustment driving part 170 has circular magnet 173 under driving arm 171 coupled to blades 179a, 179b driven by coils 175a, 175b, paragraphs [55, 67-72, 88-92], Figs. 2-3,5,7) and further teaches that when viewed in an optical axis direction, the fourth magnet is closer to a center of the bobbin than the second magnet is to the center of the bobbin (i.e. as 173 under 171 is closer to a center of 130 as aperture 179 center light passing hole 140, than the magnet 151, which is on an outer circumference of 130, as viewed along optical axis direction Z-axis direction, as depicted in Figs. 2-3,5,7, paragraphs [53-5, 63-68, 88-92], thus providing force to the driving arm and the aperture blades to that adjusts the region through which the light passes from completely open to minimized/blocked, and in a plurality of steps and providing adjustment of photographing condition in several steps depending on an amount of external light, paragraphs [67-68, 88-92]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and adjust the positions of fourth i.e. stop driving part magnet of Park to be closer to the center of the bobbin where the optical axis is than the second magnet as viewed in direction of optical axis than the second magnet of Park of the lens module moving mechanism according to teachings of Choi in order to provide force to the driving arm and the aperture blades to that adjusts the region through which the light passes from completely open to minimized/blocked, and in a plurality of steps and providing adjustment of photographing condition in several steps depending on an amount of external light, paragraphs [67-68, 88-92]).
Additionally, it is noted that the positions of coils does not imply the positions of the respective magnets with respect to a center of the bobbin, as the coils are placed in the outer frame housing 110 board 900, similarly as in the instant application. On the other Hand Park ‘370 teaches that the fourth magnet is closer to a center of the bobbin than the second magnet is to the center of the bobbin, i.e. as magnet portion 520 curves towards a center of 500 on 200, see 520 parts 522, 523 is closer to a center of 500 on 200, than magnet 810a on outer periphery/side of 220 of 200 lens module 200, as clearly depicted in Figs. 2-4, (paragraphs [50-66,69-85, 88-102, 104-133]).
Therefore the cited prior art of Park ‘571 and Park ‘370 teach all limitations of amended claim 1 and new claim 22.
No additional substantial arguments were presented in the Remarks dated 02/05/2026 after page 14.
Conclusion
/MARIN PICHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872