DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 3/30/2026 has been entered.
The objection over the Claims presented in the Office Action mailed 1/12/2026 have been withdrawn based on the amendment filed 3/30/2026.
The obvious-type double patenting rejections as presented in the Office Action mailed 1/12/2026 have been withdrawn based on the terminal disclaimer filed 3/30/2026.
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as presented in the Office Action mailed 1/12/2026 have been withdrawn based on the amendment filed 3/30/2026. The examiner notes that new rejections based on the amendment filed 3/30/2026 are presented below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/14/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 3/30/2026. These drawings are accepted.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the substrate comprising a heat sink of Claim 18 line 1 and of Claim 19 line 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With regards to Claim 18, line 1 recites the limitation “the substrate comprises a heat sink”. The original disclosure as filed 5/28/2025 discloses a substrate forming part of a cartridge, and the cartridge and a heat sink being separate components such that the cartridge is received by the heat sink (see Specification, e.g., paragraph 329), and thermal dissipation from the cartridge via the heat sink (see Specification, e.g., paragraph 331). However, the substrate comprising a heat sink is not disclosed by the originally filed disclosure, particularly not found in Specification paragraph 363 and Figures 7A-11E and 26A-F as suggested by the Remarks filed 3/30/2026. Therefore, such limitation constitutes new matter.
With regards to Claim 19, line 1 recites the limitation “the substrate comprises a heat sink”. Claim 19 depends from Claim 3, which recites on lines 1-2 “the main body further comprises a heat sink”. The original disclosure as filed 5/28/2025 discloses a substrate forming part of a cartridge, and the cartridge and a heat sink being separate components such that the cartridge is received by the heat sink (see Specification, e.g., paragraph 329), and thermal dissipation from the cartridge via the heat sink (see Specification, e.g., paragraph 331). However, separate heat sinks such that the main body comprises a heat sink and the substrate comprising a heat sink is not disclosed by the originally filed disclosure, particularly not found in Specification paragraph 363 and Figures 7A-11E and 26A-F as suggested by the Remarks filed 3/30/2026. Therefore, such limitation constitutes new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang (CN 110030502; please see attached translation for reference to pages).
With regards to Claim 1, Yang discloses an LED light bulb comprising: a substrate [4,3] having an LED provided thereon (see bottom of page 3 and Figure 1); and a main body [1,2] comprising electrical contact members (see bottom of page 3 and Figure 1) and an outer wall (comprising the outer wall of portion [1], see Figure 1) forming a portion of an outer surface of the LED light bulb (see Figure 1), the outer wall having a slot (comprising the slot at a top of main body portion [1] into which the substrate [4,3] is inserted, see Figures 1 and 2), wherein the substrate [4,3] is removably insertable into the main body [1,2] through the slot (see top half of page 4 and Figures 1 and 2), and wherein the substrate [4,3] has a biasing member [3] which secures the substrate [4] in position in the main body [1,2] (see top half of page 4 and Figures 1 and 2).
With regards to Claim 15, Yang discloses the LED light bulb as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Yang further discloses the slot is formed in a diffuser [1] of the LED light bulb (see middle of page 3 and Figures 1 and 2).
With regards to Claim 16, Yang discloses the LED light bulb as discussed above with regards to Claim 15.
Yang further discloses the slot extends in a longitudinal axis, the longitudinal axis intersecting an upper end and a lower end of the LED light bulb (see Figures 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 10, 12-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engelmann (US 2018/0313527) in view of Keser et al. (WO 2011145018).
With regards to Claim 1, Engelmann discloses an LED light bulb comprising: a substrate (comprising the portion [40b’], see paragraphs 27 and 28 and Figure 4) having an LED [40c] provided thereon (see paragraph 27 and Figure 4); and, a main body [10,20,30’] (see paragraphs 24 and 26 and Figures 2 and 4) comprising electrical contact members [30c] (see paragraph 27 and Figure 3) and an outer wall forming a portion of an outer surface of the LED light bulb (comprising the outer wall into which slots [E,E’] are formed, see paragraph 24 and Figures 1a and 2), the outer wall having a slot [E’] (see paragraph 24 and Figure 1a), wherein the substrate is removably insertable into the main body [10,20,30’] through the slot [E’] (see paragraph 24 and Figures 1a, 2, and 4), and biasing the substrate to secure the substrate in position in the main body [10,20,30’] (see paragraphs 25 and 28).
Engelmann does not explicitly disclose the substrate has a biasing member which secures the substrate in the position in the main body.
Keser et al. teaches the substrate has a biasing member [108] which secures the substrate [111a] in position in the main body (see page 8 lines 31-34 and page 9 lines 1-6 and Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate of Engelmann to have a biasing member which secures the substrate in the position in the main body, as taught by Keser et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to apply pressure on a receiving portion of the main body to impede movement of the substrate in at least one direction (see Keser et al. page 9 lines 1-3).
With regards to Claim 2, Engelmann and Keser et al. disclose the LED light bulb as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Engelmann does not disclose the biasing member comprises an electrically conductive body portion which engages the electrical contact members when the substrate is positioned in the main body.
Keser et al. teaches the biasing member [108] comprises an electrically conductive body portion which engages the electrical contact members [116] when the substrate is positioned in the main body (see page 8 lines 31-34 and page 9 lines 23-25 and Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LED light bulb of Engelmann to include the biasing member comprises an electrically conductive body portion which engages the electrical contact members when the substrate is positioned in the main body, as taught by Keser et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide electrical connection with a socket (see Keser et al. page 8 lines 31-34 and page 9 lines 23-25).
With regards to Claim 3, Engelmann and Keser et al. disclose the LED light bulb as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Engelmann further discloses the main body further comprises a heat sink [10] (see paragraph 24 and Figure 2).
Engelmann does not explicitly disclose the biasing member biases the substrate into thermal contact with the heat sink when the substrate is positioned in the main body.
Keser et al. teaches the biasing member [108] biases the substrate into thermal contact with the heat sink [229,232] when the substrate [220] is positioned in the main body (see page 10 lines 4-14 and page 10 lines 14-22 and Figure 2a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LED light bulb of Engelmann to include the biasing member biases the substrate into thermal contact with the heat sink when 10the substrate is positioned in the main body, as taught by Keser et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a thermal path to increase heat transfer efficiency (see Keser et al. page 10 lines 14-22).
With regards to Claim 4, Engelmann and Keser et al. disclose the LED light bulb as discussed above with regards to Claim 3.
Engelmann further discloses the substrate is slideably receivable in the slot [E’] (see paragraph 24 and Figure 1a), and wherein the substrate has an insertion end, a longitudinally opposed outer end and a body portion extending longitudinally between the insertion end and the outer end (see Figures 1a and 4), and the body portion abuts the heat sink [10] when the substrate is positioned in the main body [10,20,30’] (see paragraph 25 and Figures 1a and 2).
Engelmann does not explicitly disclose the biasing member biases the body portion to abut the heat sink when the substrate is positioned in the main body.
Keser et al. teaches the biasing member [108] biases the body portion (comprising a middle portion of the substrate [111a], see Figures 1 and 2a) to abut the heat sink [232,229] when the substrate is positioned in the main body (see page 10 lines 4-14 and page 10 lines 14-22 and Figure 2a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LED light bulb of Keser et al. to include the biasing member biases the body portion to abut the heat sink when the substrate is positioned in the main body, as taught by Keser et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a thermal path to increase heat transfer efficiency (see Keser et al. page 10 lines 14-22).
With regards to Claim 5, Engelmann and Keser et al. disclose the LED light bulb as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Engelmann does not explicitly disclose the LED and the biasing member are provided on a common side of the substrate.
Keser et al. teaches the LED [118] and the biasing member [108] are provided on a common side of the substrate [111a] (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LED light bulb of Engelmann to include the LED and the biasing member are provided on a common side of the substrate, as taught by Keser. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide electrical connection of the LED with a socket (see Keser et al. page 8 lines 31-34 and page 9 lines 23-25).
With regards to Claim 6, Engelmann and Keser et al. disclose the LED light bulb as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Engelmann further discloses the substrate comprises a longitudinally extending body portion (see Figure 4), the body portion has first and second opposed longitudinally extending sides (see Figure 4).
Engelmann does not disclose the LED and the biasing member are provided on the first longitudinally extending side and the second longitudinally extending side is thermally conductive.
Keser et al. teaches the LED (shown as [118] in Figure 1 and corresponding to [228] in Figure 2a) and the biasing member [108] are provided on the first longitudinally extending side and the second longitudinally extending side is thermally conductive (see page 10 lines 4-14 and page 10 lines 14-22 and Figure 2a; the second longitudinally extending side is in thermal contact with the heat sink [229,232]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LED light bulb of Engelmann to include the LED and the biasing member are provided on the first longitudinally extending side and the second longitudinally extending side is thermally conductive, as taught by Keser et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a thermal path to increase heat transfer efficiency (see Keser et al. page 10 lines 14-22).
With regards to Claim 7, Engelmann and Keser et al. disclose the LED light bulb as discussed above with regards to Claim 6.
Engelmann further discloses the main body [10,20,30’] further comprises a heat sink [10] (see paragraph 24 and Figure 2) and the second longitudinally extending side is in thermal contact with the heat sink [10] when the substrate is positioned in the main body (see paragraph 25 and Figures 1 and 2).
Engelmann does not disclose the biasing member biases the second longitudinally extending side into thermal contact with the heat sink when the substrate is positioned in the main body.
Keser et al. teaches the main body further comprises a heat sink [232,229] and the biasing member [108] biases the second longitudinally extending side into thermal contact with the heat sink [229,232] when the substrate is positioned in the main body (see page 10 lines 4-14 and page 10 lines 14-22 and Figure 2a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LED light bulb of Engelmann to include the main body further comprises a heat sink and the biasing member biases the second longitudinally extending side into thermal contact with the heat sink when the substrate is positioned in the main body, as taught by Keser et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a thermal path to increase heat transfer efficiency (see Keser et al. page 10 lines 14-22).
With regards to Claim 9, Engelmann and Keser et al. disclose the LED light bulb as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Engelmann does not disclose the substrate is a printed circuit board.
Keser et al. teaches the substrate is a printed circuit board (see page 4 lines 4-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate of Engelmann to be a printed circuit board, as taught by Keser et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a metal core printed circuit board (see Keser et al. page 4 lines 4-9), which substantially offers a thermally conductive durable substrate.
With regards to Claim 10, Engelmann and Keser et al. disclose the LED light bulb as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Engelmann further discloses the substrate comprises electrical contacts [40e’] and the electrical contact members [30c’] contact the electrical contacts [40e’] when the substrate is positioned in the main body (see paragraph 28 and Figure 4).
With regards to Claim 12, Engelmann and Keser et al. disclose the LED light bulb as discussed above with regards to Claim 10.
Engelmann further discloses the main body further comprises a heat sink [10] (see paragraph 24 and Figure 2).
Engelmann does not explicitly disclose the biasing member is thermally conductive.
Keser et al. teaches the biasing member [108] is thermally conductive (see page 5 lines 16-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LED light bulb of Engelmann to include the biasing member is thermally conductive, as taught by Keser et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a thermal path to increase heat transfer efficiency (see Keser et al. page 5 lines 21-23).
With regards to Claim 13, Engelmann and Keser et al. disclose the LED light bulb as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Engelmann further discloses the substrate has an insertion end (comprising an end with portions [40e’], see Figures 1a and 4), a longitudinally opposed outer end (comprising an end with portion [40a] (see paragraph 25 and Figures 1a and 4) and a body portion extending longitudinally between the insertion end and the opposed outer end (see Figures 1a and 4), wherein the opposed outer end closes the slot [E’] when the substrate is inserted into the LED light bulb (see paragraph 25 and Figure 1c).
With regards to Claim 14, Engelmann and Keser et al. disclose the LED light bulb as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Engelmann further discloses the main body [10,20,30’] further comprises a heat sink [10] (see paragraph 24 and Figure 2), and wherein, when the substrate is inserted into the main body [10,20,30’] through the slot [E’], the substrate extends through a portion of the heat sink [10] (see paragraphs 24 and 25 and Figures 1a-1c).
With regards to Claim 18, Engelmann and Keser et al. disclose the LED light bulb as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Engelmann does not disclose the substrate comprises a heat sink.
Keser et al. teaches the substrate comprises a heat sink (see page 4 lines 4-9; the substrate is a metal core printed circuit board, which substantially acts as a heat sink).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate of Engelmann to comprise a heat sink, as taught by Keser et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a metal core printed circuit board (see Keser et al. page 4 lines 4-9), which substantially offers a thermally conductive durable substrate.
With regards to Claim 19, Engelmann and Keser et al. disclose the LED light bulb as discussed above with regards to Claim 3.
Engelmann does not disclose the substrate comprises a heat sink.
Keser et al. teaches the substrate comprises a heat sink (see page 4 lines 4-9; the substrate is a metal core printed circuit board, which substantially acts as a heat sink).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate of Engelmann to comprise a heat sink, as taught by Keser et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a metal core printed circuit board (see Keser et al. page 4 lines 4-9), which substantially offers a thermally conductive durable substrate.
With regards to Claim 20, Engelmann and Keser et al. disclose the LED light bulb as discussed above with regards to Claim 13.
Engelmann further discloses the opposed outer end further comprises a seal which contacts the outer wall when the substrate is inserted into the slot (see paragraph 25 and Figure 1).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engelmann (US 2018/0313527), as modified by Keser et al. (WO 2011145018), further in view of Lai (US 2018/0156395).
With regards to Claim 8, Engelmann and Keser et al. disclose the LED light bulb as discussed above with regards to Claim 7.
Engelmann and Keser et al. do not disclose the substrate is made of a non-conductive material and is coated with a thermal conducting layer.
Lai teaches the substrate [10] is made of a non-conductive material and is coated with a thermal conducting layer [14] (see paragraphs 64 and 65; the substrate [10] can be made of plastic, which is substantially a non-conductive material, and is coated with thermal conducting layer [14]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the substrate of Engelmann to be made of a non-conductive material and be coated with a thermal conducting layer, as taught by Lai. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide heat dissipation to a substrate formed of a plastic material (see Lai paragraphs 64 and 65).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engelmann (US 2018/0313527), as modified by Keser et al. (WO 2011145018), further in view of Kigele (US 2014/0334151).
With regards to Claim 11, Engelmann and Keser et al. disclose the LED light bulb as discussed above with regards to Claim 10.
Engelmann and Keser et al. do not disclose the biasing member is made of an electrical insulation material.
Kigele teaches the biasing member [7] is made of an electrical insulation material (see paragraph 24; the biasing member is made of a material such as plastic or rubber, which are substantially electrically insulating materials).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the biasing member of Engelmann and Keser et al. to be made of an electrical insulation material, as taught by Kigele. One would have been motivated to do so in order to produced from a plastic or rubber material in mechanically securing the substrate in the main body (see Kigele paragraph 24).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engelmann (US 2018/0313527), as modified by Keser et al. (WO 2011145018), further in view of Shimoji et al. (US 2013/0163261).
With regards to Claim 17, Engelmann and Keser et al. disclose the LED light bulb as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Engelmann further discloses the LED light bulb has an upper end and a longitudinally opposed lower end (see Figure 2).
Engelmann does not explicitly disclose the LED light bulb has a diffuser positioned at the upper end, and, when the LED light bulb is oriented with the upper end above the lower end, the slot is formed in a sidewall of the LED light bulb below the diffuser.
Shimoji et al. teaches the LED light bulb has a diffuser [26] positioned at the upper end (see paragraph 31 and Figures 1A and 1B), and, when the LED light bulb is oriented with the upper end above the lower end, the slot (comprising the slot formed of portions [22e,22c] formed in main body portion [22], see paragraph 44 and Figure 3D) is formed in a sidewall of the LED light bulb below the diffuser [26] (see Figures 1A and 1C; the slot is formed in portion [22] which is substantially below the diffuser [26]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LED light bulb of Engelmann to include the LED light bulb has a diffuser positioned at the upper end, and, when the LED light bulb is oriented with the upper end above the lower end, the slot is formed in a sidewall of the LED light bulb below the diffuser, as taught by Shimoji et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to emit light therethrough from the bulb away from the main body (see Shimoji et al. paragraph 31).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner responds below.
With regards to the applicant’s argument that at least Claim 1 is patentable over the cited prior art, the examiner directs the applicant to the above rejections of Claim 1 over Engelmann in view of Keser et al. and over Yang. Such references have been included in the present Office Action to address the limitations added to the amended claims and newly added claims.
Prior Art Referral
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the prior art discussed in this action, the applicant is directed to form 892, and particularly the references Cuche (US 2017/0363255), which discloses at least an LED bulb with an LED disposed on a substrate, a biasing element for holding the substrate within a main body of the bulb, the substrate sliding through a slot in the main body, Van De Ven (US 8,960,989), which discloses at least an LED lighting device including an LED disposed on a substrate, the substrate sliding into a slot in a main body, the main body including a heat sink, Isoda (JP 2003068111), which discloses at least an LED lighting device including an LED disposed on a substrate, the substrate sliding into a slot in a main body, and Lewers (DE 102014110010), which discloses at least an LED lighting device including an LED disposed on a substrate, the substrate sliding into a slot in a main body, the main body including a heat sink.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN KRYUKOVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875