DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 9-10, and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,852,330 (PAT’330) in view of CHEN (US 8,109,652).
Regarding claim 1 of APP’274, see Table 1.
Claim 1 of APP’274
Claim 1 of PAT’330
Additional Comments
An LED light bulb comprising (a) a substrate having an LED provided thereon; and,
A light bulb comprising: (a) a substrate having a light emitting member and electrical contact members provided thereon; and,
b) a main body in which the substrate is removably received, the main body comprising electrical contact members,
(b) a main body comprising a heat sink, a power supply, a base connectable to a source of current and a diffuser, wherein a longitudinal axis extends between the base and the diffuser, the heat sink has a base side and a longitudinally spaced apart diffuser side, the power supply is positioned between the base and the base side of the heat sink, and the diffuser side of the heat sink faces the diffuser, wherein a volume is provided between the diffuser side of the heat sink and an axially spaced apart distal end of the diffuser, wherein, when positioned in the main body, the substrate is positioned in the volume, and wherein the main body comprises an exterior surface and a slot is provided in the exterior surface of the main body through which the substrate is removably insertable into the main body, and wherein electrical leads extend from the power supply and through the heat sink and, when positioned in the main body, the electrical leads electrically connect the electrical contact members to the power supply, whereby the substrate is electrically connected to the electrical contact members upon insertion of the substrate into the main body, and wherein the heat sink has fins which form a portion of the exterior surface and at least a portion of the fins are located radially outwardly of the base.
wherein the substrate has a biasing member which secures the substrate in position in the main body.
PAT’330 fails to disclose wherein the substrate has a biasing member which secures the substrate in position in the main body
Table 1
PAT’330 fails to disclose wherein the substrate has a biasing member which secures the substrate in position in the main body
However, CHEN discloses a substrate (3, Fig.1) has a biasing member (as seen in Fig.1, the “biasing member” was considered to be the conductive spring 5) securing the substrate in position in a main body (1, Fig.1).
Therefore, in view of CHEN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a biasing member as taught by CHEN to the substrate of PAT’330 in order to provide an alternative electrical connection between the substrate and the electrical contact members of the main body.
Regarding claim 2, PAT’330 modified by CHEN as discussed above for claim 1 discloses wherein the biasing member comprises an electrically conductive body portion which engages the electrical contact members when the substrate is positioned in the main body (as seen in Fig.1 of CHEN, the biasing member 5 includes an electrically conductive body portion 5 engaging the electrical contact members 2 when the substrate 3 is positioned in the main body 1).
Regarding claim 3, PAT’330 modified by CHEN as discussed above for claim 1 fails to disclose wherein the main body further comprises a heat sink and the biasing member biases the substrate into thermal contact with the heat sink when the substrate is positioned in the main body.
However, CHEN further discloses the main body (1, Fig.10) includes a heat sink (15, Fig.10) and the biasing member (5, Fig.10) biases the substrate (3, Fig.10) into thermal contact with the heat sink when the substrate is positioned in the main body (as seen in Fig.10, when the substrate 3 is positioned in the main body 1, heat is dissipated from the substrate 3 to the heat sink 15).
Therefore, in view of CHEN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a heat sink as taught by CHEN to the main body of PAT’330 modified by CHEN in order to provide hat dissipation.
Regarding claim 4, PAT’330 as discussed above for claim 1 further discloses wherein the main body comprises a slot in which the substrate is slideably receivable, and wherein the substrate has an insertion end, a longitudinally opposed outer end and a body portion extending longitudinally between the insertion end and the outer end and the biasing member biases the body portion to abut the heat sink when the substrate is positioned in the main body.
Regarding claim 5, PAT’330 modified by CHEN as discussed above for claim 1 further discloses wherein the LED and the biasing member are provided on a common side of the substrate (as seen in Fig.1 of CHEN, the LED 4 and the biasing member 5 is on the same side of the substrate 3).
Regarding claim 6, PAT’330 as discussed above for claim 1 further discloses wherein the substrate comprises a longitudinally extending body portion, the body portion has first and second opposed longitudinally extending sides, the LED and the biasing member are provided on the first longitudinally extending side and the second longitudinally extending side is a thermally conductive.
Regarding claim 7, PAT’330 modified by CHEN as discussed above for claim 6 fails to disclose wherein the main body further comprises a heat sink and the biasing member biases the second longitudinally extending side into thermal contact with the heat sink when the substrate is positioned in the main body.
However, CHEN further discloses the main body (1, Fig.10) includes a heat sink (15, Fig.10) and the biasing member (5, Fig.10) biases a second longitudinally extending side of the substrate (3, Fig.10) into thermal contact with the heat sink when the substrate is positioned in the main body (as seen in Fig.10, when the substrate 3 is positioned in the main body 1, heat is dissipated from the substrate 3 to the heat sink 15).
Therefore, in view of CHEN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a heat sink as taught by CHEN to the main body of PAT’330 modified by CHEN in order to provide heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 9, PAT’330 modified by CHEN fails to explicitly disclose wherein the substrate is a printed circuit board.
Regarding “the substrate is a printed circuit board”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a printed circuit board to the substrate of PAT’330 modified by CHEN in order to provide a typical substrate.
Regarding claim 10, PAT’330 as discussed above for claim 1 further discloses wherein the substrate comprises electrical contacts and the electrical contact members contact the electrical contacts when the substrate is positioned in the main body.
Regarding claim 12, PAT’330 modified by CHEN as discussed above for claim 10 fails to disclose wherein the main body further comprises a heat sink and the biasing member is thermally conductive.
However, CHEN further discloses the main body (1, Fig.10) includes a heat sink (15, Fig.10) and the biasing member (5, Fig.10) is thermally conductive (as seen in Fig.10, when the substrate 3 is positioned in the main body 1, heat is dissipated from the substrate 3 to the heat sink 15).
Therefore, in view of CHEN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a heat sink as taught by CHEN to the main body of PAT’330 modified by CHEN in order to provide heat dissipation.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 11,852,330 (PAT’330) modified by CHEN (US 8,109,652), and in view of LAI (US 20180156395).
Regarding claim 8, PAT’330 modified by CHEN fails to disclose wherein the substrate is made of a non-conductive material and is coated with a thermal conducting layer.
However, LAI discloses a substrate (10, Fig.13; para[0064]) is made of a non-conductive material (e.g. plastic) and is coated with a thermal conducting layer (14, Fig.13; para[0065]).
Therefore, in view of LAI, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a non-conductive material and a thermal conducting layer as taught by LAI to the substrate of PAT’330 modified by CHEN in order to provide heat dissipation.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 11,852,330 (PAT’330) modified by CHEN (US 8,109,652), and in view of KIGELE (US 2014/0334151).
Regarding claim 11, PAT’330 modified by CHEN fails to disclose wherein the biasing member is made of an electrical insulation material.
However, KIGELE discloses a biasing member (7, Fig.1) is made of an electrical insulation material (e.g. plastic; para[0024]).
Therefore, in view of KIGELE, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an electrical insulation material as taught by KIGELE to the biasing member of PAT’330 modified by CHEN in order to mechanically secure the substrate in the main body.
Claims 1-7, 9-10, and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,168,879 (PAT’879) in view of CHEN (US 8,109,652).
Regarding claim 1 of APP’274, see Table 2.
Claim 1 of APP’274
Claim 1 of PAT’879
Additional Comments
An LED light bulb comprising (a) a substrate having an LED provided thereon; and,
A light bulb comprising: (a) a substrate having a light emitting member provided thereon, the substrate has an insertion end, a longitudinally opposed outer end and a body portion extending longitudinally between the insertion end and the outer end, the body portion has first and second longitudinally extending sides; and,
b) a main body in which the substrate is removably received, the main body comprising electrical contact members,
(b) a main body in which the substrate is removably received, the main body comprising a heat sink and electrical contact members, the main body has a recess in which the insertion end of the substrate is slideably receivable, and the heat sink has an opening in which the body portion of the substrate is positioned when the insertion end of the substrate is inserted into the recess, the opening comprising a first sidewall portion and an opposed second sidewall portion, wherein the substrate is moveable from a fully inserted in use position in which the substrate is secured in position in the main body and a withdrawn position in which the substrate has been withdrawn from the light bulb and the substrate is slideably insertable into the in use position, and wherein, when the substrate is in the fully inserted in use position, the first longitudinally extending side faces the first sidewall portion and is in thermal communication with the first sidewall portion and the second longitudinally extending side faces the second sidewall portion and is in thermal communication with the second sidewall portion, and wherein the electrical contact members comprise an electrically conductive body portion that is mounted to the main body and the electrically conductive body portion mechanically secures the substrate in position in the fully inserted in use position.
wherein the substrate has a biasing member which secures the substrate in position in the main body.
PAT’879 fails to disclose wherein the substrate has a biasing member which secures the substrate in position in the main body
Table 2
PAT’879 fails to disclose wherein the substrate has a biasing member which secures the substrate in position in the main body.
However, CHEN discloses a substrate (3, Fig.1) has a biasing member (as seen in Fig.1, the “biasing member” was considered to be the conductive spring 5) securing the substrate in position in a main body (1, Fig.1).
Therefore, in view of CHEN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a biasing member as taught by CHEN to the substrate of PAT’879 in order to provide an alternative electrical connection between the substrate and the electrical contact members of the main body.
Regarding claim 2, PAT’879 modified by CHEN as discussed above for claim 1 discloses wherein the biasing member comprises an electrically conductive body portion which engages the electrical contact members when the substrate is positioned in the main body (as seen in Fig.1 of CHEN, the biasing member 5 includes an electrically conductive body portion 5 engaging the electrical contact members 2 when the substrate 3 is positioned in the main body 1).
Regarding claim 3, PAT’879 modified by CHEN as discussed above for claim 1 fails to disclose wherein the main body further comprises a heat sink and the biasing member biases the substrate into thermal contact with the heat sink when the substrate is positioned in the main body.
However, CHEN further discloses the main body (1, Fig.10) includes a heat sink (15, Fig.10) and the biasing member (5, Fig.10) biases the substrate (3, Fig.10) into thermal contact with the heat sink when the substrate is positioned in the main body (as seen in Fig.10, when the substrate 3 is positioned in the main body 1, heat is dissipated from the substrate 3 to the heat sink 15).
Therefore, in view of CHEN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a heat sink as taught by CHEN to the main body of PAT’879 modified by CHEN in order to provide hat dissipation.
Regarding claim 4, PAT’879 as discussed above for claim 1 further discloses wherein the main body comprises a slot in which the substrate is slideably receivable, and wherein the substrate has an insertion end, a longitudinally opposed outer end and a body portion extending longitudinally between the insertion end and the outer end and the biasing member biases the body portion to abut the heat sink when the substrate is positioned in the main body.
Regarding claim 5, PAT’879 modified by CHEN as discussed above for claim 1 further discloses wherein the LED and the biasing member are provided on a common side of the substrate (as seen in Fig.1 of CHEN, the LED 4 and the biasing member 5 is on the same side of the substrate 3).
Regarding claim 6, PAT’879 as discussed above for claim 1 further discloses wherein the substrate comprises a longitudinally extending body portion, the body portion has first and second opposed longitudinally extending sides, the LED and the biasing member are provided on the first longitudinally extending side and the second longitudinally extending side is a thermally conductive.
Regarding claim 7, PAT’879 modified by CHEN as discussed above for claim 6 fails to disclose wherein the main body further comprises a heat sink and the biasing member biases the second longitudinally extending side into thermal contact with the heat sink when the substrate is positioned in the main body.
However, CHEN further discloses the main body (1, Fig.10) includes a heat sink (15, Fig.10) and the biasing member (5, Fig.10) biases a second longitudinally extending side of the substrate (3, Fig.10) into thermal contact with the heat sink when the substrate is positioned in the main body (as seen in Fig.10, when the substrate 3 is positioned in the main body 1, heat is dissipated from the substrate 3 to the heat sink 15).
Therefore, in view of CHEN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a heat sink as taught by CHEN to the main body of PAT’879 modified by CHEN in order to provide heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 9, PAT’879 modified by CHEN fails to explicitly disclose wherein the substrate is a printed circuit board.
Regarding “the substrate is a printed circuit board”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a printed circuit board to the substrate of PAT’330 modified by CHEN in order to provide a typical substrate.
Regarding claim 10, PAT’879 as discussed above for claim 1 further discloses wherein the substrate comprises electrical contacts and the electrical contact members contact the electrical contacts when the substrate is positioned in the main body.
Regarding claim 12, PAT’879 modified by CHEN as discussed above for claim 10 fails to disclose wherein the main body further comprises a heat sink and the biasing member is thermally conductive.
However, CHEN further discloses the main body (1, Fig.10) includes a heat sink (15, Fig.10) and the biasing member (5, Fig.10) is thermally conductive (as seen in Fig.10, when the substrate 3 is positioned in the main body 1, heat is dissipated from the substrate 3 to the heat sink 15).
Therefore, in view of CHEN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a heat sink as taught by CHEN to the main body of PAT’879 modified by CHEN in order to provide heat dissipation.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 11,168,879 (PAT’879) modified by CHEN (US 8,109,652), and in view of LAI (US 20180156395).
Regarding claim 8, PAT’879 modified by CHEN fails to disclose wherein the substrate is made of a non-conductive material and is coated with a thermal conducting layer.
However, LAI discloses a substrate (10, Fig.13; para[0064]) is made of a non-conductive material (e.g. plastic) and is coated with a thermal conducting layer (14, Fig.13; para[0065]).
Therefore, in view of LAI, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a non-conductive material and a thermal conducting layer as taught by LAI to the substrate of PAT’879 modified by CHEN in order to provide heat dissipation.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 11,168,879 (PAT’879) modified by CHEN (US 8,109,652), and in view of KIGELE (US 2014/0334151).
Regarding claim 11, PAT’879 modified by CHEN fails to disclose wherein the biasing member is made of an electrical insulation material.
However, KIGELE discloses a biasing member (7, Fig.1) is made of an electrical insulation material (e.g. plastic; para[0024]).
Therefore, in view of KIGELE, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an electrical insulation material as taught by KIGELE to the biasing member of PAT’879 modified by CHEN in order to mechanically secure the substrate in the main body.
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it uses phrases which can be implied, and legal phraseology often used in patent claims. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The originally filed abstract is respectfully suggested to be amended as shown below:
-- An LED light bulb having a substrate having an LED provided thereon and a main body in which the substrate is removably received. The main body having electrical contact members and the substrate has a biasing member which secures the substrate in position in the main body. --
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, line 4 should be -- the second longitudinally extending side is --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOLLAENDER (US 2019/0032862), and in view of CHEN (US 8,109,652).
Regarding claim 1, HOLLAENDER discloses an LED light bulb comprising
(a) a substrate (22, Fig.2) having an LED (25, Fig.2) provided thereon; and,
(b) a main body (21, Fig.2) in which the substrate is removably received, the main body comprising electrical contact members (241, 242, Fig.2).
HOLLAENDER fails to disclose wherein the substrate has a biasing member which secures the substrate in position in the main body.
However, CHEN discloses a substrate (3, Fig.1) has a biasing member (as seen in Fig.1, the “biasing member” was considered to be the conductive spring 5) securing the substrate in position in a main body (1, Fig.1).
Therefore, in view of CHEN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a biasing member as taught by CHEN to the substrate of HOLLAENDER in order to provide an alternative electrical connection between the substrate and the electrical contact members of the main body.
Regarding claim 2, HOLLAENDER modified by CHEN as discussed above for claim 1 discloses wherein the biasing member comprises an electrically conductive body portion which engages the electrical contact members when the substrate is positioned in the main body (as seen in Fig.1 of CHEN, the biasing member 5 includes an electrically conductive body portion 5 engaging the electrical contact members 2 when the substrate 3 is positioned in the main body 1).
Regarding claim 3, HOLLAENDER modified by CHEN as discussed above for claim 1 fails to disclose wherein the main body further comprises a heat sink and the biasing member biases the substrate into thermal contact with the heat sink when the substrate is positioned in the main body.
However, CHEN further discloses the main body (1, Fig.10) includes a heat sink (15, Fig.10) and the biasing member (5, Fig.10) biases the substrate (3, Fig.10) into thermal contact with the heat sink when the substrate is positioned in the main body (as seen in Fig.10, when the substrate 3 is positioned in the main body 1, heat is dissipated from the substrate 3 to the heat sink 15).
Therefore, in view of CHEN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a heat sink as taught by CHEN to the main body of HOLLAENDER modified by CHEN in order to provide hat dissipation.
Regarding claim 4, HOLLAENDER further discloses wherein the main body comprises a slot in which the substrate is slideably receivable, and wherein the substrate has an insertion end, a longitudinally opposed outer end and a body portion extending longitudinally between the insertion end and the outer end.
HOLLAENDER modified by CHEN as discussed above for claim 3 further discloses the biasing member biases the body portion to abut the heat sink when the substrate is positioned in the main body.
Regarding claim 5, HOLLAENDER modified by CHEN as discussed above for claim 1 further discloses wherein the LED and the biasing member are provided on a common side of the substrate (as seen in Fig.1 of CHEN, the LED 4 and the biasing member 5 is on the same side of the substrate 3).
Regarding claim 6, HOLLAENDER further discloses wherein the substrate comprises a longitudinally extending body portion, the body portion has first and second opposed longitudinally extending sides.
HOLLAENDER modified by CHEN as discussed above for claim 1 further discloses the LED and the biasing member are provided on the first longitudinally extending side and the second longitudinally extending side is a thermally conductive.
Regarding claim 7, HOLLAENDER modified by CHEN as discussed above for claim 6 fails to disclose wherein the main body further comprises a heat sink and the biasing member biases the second longitudinally extending side into thermal contact with the heat sink when the substrate is positioned in the main body.
However, CHEN further discloses the main body (1, Fig.10) includes a heat sink (15, Fig.10) and the biasing member (5, Fig.10) biases a second longitudinally extending side of the substrate (3, Fig.10) into thermal contact with the heat sink when the substrate is positioned in the main body (as seen in Fig.10, when the substrate 3 is positioned in the main body 1, heat is dissipated from the substrate 3 to the heat sink 15).
Therefore, in view of CHEN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a heat sink as taught by CHEN to the main body of HOLLAENDER modified by CHEN in order to provide heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 9, HOLLAENDER modified by CHEN fails to explicitly disclose wherein the substrate is a printed circuit board.
Regarding “the substrate is a printed circuit board”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a printed circuit board to the substrate of HOLLAENDER modified by CHEN in order to provide a typical substrate.
Regarding claim 10, HOLLAENDER further discloses wherein the substrate (22, Fig.2) comprises electrical contacts (221, 222, Fig.2) and the electrical contact members (241, 242, Fig.2) contact the electrical contacts when the substrate is positioned in the main body.
Regarding claim 12, HOLLAENDER modified by CHEN as discussed above for claim 10 fails to disclose wherein the main body further comprises a heat sink and the biasing member is thermally conductive.
However, CHEN further discloses the main body (1, Fig.10) includes a heat sink (15, Fig.10) and the biasing member (5, Fig.10) is thermally conductive (as seen in Fig.10, when the substrate 3 is positioned in the main body 1, heat is dissipated from the substrate 3 to the heat sink 15).
Therefore, in view of CHEN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a heat sink as taught by CHEN to the main body of HOLLAENDER modified by CHEN in order to provide heat dissipation.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOLLAENDER (US 2019/0032862) modified by CHEN (US 8,109,652), and in view of LAI (US 20180156395).
Regarding claim 8, HOLLAENDER modified by CHEN fails to disclose wherein the substrate is made of a non-conductive material and is coated with a thermal conducting layer.
However, LAI discloses a substrate (10, Fig.13; para[0064]) is made of a non-conductive material (e.g. plastic) and is coated with a thermal conducting layer (14, Fig.13; para[0065]).
Therefore, in view of LAI, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a non-conductive material and a thermal conducting layer as taught by LAI to the substrate of HOLLAENDER modified by CHEN in order to provide heat dissipation.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOLLAENDER (US 2019/0032862) modified by CHEN (US 8,109,652), and in view of KIGELE (US 2014/0334151).
Regarding claim 11, HOLLAENDER modified by CHEN fails to disclose wherein the biasing member is made of an electrical insulation material.
However, KIGELE discloses a biasing member (7, Fig.1) is made of an electrical insulation material (e.g. plastic; para[0024]).
Therefore, in view of KIGELE, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an electrical insulation material as taught by KIGELE to the biasing member of HOLLAENDER modified by CHEN in order to mechanically secure the substrate in the main body.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20130003345, US 20130163261, US 20130323938, US 20180313527, US 20070041166, US 20090180289, US 20160084445, US 6727652, US 7322718, and US 20090294782 discloses a substrate, a main body, and a biasing member
Conclusion
/J.M.E/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/JONG-SUK (JAMES) LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875