DETAILED ACTION
This is first office action in response to application No. 19/220,285 filed on 05/28/2025, in which claims 1 - 9 are presented for examination.
Drawings
1. Figure 14 should be designated by a legend such as -- Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled "Replacement Sheet" in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
3. Provisional Rejection, Nonstatutory Double Patenting with VanBlon “US 2016/0048364”.
Claims 1 and 9 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of copending Application No. 19/220,252 in view of VanBlon “US 2016/0048364”.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
4. Comparing the current application with Co-pending Application No. 19/220,252 as below:
Current Application No. 19/220,285
Co-pending Application No. 19/220,252
Claim 1, A display method comprising:
acquiring a master image;
acquiring a first aspect ratio of a first display area, the first display area being an area in which a first image is displayed by a first display device;
setting a first region in a master region of the master image based on the first aspect ratio;
displaying, on the first display area, the first image obtained by cutting out an image portion inside the first region in the master image;
acquiring a second aspect ratio of a second display area, the second display area being an area in which a second image is displayed by a second display device different from the first display device;
setting, in the master region, a second region having an overlapping region that overlaps the first region and a non-overlapping region that does not overlap the first region in at least one of a first direction and a second direction that are orthogonal to each other in the master region, based on the second aspect ratio;
displaying, on the second display area, the second image obtained by cutting out an image portion inside the second region in the master image;
setting a positional relationship between the first region and the second region; and
updating, when one of the first region and the second region is updated, the other region to maintain the positional relationship.
Claim 1, A display method comprising:
the first display device acquiring a master image;
the first display device acquiring a first aspect ratio of a first display screen of a first display device;
the first display device setting a first region in a master region of the master image based on the first aspect ratio;
the first display device displaying, on the first display screen, a first image obtained by trimming an image portion inside the first region in the master image, wherein the first display screen maintains a layout of the master image;
acquiring a second aspect ratio of a second display screen of a second display device different from the first display device, performed by the first display device or the second display device;
setting, in the master region, a second region having an overlapping region that overlaps the first region and a non-overlapping region that does not overlap the first region in at least one of a first direction and a second direction that are orthogonal to each other in the master region, based on the second aspect ratio; performed by the first display device or the second display device; and
the second display device displaying, on the second display screen, a second image obtained by trimming an image portion inside the second region in the master image, wherein the second display screen maintains the layout of the master image,
wherein the second region includes a portion of the master image protruding from the first region in at least one of the first direction and the second direction to display content not displayed in the first image.
Claim 9, A display system comprising:
a first display device; and
a second display device, wherein
the first display device
acquires a master image,
acquires a first aspect ratio of a first display area, the first display area being an area in which a first image is displayed by the first display device,
sets a first region in a master region of the master image based on the first aspect ratio, and
displays, on the first display area, the first image obtained by cutting out an image portion inside the first region in the master image,
the first display device or the second display device
acquires a second aspect ratio of a second display area, the second display area being an area in which a second image is displayed by the second display device, and
sets, in the master region, a second region having an overlapping region that overlaps the first region and a non-overlapping region that does not overlap the first region in at least one of a first direction and a second direction that are orthogonal to each other in the master region, based on the second aspect ratio,
the second display device displays, on the second display area, the second image obtained by cutting out an image portion inside the second region in the master image,
the first display device sets a positional relationship between the first region and the second region, and
the first display device or the second display device updates, when an update is made to one of the first region and the second region, the other region to maintain the positional relationship.
Claim 8, A display system comprising:
a first display device; and
a second display device, wherein
the first display device
acquires a master image,
acquires a first aspect ratio of a first display screen of the first display device,
sets a first region in a master region of the master image based on the first aspect ratio, and
displays, on the first display screen, a first image obtained by trimming an image portion inside the first region in the master image,
the first display device or the second display device
acquires a second aspect ratio of a second display screen of the second display device, and
sets, in the master region, a second region having an overlapping region that overlaps the first region and a non-overlapping region that does not overlap the first region in at least one of a first direction and a second direction that are orthogonal to each other in the master region, based on the second aspect ratio, and
the second display device displays, on the second display screen, a second image obtained by trimming an image portion inside the second region in the master image,
wherein the second region includes a portion of the master image protruding from the first region in at least one of the first direction and the second direction to display content not displayed in the first image.
Claims 1 and 8 of copending Application 19/220,252 differs from that of claims 1 and 9 of current Application. Copending Application 19/220,252 does not explicitly teach setting a positional relationship between the first region and the second region; and updating, when one of the first region and the second region is updated, the other region to maintain the positional relationship.
However, VanBlon teaches setting a positional relationship between the first region and the second region; and updating, when one of the first region and the second region is updated, the other region to maintain the positional relationship. (par. [0043] positioning data that updates the display location of the email application (first content), the calculator application (second content), or both. By way of example, if an embodiment determines at 303 that the calculator application is set to display over the part of the email application content viewed by the user, an embodiment may provide updated positioning data for the calculator application on this basis at 305.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of copending Application 19/220,252 with the teaching of VanBlon to provide positioning data that updates a display location of an application. (par. [0043])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1 - 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vacura “US 11,720,314” in view of VanBlon “US 2016/0048364”.
Re-claim 1, Vacura teaches a display method comprising:
acquiring a master image; (col. 9; line 59 through col. 10; line 2 FIG. 1, an electronic device 101 operating in conjunction with a content presentation companion device 102 in accordance with one or more embodiments of the disclosure. In FIG. 1, the electronic device 101 and the content presentation companion device 102 operate in tandem as a system, with the electronic device 101 providing the processing power while the content presentation companion device 102 serves as a primary display device for the electronic device 101.)
acquiring a first aspect ratio of a first display area, the first display area being an area in which a first image is displayed by a first display device; (col. 11; lines 17 - 23 a display of the electronic device 101 in a first aspect ratio while content is presented at a display of the content presentation companion device 102 in a different aspect ratio. Thus, if content is being presented on a display of the electronic device 101)
setting a first region in a master region of the master image based on the first aspect ratio; (col. 24; line 65 through col. 25; line 15 the image portion 404 with a crop mask matching the content orientation of the image portion 404 appearing on the display 103 content presentation companion device 102 to create one or more cropped images at step 416.)
displaying, on the first display area, the first image obtained by cutting out an image portion inside the first region in the master image; (col. 24; line 65 through col. 25; line 15 the electronic device 101 can include a generative artificial intelligence engine detecting movement of the subject and/or region of interest. Where it does, step 416 can comprise moving the crop mask to maintain depictions of the subject substantially centered within the one or more cropped images.)
acquiring a second aspect ratio of a second display area, the second display area being an area in which a second image is displayed by a second display device different from the first display device; (col. 24; lines 30 - 36, at step 416 comprises changing the aspect ratio of the one or more images presented in the image portion 404 to a different aspect ratio required for presentation of the altered content on the display 103 of the content presentation companion device 102.)
setting, in the master region, a second region having an overlapping region that overlaps the first region and a non-overlapping region that does not overlap the first region in at least one of a first direction and a second direction that are orthogonal to each other in the master region, based on the second aspect ratio; (col. 24; line 65 through col. 25; line 15, a crop mask matching the content orientation of the image portion 404 appearing on the display 103 content presentation companion device 102 to create one or more cropped images at step 416. In one or more embodiments, the crop mask is positioned such that the region of interest defined within the one or more images is situated within the one or more cropped images. Where the region of interest depicts a subject of the region of interest, here person 401, this results in the depictions of the subject being situated within the crop mask. The one or more processors (207) of the electronic device 101 can include a generative artificial intelligence engine detecting movement of the subject and/or region of interest. Where it does, step 416 can comprise moving the crop mask to maintain depictions of the subject substantially centered within the one or more cropped images.)
displaying, on the second display area, the second image obtained by cutting out an image portion inside the second region in the master image; (col. 24; lines 30 - 36(col. 24; lines 30 - 36, at step 416 comprises changing the aspect ratio of the one or more images presented in the image portion 404 to a different aspect ratio required for presentation of the altered content on the display 103 of the content presentation companion device 102.)
Vacura does not explicitly teach setting a positional relationship between the first region and the second region; and updating, when one of the first region and the second region is updated, the other region to maintain the positional relationship.
However, VanBlon teaches setting a positional relationship between the first region and the second region; and updating, when one of the first region and the second region is updated, the other region to maintain the positional relationship. (par. [0043] positioning data that updates the display location of the email application (first content), the calculator application (second content), or both. By way of example, if an embodiment determines at 303 that the calculator application is set to display over the part of the email application content viewed by the user, an embodiment may provide updated positioning data for the calculator application on this basis at 305.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Vacura with the teaching of VanBlon to provide positioning data that updates a display location of an application. (par. [0043])
Re-claim 2, Vacura in view of VanBlon teach all the limitations of claim 1, VanBlon teaches receiving an operation of updating the first image, wherein the second image is updated based on the operation and the positional relationship. (par. [0043] positioning data that updates the display location of the email application (first content), the calculator application (second content), or both. By way of example, if an embodiment determines at 303 that the calculator application is set to display over the part of the email application content viewed by the user, an embodiment may provide updated positioning data for the calculator application on this basis at 305.)
Re-claim 3, Vacura in view of VanBlon teach all the limitations of claim 1, VanBlon teaches receiving an operation of updating the second image, wherein the first image is updated based on the operation and the positional relationship. (par. [0043] positioning data that updates the display location of the email application (first content), the calculator application (second content), or both. By way of example, if an embodiment determines at 303 that the calculator application is set to display over the part of the email application content viewed by the user, an embodiment may provide updated positioning data for the calculator application on this basis at 305.)
Re-claim 4, Vacura teaches wherein the operation of updating the first image or the operation of updating the second image includes at least one of a swipe operation, a pinch-in operation, a pinch-out operation, and a rotation operation. (figs. 4B, 5 and col. 24; lines 37 - 51)
Re-claim 5, Vacura teaches wherein the positional relationship is a relationship in which a position of a first center point of the first region and a position of a second center point of the second region coincide with each other. (col. 24; lines 30 - 36, at step 416 comprises changing the aspect ratio of the one or more images presented in the image portion 404 to a different aspect ratio required for presentation of the altered content on the display 103 of the content presentation companion device 102.)
Re-claim 6, Vacura in view of VanBlon teach all the limitations of claim 1, VanBlon teaches displaying first positional relationship information representing the positional relationship in the second image. (par. [0043] positioning data that updates the display location of the email application (first content), the calculator application (second content),)
Re-claim 7, Vacura in view of VanBlon teach all the limitations of claim 6, VanBlon teaches displaying second positional relationship information representing the positional relationship in the first image. (par. [0048] The positioning of one or more of the first content and the second content within the display device according to the positioning data may be accomplished in a variety of ways. For example, the positioning may include positioning the second content in a non-overlapping area of the display device with respect to a display area including a portion of the first content.)
Re-claim 8, Vacura in view of VanBlon teach all the limitations of claim 1, VanBlon teaches wherein the positional relationship is represented by relative position coordinates of the first region and the second region. (par. [0048] The positioning of one or more of the first content and the second content within the display device according to the positioning data may be accomplished in a variety of ways. For example, the positioning may include positioning the second content in a non-overlapping area of the display device with respect to a display area including a portion of the first content.)
Re-claim 9, is rejected as applied as a system to claim 1 above because the scope and contents of the recited limitations are substantially the same.
Contact Information
9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Sosina Abebe whose telephone number is (571) 270-7929. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Friday from 9:00-5:30 If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Temesghen Ghebretinsae can be reached on (571) 272-3017. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-872-9306. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/S.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2626 /TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 8/25/26B